Mike Storniolo's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 25
7.8Avg. Review Rating

10
All-Star Batman and Robin the Boy Wonder #1

Jul 17, 2005

love! well deserved, as Miller & Lee craft a piece of work comparable to none and worthy all its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #57

Aug 28, 2003

This wasnt a bad issue by any means, its hopefully the start of a return to form for JMS, and for just $2.25, its a good deal, especially with JR Jrs excellent art.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Avengers (1998) #72

Nov 2, 2003

The issue received 4 Silver Bullets for terrific artwork by Scott Kolins and another good story by Geoff Johns. You get the full value out of your well-spent $2.25. This arc is a good time for new readers to jump on. By just reading the re-cap in the beginning you can tell whats going on and the story is easy to follow, and the art compliments that in every way.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman #618

Aug 28, 2003

Batman is definitely the book to buy. Loeb and Lee make a spectacular team they are great storytellers and for only $2.25 for their work, well, its a fabulous deal.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Captain America (2004) #21

Dec 8, 2003

Morales story is decent and Bachalos work iswell yeah. Captain America was great when Ney Rieber and Cassaday were on and Im sure its going to get better as the creative team gets into stride.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics #785

Aug 13, 2003

All in all this is a good book. Batman fan or not you'd enjoy this one, so I'd pick it up. You don't know what you're missing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Elektra (2001) #26

Aug 13, 2003

I'd recommend this book to anyone - except young children because of the violent contents. Other than that this is one of the books to get. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fantastic Four (1998) #503

Aug 28, 2003

All in all, its a terrific story by Mark Waid, pleasantly refreshing art by Howard Porter; and I cant wait for the rest of the arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Flash (1987) #203

Nov 2, 2003

The book got four Silver Bullets for another good story by Geoff Johns, and great art by Alberto Dose. For $2.25 its a steal. Flash is surely one of the best titles out there that you need to be reading. It has mostly everything that you would want out of a superhero book. The conclusion to Ignition is something that you wouldnt want to miss, and if things are going as planned when Wally reveals his secret to Linda, thats going to be a good issue. Theres a lot looking good in Flashs future just make sure youre there to read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Hulk: Gray #2

Nov 2, 2003

Hulk Gray gets 2 Silver Bullets for a decent story by Jeph Loeb and Fantastic artwork by Tim Sale. The creative team is in the middle of what can and will probably be one of the best comic events this winter. A little slow and standard at first but Im sure itll pick up as it moves along. Another thing Im not too fond of is the hefty $3.50 price tag on the books. Its only a standard 22-page book. Whatre we paying an extra 2 bucks for a glossy cover and the names Jeph Loeb and Tim Sale to get printed on the cover? Anyway as much as I complained Id still recommend this book. Its definitely going to go somewhere and youll probably buy it anyway

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Invincible #6

Nov 19, 2003

Buy this book! What more do I have to say. Five Silver Bullets for every single thing that I said above. Its that damn good. For only $2.99 its a steal.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
New X-Men (2001) #144

Aug 13, 2003

I would recommend this book to pretty much anyone. If you're more into the story and not the art you'll love the issue. For only $2.25 it's well worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Of Bitter Souls #1

Jun 26, 2005

Of Bitter Souls #1, while I might have felt it didn't quite tell me all that I wanted to know at first, serves to lure me into reading the next issue to find out! I am curious as to why they were chosen, what their powers are, how vampires and other legends tie into the story and just what the priest has planned for them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Plastic Man #1

Dec 8, 2003

I dont really think theres anything more I can say about this book unless I repeat myself. It has great story, art, inks, colors; the whole damn thing is great. Read Plastic Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shylock #1

Jun 28, 2005

Overall: All in all Shylock was a very enjoyable book to read. A few of things that struck me wrong can be drummed down to beginners mistakes; things that everyone does the first time out and are to be expected. That said, for Welker, Williams & Schloendorns first venture into comics, Id say that its a great effort. The story and art show promise and improvement with each page, and issue two should really show a leap in talent. By the end of the issue, I actually gave a damn about the Madison city boys, and if they would ever get their act together. Seeing how Dominick is going to put Franz into play, and just what Franz plans to do with the crew has my curiosity peaked. I know Ill be checking out the next issue for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spellgame #1

Oct 7, 2005

Final Words: All-in-all, Id say that Spellgame is another winner from Speakeasy Comics. Each month my pulls for their titles seems to grow and grow, and its all well deserved. They really have some high quality books, and titles like Spellgame just add to my confidence in them. A unique, interesting and overall exciting story thats matched with some dynamic line work, Spellgame #1 is definitely worth its fair shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Street Nights #1

Sep 4, 2005

Overall: Street Nights wasnt a half bad read at all. The overall story, with a few minor stilts, had a decent flow and leaves off on a very interesting note. The art gives a solid match, and ties it together as a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman/Batman #1

Aug 13, 2003

You really need to get this if you haven't already. The book comes highly recommended and it's one of my favorites out of the whole month. It's worth every penny.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Superman/Batman #4

Dec 8, 2003

Superman/Batman has been doing a good job. Its nothing like the old worlds finest issues but I think that it will live up to the legend and hopefully surpass it and set some new standards. Maybe two bullets is a little harsh. But that scene

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Wannabes #1

Sep 4, 2005

The Wannabes entertained me enough for my money, and has me happy enough to check out the second issue. A nice, relaxing story mixed with some talented art puts together a good comic read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Tyr #1

Jun 28, 2005

Overall: Tyr shows a lot of promise and also raises some interesting questions. My two main curiosities are how Typhis arrow shirt plays into things and if the title of the book has any connection to the god, Tyr, or significant meaning in the story. The writing takes one or two miniscule stumbles but steadily improves. The art, while unique and starting strong, takes a hit towards the end and that was one of the main things that disappointed me with the three issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ultimate Spider-Man #44

Aug 13, 2003

Ultimate Spider-Man is one book that if you haven't read than you need to start. HIGHLY recommended. Go out and buy this issue, it'll be the best move of your life.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ultimate Spider-Man #50

Dec 8, 2003

Why arent you reading this book? Its got everything that a great comic should have. Action, drama, this, that and all from a price tag of $2.25!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ultimates #12

Dec 8, 2003

Buy the Ultimates! 5 Silver Bullets! $2.25! What more do you want? Its the best book, with the best creative team, with the best rating, and all for the best price! The Ultimates is a must have for any serious collector. If you want a good read buy the Ultimates. Its a move that you will live to love!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Statix (2002) #14

Nov 2, 2003

Buy this book! 5 Silver Bulletsyou cant beat that. I HIGHLY recommend this title to everyone to read. Its well worth the $3.00 you pay and youll be happy you bought it. What else can I really say about this that hasnt been said already? Nothing really, its just too good for words.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More