Gregg Hamm's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: DC Comics News Reviews: 46
7.7Avg. Review Rating

8
Batwoman #32

Jun 18, 2014

Overall this was a great issue. Nocturna and Night-Thief are wonderful additions to Kates rogues gallery and provide plenty of action in this issue. The action is balanced out with a couple slower sequences and even includes a little drama for Kate's love life. Batwoman continues to be one of the better Batman related series of the New 52 and this issue is no exception. I would definitely recommend picking this issue up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2011) #31

May 8, 2014

This issue did a great job of keeping the momentum from Icarus: Part one. This creative team has once again delivered a solid issue that showcases Batman using all of his incredibly intricate detective skills. If youre not reading this series because you were unsure of the new creative team rest assured that this book is in good hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Earth 2 #23

May 8, 2014

Overall this is a great issue. Tom Taylor and Nicola Scott continue to collaborate well together and deliver and exciting story filled with death, destruction, and familiar faces.If you haven't been a fan of Superman's constant rampaging, this issue does a great job of pausing the destruction and jumping into the Man of Steel's psyche. This is definitely an issue you don't want to miss out on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2011) #31

May 8, 2014

Overall this was an excellent ending to a stupendous story-arc. Both writer Jeff Lemire, and artist Andrea Sorrentino bring their A game to this issue, and deliver an emotional detailed story. Im also a huge fan of epilogues that tease things to come in the next arc, so if youre anything like me than this issue wont disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2011) #32

Jun 5, 2014

Overall this was a great issue. The creative delivers the same consistent quality we've come to expect, while breathing new new life into the series. It's always great to see a series not get stuck in it's ways, and follow an original idea with another completely different and original concept. I highly recommend this issue to all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Arrow (2011) #33

Jul 3, 2014

Overall, this was another great issue. Though the parts with Emiko felt predictable and familiar, the issue contained plenty as action that was balanced out with some plot driven narrative. There are lots of developments and even a couple jaw dropping moments. If you a fan of trick arrows and super heroics then this is a definite must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2011) #34

Aug 7, 2014

Do I really have to say it? This issue was fantastic. Usually a dialogue heavy issue like this can be boring but I was glue to every page. The characters all shined and the art was better than ever. The creative teams departure is the biggest problem with this book. Im so distraught about it that Im tempted remove a star from what is otherwise a near perfect review.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2011): Futures End #1

Sep 4, 2014

Lemire and Sorrentino deliver a stunning finale to their run on the series. The art and writer was at an all time high and every page was captivating in some form or another. Fan of the series will likely miss the the current creative team, and this issue will only make the transition harder. GREEN ARROW most definitely has big shoes to fill.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Justice League (2011) #30

May 22, 2014

Verdict Overall this issue does a great job of following up the events of Forever Evil, and setting up the things to come. While the issue suffers from heavy dialogue at parts and a noticeable artist transition, there are plenty of hints of things to come to keep your attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2011) #31

Jun 26, 2014

Overall this was great issue. We see more of the new Power Ring as well as the new Doom Patrol. Jones is doing a wonderful job balancing the big superheroics with the more personal character moments. This arc specifically has done a great job at ending each issue with a big moment to reel the reader in. This is once again an issue that will make you anxious for next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2011) #32

Jul 31, 2014

This issue has everything you would expect from a great comic. Theres plenty of action to keep your attention and enough information is revealed to move the plot forward significantly. The hints of things to come really help this issue stand out, while some uncharacteristic dialogue holds it back. This has definitely been the most entertaining issue of the Injustice League story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League United #1

May 15, 2014

This issue isdefinitelya step up from the zero issue. Even thoughthe page count is slightly lower, the action and progress appears to be ramped up. Writer Jeff Lemire does a great job of showcasing the individual character's personalities, while alsoincluding a bit of humour. The book also appears to be living up to its promise oftakingplacein both rural and cosmic environments. Overall I believethis isa great issue and anyone who liked last month's Justice League United willthoroughly enjoy this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League United #2

Jun 11, 2014

This issue is likely for most readers the best of the series so far. It has action, new character introductions, and reveals enough background information to keepany reader intrigued. Aside from a few minor art gripes and convenient plot points, this is a great read. Since origin stories in team books, such as this one, are often hindered by their need to well establish an origin, I find myself getting more and more intrigued with what comes next. This arc so far leaves me thinking that Lemire will be able to better develop the books cosmic setting and deliver a lot more surprises, once the predictable, yet necessary, aspects of the story have been dealt with. Overall, this is an all around great comic and a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Swamp Thing (2011) #31

May 8, 2014

Overall another great issue for this week. Writer Charles Soule provides a satisfying ending to a pretty intrigueing arc that I'm sure was unpredictable for most readsers . If you enjoyed Chrales's previous work or even enjoyed Scott Snyder'ss run with Swamp Thing then you will definately want to be reading this series. The writing and art have been consistently great since the begining of the New 52 and this issue is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The New 52: Futures End #0

May 4, 2014

Overall this issue did exactly what to was supposed to do as a zero issue. While not a lot of important information is shown enough is given to create interest in the upcoming issues. If youre a fan of time travel stories or stories with a large cast than this is a perfect issue for you. Though this issue isn't without its faults I still highly recommend it, and can guarantee that this comic is more than worth the price.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The New 52: Futures End #1

May 8, 2014

Overall this issue is very reminiscent of the format that 52 used during its run. This book is filled with a lot of great lesser known characters and isnt afraid to kill a couple off in the first issue. The creative team also gives us a quick glimpse into the upcoming issues leaving me personally really excited for whats to come. While some parts were underdeveloped and felt a little rushed, each section left an impression on me, making me anxious for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The New 52: Futures End #2

May 15, 2014

This issue once again makes me anxious for next week. The art was once again top notch and the writing continues to peak my interest. The new timeline feels really fresh while also feeling familiar. While there wasn't much action, there was plenty of character moments and mystery building to leave an read enthralled. I highly recommend this issue to any DC comic fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The New 52: Futures End #3

May 22, 2014

Overall this issue suffered from lack of excitement. While the other issues in this series have kept my attention the entire time, I found I was constantly wanting more in issue 3. While there were many cool interactions between characters, this issue found itself setting up a lot while not actually doing much to keep the reader engaged. Hopefully this just means that there are a lot of big moments to come later on in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The New 52: Futures End #4

May 29, 2014

Overall this issue was entertaining. While there could have been more action, plenty of developments were made that adds to the mystery of the series. Plenty of new characters are introduced including some of the unknown characters featured in DC's teaser image for the series. If you've been enjoying the series so far I highly suggest you pick up this issue. If your like me and wasn't impressed with last week's issue, then this issue will do a good job of convincing you that things shouldbe picking up again very soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The New 52: Futures End #5

Jun 5, 2014

Overall this issue was much better than last week. Artist Jesus Merino does an excellent job illustrating the book, while the series team of writers deliver one of the best written issues of the series thus far. This issue does an excellent job of increasing the readers intrigue by ramping up the pace and introducing brand new mysteries. While the pace isn't asfast as I'd want it to be, it does appear that the book is heading towards some big moments. I'm really glad to see this book made me feeling as excited as it did three weeks ago.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The New 52: Futures End #6

Jun 11, 2014

Overall this was a good issue. The subplots moved forward nicely and it was great to see some of them begin to converge. The introduction of Superman as well as another character whose found in the Phantom Zone, act as great plot twists thatwill makeany fan of the DCU intrigued.The series continues to slowly build the world of 5 years from now from the point of views of very different characters I highly recommend this issue because it has a little something for everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The New 52: Futures End #7

Jun 18, 2014

Overall this was a good issue, but not a great issue. Frankensteins story continues to move forward and leaves us with yet another cliffhanger ending, while Batman Beyonds story is anticlimactic and leaves the reader wanting more. The art here is once again well done, although one part in particular seemed rushed. While this issue has many pros and cons, the series, as a whole, still seems to suffer from a lack of significance. Its hard for the reader to determine what is important about one storyline is when it seems to have nothing to do with another storyline. Hopefully the overall premise that connects these stories is revealed soon so that readers can begin to see what this series is building towards.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The New 52: Futures End #8

Jun 26, 2014

Overall this was a good issue. We're now two months into the series and things are truly underway. Expect the action to ramp up as we move past introductions and towards the next part of the story. I definitely recommend this issue to anyone already enjoying these tales from the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The New 52: Futures End #9

Jul 3, 2014

Overall this was a great issue. All the plot threads were exciting and there were plenty of revelations to make any reader eager for next week. While the series continues to have a couple of continuity errors and minor distractions, they are heavily outweighed by the books strengths. FUTURES END continues its upward trend in quality each week as of lately. Fans of the series will definitely want to check this one out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The New 52: Futures End #10

Jul 10, 2014

Overall this was another great issue. It contained all of the great things weve come to expect from the series with only a few minor drawbacks. New Characters are introduced and old characters continue to move their plots forward. While theres very little to complain about, Im still waiting for that big moment that will push this series past its 4 star average.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The New 52: Futures End #11

Jul 17, 2014

This issue contained a lot of fan favourite characters, though many of them did very little. While the story continues to move forward, many of the developments felt predictable and lackluster. While fans of the series will likely enjoy this issue, its lack of significance makes it feel very much likefiller.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The New 52: Futures End #12

Jul 23, 2014

FUTURES END #12 was upbeat and action packed. The action was balanced with some humorous dialogue that felt natural for the characters. Many plotlines contained unexpected revelations that made the series feel significant again. While there were minor art hiccups, they are completely overshadowed by the vivid and detailed work throughout the rest of the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
The New 52: Futures End #13

Jul 31, 2014

This issue left me disappointed. With a big character like Barda being introduced I expected bigger things to happen with her. This issue lacked the action and cliffhangers that have have come to love from this series. While the art was great, it felt wasted on what was one of the series most forgettable issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
The New 52: Futures End #14

Aug 7, 2014

This is has a few good character moments, especially between Barda and Emiko as they form an unlikely alliance. Unfortunately the rest of the issue issue is bogged down with slow plot lines that add very little to the series as a whole. Hopefully this issue picks up the pace and produces some big reveals soon and help the series live up to its potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The New 52: Futures End #15

Aug 14, 2014

Im beginning to think I enjoy the idea of this series more than the series itself. Its premise and art have been solid but the pacing continues to remain slow. While the conversation between Superman and Lois kept me intrigued the rest of the issue fell a little flat. Hopefully as we move towards the half way point, things begin to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The New 52: Futures End #16

Aug 21, 2014

Futures End is the book I really want to like. The first few issues quickly grabbed my attention, but now Im finding I care less and less about the series. This weeks issue gives me hope that things are about to pick up, but unfortunately this series has gotten my hopes up before. Is this weeks excitement the beginning of something bigger or is it just another let down in the making? Only time will tell I suppose, but hopefully its the former since this series is rapidly approaching the half way mark.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The New 52: Futures End #17

Aug 28, 2014

This issue is a huge step up in terms of pacing and action. Excitement and mystery fills every page, and many long-awaitedmoments finally happen. Hopefully this issue kicks off a second phase for the series, and leaves the slow-paced ways of the past behind them. While a few things prevent this issue from being perfect it certainly gets close. If I had the ability to add a half star I most certainly would.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The New 52: Futures End #18

Sep 4, 2014

With many shocking moments its hard to write a spoiler free review. However, I can say that this issue was one of the best of the series thus far. It appears that FUTURES END is starting to remove itself from the predictable ways of the past and latching itself onto a new direction that includes a fast pace and fresh ideas. Fans who have stopped reading the series will definitely want to start reading again.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The New 52: Futures End #19

Sep 14, 2014

FUTURES END takes a since break from the crazy plot twist and begins the deal with the ramifications. While the pacing has slowed down once again, it feels natural and needed. With minor action sequences and a little bit foreshadowing there should be plenty of pages to keep readers entertained. While the cliffhanger seems lackluster for now, I have hope that next weeks issue will prove me wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The New 52: Futures End #20

Sep 18, 2014

This issue had some interesting moments that helped moved the plot and set up new directions for the series. Unfortunately the lack of excitement really drags down this issue though. Hopefully the series continues the excellent dialogue featured in this issue but combines it with more of the intense action we've come to expect from the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
The New 52: Futures End #21

Sep 25, 2014

While I really wanted to like this issue I did not. While the cover makes the issue appear exciting, its actually quite boring and predictable. Time and time again this series has had pacing issues that are latter trumped by huge reveals. Unfortunately this issue falls short by providing readers with reveals that actually dont reveal very much at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The New 52: Futures End #22

Oct 2, 2014

Fans of the series will certainly be entertained by this issue. It has action, suspense, emotion, and even a few twist too. The surprise tie in to last weeks DOOMED #2 also gives the series a new sense of significance. DC was must truly be planning something big for this series, and I for one can't wait. In the end this issue has everything you want in a comic, and breathes new life into a series that was beginning to lose its footing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The New 52: Futures End #23

Oct 9, 2014

Another solid issue, that follows up directly with the shocking results off last week. There's plenty of action to keep even the most distracted reader engaged. The action beautifully balanced with a combination of both comedic and dramatic dialogue that makes even the dullest moments shine.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The New 52: Futures End #25

Oct 23, 2014

This is yet another issue in a string of great comics that have been put out by this series as of late. There's a great balance between the action and the dialogue, that allows the reader to be fully engaged while also developing the plot. Adding in a few twists made this issue exceptionally good though one story line in particular broke up the pacing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The New 52: Futures End #26

Oct 30, 2014

While this issue didn't contain as much action as we've grown accustomed too lately it did provide some interesting developments. Many plot lines moved forward, though at a pace that seemed a little too slow. Fans of Batman will definitely want to check this issue out though his role isn't particular large here. Overall, many things seem to have been setup though not enough actually happened in this issue to justify a perfect review.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
The New 52: Futures End #28

Nov 13, 2014

This week was another slow week for Futures End fans. While the fight between the two Batmen was exciting the rest of the issuefelt lackluster. While many things seem to be set up here, not enough happened to make this issue really stand out from the rest. Hopefully some of the dangling plot lines from this issue will lead to huge moments for next week.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The New 52: Futures End #30

Nov 28, 2014

Futures End has had its ups and downs throughout its run, but this issue is definitely a highlight. There are some major revelations that will surely shape the path this book takes moving forward. This action packed issue is an exhilarating ride that will definitely leave you wanting more. I personally hope that more issues contain this amount of energy as the series begins its march towards its inevitable end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The New 52: Futures End #31

Dec 4, 2014

Overall this a was a good issue but not a great one. There was some action, but maybe not enough to keep every reader's attention. The dialogue and art were on point this week as well, and helped move the story along, albeit in a calmer fashion. Fans of the series will definitely not be disappointed by this one though they wont be as excited as they were last week either.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The New 52: Futures End #34

Dec 25, 2014

This issue had a lot going for it. There's plenty of action and great character moments, all while moving the plot forward in very interesting ways. While some characters felt out of place, the rest of the story felt cohesive, as the series continues its trend of great issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The New 52: Futures End #35

Dec 31, 2014

This issue once again had everything you would want in a comic. Highlights of the issue were definitely the diagnosis of Frankenstein's condition, and the intervention of Fifty Sue/ Sequel. While Jason and Madison's interactions seemed repetitive, it wasn't a big enough distraction too take away too much from the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
The New 52: Futures End #37

Jan 15, 2015

This issue felt a little rushed compared to last week's. While a lot of progress was made, I found myself uninterested by it. The highlight of the issue for me, was seeing a classic Justice League team-up. Other than that, there wasn't anything else that I found overly exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More