Oscar Russell's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: We The Nerdy Reviews: 32
7.9Avg. Review Rating

8.6
Chastity #2

Aug 4, 2014

I am torn with the art in this issue, however. At times it feels as if it is drawn by two different artists.The bodies of some of the people are totally out of proportion, with legs and arms seemingly having a life of their own. But then we are graced with some incredible pieces of art of elderly vampire ladies which would look incredibly in any pulp horror comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2011) #30

Aug 22, 2013

Waid and Samnee have definitely done the Silver Surfer some justice, and the way Samnee makes him pop of the page when he enters the story is classic, and something that needs to been seen again either as another team-up or a Waid/Samnee cosmic ongoing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Daredevil (2011) #31

Sep 24, 2013

Obviously only time well tell and the next issue will quickly clear up whats going on, but in the meantime, what a story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Daredevil (2011) #33

Nov 21, 2013

With only three issues remaining in this current Waid run, there are still a number of unanswered questions and Waid is putting all the pieces together and starting to put a final bookend on his Daredevil, it really will be a shame when this come to a close.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
Dexter Down Under #1

Feb 19, 2014

This isn't the first time that Lindsay has experimented with Dexter, and we have seen him do some strange things in Dexter in the Dark which to his credit he then recanted on because the idea didn't fit. He hasn't said where this is supposed to fit into continuity and to be honest it is anyones guess.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Dexter Down Under #2

Mar 20, 2014

Will I be back for Issue 3, probably not. The main reason I returned was to have a laugh again, and watch the madness unravel….unfortunately this one didn't even do that.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Dexter Down Under #4

May 29, 2014

The issue ends on a cliff hanger, which could have gone easily unnoticed, if you blinked from the previous page. But it sets up the final issue nicely. How will Dexter and Shawna escape? Will Bruce Grigsby get his comeuppance? Will Shawna work out that Dexter likes to kill? So many questions only 20 more pages to get an answer. Who knows what the final issue will bring, but I for one despite all I have said here will be there to find out

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Eye Of Newt #2

Jul 16, 2014

The adventure itself is a good follow, and the inclusion of a flying frog does break up some of the monotony of some of the more simple walking and talking that Newt does. With this now being the half way point of the mini-series, things will surely have to pick up in the next issue so that we have a thrilling climax to this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Five Weapons #6

Jan 30, 2014

Robinson, has now put Enrique in a very familiar setting but there are so many new things and problems for Enrique to contend with. It does appear that we are going to see a different direction for the book itself, but the lead character has stayed very much the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Flash (2011) #23

Aug 29, 2013

Without giving too much away, we do find out who the Reverse-Flash is, but to be honest it does feel a tad underwhelming, considering we have only seen this character once and that was in a Zero issue for a brief moment. Despite trying to make it into a huge thing, it really doesn't site right to build it up to this. However, in a universe that has been so well crafted up till this point, we can be certain that this will go big places and may even bring back some much loved missing characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Fraggle Rock: Journey to the Everspring #1

Oct 7, 2014

It is a really easy read, which makes sense as it is a kids book. But most important is it is a really fun read, with a real sense of likeability flowing through the pages. Henson fan or not, this is a book that needs to be gently placed into each child's hand. It is a pure all ages book, that will work for everyone on a different level.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Iron Man (2012) #19

Dec 4, 2013

Gillen seems to be hitting slightly wide of the mark with this series, especially when compared to his work on Young Avengers which is spot-on. His style is fine but the story isn't terribly interesting so far, and the book doesn't have an X-factor that makes it stand out from the pack. The Secret Origins story dragged on a bit, but the introduction of Arno had the potential to re-energise the series. Unfortunately Gillen hasn't capitalised on the opportunity and the series has lost momentum again, now this arc is in danger of going in the same direction as the last. Unless we see something new soon this story may not keep readers interested for all that long.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Loki: Agent of Asgard #1

Mar 17, 2014

The creative team, have now lined the way for future books in this series and put the crew on the path for where they will be going at least for the next few issues. It is also nice to see multiple story threads opening up so quickly in the book and not just concentrating on one line of narration, and again introducing new and reintroducing old charactersinto the equation.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Marvel Knights Spider-Man #1

Oct 4, 2013

At the end of the day, you will probably not read another book like this all year, other than the other 4 issues of this mini, and that is kindda cool and special. It's a book that anyone can pick up and read, as you really don't need to know anything more than who Spider-Man is, but that doesn't mean I would recommend it to someone as their first Spidey comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Original Sin: Thor & Loki: The Tenth Realm #1

Jul 9, 2014

With an intriguingand funplot, and “draw you back in” final page this book is definitely one you want to be reading just to see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Punisher: Trial of the Punisher #2

Nov 3, 2013

What started as a slow burn of an issue, turned into a really enjoyable but frantic finish, that could have used a bit more room to breathe. Guggenheim is no novice when it comes to The Punisher and it showed in the last half of this issue, it just might have flowed better if the pace had increased earlier on, but then again it was a court room drama.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rocket Raccoon #3

Sep 4, 2014

Rocket Raccoon is a book everyone should be at least trying out, especially those fans of the recent Guardians of the Galaxy movie as issue 2 could have been lifted straight out of that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Savage Dragon #195

Jun 17, 2014

The art in the book is also really neat, not being familiar with the book the art was relatable and fitted nicely with the already fun nature of this issue. You can tell that it is a full creator owned book with Larsen taking all the responsibility for both words and pictures. The story fits the art and the art fits the story with perfection.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Goon: One For the Road #1

Jun 17, 2014

If I do have one criticism of it, it is that it is a tad to short. 24 pages for a stand alone like this doesn't seem right, a one-shot for this type of book does, but I wanted more pages. It just made the whole bar hoping seem a bit rushed and conclusion very abrupt. But wanting more is surely not a bad thing!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Illegitimates #1

Dec 20, 2013

Hopefully the second issue can live up to this one, and expand on this concept further and really keep the reader wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Illegitimates #2

Jan 14, 2014

What is also pretty neat about this book, is that on the face of it and just explaining the concept of it to a stranger they would think you might need gloves to read it, they might also think that it was going to be a slightly risqu book. However, what Taran Killam together with Marc Andreyko do is make this a classy little book, that you wouldn't hide from your Nan when she comes round for tea, hey, you might even let her have a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Squidder #2

Aug 5, 2014

The story is now at it's midway book, and the journey of the Squidder Legion story is continuing to unfold and a relatively quick pace. The book is worth pursuing for the art work alone, even if you are struggling with the story that is being told as not many books like this fall into our hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Walking Dead #114

Sep 17, 2013

I am glad to hear that we will be getting twice monthly books for the Walking Dead next month, because Kirkman is and has started putting people off with playing the waiting game and pushing them towards trades. With the quick releases this will hopefully sort that out and we will have another perfectly sculpted story to end with.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Walking Dead #115

Oct 11, 2013

The art once again is flawless, and if anything, is better than normal. With Adlard having to worry about less action scenes we are able to be treated to some nice detailed pages, not that his work hasn't been detailed till now far from it, just a different kind of detail in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Walking Dead #116

Nov 15, 2013

A main concern for this new epic story arc is that it will get dragged out. A 12 issue story arc is long for the Walking Dead, and if the build up to All Out War is any indication there may be some slack issues in it. However, it they keep it up with fast paced action issues like this and less of Rick moping around, then this one is going to fly by and be a truly memorable experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Walking Dead #117

Nov 28, 2013

Whether we get to see this “new” Negan again is up for debate, and we will see if the action of the last page end up changing the way the book has been going lately. Regardless of how it all pans out, I'm sure Kirkman will be able to create someone to even worse than Negan if he needed to… it may even be someone introduces in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Walking Dead #118

Dec 12, 2013

Perhaps this issue is a semi foreshadow of things to come from this series, with new leaders stepping up to the plate in the event that Rick doesn't make it through the All Out War. Either way Kirkman doesn't forget about moving other “minor” characters plot points forward. It's not all about the war between Negan and Rick.There are other players involved too and war isn't just about the battle its about the emotional loss of the people involved.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Walking Dead #119

Jan 9, 2014

As per every issue of the Walking Dead that Adlard has been a part of since issue #7 is second to none, with the help of Stefano Gaudiano again on the inks making the big splash page reveals pop out of the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thunderbolts (2012) #20.NOW

Jan 15, 2014

So with a new team member in Ghost Rider, and an interesting predicament to get out of in the next issue, The All New Marvel Now Thunderbolts continues to impress.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thunderbolts (2012) #26

May 29, 2014

This book at the moment has it all, there is action, there is betrayal, there is serious mystery by the bucket load. Why this book isn't the talk of the town is beyond me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wild's End #1

Sep 9, 2014

My only critque of the book is that the plot line may not be the most original. It's so far just a sci-fi tale. What makes this stand out more than the others on the shelf is the animals, without them this book may get lost in a sea of comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Wonder Woman (2011) #24

Oct 17, 2013

The book is bound to start moving quickly again, now that we have been pointed in the direction will be moving. So if you are a fan of lots of dialogue, pretty good art and a build up story then this is the issue for you.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

2nd

April

March

More