Patrick Lagua's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 16
8.7Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Die #1

Dec 9, 2018

The thing that makes Die unique and puts it over the edge to recommended is the tremendous sense of loss, pain, and unresolved ennui that permeates the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Die #2

Jan 17, 2019

Having spent the bulk of issue 1 establishing how our characters function in the real world, Gillen and Hans spend issue 2 fleshing out the fantasy world they now have to survive in order to return home. But beyond this effective bit of world building, the issue also continues to delve deeper into our characters newly revived traumas. Im certainly reading for the flashier bits, dont get me wrong, but its the feels triggered by this forced game session that really makes me look forward to issue 3.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Die #3

Feb 12, 2019

Die # 3 once again showcases why this series is quickly becoming the must-read-pull title of 2019. It has character, genre, emotional and fantastical payoffs to spare, powered by Gillens careful and well-thought writing and Hans delicate and beautifully rendered art. Gillen and Hans have created a darkly beautiful world that seemingly reveals endless horror and beauty.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Farmhand #5

Nov 21, 2018

Guillory tells a good sci-fi/horror story about that age old notion of human hubris in a new and relevant setting, with its own kind of timely and relevant monster, populated with interesting and well-drawn (in all senses of the word) characters. With Issue 5s (and the first arcs conclusion), Guillorys saga is poised to go into overdrive and I cant wait to see where and how it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Runaways (2017) #11

Aug 29, 2018

It's always a scary proposition for both creators and readers when an established and well-loved property like the Runaways gets handed over to a new set of hands. With this latest issue, Rowell and Anka prove that they are worthy of the honor to continue telling our Runaways' stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Runaways (2017) #12

Sep 3, 2018

While the writing felt uneven, the installment stands beautifully as a sum of its parts. Ankas art is definitely the MVP of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Runaways (2017) #13

Sep 17, 2018

A mostly by the numbers action sequence that takes some character beats for granted. The issue was satisfying but nonetheless made me miss Ankas deft lines and sense of style.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Runaways (2017) #14

Oct 23, 2018

This issue is a textbook definition of fill-in and set-up issue, though it isnt entirely without merit or moments of fun. The B-story feels like the better half of them, as the A-story feels like an extended scene that could perhaps have been truncated if not for the need to keep a monthly schedule on the book. It might have been a better approach to end the standoff with the Gibborim in the last issue and then have this issue focus entirely on Old Lace and giving Takeshi Miyazawa more pages to draw.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
The Wicked + The Divine #39

Sep 18, 2018

A fantastic twisty-turny installment. The WicDiv folks keep us guessing as the rug gets pulled out from under our feet more than once in a fun way that doesnt make me mind falling on my butt at all. Also, yey new Laura!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
The Wicked + The Divine #40

Dec 12, 2018

The beginning of the end of WicDiv is here and Gillen, McKelvie and co. start off the proceedings with a massive bang. If this first stop of the farewell tour is indication, this will be a satisfying ending for the ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Wicked + The Divine #41

Jan 23, 2019

Though this installment had to concern itself with some needed bookkeeping, there was still plenty of great emotional beats and satisfying character moments to be had. WicDivs finale keeps barreling ever closer, and this issue has just increased my cant even quotient. If this kind of quality momentum continues, Ill be an emotional wreck after reading that upcoming final issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
The Wicked + The Divine: 1373 #1

Oct 5, 2018

1373 is another satisfying remix of the WicDiv mythos, one that offers a tantalizing, if somewhat confusing, glimpse of what is to come in the main storyline that will soon be ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Wicked + The Divine: The Funnies #1

Nov 13, 2018

Theres a lot of funny to be had in this final WicDiv special. Neither characters nor creators are spared from the delights of being roasted. Whats especially great is the way it manages to find the funny in the absurd and dense mythology that WicDiv has managed to build over the span of forty issues. This is a nice pause at the apex before this roller coaster ride starts to barrel towards its conclusion next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wild Storm #17

Sep 24, 2018

Ellis and Davis-Hunt continue to update the Wildstorm characters in a way thats not cloying or pandering. This is a nostalgia dive that isnt just dog whistling and coattail riding, but more of a remix that feels relevant, thoughtful, and full of purpose.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Wild Storm #18

Nov 8, 2018

An exposition-heavy issue that nonetheless entertains. This issue whets the appetite for what is sure to be an explosive and violence-laden final act for Ellis maxi series reboot of the Wildstorm universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Black (2018): Emma Frost #1

Nov 3, 2018

Bachalo and Williams tell a rollicking and satisfying story that, most importantly, understands the nuances and complexity of Emma Frost. Theres a lot here for Emma fans to enjoy. Whatever flaws the issue may have, and it has at least one, isnt anything inherently attributable to the issue itself, but rather to my expectations of what it should have done and where its end will lead for Emma in the future. I hope my fears on that score are unfounded, but only time will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More