Ryan Sonneville's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AIPT Reviews: 15
8.3Avg. Review Rating

6.5
2020 Iron Age #1

Mar 17, 2020

There isn't anything here that is going to entice folks to pay attention to the 2020 line, but there are creative ideas from the three creative teams present, giving some life to this small corner of the Marvel Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman: The Adventures Continue #6

Jun 21, 2020

This book embraces nostalgia while promising new ground for the animated Batman to confront. While there may not be much to chew on here when it comes to delving deeper into the Batman lore, it is a pleasurable, colorful romp that any age can enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bug Boys #1

Mar 16, 2021

This nicely bound hardcover fits well into any book bag and should be placed in a young reader's bag as they head off to school and beyond. Its understated approach to bridging the zany and surreal qualities of modern children's cartoons with a loftier emphasis on understanding the larger world makes this a delightful introduction to the comic medium. It's a celebratory adventure from a young creative talent that will worm (pun intended) its way into the hearts of even jaded readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Hidden Society #1

Mar 2, 2020

A great first issue by a creative team hitting their stride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mel the Chosen OGN

Nov 1, 2021

Mel the Chosenby Rachele Aragno is a great graphic novel by an up-and-coming cartoonist that will surely be adored by the young and young at heart in any household. From its whimsical characters and setting to the picturesque water-colored visuals, it's a worthy addition to any library.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Monster Friends OGN

Jul 26, 2021

A whimsical adventure for young readers, providing an interesting take on friendship.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Portrait of a Drunk #1

Mar 4, 2020

Portrait of a Drunk is an excellent introduction to some of the paramount living independent comics and won't disappoint those looking for the visual experimentation this medium can provide coupled with sharp storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Star Wars (2020) #5

Aug 6, 2020

This is a fine issue in a fine series, but it is very safe in its design and execution. When compared to the interesting developments in the Star Wars mythos being charted in Doctor Aphra, this book feels unfortunately inconsequential. The talent at the book's helm is strong, but it leaves one wanting a more unique adventure in a galaxy far, far away.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (2020) #2

Jul 22, 2020

As we wait to see what direction Disney takes the Star Wars franchise, it's good to know that they are investing in new takes on the universe. We're only two issues into this series, but it's a perfect time to see what can be done with a franchise that often feels restricted and locked into nostalgia.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Strange Academy (2020) #2

Jul 8, 2020

With its lighthearted tone, remarkable art and deep reverence for Marvel canon while also introducing a dozen new characters, this has quickly become one of my favorite comics currently published. We are only two issues in, but I am eagerly anticipating the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The End: Captain America #1

Feb 5, 2020

A fine read from a skilled comic craftsman taking a shot at a classic property in their own style. I have not read a solo Captain America book in some time and this was a nice diversion from my normal weekly books. If Marvel is willing to give their major properties over to creative forces to experiment and bring their perspective (even for a non-continuity one-shot), I will give them a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Thor (2020) #4

Mar 15, 2020

I was not familiar with either of the creative forces behind this book prior to picking up this issue, but they have made me a fan. Even if you are not a Thor aficionado, this current run is one to check out if you love the art of comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tono Monogatari #1

Mar 24, 2021

Tono Monogatari is simply a book that everyone should read, not just comic or manga fans. This is for anyone interested in taking a masterclass in how tradition can be repackaged and expanded by artists with a purpose. It's a humorous, frightening and beautiful book that deserves celebration.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Turtle In Paradise OGN

Jun 29, 2021

Ganucheau's comic adaptation of Turtle in Paradise stands as a work of its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Way of X (2021) #4

Jul 14, 2021

Si Spurrier's exploration of Krakoan ethos is just what the X-line needed.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More