pauly p.'s Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Marvel Comics, Weird Science Reviews: 21
7.2Avg. Review Rating

7.8
Captain America (2018) #11

Jun 19, 2019

Id like to see Secret Empire finally be put to bed and move past it once and for all, but this book has moved to a place after 11 issues its at least on the back burner story wise as Coates has evolved almost another story around it. If you jumped off the first issues like a lot of Cap fans I know, give it another look because its definitely getting interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.8
Captain America (2018) #12

Jul 31, 2019

Just when it seemed Coates had turned a corner and was moving past Secret Empire and telling his own story, we are thrown right back in and reminded for the umpteenth time that Cap was the Supreme Commander Of Hydra, and he can't be trusted.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.1
Captain America (2018) #13

Aug 30, 2019

Meanwhile, back in Daughters HQ, Nick Fury and his boys crash in looking for Steve, but they were lured in by the Dryad instead, and she isn't happy!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Cosmic Ghost Rider Destroys Marvel History #4

Jun 5, 2019

If you're after a fun book that doesn't take a ton of investment, you could do A Lot worse than Cosmic Chost Rider Destroys Marvel History. Pick this up!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Cosmic Ghost Rider Destroys Marvel History #5

Jul 3, 2019

Continuing a hilarious romp through time, this is the pivotal issue! We get some hilariously large stakes to Frank's meddling. It's the weakest issue as far the events he inserts himself into, but moves the story along at a great pace. There's a few chuckles to be had, and the over the top cartoony art works nicely.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cosmic Ghost Rider Destroys Marvel History #6

Aug 7, 2019

This series has been a blast! Issue six finishes off the mini, and despite there not being a lot of hijinx, some real emotions seeing Frank's family killed (yet again) in front of him. It all gets wrapped up in a very satisfying way, and Paul Scheer and Nick Giovannetti leave the character in a perfectly usable spot for the next time we see Frank Castle as Cosmic Ghost Rider.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man (2019) #7

Jun 12, 2019

Tom Taylor once again manages to show how much he LOVES the characters he writes, no matter which company it is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man (2019) #8

Jun 26, 2019

For me, this continues to be the best Spidey book currently out. It has real, yet personal stakes to the story moves the story along nicely with a bit of action towards the end. It's a quick read but very satisfying. Tom Taylor just nails the voices the characters without ever feeling preachey or contrived.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man (2019) #10

Aug 14, 2019

This has been my favourite Spidey book in the Marvel lineup hands down – Tom Taylor continues to write a very human Spider-man, and Incorporates Iron Man/Tony Stark in a very organic way. This issue resolves the Fairgray pay arc, but it ends with a bit of a whimper rather than a bang. Still, everything is wrapped up nicely and it opens up nicely for the next arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man (2019) #11

Aug 28, 2019

It's obvious that Peter wouldn't be the hero he is without the love, support and kindness of MJ – and Tom Taylor shows us why one of the oldest love stories in all of comics is still the most enduring, and the kind of relationship we should all strive for.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ironheart #8

Jul 11, 2019

We finally see a bit more character development with Riri this issue- Eve Ewing does a good job balancing a personal story with a global, magical threat. Dr Strange plays a credible, even fun Father Figure for an issue in a guest spot that actually makes sense in the story. After a slow start to the series, its good see it starting to pick up and get interesting on multiple levels.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Loki (2019) #1

Jul 17, 2019

It's a solid start for the new Loki.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Loki (2019) #1

Jul 17, 2019

Its a new status quo for most of our notable Asgardians, and while weve seen Loki at times be considered an anti-hero, giving him serious responsibilities and a newfound sense of purpose is a new twist in his long story. Whether he will take it as seriously as his brother remains to be seen, and while Ive never been a Thor guy this is an intriguing start and Ill definitely stick around to see where it leads. The cartoony art matches well with the slightly comical tone of the story without ever going into farce or being too silly. Its a solid start for the new Loki.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Loki (2019) #2

Aug 14, 2019

It was good to see Nightmare – the Freddy Krueger of the Marvel Universe as more than a laughingstock and hopefully we see him looking menacing in the next few issues. Maybe it will all clear up in a few issues, but as it this issue just sort of stalls. Bit of a let down.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Loki (2019) #3

Sep 14, 2019

Final Thoughts: If you've ever read DC's Sandman, these sorts of heady topics are nothing new, but they are interestingly presented here and Loki's own cunning and trickery are used against him in a very clever way. What's a man/woman who gets everything they want to do? The intentionally ambiguous ending leaves on a genuine cliffhanger. It's an interesting take on the philosophy and contextual place of heroes in society. I'm really looking forward to the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Major X #4

Jun 1, 2019

Just like Olestra chips it seems like food, but shortly after you consume it, its out of your system again.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Marvel Comics Presents (2019) #6

Jun 26, 2019

Taken as a whole, this book is good for a fun trip down memory lane with paper thin stories and 90's art, including 90's accurate hyper anatomical muscles and gravity defying boobs. If only this book came with glow in the dark variants!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Marvel Team-Up (2019) #3

Jun 7, 2019

I'm not familiar with any of this creative team, but the art really stands out. A great mix of cartoony meets realistic. This book would make the perfect palate cleanser between two heavier books or a nice way to whittle away 15 minutes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Symbiote Spider-Man #4

Jul 11, 2019

This story takes place in a very specific time in the Spidey timeline- the original story occurred when I was about 10 and reading the Spidey Books without a jaded sense of theyre just comics. All the little subplots- Black Cat and her luck powers, Peter on the outs with Aunt May, the strangeness of this alien suit all brings back a fun sense of nostalgia, and Peter David does a great job filling in the gaps the original story never had the space to tell. I cant imagine newer readers enjoying this much, given how confusing it would be with whats happening in the Venom title, but if you have even a cursory memory the symbiote saga from the late 80s, check this book out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Valkyrie: Jane Foster #1

Jul 24, 2019

This book is a great way to jump back into Marvel post War Of The Realms, and Jason Aaron continues to show how well he knows and loves the Thor-Verse. Valkyrie manages to straddle the line between funny and serious- having the god like Valkyrie take down campy villains on rollerblades is a fun way to introduce us to the new status quo. It would have been easy to let this book slide into dense melodrama, but Jason Aaron and Al Ewing manage to make Jane Foster compelling in a different way than weve ever seen her before. A lot of plot conveniences happen this issue, but Im more than okay with them at this point because the rest of the story is so well done. Excited to see where it goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Valkyrie: Jane Foster #2

Aug 21, 2019

This issue moves FAST. There's enough things happening that it never becomes a boring slog fest, especially as we see Jane coming to grips with the duty of being the Valkyrie and how sometimes sacrifice is necessary for her new role. Some of the interior monologuing falls a bit flat, but the art is fantastic and my word Bullseye looks as creepy and psychotic as I've ever seen him. The ending takes you completely by surprise, and while this series so far isn't a home run, i'm still intrigued to see where we go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More