Sean A. Guynes's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Graphic Policy Reviews: 43
8.2Avg. Review Rating

8.5
47 Ronin #5

Jul 3, 2013

A lot of people have been reading this book, and there's an obvious reason why; so there's no reason to miss this extended-issue conclusion to the 5-part mini-series. Im really looking forward to a trade paperback, because I think itll work better as a graphic novel than as a set of separate issues. 47 Ronin #5 does well on its own, but it definitely has its full power in context of the four previous comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Akaneiro #2

Jun 24, 2013

Akaneiro is of the caliber of incredible storytelling that continues to make Dark Horse one of the best, most artistic publishers in the business, and the second issue is a must-have. The Miyazaki-meets-Hellboy patois is endearing, its protagonist a stolid outcropping in raging rapids, desperate to keep her moral code and values in the face of overwhelming odds. Kani is a modern hero in an ancient time lost in a tale of identity challenged and retained. We all have something to learn from this book, and I think we all know a few Yokai playing at being human

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Akaneiro #3

Jul 31, 2013

Dear Dark Horse, please make more Akaneiro, and congratulate Aclin, Lolos, and Atiyeh on an incredible series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Amala's Blade #3

Jun 25, 2013

And I'm hoping thatAmala'sBladeis not the last we'll see of Horton andDialynas' wild world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Amala's Blade #4

Jul 31, 2013

Amala's Blade #4, like Akaneiro #3, suffers slightly from crunched plotting. But does that means it's bad? Hell no! Go buy a copy for yourself, open in up, and be blown away by the best mini-series I've read this year! I've gotta get my hands on this TPB!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #109

Jul 16, 2013

B.P.R.D. #109 is another fine addition to the Mignolaverse narrative, strong in horror-comic artistry and hitting home with a dead mother and a mysterious new character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Baltimore: The Inquisitor #1

Jun 17, 2013

I can hardly imagine a more exciting way to combine World War I, vampires, the Inquisition, and witches than this one-shot, which is well-worth the time. Baltimore really is one of those rare characters whose books you have to wait months for, but which always pay off as a visual and narrative odyssey.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman (2011) #22

Jul 11, 2013

Snyder truly impresses with this issue, an improvement on Batman #21, including more glimpses of a young, not-yet-the-Riddler Riddler, a plot with one of Batman's earliest enemies, and a real test of faith between Alfred and Bruce. Snyder is skilled at building the tension and turning your anticipation a whole 180"if you read this issue, you'll know exactly what I mean. I recently chided current comics for being less wordy and more focused on big-panel, muscleman art, but Batman #22 offers a great balance between solid art and plenty of narrative and character development in the speech bubbles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman/Superman (2013) #2

Jul 26, 2013

After the first issue of what promised to be, and certainly was, an incredible team up of Greg Pak and Jae Lee, I was sort of left in WTF-land. I'm not at all implying that was a bad thing, at least not for me. There's a fine line between comics that make no sense"for example, Constantine #5 as a Trinity War tie-in was completely unmotivated as an addition to the Trinity War narrative, it seemed to only serve boosting Constantine sales and to put Shazam into another book for the week"and comics that take a while to make sense (heck, Watchmen falls into this category!). Batman/Superman is shaping up to be one of the latter; I'll definitely want to buy the TPB when it comes out, so I can read it as a 'graphic novel,' but for now I'm content to get my DC WTF dose from Pak and Lee once a month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batwoman #21

Jun 22, 2013

Williams III and Blackman present the tragic story of yet another villain who may not be all-bad, but might have something below the layer of green, sketchbook Francavilla art that just hasnt been apparent in past stories (he's too busy getting the crap beat out of him by the Bat-Family). Batwoman #21 shines a sensitive spotlight on a villain much in need of depth, and deserving of such horror-comic-esque art. This is the rightful home for Croc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Breath of Bones: A Tale of the Golem #1

Jun 23, 2013

If you only read superhero comics, youre missing out; theres so much the comics medium can achieve, and Niles and Wachter showcase just some of its breadth with eloquence and respect, bringing another Dark Horse masterpiece to market in the shape of Breath of Bones: A Tale of the Golem #1

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Breath of Bones: A Tale of the Golem #2

Jul 9, 2013

Breath of Bones: A Tale of the Golem #2 has a little bit of something for everybody, and is in general a saga to find yourself happily lost in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Breath of Bones: A Tale of the Golem #3

Aug 13, 2013

Niles and Wacthers Breath of Bones: A Tale of the Golem is a tour-de-force of what the comics industry can produce, a hope-giving triumph of the graphic narrative medium that reminds us what it means to be a superheroa lesson we could all use in an age when heroes face the apocalypse ever other month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Captain Midnight #0

Jun 18, 2013

I really didnt know what I was getting myself into when I cracked open Captain Midnight #0, but now Im aching to get my hands on the next issue and watch as Dark Horses talented artists and writer bring this Golden Age bad-ass back to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Captain Midnight #1

Jul 29, 2013

Captain Midnight #1 is worth a try, because maybe your sensibilities are different; but I was rather let down. There was a lot to live up to following the zero-issue, and while Dagnino delivered exceptional page layouts overflowing with great art, Williamson's script detracted from the overall atmosphere of what we got a month ago in Captain Midnight #0. But don't let this stop you from taking a look yourself. This book could easily become one of the best new series of the year. I'm looking forward to seeing where Williamson and Dagnino take us next!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Catalyst Comix #1

Jul 3, 2013

And if the above doesnt get you interested, but you are turned on to anything with good advertising, you really have to love any comic that advertises itself with the tag line: Catalyst Comix will steal your boyfriend. Its a $2.99 well spent, and thats a better price than plenty of the inferior books that go for a dollar more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2011) #28

Jul 11, 2013

Daredveil #28 is yet another example of why this series continues to be probably my absolute favorite book on the market right now, despite my great love for Dark Horses books and DC more generally.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Daredevil: Dark Nights #1

Jun 20, 2013

Daredevil falls; overcomes; sets out to triumph despite the odds. It doesnt sound all that incredible, in facts these are the ingredients for just about any superhero comic, but in the words and pencils (again, the page layout!) of Weeks, Daredevil: Dark Nights #1 is a book that you cant really miss. I know I'm in for the rest of the series, are you?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Daredevil: Dark Nights #2

Jul 6, 2013

This is a book about hope, and when I read it, I cant help but feel that with writers and artists of Lee Weeks caliber, the comics industry certainly wont fail to provide the world with incredible, compelling, and memorable stories not to be tossed aside as tales, but to be remembered as myths of our age.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dark Horse Presents #26

Jul 24, 2013

Despite being an anthologyand one might fear that some bad eggs could slip ineditor Mike Richardson has ensured a batch of high-quality comics, which run the gamut of realistic horror to funny strip to classic sci-fi. While Dark Horse Presents #26 isnt for everyone, I would recommend it to anyone with an interest in sampling the diverse possibilities of graphic narratives, as well as those who are fans of the genres or writers/artists featured in this issue. DHP certainly delivers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Edgar Allan Poe's The Fall of the House of Usher #1

Jun 19, 2013

Creepy. That truly is the best way to describe Corben's eerie adaptation on the whole, both story and art, all of it seeps through the pages and into the mind like an unforgettable horror story populated with too eccentric madmen and unnerving twists. And while the dialogue is at times awkward, at least for someone who greatly enjoyed the original, I would contend that Richard Corben's Fall of the House of Usher will be remembered for some time, and if ever I get the chance to teach Poe, my students will surely also be reading this adaptation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Eerie Comics #3

Jul 8, 2013

Dark Horse, if youre reading: thank you. Its books like Eerie #3 that I hope to edit someday soon and bring well-written quality comics to readers everywhere, and it's further proof that Dark Horse isthe company.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Gamma (One Shot) #1

Jul 24, 2013

Farinas and Freitas Gamma one-shot is nothing less than a brilliant ode to my (and probably your) childhood, wrapped up in a messily light-hearted adult package. A laugh-your-ass-off bonanza with unique art and an oddball story. A must have, if just to experience its zany charm.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Invincible Universe #1

Jun 23, 2013

While I loved Invincible Universe #1 and #2, I cant say I enjoyed this one greatly, aside from visually. My experience with Eastern Europe has tainted my view of the comic, but other, less politically-biased opinions can be found at Comic Book Roundup.com, which provides links to four other reviews. If youre a fan of the Invinciverse, youll want to read this issuethe book will likely be around for a while (hopefully), and the stories are a great compliment to Invincible.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2011) #22

Jul 11, 2013

Reis delivered his usual, realistic yet larger-than-life art aided by the work of inkers Joe Prado and Oclair Albert, and colorist Rod Reis. It's understandable why this issue needed so many artistic minds: it's panel-for-panel action, with superbodies spread across each page and supported by an ominous script and the card-turning Madame Xanadu.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League Dark #22

Jul 26, 2013

Justice League Dark #22 certainly delivered its bit of intrigue and JL vs. JL fantasy, filled with comic book writing at its finest and robust page layouts that lead the eye straight through the story. And Oh Holy Batman! The reveal at the end had me thinking more investigatively about a comic than ever before"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Larfleeze #1

Jul 1, 2013

This may not be a book for everyone, but if you like Douglas Adams, if you like the Lantern mythology, or if you're greedy, then at least read Larfleeze #1 and see what you think. Brett may be right, this book might fall into the obscurity of the thousands of dead DC titles (does anyone remember Captain Carrot and His Amazing Zoo Crew!?), but for now, it's a hilarious and lovable break from all the darkness on DC's roster.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Mars Attacks Classics Obliterated #1

Jul 1, 2013

If you're a fan of Mars Attacks or any of the classics adapted herein, you might want to check this out, but otherwise this review will probably satisfy any curiosity you have and leave you with $7.99 in your pocket. On the whole, it seems a half-hearted knock-off of the recent Deadpool: Classics Killustrated, both in tone and design, but lacking in the same quality and inspiration.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mouse Guard: Legends of the Guard Vol. 2 #1

Jul 2, 2013

This is my first experience with Mouse Guard, but I have to say that Im not only looking forward to delving into Petersens rodent world, but Ill for sure put the next issue of this anthology, Legends of the Guard, Volume 2 on my pull-list. If youre a fan of any of these artist, love rodent stories, or just want something fun to read and beautiful to look at, then this is the book for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Pathfinder #8

Jul 10, 2013

Pathfinder is probably the best book on Dynamite Entertainments roster, a breath of fresh air after books like Dejah Thoris and Warlord of Mars, which have long disappointed me (though Im truly looking forward to Simones Red Sonja).

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Red Sonja (2013) #1

Jul 15, 2013

Ill continue to read Simones run on Red Sonja, and I hope to see an improvement in the script as she becomes more familiar with the characters tone and the book itself. If she can bring the emotional depth and quality of writing I experience every time I read Batgirl, then I know Dynamites new Red Sonja will be a book worth putting at the top of the weeks pull-list.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Star Wars (2013) #7

Jul 9, 2013

On the whole, Star Wars #7 is an intriguing comic that continues the post-Battle of Yavin saga of the Rebellion and Darth Vaders attempt to rebuild his standing in the eyes of the Emperor, despite the issue suffering slightly from awkward illustrations.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Star Wars (2013) #8

Aug 13, 2013

Star Wars #8 is a solid continuation of a great on-going series; its certainly not my favorite Star Wars series right now, with that title falling to Legacy or Dark Times, but its the Empire era as it hasnt been explored in comics for 30 years. This is a must buy if youre a Star Wars fan, but Id recommend you only read it if youre not hard-core into Star Wars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Star Wars: Darth Vader and the Ninth Assassin #3

Jun 17, 2013

Issue #3 continues a very intriguing book, with Vader in a temple that you just have to read about and see for yourself. Its not hard to ignore the clunky script, since several pages are entirely silent, so soak in the narrative art and enjoy!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Star Wars: Legacy Vol. 2 #6

Aug 26, 2013

So why arent you buying The Halloween Legion: The Great Goblin Invasion? Youd be daft not to, even if you have to stay away from more mainstream titles for a week or two, youll be pleased you got this incredible Halloween adventure. Can we have more, Dark Horse?!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Swamp Thing (2011) #21

Jun 22, 2013

Swamp Thing #21 is thoughtfully written, and Jesus Saiz captures the striking pages and intricate, botanical panel designs pioneered by Paquette in earlier New 52 issues of this book (I wouldnt mind plastering my wall with prints of these). On the whole, Swamp Thing is a book you should be collecting, or at the very least readingbeautiful, literary, eloquently devised, and, besides, the meta-humans make for much cooler heroes than the supers (in my opinion).

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Swamp Thing (2011) #22

Jul 6, 2013

As a team, Soule and Kano are bringing back the classic, edgy feel of horror comics from the 1970s and the dark ages of the 1980s, while also giving a softer side to the Swamp Thing. This is one of DCs more compelling and moralistic books; it makes you think, thats its nature. Swamp Thing #22 does not disappoint in terms of art or literary value.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles New Animated Adventures #1

Jul 10, 2013

Im not a TMNT fan, so itd be unfair for me to judge the comic harshly, but overall I thought it was a fun adventure, something that fans of the animated comics or TMNT would have a good time reading. Also, I think this is a good bridge comic for getting kids into comics, so it has to be applauded for that effort. Just as DC and Marvel are reaching out with these kids comics, it seems IDW has jumped on the bandwagona smart and successful move.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Star Wars: Lucas Draft #1

Sep 4, 2013

In the end, what can still be said about The Star Wars as a new saga will have to wait, but I know that Rinzler, Mayhew, and the whole Dark Horse team involved have taken a modern American sci-fi legacy and used the historian's craft and some creative interpretation to fashion on a new legacy worthy of Star Wars' mantle of honor, yet uniquely its own monolithic work of fictional pomp and grandeur. The Star Wars #1 is, in short, the beginning of an unfinished vision of Star Wars redefined and perfected with all the insight of nearly 40 years of one of the most successful fictional franchises.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Strain: The Fall #1

Jul 16, 2013

Kudos to Lapham and crew for adapting del Toro and Hogans story and making it into something truly incredible. Another fantastic debut from Dark Horse.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Trinity of Sin: Pandora #1

Jul 6, 2013

DC Comics aficionados will have to at least read this book, hence my suggestion, but it might be an issue worth collecting; who knows the role this book might play in things to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Warlord of Mars: Dejah Thoris #26

Jun 18, 2013

It is frustrating, however, that Warlord of Mars: Dejah Thoris doesnt seem to fall into continuity with the other Barsoom book by Dynamite, Warlord of Mars, since Dejahs father and grandfather are mentioned early on in issue #26, but readers of the other series will know that that cant be possible. Still, a fun read if you have the time or are a fan of Barsoom; I guess there could be other motivations for picking up a book featuring Dejah Thoris, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wolverine and the X-Men #31

Jun 21, 2013

Wolverine and the X-Men #31 is yet another reason why this series is a great addition to Marvels current X-Men books, a mixture of gravity and comedy that hearkens back to the Marvel heyday.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

3rd

February

More