Kelly OneShot's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Corps Reviews: 12
7.7Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Batman (2016) #61

Dec 19, 2018

Overall I enjoyed this issue and thought it was a good sequel story to Batman #38. Although it was very randomly placed in the timeline, and I think that if you, like me, didn't read the preview of this issue before reading this then you'll probably be confused at first, but after you realize what's going on, it gets and feels a lot better. Definitely a book I feel deserves a second read, even if only to better understand and appreciate what's actually happening.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #62

Jan 9, 2019

Ultimately I feel like this issue does a pretty good job at recapping and reassessing what's going on currently in Tom King's run of Batman. We learn what happens to Batman after he was attacked in the cave during issue #61. We push the story forward but are also left with many questions. I enjoyed the unique method of storytelling that gave us a look into the inner monologue of the Dark Knight and how he views and handles his issues at hand. The artwork was incredible and reminded me of Gerads' work on Mr Miracle which was also written by Tom King, and that series was amazing so I guess that shows you how dynamic of a duo these two truly are when they work together.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #63

Jan 23, 2019

Overall I think this issue does a good job at showing us several "what if they had got married" moments and while that does make me feel both happy and sad, I'm glad we got to explore this even if only for one chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #64

Feb 6, 2019

Overall I think this is an excellent and exciting chapter in the ongoing story of Batman and The Flash that pushes the journey forward toward a path that is filled with all the answers we've been waiting for and wondering what mysteries have been kept hidden from us. My favorite part of this issue has to be Batman and Flash's interactions, as the two drop the smiles and bs and get right to the point. It was very rewarding seeing them confront each other so they can get past their hang ups in an effort to find the answers they've both been seeking for several months. As a first chapter in a four part arc I'd say writer Joshua Williamson has truly hit the ground running, and I, for one, cannot wait to get to the location this journey will take us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #65

Feb 20, 2019

Overall I thought this was a pretty good middle chapter that mostly served as a battle between those involved and not just the physical battle that was beautifully drawn on the pages. In this issue we saw the battle for Gotham Girl's sanity play out, and we saw Batman's battle to overcome his guilt and accept his blame in all of this. We also see our heroes conflict against each other as the two air out their grievances that have long been building up. With the next issue serving as the finale, I for one am excited to see if Batman and Flash are able to pay the price for what's gonna happen next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #66

Mar 6, 2019

Ultimately I thought this was an interesting angle to explore in the ongoing saga of the Bat-Cat relationship that's been ongoing throughout Tom King's entire Batman Rebirth run. I enjoyed the old timey PI type of storytelling with the well written back and forth between Vic Sage and Selina Kyle. I think using The Question as a guest star in this issue was a very smart move as there's still so many questions left unanswered here and even Selina's answer at the end only brings up more questions

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Damned #2

Dec 12, 2018

Ultimately I think we were given another amazing and gorgeous chapter of what I feel is the best looking series of 2018. The narrative style of John Constantine is by far one of my favorite parts of this series. I just love the way John speaks. He has a way of getting my mind deeper into the story, connecting me more with what's going on in the pages. From Ertigan's lethal rhymes as rapper J Blood, to Batman's adult encounter with Harley Quinn, it's hard to pinpoint what my favorite part of this issue was as there's many standout moments, but I guess I'd have to say the the overall mystery and occult conspiracy that has surrounded Bruce's life since he was a boy is what intrigues me most here, and it's why I recommend this series as a must read of 2018.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Heroes In Crisis #4

Jan 5, 2019

Ultimately I feel like Heroes in Crisis #4 is one of the stronger issues so far in this series, and I can't wait to uncover more about this mystery and find out who is truly responsible for the killings. I think this issue did a great job adding on complex layers to the story while also advancing the plot just enough to keep you hooked and wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Heroes In Crisis #5

Jan 30, 2019

Overall I think this book delivered big time, but mostly all at the end as a major plot element has been revealed which will make us question the current way we look at this mystery. It adds a ripple that many have hoped for and opens up a doorway that is filled with so much hope but also so many more questions about what this means.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #2

Jan 16, 2019

Overall I'd say Scott Snyder and friends have done a great job at starting something special here as he further expands on the mythos and lure of The Batman who laughs, while he also introduces us to other new and previously untold Knightmares from the Dark Multiverse, this time in the form of The Grim Knight. Only time will tell how this story shakes out or if these two Knightmare Batmen will have the same long term staying power as so many other great Batman villains have, but with Scott Snyder at the helm I have faith that this story will find its way into the hearts of fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #3

Feb 13, 2019

Writer Scott Snyder has once again delivered to us fans another truly great and memorable Batman story, and after seeing this book's twist ending, I can only imagine what madness we'll witness in the next chapter. I'm so looking forward to seeing that hahahahaha.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018): The Grim Knight #1

Mar 13, 2019

Ultimately I really enjoyed the way things were presented to us, and it's always a welcome treat when we are given the origin of a new Knightmare Batman. I found the relationship and interactions between The Grim Knight and Jim Gordon to be the highlight of the book, and it really gave me a much earned feeling of respect for everyone's favorite commissioner as the events of the story does well to remind us how much of a bad ass Jim can be when his city is being threatened by a crazy psychopath. Where I didn't end up finding the Grim Knight's origin to be everything I had hoped for, I did still really enjoy learning what fuels and motivates him, and it piqued my interest enough that I wanna learn more and see where this story will go. I wonder what the Grim Knight's future beyond this story will be because he's a very promising character with plenty of room to grow.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

February

More