Phil Oldham's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: ComicBuzz Reviews: 34
7.4Avg. Review Rating

8
Avengers Academy #21

Nov 18, 2011

With lots of good character development and plenty of potential for future stories, Avengers Academy will be one of Marvels hottest titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Daredevil (2011) #7

Jan 29, 2012

Daredevil continues to be one of the best books available today, with great story telling and beautiful art and is proof that you dont need a major reboot to make a character fresh and accessible.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Daredevil (2011) #10.1

Apr 19, 2012

A great jump on point for one of the best comics available today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Daredevil (2011) #12

Jun 27, 2012

Daredevil continues to be one of the best comics available and #12 issue shows why this serious is without peer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Defenders (2011) #1

Dec 31, 2011

Its only the first issue, but Defenders is set be one of Marvels best books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Defenders (2011) #2

Jan 29, 2012

Overall, Defenders #2 was a satisfying and fun instalment to Marvels best new book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Defenders (2011) #3

Mar 1, 2012

A little bit rushed in the writing department but The Defenders is easily one of Marvels most entertaining comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Defenders (2011) #4

Mar 22, 2012

A quieter issue than whats come so far, but Defenders #4 succeeds as insight into Marvels fringe characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Defenders (2011) #5

Jun 27, 2012

Fraction portrayal of Namor continues to be fascinating and the books overall mystery has got me hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Gingerbread Girl #1

Jul 19, 2011

Thought provoking, interesting and fun, the story works better in one sitting and is definitely worth the money.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #1

Nov 5, 2012

This is a comic about long time Avenger Hawkeye fighting landlords with his fists and its awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Herc #10

Dec 6, 2011

The journey of the Lion of Olympus has been a fun one and I hope that Hercules will pop up again sooner or later, hopefully under the pens of Greg and Fred.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Huntress #1

Oct 20, 2011

Impressive action and storytelling, complimented by exciting art makes Huntress #1 well worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Legion Lost #1

Sep 28, 2011

Nicieza and Woods are more talented than this issue gives them credit. In the long run, I see this series improving vastly, with the Legionnaires getting into fun and dangerous situations while trapped in their past. The characters appearing may not be the most popular Legionnaires, but I think this series will give them a chance to shine.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Legion Lost #2

Oct 20, 2011

This issue was a big improvement over the previous and Im hoping Nicieza and Woods can keep it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Legion of Super-Heroes (2011) #1

Sep 28, 2011

Legion of Super-Heroes #1 was a strong issue thats let down only by its inaccessibility to new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Legion: Secret Origin #1

Nov 18, 2011

If youve been looking for a jump on point for the Legion, this is the book for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mystic #1

Aug 31, 2011

I took a chance when I picked up Mystic #1 and I encourage everyone else to do the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mystic #2

Sep 13, 2011

Despite a week with huge blockbuster titles, Mystic was the one that impressed me the most.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Secret Avengers #15

Aug 11, 2011

In closing, Secret Avengers #15 is interesting comic that is made great by its art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Secret Avengers #16

Sep 13, 2011

Ellis provides an interesting start to his tenure on Secret Avengers and Im eager to see where he goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Secret Avengers #21.1

Mar 1, 2012

Secret Avengers #21 is a thoroughly enjoyable read that makes me excited to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Secret Avengers #22

Mar 1, 2012

A good start by Remender and Hardman keeps up the high standard that has become associated with Secret Avengers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Secret Six Vol. 2 #36

Aug 11, 2011

Secret Six has always excelled by focusing on its characters and this was no exception. With a heart breaking finale and art that matches everything perfectly youre left with an amazing comic that shall be sorely missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Star Trek/Legion of Super-Heroes #1

Nov 18, 2011

With very little happening its easy to pass Star Trek/Legion Of Super-Heroes #1 by and just wait until issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Star Trek/Legion of Super-Heroes #2

Nov 18, 2011

Overall there isnt much to say, as the issue failed to make much progress from last issue, and once again I find myself waiting for something to happen and to get me hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Star Trek/Legion of Super-Heroes #3

Dec 31, 2011

All in all, Star Trek/Legion of Super-Heroes #3 is an improvement over the previous issues but Im still waiting for the story to really get going.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Super Dinosaur: Origin Special #1

Jul 19, 2011

I would of liked some more action and less recap but it was a decent read that Im sure will only get better as the story progresses.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Supergirl (2011) #5

Jan 29, 2012

Supergirl #5 had the chance to be great but was let down by the writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Supergirl (2011) #6

Mar 1, 2012

A fun read, made even better by the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wonder Woman (2011) #10

Aug 7, 2012

Wonder Woman has been one of my favourite series of the last year and this issue might be my favourite so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-23 (2010) #17

Dec 6, 2011

With great characterisation, a fun story and beautiful art that compliments it, X-23 is worth a look while it lasts.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-23 (2010) #21

Mar 22, 2012

Its sad to see X-23 conclude but at least it ends on a high note.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Zatanna #16

Aug 31, 2011

Ive really enjoyed every issue of Zatanna and Im sad to see the series end but at least it does so on a high note.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

5th

July

More