Sam Jarron's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 13
8.2Avg. Review Rating

10
History of the Marvel Universe (2019) #3

Sep 30, 2019

Overall, I’m absolutely loving this series. The art by Javier Rodríguez and Álvaro Lópex is stellar; they’re great at presenting the dense amount of information, and their style is perfect for showing the classic costumes in a modern art style. I can’t wait to see how Mark Waid tells some of the more recent stories in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
History of the Marvel Universe (2019) #4

Oct 16, 2019

I must say, while this series is right up my alley (I love timelines and continuity), it's getting a little too expository.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
History of the Marvel Universe (2019) #5

Nov 14, 2019

This issue was really good. Just like the last issues, it did a really good job of explaining the complicated mess that is Marvel Comics in a way that makes sense. Unfortunately, it's starting to become a little much. The issue is just sooooo dense with information. It would've been easier to read if Waid had gotten a few more issues of the series, and more room for the series to breathe as a result. But that's a minor complaint, I'm still really enjoying the series, and the art is still ridiculously good. It does a great job of simultaneously looking like modern comic art and classic 60s comic art. Only one more issue to go! And it might be the longest, considering how much happened in the comics released from 2013 to now!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Marvel Comics #1001

Oct 2, 2019

(Strange Note: She-Hulk and the Thing appear on the cover, but aren't in the issue at all, it's kinda weird. The closest it gets is when Blonde Phantom briefly mentions She-Hulk)

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars Adventures: Return to Vader's Castle #1

Oct 2, 2019

I really liked the issue; it was a great start to the series. The art by Franceso Francavilla and Megan Levens did a great job of adding a spooky atmosphere to the story. The first series had good art, but the framing story's art didn't seem very spooky; now everything has dark and scary art; Vanee looks terrifying. I'm excited to see where this series goes; it looks like next issue will feature Tarkin as the focus of Vanee's next story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars Adventures: Return to Vader's Castle #2

Oct 9, 2019

I loved this issue even more than the first, mainly because of the twist. We find out that Thom learned the story from Cremp herself; after seeing what Tarkin was willing to do, she defected to the Rebellion. The issue made me expect the monster to be the monster, but the monster ended up being Tarkin himself. In hindsight, the twist makes a lot of sense, since the series is focusing on villains, but I didn't realize it. And at the end, we get another twist: Thom manages to escape his shackles, and the issue ends with him on the run within the Castle. Cavan again proves that he's an amazing Star Wars author; this series is stepping it up yet again. A horror series with real twists that I didn't see coming, with spooky art. I can't wait for #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Star Wars Adventures: Return to Vader's Castle #3

Oct 16, 2019

I'm really conflicted about this issue. On one hand, it's not abadstory. It just doesn't fit the premise of the series, and it feels largely unimportant. The best thing I can say about it is that the art by Francesco Francevilla continues to be really good. Overall, it was a pretty meh issue, though I'm still looking forward to the rest of the series. Hopefully the issues about Darth Vader and Jabba are better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars Adventures: Return to Vader's Castle #4

Oct 23, 2019

Back in the present, Thom Hudd is about to die when the Fourth Sister appears! She tells Vanee that she's been ordered to bring Hudd to Coruscant by the Emperor. This issue was a lot better than the previous issue. It was a proper horror story, and it ended on a plot twist. My theory is that the Fourth Sister is actually Lina Graf, wearing the real Fourth Sister's armor and there to break Thom out. The art was really good, though it wasn't too horror... y. It was still great though; Cavan continues to be a god. I'm really looking forward to the final issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars Adventures: Return to Vader's Castle #5

Oct 30, 2019

It had a slight misstep in the Ventress issue, but that didn't stop it from being incredible. In fact, I think it's better than the original Vader's Castle series from last year; it improved on the concept and had generally better stories and art. I'm definitely looking forward to next Halloween, since it seems like a Vader's Castle mini-series from Cavan might become an annual thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #38

Nov 7, 2019

The issue ends on another stinger, just in time to save Aphra's dad from being killed. I really loved this issue; taking a different turn from previous stories was the perfect move, and Vader getting his own great moment was icing on the cake. The art from Caspar Wijngaard has been stellar too; it's more stylized than the art of my Emilio Laiso (my favorite artist that's worked on Aphra), but I think that's a good thing. I'm really looking forward to the rest of this final arc, as well as the relaunch next year.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra Annual #3

Oct 31, 2019

This issue was pretty incredible. While I love the complex plot of the main story, it's been getting repetitive recently, so a one-shot that returned to Aphra's Indiana-Jones-but-Star-Wars is greatly appreciated. Spurrier was able to fit alotof story into a single issue, and Elsa Charretier's art was amazing as always (She's done a lot of Star Wars comic art, primarily in IDW's Star Wars Adventures series). This issue kinda felt like the "essential" Doctor Aphra issue; it has all the series' classic characters and story structure. I'm sad that this'll be the last annual of the series, since Doctor Aphra Vol 1 is ending at #40 in December, but I'm looking forward to seeing how Alyssa Wong brings a new voice and era to Aphra's story next year when the series reboots.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Jedi Fallen Order - Dark Temple #3

Oct 9, 2019

Up until this issue, I wasn't really enjoying this series. The story seemed a little overdone for Star Wars; it's been done before with the Lurmen in The Clone Wars, as well as a dozen other stories. But now that the action and plot are picking up, I'm finally invested in what happens. I do wish the present-day story with the Second Sister would have a little more focus (because she's the best), but it's not a big problem. The art is really good; Paolo Villanelli is a fantastic artist (he did the Lando: Double or Nothing series before this, which I didn't like nearly as much). Overall this issue was good, and I'm looking forward to the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Target Vader #5

Nov 13, 2019

This issue was really good. I wasn't really into the series at the start; the bounty hunters were all pretty boring (Except Valance and Dengar), and the flashbacks weren't very interesting. But this issue really kicked things up a notch, and I loved every page of it. The story is starting to lead up to Empire Ascendant (albiet without the Destination: Hoth banner that other Star Wars series are getting), and the art from the three artists is really good. I'm super-hyped for the final issue next month!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More