Kelly OneShot's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Corps Reviews: 25
8.2Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Batman (2016) #61

Dec 19, 2018

Overall I enjoyed this issue and thought it was a good sequel story to Batman #38. Although it was very randomly placed in the timeline, and I think that if you, like me, didn't read the preview of this issue before reading this then you'll probably be confused at first, but after you realize what's going on, it gets and feels a lot better. Definitely a book I feel deserves a second read, even if only to better understand and appreciate what's actually happening.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #62

Jan 9, 2019

Ultimately I feel like this issue does a pretty good job at recapping and reassessing what's going on currently in Tom King's run of Batman. We learn what happens to Batman after he was attacked in the cave during issue #61. We push the story forward but are also left with many questions. I enjoyed the unique method of storytelling that gave us a look into the inner monologue of the Dark Knight and how he views and handles his issues at hand. The artwork was incredible and reminded me of Gerads' work on Mr Miracle which was also written by Tom King, and that series was amazing so I guess that shows you how dynamic of a duo these two truly are when they work together.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #63

Jan 23, 2019

Overall I think this issue does a good job at showing us several "what if they had got married" moments and while that does make me feel both happy and sad, I'm glad we got to explore this even if only for one chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #64

Feb 6, 2019

Overall I think this is an excellent and exciting chapter in the ongoing story of Batman and The Flash that pushes the journey forward toward a path that is filled with all the answers we've been waiting for and wondering what mysteries have been kept hidden from us. My favorite part of this issue has to be Batman and Flash's interactions, as the two drop the smiles and bs and get right to the point. It was very rewarding seeing them confront each other so they can get past their hang ups in an effort to find the answers they've both been seeking for several months. As a first chapter in a four part arc I'd say writer Joshua Williamson has truly hit the ground running, and I, for one, cannot wait to get to the location this journey will take us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #65

Feb 20, 2019

Overall I thought this was a pretty good middle chapter that mostly served as a battle between those involved and not just the physical battle that was beautifully drawn on the pages. In this issue we saw the battle for Gotham Girl's sanity play out, and we saw Batman's battle to overcome his guilt and accept his blame in all of this. We also see our heroes conflict against each other as the two air out their grievances that have long been building up. With the next issue serving as the finale, I for one am excited to see if Batman and Flash are able to pay the price for what's gonna happen next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #66

Mar 6, 2019

Ultimately I thought this was an interesting angle to explore in the ongoing saga of the Bat-Cat relationship that's been ongoing throughout Tom King's entire Batman Rebirth run. I enjoyed the old timey PI type of storytelling with the well written back and forth between Vic Sage and Selina Kyle. I think using The Question as a guest star in this issue was a very smart move as there's still so many questions left unanswered here and even Selina's answer at the end only brings up more questions

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #68

Apr 10, 2019

Ultimately I felt like this issue does a great job of showing us a side of these characters that isn't often on display. We really get to shine a light into the people behind the capes and cowls and leather and whips, and we get to go beyond their jobs as heroes and reporters or their positions as profiteers and we really get to have one fun night before everything gets real, before we start to wake up from our dream and realize that it never was, because for Batman as one dream ends, the next nightmare is always on its way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #69

Apr 17, 2019

Ultimately I felt like this was the strongest issue of Batman during this Knightmare story arc, and I was happy to finally learn and confirm Thomas Wayne Batman's motivations and why he's here. I think this issue low key does a great job at showing us that even when Bruce is trapped in his dreams facing his greatest fears, his mind is always at work trying to figure out the case because he is the world's greatest detective.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #70

May 1, 2019

Ultimately I enjoyed every panel of this issue, from the nonstop action and beat downs that Batman lays down to anyone who tries to stop him, to the beautiful artwork that brought this action to life. It all just clicks together to make a truly fun book to read through.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #32

May 22, 2019

Ultimately I thought Batman Beyond #32 was a pretty good read with solid artwork all throughout. I think there's enough moving pieces at play with the story that make you wonder what will happen next and how all these separate elements will connect as well as what that will mean when they come together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Damned #2

Dec 12, 2018

Ultimately I think we were given another amazing and gorgeous chapter of what I feel is the best looking series of 2018. The narrative style of John Constantine is by far one of my favorite parts of this series. I just love the way John speaks. He has a way of getting my mind deeper into the story, connecting me more with what's going on in the pages. From Ertigan's lethal rhymes as rapper J Blood, to Batman's adult encounter with Harley Quinn, it's hard to pinpoint what my favorite part of this issue was as there's many standout moments, but I guess I'd have to say the the overall mystery and occult conspiracy that has surrounded Bruce's life since he was a boy is what intrigues me most here, and it's why I recommend this series as a must read of 2018.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Heroes In Crisis #4

Jan 5, 2019

Ultimately I feel like Heroes in Crisis #4 is one of the stronger issues so far in this series, and I can't wait to uncover more about this mystery and find out who is truly responsible for the killings. I think this issue did a great job adding on complex layers to the story while also advancing the plot just enough to keep you hooked and wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Heroes In Crisis #5

Jan 30, 2019

Overall I think this book delivered big time, but mostly all at the end as a major plot element has been revealed which will make us question the current way we look at this mystery. It adds a ripple that many have hoped for and opens up a doorway that is filled with so much hope but also so many more questions about what this means.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Heroes In Crisis #7

Mar 27, 2019

Ultimately this issue serves as a bridge between what we already know and what we're all about to find out, as we see all the chess pieces moving into place for the final two issues in what looks to be a very exciting end to an interesting story that has sent shock waves through the DC Comics fandom and the DC Comics Universe. I for one can't wait to race to that final line faster than the Fastest Man Alive, which is Wally West!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Heroes In Crisis #8

Apr 24, 2019

Ultimately I loved this issue as a great story that focuses on a sensitive topic that isn't often enough discussed, and I feel it handled this subject matter in a meaningful way that will have a major impact on The DC Comics Universe of stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #20

Mar 20, 2019

Ultimately I think DC Comics and artist Jorge Jimenez and colorist Alejandro Sanchez as well as writer Scott Snyder all did a perfect job worthy of the utopia that they have depicted in this chapter of Justice League, and I feel excited for how this story will play out in future issues as we continue to dive deeper in our quest for answers. On a final note, I wanted to give a special shout out to the greatest Robin ever who makes his heroic debut in this story, truly a star is born here and I love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #21

Apr 3, 2019

Overall I enjoyed this issue and like the path we're on. The stage is becoming more clear as many questions were answered and at the end, and we're left trapped with many questions that I look forward to exploring. The world that Scott Snyder and Jorge Jimenez have created is one worth taking a deeper look so I truly hope to see more of that shown to us in the issues to come

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #22

Apr 17, 2019

Ultimately I thought the creative team did an excellent job at packing in so much story and content for both past and current events in only 17 meaningful pages. It's truly an amazing feat that they were able to flesh out the motivations of Perpetua, add in new characters, reference a greater being to come, expand upon old legacy characters and major events while also telling the story of the First Crisis and pushing this current arc forward. Plus we get the Return of Batman's number one fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2018) #23

May 1, 2019

Ultimately I felt this was a pretty solid read and enjoyable chapter in the Sixth Dimension story arc, but when you compare it to the previous issues in this series, it somehow seems less than special which is a bit unfair when you put into perspective just how amazing the previous issues have been. Nonetheless, this book still remains to be amongst my most recommended titles to pick up this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2018) #24

May 15, 2019

Ultimately I thought this was an incredible issue that had so many amazing things happening that it's hard to talk about all of them. There's just so many interesting and fun things happening here, and I loved how the separate threads are starting to link up as we near the end of this sixth dimension arc. I for one cannot wait to see how Scott Snyder, Jorge Jimenez and James Tynion IV wrap up this story and push us forward going into the Year of The Villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #2

Jan 16, 2019

Overall I'd say Scott Snyder and friends have done a great job at starting something special here as he further expands on the mythos and lure of The Batman who laughs, while he also introduces us to other new and previously untold Knightmares from the Dark Multiverse, this time in the form of The Grim Knight. Only time will tell how this story shakes out or if these two Knightmare Batmen will have the same long term staying power as so many other great Batman villains have, but with Scott Snyder at the helm I have faith that this story will find its way into the hearts of fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #3

Feb 13, 2019

Writer Scott Snyder has once again delivered to us fans another truly great and memorable Batman story, and after seeing this book's twist ending, I can only imagine what madness we'll witness in the next chapter. I'm so looking forward to seeing that hahahahaha.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #4

Apr 10, 2019

Ultimately I thought Scott Snyder and the rest of The Batman Who Laughs creative team have knocked it out the park with another stellar chapter for the series as events start building up towards the endgame. We see all the pieces coming together although as we see that the deeper the Joker toxin flows into our Batman's veins and the more he looks at the world the way the one who laughs does, we wonder if those pieces will form that of a bat or if it will spell out one big joke when things all come together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #5

May 8, 2019

Ultimately I think this is the strongest and most important chapter in The Batman Who Laughs series as the many separate story paths have begun to weave together and start revealing the final picture. With several strong moments in this issue, it's hard to pick which amongst them is my favorite and I'm totally ok with that. As we head into the final two issues i can't wait to see how the events will wrap up and what long term effects may ripple into the greater DC Universe, but as for now we'll just have to wait to see who has the last laugh.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018): The Grim Knight #1

Mar 13, 2019

Ultimately I really enjoyed the way things were presented to us, and it's always a welcome treat when we are given the origin of a new Knightmare Batman. I found the relationship and interactions between The Grim Knight and Jim Gordon to be the highlight of the book, and it really gave me a much earned feeling of respect for everyone's favorite commissioner as the events of the story does well to remind us how much of a bad ass Jim can be when his city is being threatened by a crazy psychopath. Where I didn't end up finding the Grim Knight's origin to be everything I had hoped for, I did still really enjoy learning what fuels and motivates him, and it piqued my interest enough that I wanna learn more and see where this story will go. I wonder what the Grim Knight's future beyond this story will be because he's a very promising character with plenty of room to grow.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

More