John Giltinan's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 28
7.9Avg. Review Rating

9
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #654.1

Feb 18, 2011

If this comic does not get you excited for the new Venom series, then nothing will. The characters face a palpable threat in the form of a man who wants to do right, but may not be able to control the darker urges. I say, buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
American Vampire #3

May 24, 2010

American Vampire is the best vampire comic currently being published. Not only that, but it is one of the best comics on the stands. Vampire fan or not, all fans of the medium should give this book a look. The writing is exciting and the art is fantastic. I say, buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
American Vampire #10

Jan 10, 2011

Even without its regular artist American Vampire is a ferocious and emotional powerhouse of a comic. It is without a doubt the best vampire comic currently being published. I say, buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Angelus #2

Feb 11, 2010

This is a solid comic, but not a great one. The art is attractive and it will have you examining the pages soaking up every detail. Marz is crafting an intriguing story, but his depiction of some characters is lackluster. I say, check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Angelus #3

Apr 16, 2010

The great characterization of Jackie Estacado and a lot of gorgeous art made this a good book. Though Marz might be saving his true intentions for the Top Cow characters until Artifacts it doesnt diminish the enjoyment that can be had from this mini-series. I say, buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Buzzard #3

Aug 16, 2010

For any fan of The Goon, this is a must. The writing and the art is top notch, and the issue features a nice little back up story. I say, buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Crossed #9

Mar 8, 2010

For all the horrors depicted in Crossed, when the finale comes it is actually quite sweet. I never thought this comic would ever give me a moment of optimism, but Ennis is able to pull it off. Best of all it does not feel forced. The characters progression over the series makes it completely believable and very pleasing. I say, buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Darkness/Darkchylde: Kingdom Pain #1

May 31, 2010

No doubt a lot of work was put into this comic, a glance of the pages will tell you that, its just not a very good comic. The art is great but the writing is terrible. I say, skip it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Magdalena #5

Feb 22, 2011

This comic is a real treat for long time fans of the Top Cow Universe, but enjoyment is not just limited to them. Anyone can pick up an issue of Magdalena and find something to like. I say, buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Nemesis #4

Dec 28, 2010

McNiven is the only reason to purchase this comic. Millars story is a disappointment to me, but if you are one of his fans you should enjoy the tale no matter where it leads. I say, skip it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Night of the Living Dead Holiday Special #1

Dec 11, 2010

I have been a fan of Romeros films for a long time, and while the recent entries have disappointed this comic did not. If you are looking for a good horror story this holiday season, look no further. I say, buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Orc Stain #2

Mar 29, 2010

This is one gorgeous and grotesque comic that many can enjoy. It has no shortage of gross drawings thatll make you squirm first, then laugh. I say, buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Orc Stain #3

May 10, 2010

Orc Stain is a heck of a lot of fun and its building to something great. Jump on the bandwagon while the comic is still in its infancy. I say, buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Punisher MAX: Happy Endings #1

Aug 31, 2010

Punisher MAX: Happy Endings is a good noir tale, but if you are after a Punisher comic there are other issues that are a better showcase for the character. If that doesn't faze you then I say, check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Blood Ties #1

Aug 30, 2010

I am always wary of a comic based off of movie or television show, they usually fall way short of their source material. However, Dark Horse has had a great track record with their Star Wars comics and Blood Ties is a very good showcase for Boba and Jango Fett. I say, buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sweet Tooth #6

Feb 8, 2010

There are quite a bit of post-apocalyptic comics being published right now, but Sweet Tooth is currently the best. It's writing and art strike an emotional cord deeper than the rest, from the singular vision of Jeff Lemire. I say, buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sweet Tooth #7

Mar 8, 2010

Every first Wednesday of the month, Jeff Lemire produces one of the best quality books, without fail. Not many other comic book creators can claim such great consistency. I say, buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Darkness (2007) #84

May 10, 2010

Hester is having a great run on The Darkness. In his hands the character is as good as hes ever been. This is another great issue that builds upon the larger story that Hester is crafting. I say, buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Darkness (2007) #89

Jan 27, 2011

This was an alright one-and-done tale, but nothing to write home about. I could recommend it for the art and those interested in seeing a Darkness bearer other than Jackie. That being said, I anxiously await Hesters return in issue #90.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Walking Dead #70

Feb 26, 2010

This is only a comic that gets better with age and this story arc is a great jumping on point for anyone not yet acquainted with The Walking Dead. But make sure to catch up with the series in trade paperback at some point. For those who have followed the trials and tribulations from the beginning there is an added sentimental enjoyment to seeing these tortured souls get a chance at happiness. I say, buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #80

Jan 6, 2011

New readers can feel free to grab and go from this issue, but for the most satisfying experience it is always best to start from the beginning. Watching these characters develop from their induction is one of the great joys of this comic. I say, buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Walking Dead #82

Mar 17, 2011

EDITOR'S NOTE: Justin Carmona also reviewed The Walking Dead #82. Read his thoughts, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Thunderbolts (2006) #141

Feb 25, 2010

Despite much of the same old, same old there are some new pleasures to be found in Thunderbolts #141. I say, check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Thunderbolts (2006) #142

Mar 30, 2010

The way the chase for the Spear of Odin concludes feels like a cop out, where everything comes crashing down. It is very abrupt. Though the ending is sudden I can still recommend this book. I say, check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Tyrannosaurus Rex (One-Shot) #1

Feb 15, 2011

There is a little comedy and a lot of dinosaurs to be found in Tyrannosaurus Rex, so it is a comic I can recommend. Just do not expect much of a story, enjoy the action instead. Younger children will probably be the ones to get the biggest kick out of it. I say check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ultimate Comics Avengers vs. New Ultimates #2

Mar 18, 2011

So far there does not seem to be a connection to the Death of Spider-Man even though those words are emblazoned on the cover. This is apt to change though, judging by the cover of the next issue. I really don't care whether this story is integral to that one or not; for now Ultimate Avengers vs. New Ultimates is shaping up to be Millars best Ultimate Avengers comic. The plot thickens as battles are held in the streets. Two influential people with powerful teams under their command are ready to go to war. Things will only get more exciting from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ultimate Comics Avengers vs. New Ultimates #4

May 20, 2011

EDITOR'S NOTE: Dave Wallace also reviewed Ultimate Avengers vs. New Ultimates #4. Read his thoughts, too!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Wolfskin: Hundredth Dream #1

Apr 19, 2010

There werent copious amounts of gore and the comic wasnt perfectly composed, but this is only the first issue so Im willing to give it the benefit of the doubt. I say, check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More