Steve Ray's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: DC Comics News Reviews: 39
9.2Avg. Review Rating

10
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Red Hood vs. Anarky #1

Jun 22, 2018

Another hugely entertaining story. The way that all roads have been leading to the Joker have me so excited for next week's final chapter, and for the wedding in Batman #50.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Batgirl vs. The Riddler #1

Jun 15, 2018

VerdictI'm loving these one-shots so much. They take a different look at multiple aspects of comics lore in every issue. The pairings of hero and villain have been really well thought out, refreshing and fun to read. The Joker is slowly circling his prey, but his former love is now hunting him too. Next week we'll see Red Hood battle Anarky, leading to the Harley Vs. Joker main event. I've got my tickets, and I'm gonna be front row!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Harley Quinn vs. Joker #1

Jun 29, 2018

I have really enjoyed these preludes, but the end of the road is in sight. If you've been reading the parallel arcs in the main Batman book, then these stories provide fantastic companion pieces. If you haven't, what are you waiting for? Pick up Batman 48 and 49 right now! Once you've read 'em make sure you pick up issue #50 and the all-new Catwoman #1 both available on July 4th.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Nightwing vs. Hush #1

Jun 7, 2018

Not a single complaint from this reader. Tim Seeley, Travis Moore, Otto Scmidt, Tamra Bonvillain and wonder wordsmith Dave Sharpe ("SUNNN" "KATHOOM" FWOOSSH") have just killed it. Hush is not a nice guy, but I felt for him" rocket-launcher notwithstanding. Comics don't always have to be thought provoking essays dissecting the human condition. Sometimes all they need to do is give us great characters, and entertainment. Sometimes all they have to be" is fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Robin vs. Ra's Al Ghul #1

Jun 2, 2018

I'm anxiously awaiting next week's installment, pitting Nightwing against Hush.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #42

Apr 6, 2018

VerdictFill-in issues can sometimes be a gamble" but this was one that really paid off. Not only does next issue's creative team of Writer Michael Moreci and artist Jorge Jiminez have a tough act to follow, so does the new home team!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #43

Apr 19, 2018

With issues #42 and #43 delivering two tasty starter dishes, readers' appetites have been whetted for the delicious main course thatNightwing #44 promiises to deliver. In two short weeks the new ongoing creative team debuts" and this reader is hungry.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #44

May 4, 2018

If Mr. Mooneyham can keep up this level of quality art on a two week release schedule, then I'll be a very happy reader indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #45

Jun 7, 2018

Wyrm is a formidable foe. In a world where information is power and technology is king, this is truly a monster for today's society. How can Nightwing battle an enemy he can't touch, and one who can extract information directly from his devices, or even his very own mind? Personally, I can't wait to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #46

Jul 4, 2018

A solid issue; variances in art notwithstanding. Great story ideas, lovely characterization and good images. The threat is one that I find engaging and the end of the issue has left me on edge for the next chapter. The issue isn't perfect, but it's definitely pretty darned good.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #47

Aug 1, 2018

VerdictThis issue was great, and really left me wanting more. Isn't that what comics are all about? The new creative have really found their voices, and the audience is receiving some sweet, sweet music.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #48

Sep 5, 2018

VerdictI'm almost sad that this particular creative team is only handling this issue and the next. Thankfully we know that writer Benjamin Percy is sticking around for a while, but I'm itching to see more of Amancay Nahuelpan's gorgeous art. The conclusion to this chapter has revved up my engines, and I just want to hit the gas and zoom ahead four weeks to see how this all plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #49

Sep 19, 2018

Trust me folks, this is something that you do NOT want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #50

Oct 3, 2018

Dick Grayson is dead, long live Nightwing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #51

Oct 18, 2018

That final page has definitely piqued my interest!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #52

Nov 7, 2018

VerdictYes, I'm really enjoying this new direction. Ric Grayson always has been and always will be one of the greatest heroes in comics. His journey of rediscovery, plus having to deal with darker versions of his former persona, will eventually lead him back on the path of righteousness… I know it will. In the meantime, though, we're going to get some fresh, thrilling and truly innovative new Nightwing adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #53

Nov 21, 2018

All aboard route NW #54… next stop FEARSVILLE.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #54

Dec 5, 2018

VerdictSeeing how Crane likes Ric Grayson, but despises Robin and Nightwing makes for very interesting reading. Althoughthe clash of styles was a distraction, both the artists om this issue are fine storytellers. The story is riveting and full of excellent characters, so I'm still in for the long-haul.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #55

Dec 20, 2018

VerdictAll the pieces are now in play. The Nightwings are out there, Scarecrow has joined the fray and Ric Grayson has been forced into the battlefield. It seems clear that circumstances have taken Dick Grayson out of Nightwing, but they haven't removed Nightwing's spark from within Ric. Throw in the master of fear and a team of rookie vigilantes and the situation is ready to explode. The question remains as to which Nightwing, if any, will be around to pick up the pieces once the dust settles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #56

Jan 9, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this issue. It was action packed, well scripted and brilliantly drawn. If we could just get a permanent art team settled in, then this series would be close to perfection. I'm fully invested in this title, with Ric back in the thick of things and a mysterious visitor watching proceedings from the rooftops, I'm sure that the fun's just getting started.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #57

Feb 22, 2019

VerdictWhere some could find the slower pace of this issue a little off-putting, I enjoyed it, especially after the roller-coaster thrill ride of issues 50-56. Ric's relationship with Sapienza has grown and so has his connection with Bea. Having Duela Dent, back and adopting her “Joker's Daughter” persona again is intriguing, to say the least. This character has crossed over from being hero, villain, anti-hero and everything in-between, so seeing her in these pages will definitely add some spice. I look forward to finding out just how much, over the next few months.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #58

Mar 20, 2019

VerdictWhile it isn't a groundbreaking masterpiece, Nightwing #58 is still a great example of good, well crafted sequential art. The story made sense, the characters are believable/lovable/hateful, depending on their purpose, and the art is gorgeous. Whatever you want to call him, the main character of this title has been a huge part of my life for over four decades, so, I'm going to stick with him, support him, and the fine, talented creators that continue to bring us his adventures, until I find a valid reason not to. This book is still one of my favorite monthly reads.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) Annual #1

Aug 29, 2018

Terrific dialogue, clean lines, bright colors and a gripping plot. While the art was not exactly to my taste it was still very good, and was perfectly suited to the content and subject matter. No, this annual wasn't perfect, but it was an essential chapter in the continuing story. Seriously guys and girls, if you regularly read the monthly Nightwing series you do not want to miss this installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #18

Mar 29, 2018

Two chapters in and this new arc is proving to be great fun. There's a nice mix of action, and decent characterisation. Benjamin Percy has done some great work on Teen Titans, and over on Green Arrow too. The cliffhanger this issue has left me wanting more, and no-one can say fairer than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #19

Apr 27, 2018

Benjamin Percy and the gang have done well to fit at least six issues' worth of material into just three comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #20

Jul 25, 2018

With the amount of interest surrounding the Teen Titans these days; an animated movie in theatres, a hit cartoon show, and the upcoming live action series for the DC Universe Streaming Service, this series needed to deliver a first rate relaunch. I'm happy to say that it has exceeded expectations, and that I can't wait to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #21

Aug 24, 2018

VerdictWith all their issues, their capacity for chaos and huge power levels, this team could really be a recipe for disaster. Are they in control? Are they even competent? The bickering, arguing and high comedy in this title are brilliantly counter-balanced with drama, tension and action. I may not have been all-in at the outset, but I'm man enough to admit when I'm wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #22

Sep 19, 2018

VerdictThis book is just so much fun to read. The art and writing work hand in hand to give us a good, old-fashioned (in the best way possible) humorous and action packed romp. Usually comics cliffhangers have me pulling my hair out with angst and agony, but the final page of this issue left me grinning from ear to ear. Great stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #23

Oct 18, 2018

VerdictAnother fun and action packed issue. It was great seeing Lady Vic again, she's another blast from the past. The shock of page two of the issue marries well with shocking events depicted inBatman #55, Nightwing #50 and Heroes In Crisis #1. The ongoing arc in this series, the characters and the consistently attention grabbing cliff hangers always leave me wanting more. The only (very) slight let down was the inconsistent art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #24

Nov 21, 2018

I feel sorry for The Other when Robin and the crew finally catches up with them… can't wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #25

Dec 20, 2018

This issue gives us so many answers, but even though Crush and Roundhouse have had many of their secrets divulged, D'Jinn remains a figure of mystery. After reading this issue I cannot wait to see what Mr. Glass has up his sleeve for the origin of the team's resident magic user.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #26

Jan 24, 2019

VerdictI'm really enjoying both the new direction this series has taken and this new team of Teen Titans. The pressure has slowly been bubbling under the surface, but is now reaching boiling point. Will Batman be fully dragged into events? Can the Dark Knight and his son settle their differences? Where does Red Hood fit in? This story continues in Teen Titans Annual #1, where at least one of those questions will be answered. Maybe I should start camping outside my comic-book store now…

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #27

Feb 22, 2019

ConclusionTen issues in and I'm loving Adam Glass' work on this series. Add in some terrific art, and I am a very happy reader. Next month's issue is part of a crossover with Deathstroke, so any fans who may have missed action this time around, are sure to have their hunger sated by the next story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #28

Mar 20, 2019

As someone who reads and collects Teen Titans and Deathstroke, I'm beyond excited to see what the fallout from all this is going to deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #29

Apr 17, 2019

Aside from some nice moments between the members of the group and Wallace confronting Emiko and Damian about their prison, the last two issues have seemed like a bit of a waste of time. While I love Deathstroke (I also read and collect his title) I feel like this whole arc was unnecessary. I guess I'll just have to enjoy it as an action story, but as a crossover (so far) it all seems a little pointless.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #30

May 15, 2019

Teen Titans #30 bordered on perfection. The writing and visuals were all first rate, the pacing was fantastic, and the emotions, dram and tension led to some kick-ass action. If the story and art alone weren't enough to get heartbeats racing then the sudden appearance by a classic DC character (who had to appear in this book eventually) on the final page definitely set the tone and whetted the appetite for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #31

Jun 19, 2019

I hope that next issue's conclusion to this story gets back on track and delivers our team of young heroes giving the Main Man a taste of his own bad medicine. Messing with the Teen Titans proves that you're having ideas above your station.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) Annual #1

Jan 30, 2019

Thankfully I can focus on the action and on the brilliant dialogue, ignoring the niggles in the issue. Adam Glass is adding more and more heat to the pot and, with D'Jinn, he has created a character I care about, but who really frightens me. Being a Teen Titans/ Titans fan for over three decades (I own the issues where Dick Grayson gave up on being Robin and became Nightwing) no other Titans member has had me more on edge since Raven's turn to the demonic, or Terra from the legendary "Judas Contract" storyline. I don't think that there's higher praise than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016): Special #1

Jun 29, 2018

VerdictThe quality of this issue warranted it being more than a stand-alone one-shot. This is the kind of comic that deserves to be the zero issue of an ongoing arc. I grew up with Marv Wolfman and George Perez' legendary Teen Titans run, which hugely affected my character, morals and beliefs. This new version, if it's handled as well as this issue was, could do the same for a whole new generation of readers.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More