Marvin Salguero's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Wednesday Comics Reviews: 40
8.6Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Action Comics (2016) #960

Jul 31, 2016

Action Comics needs to find it's footing and start progressing this story. Introducing Wonder Woman is a nice touch, but all she adds is another fighter to the already dragged on fight. After four issues of Superman and Lex Luthor fighting Doomsday, we are ready to get on with the mysteries these issues have brought up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Astonishing Ant-Man #4

Jan 22, 2016

Scott knows he's messed up and he wants to change, no matter how hard it may be. He's made too many choices based on what was easier at the time, not even necessarily what he wanted. Hopefully Scott can turn things around, however judging from his flashback in the jail cell, we may have to see Scott hit rock bottom before he gets up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Astonishing Ant-Man #5

Mar 2, 2016

This is one of the few Marvel series that hasn't lost it's step since the start of the new Marvel Universe (mostly because not much has changed). The Astonishing Ant-man #5 is great addition into the new volume of Ant-Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Astonishing Ant-Man #6

Mar 29, 2016

The Astonishing Ant-Man #6 is a great addition to the Lang family story. The excellent art from Martello is similar, yet didn't totally mimic the style of the prior issues. Spencer is continuing to put out a great entertaining book that about redemption, family, and being a hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Astonishing Ant-Man #7

Apr 27, 2016

Spencer and company are continuing to put out a fun Ant-man comic that isn't afraid to do it's own thing. The most intriguing parts of this series has been Cassie and Scott's relationship, so it's nice to see the main story's focus turn to that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #1

Jul 31, 2016

Batgirl #1 by Hope Larson and Rafael Albuquerque is an enjoyable read that really stands out among the other DC Rebirth titles. The art and snappy dialogue gives this book a refreshing feel and places it among the best titles to come out from DC's Rebirth line.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #48

Jan 22, 2016

And maybe that's all Snyder is trying to tell us. Yes, Bruce is going to become the Batman again. The Joker will eventually become what he has always been. But hopefully they, Snyder and Capullo, have made something we can enjoy while it happened.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #49

Feb 29, 2016

Synder's Batman run is nearing the end and each issue is ramping up to something special. Greg Capullo should be back next issue as Batman hit issue 50. This was another great installment into the Batman mythos these two have crafted.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #50

Apr 7, 2016

The story ends in an epilogue where Gordon is reminded of when he first came to Gotham. The city felt like it said to him, " I was here before you. I'll be here after you." Later he meets up with Batman and he shares he felt the same way. Gordon has come to grips with the city by realizing he's not here to change the city. He can do his best to protect and care for it so that hopefully at the end of his life, he can just let the city know he was there. And that's what Snyder has done here. He knew going into Batman it was scary and a grand project to join. It was here before him and it will exist after he's done with it. He can't change anything really, he just did the best he could so that he could let everyone know, "I was here".

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Science #20

Feb 21, 2016

Matteo Scalera and Moreno Dinisio doing art really is a dream team. Scalera has some bold line work that seems to give Dinisio's colors an explosive look. An ad in the back of the book shows some uncolored panels from Scalera and they really are amazing. This book continues to be one of Remender's and Image's best books. Here's hoping it nails the landing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Science #21

Apr 12, 2016

I couldn't imagine any other artist doing Black Science than Scalera. Each issue he seems to want to push and top himself. Remender isn't pulling any punches with Black Science, this arc being one of the most heartbreaking. This is one of the best books being released today because they both continue to excel and push Black Science each issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2015) #3

Feb 5, 2016

The last scene is Matt Murdock, the prosecutor. The colors change to a sepia as Matt and his boss talk about losing the case. Once again, this nice change of pace in the art shows Garney and Milla have a understanding on showing the dual nature of Daredevil as a character. It's not only what he does with his mask on, but what he does in court that matters. This ends with Ten Fingers coming to see Matt Murdock in his offices. Does he know he's Daredevil? We'll have to wait and see. Each issue is getting better in terms of storytelling, with this issue being the best one so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Daredevil (2015) #4

Mar 2, 2016

Soule seems to be trying to push his story beyond the homage to Frank Miller's Daredevil run. I'm not sure if the parallels were his idea or Marvel's (because of the Netflix series' success) but I'm hoping he can continue pushing the new, exciting changes to the story he's implemented.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Daredevil (2015) #5

Apr 7, 2016

There are some things I enjoyed about this issue. That nine trigger gun I spoke about earlier had me chuckling while I read the rest of the issue. What's the point of that gun? It only has one barrel so what does having nine triggers do for it? The absurd idea of that gun seem like it should be part of another book. A book that is more fun and campy than the serious, dark tone we get in this series. I did also enjoy Soule's choice to have Matt figure out Blindspot was involved with Tenfingers gang, but to ignore it. His choice to let is pass, because at the end Blindspot learned and made his own choice, was refreshing choice.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deadly Class #18

Feb 15, 2016

Remender really has his best book here. His other books are great too (Tokyo Ghost, Black Science), but this book's unique way of showing how kids deal with loss, school, and growing up really sets it apart from the other books. Craig and Boyd's art really doesn't look like anything else on the stands today and that's a good thing. Deadly Class #18 is a great second part to an already fantastic arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadly Class #19

Mar 8, 2016

Remender and Craig continues to excel at telling us a uniquely bizarre, yet, personal story. The art and storytelling styles within this issue of some of the best in comics today and you shouldn't be missing this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deadly Class #20

Apr 20, 2016

Remender and company have really given us a unique action book about teenagers. While they are put into (obviously) super fictional situations, these characters feel very real. Even with its amazing car action scene, this issue has some calmer character scenes that remind us why we love these characters and why we've grown to hate others. We have one more issue in this arc and it's ramping up to be a devastating finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Doctor Strange (2015) #6

Mar 28, 2016

Overall, Doctor Strange #6 failed to excite me outside of the art. While the story is passable, it's turning into a predictable, unoriginal action plot. Bachalo is really doing great work here, but the story has lost it's direction since the great first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
East of West #24

Feb 21, 2016

Hickman is the king of the long payoff. Each issue he writes, while rewarding the attentive reader along the way, builds towards something great. This issue continues that trend and is a nice spark to the upcoming bomb that's coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Huck #4

Mar 2, 2016

Huck is one of my favorite books coming out right now. Millar has been creating a great character in such a short time while Albuquerque and McCaig continue to put out great work. He's hoping our boy is okay.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Huck #5

Mar 29, 2016

Millar continues to give us a great "superman" story with his own twist. Albuquerque's art is robust enough that it does well in action scenes and well in the smaller scenes we have in this issue. McCaig's colors on Albuquerque's pencils are truly made for each other.There is one more issue in this great mini series so here's hoping Millar can stick the landing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Huck #6

Apr 27, 2016

Huck wraps up nicely in this issue. While the action segments of this story will never be as good as just seeing Huck be a nice guy, they work in their own way. Mark Millar is really having a creative renaissance with his work lately and Huck is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Karnak #2

Mar 2, 2016

The issue ends with probably its strongest moment. Karnak after fighting the abductor, goes to a local restaurant to order a pure glass of water. We end with Karnak looking onto the street to a couple kissing and a couple of people talking. He holds up his hand in front of the window. Is he trying to block his view? Does he see this moment of their human lives, which they probably see as having a good time, as flawed? It's almost if he's trying to gain a moment of peace, but he can't help but see the flaw in all things.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Karnak #3

Apr 27, 2016

Though I'm missing the art from the first two issues the art shows promise for future issues. Karnak #3 delivers in its story as Ellis' knows how to make Karnak an interesting character in his own solo book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Monstress #3

Feb 15, 2016

Monstress is still progressing with a unique tale about this civil war between the Cumea, our sorceresses, and the Arcanics. Takeda seems to be getting better each issue with her great anime painted style. I'm excited to learn more about Maika and the monster she's trapped inside her.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Monstress #4

Mar 29, 2016

Again, Takeda is truly doing some great work in this issue. We get an amazing dream sequence at the start of the second act of the book that is has some great panel and line work. Takeda's design of the monster hiding in Maika really is terrifying and threatening. You feel for Maika each time her body betrays her and lets the monster out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Paper Girls #5

Feb 8, 2016

Our heroes are fleshed out, however we don't have any meaningful antagonist or even anything pushing against our heroes. We had Heck and Naldo, who turned out to be good so started helping the girls. We had Erin getting shot, but Heck and Naldo could cure that right away. We had the Cardinal fighting the girls, but she was taken out right away by her own weapon. Now we have the Grand Father, who hopefully can turn out to be a some sort of threat to our heroes. Erin does also referred to him as the Tree of Knowledge, so hopefully he'll bring us onto a course of getting more answers than questions.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #33

Feb 5, 2016

This issue's story is fairly simple. They later find The Will alive (and fat). He's looking for more information on what's going on so he attacks Upsher and Doff and is going to force them to help him.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #34

Mar 2, 2016

Saga continues to be one of the greatest series out today. It's getting harder and harder each review to reiterate how great this book really is. While the plot point that started this series was not truly unique, Vaughan and Staples have grown it into something that is. It's one of the most unique comic books current coming out and also probably one of the most unique in any medium.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #35

Apr 10, 2016

Saga continues to be one of the best comics being published. Staples really shows off each issue why she's one of the best working artists today. The king of the cliffhanger, Brian K. Vaughan, gives us one of the most nail-biting (for me at least) endings in an issue so far and I'm excited (and worried) to see it play out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Southern Bastards #13

Feb 15, 2016

Craw County loses to the Warriors because of their big running back. This does not please Boss. He gets wasted and goes to fight this kid from Wetumpka County. Boss is out to prove he is #1 in Craw County still. He knows everyone is coming to get him in one way or another but he's ready. Boss is ready to prove his worth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Man (2016) #2

Mar 14, 2016

Bendis is bringing Miles' story back to the its grounded roots while trying to juggle these Ultimate characters in their new world. While these changes and interruptions to the story are annoying, Bendis and Pichelli have shown they still understand what makes Miles a compelling character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spider-Man (2016) #3

Apr 12, 2016

Bendis is having an issue finding something interesting for Miles Morales to do. The first three issues has proven him and Pichelli know this character well, but so far he hasn't done much. The Avengers showing up in issues one and two slow down this story's progress and we are finally getting to the story. The enemies coming for Miles will hopefully bring some much needed excitement to what has been, so far, just okay title.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman: American Alien #5

Mar 20, 2016

Though not a perfect issue in this series, Max Landis is continuing to create a great Superman story for our generation. Each issue continues to be a showcase of great artists that are elevating the already great work from Landis. Landis knows what makes Superman such a great character and this story is something Superman fans, or critics, really need to be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ultimates (2015) #4

Feb 21, 2016

Ewing has been doing great reintroducing the Marvel cosmic universe for this new Marvel Prime universe. I've enjoyed each issue more than the last and this group of characters just work well with each other. This is one of the most fun books Marvel is putting out right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ultimates (2015) #5

Mar 29, 2016

The Ultimates should be the Marvel team book you should be reading. Any fan (new or old) of cosmic Marvel will find an entertaining story unraveling in these pages. This issue might be the greatest issue of this series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Vision #4

Feb 15, 2016

The Vision and his family just want to lead a normal life. However, the world around them is having a hard time seeing them as normal. Virginia knows nothing can disrupt the work being put into this mission. She's resorting to doing the optimal thing to keep them on the path to normalcy, but they're struggling. It doesn't make sense why humans do what they do. It's not the perfect thing to do. Feelings that humans have for each other and for themselves just fog the facts. Being normal should be easy, but Virginia is finding out that being normal is not anything but.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Vision #5

Mar 18, 2016

The Vision is a refreshing character piece on a character who is usually reserved for team books. King's decision to focus on this obsession of Vision to create the perfect family has created a book that is creepy, yet a depressing insight at Vision's goal to just be normal.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Vision #6

Apr 12, 2016

Tom King's The Vision continues to be an amazing story about prejudice, humanity, and family. Its dark humor is mixed with some of the most depressing panels seen in mainstream superhero comics today. Walta's art is perfect for this book and it's a shame he won't be on the next issue. The next arc has a lot to live up to but, judging from these last 6 issues, they should be excellent.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #3

Aug 1, 2016

Wonder Woman #3 is an amazing example of how great Diana can be as a character. Sharp's art is a fantastic fit for this story and Martin's color really bring out its best qualities. Rucka has crafted an amazing character study for Diana and Cheetah in this one issue. This may be one of the best single issues of Wonder Woman written in recent memory.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More