Quinn Morris's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Sequential Planet Reviews: 34
7.3Avg. Review Rating

6.8
Bane: Conquest #12

Jul 2, 2018

Chuck Dixon finishes up his little return to the glory days much as he began it: Squarely in the 90s.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batgirl (2016) #24

Jul 2, 2018

In fact, it's the best issue of Batgirl we've had in a while " although that's a bit like saying it's the least soggy Cheerio in the cereal bowl. The art's fine enough. It's decent.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman (2016) #49

Jun 21, 2018

Batman #49 has a lot going for it, there are just a few odd decisions that hold it back.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Batman (2016) #50

Jul 4, 2018

I liked a lot of it, and it's much better than I expected it to be, but its many flaws are very difficult to overlook.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #51

Jul 20, 2018

King rebounds well from his controversial #50 and begins a fascinating new court-based storyline that's well worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Batman Beyond (2016) #21

Jul 2, 2018

I'm not sold yet. The art doesn't help, either. It's not very dynamic, and it's a victim of the modern illness where too-small hatching starts fighting with the color, producing a bizarre texture that's not very pleasing to the eye.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Harley Quinn vs. Joker #1

Jun 28, 2018

Tim Seeley's understanding of the characters make Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Harley Quinn Vs. Joker a joy to read

View Issue       View Full Review
6.1
Cyborg (2016) #23

Jun 6, 2018

A mediocre issue that is average in just about every way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deathbed #4

May 29, 2018

Deathbed is an absolute thrill ride that shows no signs of slowing down, and issue #4 is as good a place to jump on as any.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Deathbed #5

Jun 26, 2018

This is the best issue of a series that already had me hooked, and I couldn't be more excited for next issue's finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #32

Jun 6, 2018

Priest has an excellent grasp of who the characters are and, more importantly, what their relationships are.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Eternity Girl #4

Jun 14, 2018

This series is reminiscent of Morrison at his best, and nowhere is that more evident than in this latest issue. If you're interested in a character-driven story about the repeated suicide attempts of an interdimensional immortal being of ridiculous power, then Eternity Girl is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Eternity Girl #5

Jul 12, 2018

One of the best series to come out of DC since Rebirth began, Eternity Girl is a brilliantly crafted excursion into the suicidal tendencies of an unkillable being. It's beautiful and sad and incredibly subtle. Read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Arrow (2016) #41

Jun 6, 2018

It might not be on the same level of social relevance as the last run, but I was entertained and I have a good feeling about the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Green Lanterns #51

Jul 20, 2018

A solid issue that is crippled by its complete and utter lack of a real villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Green Lanterns Annual #1

Jun 1, 2018

Green Lanterns Annual #1 is a true return to form

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #46

Jun 14, 2018

A fine issue without much content.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #47

Jul 2, 2018

In potentially the weakest entry in an otherwise very good arc, Venditti turns Gardner into even more of a mad-machine than usual.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hawkman (2018) #1

Jun 13, 2018

If you're a Hawkman fan or you're interested in a new series that has a recognizable protagonist, go for it!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Hellblazer (2016) #23

Jul 2, 2018

"Capestantine" is a bane on the character's existence, and not even Tim Seeley's usually sharp character sense is enough to save one of the edgiest characters of all time from the Flanderization he's been forced to undergo.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Justice League (2018) #3

Jul 5, 2018

A silver-age thrill ride, Scott Snyder continues to rise to the occasion and bring us the best Justice League series we've had in nearly a decade.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Man of Steel (2018) #1

Jun 1, 2018

The Man of Steel #1 is finally out, and so dawns a new age of Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Man of Steel (2018) #3

Jun 14, 2018

It wasn't bad by itself, but it's disappointing when placed in complete context with the story and with Bendis as a writer. It's still worth your time, but I'm just worried about the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.1
Man of Steel (2018) #5

Jun 28, 2018

Man of Steel #5 fails to do anything but indicate that Superman might be in the wrong hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Mera: Queen of Atlantis #5

Jul 2, 2018

It's a limited series and I wouldn't mind owning it. But don't expect greatness or anything.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
New Superman #24

Jun 14, 2018

Well, I for one hope that this isn't the last we see of the Justice League of China. Thanks for creating such a wonderful new corner of the DCU, Yang. Sorry to see it go so soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Plastic Man (2018) #2

Jul 13, 2018

Gail Simone brings us what is sure to become one of the all-time best Plastic Man stories. It's hilarious, heartfelt, and an amazing exploration of the character. Don't miss out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Raven: Daughter of Darkness #6

Jul 2, 2018

Does Wolfman know that miniseries are supposed to be one contained narrative? Because he seems to be trying to write an ongoing that's been pre-cancelled.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #23

Jun 13, 2018

There's something really nice about watching these three troublemakers come together and forging one of the best team dynamics in the DCU. Sometimes lying, sometimes hiding things, but always being good to each other as best they can. Honestly, RHATO has been pretty great since Rebirth started, and this issue is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Suicide Squad (2016) #43

Jun 14, 2018

This issue feels like filler to me, which is sort of annoying because I was actually kind of enjoying this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.4
Teen Titans (2016): Special #1

Jun 28, 2018

This is not a good comic by any stretch of the imagination.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
The Immortal Men #3

Jun 14, 2018

I want to like it " The Batman Who Laughs is playing an interesting role " but good lord, Tynion, this needs to be character-driven and you have created a mind-numbing plot here.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
The Unexpected (2018) #1

Jun 6, 2018

As it stands, the story feels generic and too large in scale for a character's first outing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wonder Woman (2016) Annual #2

Jun 6, 2018

A very solid one-shot story that did a good job of tying into the ongoing plot as well.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More