Steve Ray's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: DC Comics News Reviews: 13
8.9Avg. Review Rating

10
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Harley Quinn vs. Joker #1

Jun 29, 2018

I have really enjoyed these preludes, but the end of the road is in sight. If you've been reading the parallel arcs in the main Batman book, then these stories provide fantastic companion pieces. If you haven't, what are you waiting for? Pick up Batman 48 and 49 right now! Once you've read 'em make sure you pick up issue #50 and the all-new Catwoman #1 both available on July 4th.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Nightwing vs. Hush #1

Jun 7, 2018

Not a single complaint from this reader. Tim Seeley, Travis Moore, Otto Scmidt, Tamra Bonvillain and wonder wordsmith Dave Sharpe ("SUNNN" "KATHOOM" FWOOSSH") have just killed it. Hush is not a nice guy, but I felt for him" rocket-launcher notwithstanding. Comics don't always have to be thought provoking essays dissecting the human condition. Sometimes all they need to do is give us great characters, and entertainment. Sometimes all they have to be" is fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Robin vs. Ra's Al Ghul #1

Jun 2, 2018

I'm anxiously awaiting next week's installment, pitting Nightwing against Hush.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Red Hood vs. Anarky #1

Jun 22, 2018

Another hugely entertaining story. The way that all roads have been leading to the Joker have me so excited for next week's final chapter, and for the wedding in Batman #50.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Batgirl vs. The Riddler #1

Jun 15, 2018

VerdictI'm loving these one-shots so much. They take a different look at multiple aspects of comics lore in every issue. The pairings of hero and villain have been really well thought out, refreshing and fun to read. The Joker is slowly circling his prey, but his former love is now hunting him too. Next week we'll see Red Hood battle Anarky, leading to the Harley Vs. Joker main event. I've got my tickets, and I'm gonna be front row!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #42

Apr 6, 2018

VerdictFill-in issues can sometimes be a gamble" but this was one that really paid off. Not only does next issue's creative team of Writer Michael Moreci and artist Jorge Jiminez have a tough act to follow, so does the new home team!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #43

Apr 19, 2018

With issues #42 and #43 delivering two tasty starter dishes, readers' appetites have been whetted for the delicious main course thatNightwing #44 promiises to deliver. In two short weeks the new ongoing creative team debuts" and this reader is hungry.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #44

May 4, 2018

If Mr. Mooneyham can keep up this level of quality art on a two week release schedule, then I'll be a very happy reader indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #45

Jun 7, 2018

Wyrm is a formidable foe. In a world where information is power and technology is king, this is truly a monster for today's society. How can Nightwing battle an enemy he can't touch, and one who can extract information directly from his devices, or even his very own mind? Personally, I can't wait to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #46

Jul 4, 2018

A solid issue; variances in art notwithstanding. Great story ideas, lovely characterization and good images. The threat is one that I find engaging and the end of the issue has left me on edge for the next chapter. The issue isn't perfect, but it's definitely pretty darned good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #18

Mar 29, 2018

Two chapters in and this new arc is proving to be great fun. There's a nice mix of action, and decent characterisation. Benjamin Percy has done some great work on Teen Titans, and over on Green Arrow too. The cliffhanger this issue has left me wanting more, and no-one can say fairer than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #19

Apr 27, 2018

Benjamin Percy and the gang have done well to fit at least six issues' worth of material into just three comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016): Special #1

Jun 29, 2018

VerdictThe quality of this issue warranted it being more than a stand-alone one-shot. This is the kind of comic that deserves to be the zero issue of an ongoing arc. I grew up with Marv Wolfman and George Perez' legendary Teen Titans run, which hugely affected my character, morals and beliefs. This new version, if it's handled as well as this issue was, could do the same for a whole new generation of readers.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More