Villordsutch's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Flickering Myth Reviews: 88
8.2Avg. Review Rating

7.0
2000ADs Sci-Fi Summer Special #1

Jun 24, 2015

On the whole 2000AD's Sci-Fi Summer Special is a mixed bag, two stories that didn't really make the grade, but the remaining four made up for it. It's certainly worth putting your hand in your pocket and buying yourself a piece of dystopian summer to put a smile on your face today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Assassin's Creed #1

Oct 16, 2015

Pacing is quite quick, although I wouldn't have minded a few extra pages to expand a little more on the main character and to get a little more info on the in game Animus we see at the beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency #4

Sep 30, 2015

You can feel Chris Ryall expertly weaving these threads together in this penultimate issue; everything is coming together so well you can feel yourself smiling come the closing pages. Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency shines in the hands of Chris Ryall. Given that we also are treated to some excellent art, inking and colours from Ilias Kryiaszis, John Livesay and Leonard O'Grady (respectively), issue #4 is quite fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency #5

Nov 18, 2015

As a complete package Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency has been rather brilliant! Yes when I heard this series was starting without the Douglas Adams pen behind this story I had my doubts, but they were rapidly put to bed, and yes I initially moanedthat Dirk looked a lot like David Tennant and again come issue #2 Dirk just became Dirk. Knowing there is not only another comic book series but a possible TV series on the way has made me a very happy person.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dirk Gently: The Salmon of Doubt #1

Oct 19, 2016

The Salmon of Doubt is truly fantastic! As an opening issue for this new series I am already hooked and ready to be reeled in, as all involvedcomic have delivered something splendid. I'm just sad I've got to wait a month to read #2 now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dirk Gently: The Salmon of Doubt #2

Nov 9, 2016

Dirk Gently: The Salmon of Doubt #2 is an excellent comic. I'd say words cannot describe how brilliant it is but I think I've just gushed nearly four-hundred of them! If the Adams estate are thinking of releasing another Dirk Gently novel, I'd instantly recommend Arvind for the role now. You all need to buy this Dirk Gently comic!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dirk Gently: The Salmon of Doubt #3

Dec 7, 2016

Another excellent issue, though I want to know more about the world Sally keeps finding herself in, and also what is this fantasy world Bernice the Cat has become cornered within; though I suspect these answers will come soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dirk Gently: The Salmon of Doubt #5

Feb 22, 2017

Following Bartine around and seeing that all her decisions may not be completely dealt out by the universe is rather interesting, though I'm already looking forward to the moment were Ross realises that the Universe always comes out on top. Then along with this we get a short introduction to how Ken entered the whole Holistic universe;this comic is a rather splendid break from the norm.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dirk Gently: The Salmon of Doubt #7

Apr 26, 2017

As ever the art and colours from Ilias Kyriazis and Charlie Kirchoff is just excellent for the Dirk Gently series of comics, they both capture the energy and pace of this series to a tee. Along with both their work a special mention must be given for the Blackwing Files photo cover. Normally I like to highlight another artist's cover, but for fans of the T.V. Series and the comic book this one needs to be looked at carefully.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dirk Gently: The Salmon of Doubt #8

Jun 14, 2017

For those keen-eyed spotters out there, you'll be sure to pick up on a few subtle (or not) moments within these covers. From Adventures in Space and Time, Mr. Microwave seems to be possibly be related to another computer from the Douglas Adams Universe and Younger Dirk's come down involves a resident of Skaro. Keeping your eyes open reveals numerous treasures.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dirk Gentlys Holistic Detective Agency: A Spoon Too Short #1

Feb 17, 2016

Dirk Gently - A Spoon Too Short shows the legacy of Adams is still flowing strong.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dirk Gentlys Holistic Detective Agency: A Spoon Too Short #2

Mar 9, 2016

Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency: A Spoon Too Short #2 is another great addition to this series. We have nice nods to Douglas Adams in the book, we've got some amazing art, and we have a mystery that's unfolding with some excellent humour plus a wee bit of worldly education to boot. You'd do well picking this comic book up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dirk Gentlys Holistic Detective Agency: A Spoon Too Short #3

Apr 20, 2016

Dirk Gently: A Spoon Too Short #3 should be in the hands of any Douglas Adams fan, as it has clearly been written by one of his biggest. Go and buy it today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dirk Gentlys Holistic Detective Agency: A Spoon Too Short #4

May 25, 2016

Dirk Gently:A Spoon Too Short #4 is another brilliant chapter in this series. Arvind, Ilias and Charlie are honestly delivering something fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Who: Four Doctors #1

Aug 12, 2015

With Paul Cornell being a seasoned Doctor Who writer you have an instant feeling of reassurance that he shan't be delivering a generic sci-fi tale with Doctor, TARDIS and Dalek crammed into the story to make it slightly fan pleasing. We're also given some brilliant artwork from Neil Edwards and a superb palette from Ivan Nunes, making Doctor Who: Four Doctors the comic you need to buy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Doctor Who: Four Doctors #2

Aug 19, 2015

As mentioned in my last review I wanted to see more of what is going on with the War Doctor; this thread has really snagged me the most and to be once again teased with only a few panels is just plain mean. Still now that all three Doctors have arrived at Marinus, it looks like our future issues will wrap around this. Due to the running through the streets " as with running through corridors " it's the minor lines given that are very important and the lines come from the mouth of the Twelfth Doctor as he snaps at the Tenth for his attitude, or when he believes that others see him as the "Scary Doctor". However, it is a running through streets issue and albeit occasionally interesting, when they finally left the streets " and stopped running " the comic became considerably better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doctor Who: Four Doctors #3

Aug 26, 2015

Paul Cornell just took Doctor Who: Four Doctors and made everybody whisper, "WTFlip!" at the final panel. It's quite clear you need to be reading Doctor Who: Four Doctors now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doctor Who: Four Doctors #4

Sep 2, 2015

Another storming chapter in the Doctor Who: Four Doctorsseries and I cannot wait to read the final issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Who: Four Doctors #5

Sep 23, 2015

Doctor Who: Four Doctors has been an excellent series and one you should have read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doctor Who: The Twelfth Doctor #13

Oct 28, 2015

For fans who have been into Doctor Who, if you pick this up you'll be pleasantly surprised and if you're new to the series and don't mind aliens trying to destroy the planet and humorous protagonists who somehow just managed to scrape by on a daily basis then this is the comic for you!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Judge Dredd Megazine #363

Aug 19, 2015

Once again this issues month favourite is Storm Warning " The Relicby Leah Moore and John Reppion. A brilliant piece of work and added to this some beautiful and foreboding artwork and colouring from Foster and Swan, this story is becoming worthy of a trade paperback release. As a Quatermass fan, I cannot wait to see what happens in The Pits at the End of Hobbs Lane. Storm Warning " The Relicis outstanding.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Judge Dredd Megazine #364

Sep 16, 2015

While the end of Lawless completely sideswiped me, and I was left smiling, I have to give the trophy once again toStorm Warning " The Relicwhich is penned by Leah Moore and John Reppion. Here is a strip which feels like it's set in the 200 yards from the end of any street in the UK, and not a grotesque far in the future UK. This is a "down the road" Judge Dredd Megazine story, which makes it that more disquieting. Rolled on top of this of course is " as mentioned " the perfect artwork and colours from both Foster and Swan. This strip is worth the cover price alone in my own very humble opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Judge Dredd Megazine #365

Oct 21, 2015

Judge Dredd " Terror Rising. This is already moving to be something fantastic! From the first time you see "Total War" sprayed across the wall, after the suicide bomber has just murderer the Judge, your mind screams, "No! Wait!". John Wagner has let these sleeping dogs stay quiet, allowing us to forget them and now they've awoken. I cannot wait to see what's around the corner.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Judge Dredd Megazine #366

Nov 19, 2015

Again this month it's Judge Dredd " Terror Rising. John Wagner has caught me already at chapter two and I can see a storm coming over the horizon as well as one brewing closer to home. With the artistic talents of Colin MacNeil and Chris Blythe running alongside this story, this is something I already looking forward to next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Judge Dredd Megazine #367

Dec 17, 2015

Also a special acknowledgement has to also be given to Ryan Brown's rather excellent #367 cover " this month " which is just perfect for the Dust story inside.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Judge Dredd Megazine #368

Jan 20, 2016

Both Judge Dredd stories are honestly worthy ofTale of the Monththis time however to pick one I'm throwing my dart into Dust, for two months now Arthur Wyatt has delivered a solid Dredd tale that has caught my attention and hooked me in, along with the excellent work from Ben Willsher and Chris Blythe this whole story looks and reads brilliantly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Judge Dredd Megazine #369

Feb 18, 2016

Another difficult month to pick who's the winner, however I'm going to stump with the new name in the Megazineand give it to Realm of the Damned. Though Dust was a very close second place, but with the energy, dark humour and art from both Alex Worley and Pye Parr my choice this month is a clear winner.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Judge Dredd Megazine #371

Apr 20, 2016

Quite easy this month, it's clearly Realm of the Damned. This strip looks stunning in its appearance and the story is unfolding into something truly wonderful. A tale of family deceit, terrifying horror and some wondrous humour.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Judge Dredd: Titan #1

Jun 13, 2016

Judge Dredd: Titan does have a climactic battle, however this isn't where our war is truly raging – that is within the skull of our protagonist. This book is a 2000AD story that should both be owned and remembered as it is vitally important in the evolution of our lawman.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Star Trek #46

Jun 17, 2015

To sum up if it wasn't for Rachel Stott's artwork this comic really wouldn't be a pleasant experience at all, but this is only the first hiccup in the Five Year Mission run so it's not all bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Trek #47

Jul 22, 2015

A better closing chapter than its opener, but I'd have preferred it to be given more breathing room so we would have had more peril from the Tholains. Still, I'm guessing in a few issues down the line we'll be seeing them again soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek #48

Aug 5, 2015

Inside this issue of Star Trek #48 some great things happen. Not only are we getting to see the moulding of a future captain but we're seeing the shaping of an uncharted Alpha Quadrant right before our eyes and it's all rather exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Trek #49

Sep 16, 2015

Deity Part 2, though not as exciting as the opening chapter, is still a good read and anyone with a clear vision can see why the cards have beenlaid out in this pattern. Even so, the excitable lobe in my brain wanted ever so slightly more detail on the enigma that was the Crescent Ship.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek #50

Oct 21, 2015

This wonder aside we have Mike Johnson's story building and I am interested to see where this is going, along with this Tony Shasteen and Davide Mastrolonardo are delivering some impressive art as well as some brutal hair styles for the ISS bridge crew. With numerous interviews and features – after the main story – along with two brilliant covers, these all make #50 an anniversary issue that you need to have.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek #51

Nov 18, 2015

Part two of Star Trek"Live Evil" is an excellent comic and a lot of story has been piled into this issue. However I am getting that itch again for I'm wondering if there is going to be enough room to finish off this arcin just the one remaining issue, or whetherthe story be too compacted to be enjoyed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek #52

Dec 9, 2015

Still this all being said Mike Johnson along with Tony Shasteen and Davide Mastrolonardo have delivered an enjoyable celebratory Star Trek three-parter and that is something that gets a thumbs up for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek #53

Jan 13, 2016

Star Trek: Reunion Part 1 is both fascinating and enjoyable and I'd like to see where Part 2 goes in this tale, but I think the colour of ashirt has decreed something already.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek #54

Feb 24, 2016

Star Trek #54 is both entertaining and interesting; we have the closing of Galia and the Kai story and also we quite possibly have the start of something much bigger.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek #55

Mar 10, 2016

The Legacy of Spock could be one of the greatest comic book tributes to Spock and Leonard Nimoy around, if it continues to build like this. The mood already set in Part One of this series is perfect and I'm looking forward to where Mike Johnson is going to take the rest of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek #56

Apr 7, 2016

This is a Star Trek story that you need to be reading! Such a very brilliant issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Trek #57

May 11, 2016

Star Trek: Legacy of Spock is clearly coming to a rather explosive and climatic ending next month, though I think I may have worked out what happened to Ceti Alpha VI!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek #58

Jun 8, 2016

If this collection arrives in a trade paperback I'd suggest you spend your money if you missed this series, as it's one you really shouldn't have.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Trek #59

Jul 14, 2016

Star Trek: Connection Part 1 is an enjoyable comic to have, though after the past few issues of Legacy of Spock and Manifest Destiny it does feel rather light. However,I guess we should give Mike Johnson time to breath.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Trek #60

Aug 17, 2016

Star Trek: Connection Part 2 closes off this short story rather nicely " it's not grand nor game changing, but it is an enjoyable Star Trek comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek 50th Anniversary Cover Celebration #1

Aug 17, 2016

You must go out and buy the Star Trek: 50th Anniversary Cover Celebration. If you don't you'll regret it for a very longtime.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek New Visions: Hollow Man #1

Nov 4, 2015

Considering I wasn't that big a fan of This Side of Paradise on television, John Byrne has managed to follow this episode up with something quite brilliant. One question I'd like clarifiedhowever is it Photoplay or Photomontage, as the cover says "Play" and theinner-cover says "Montage"?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Trek New Visions: Of Woman Born #1

May 4, 2016

John has taken this spark even further; instead of seeing an ember fade away, he's given it a blast of pure oxygen making it grow into a bonfire for all to see. Ignoring the cover of this issue, it's great to see the return of New Visions.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Trek New Visions: Sam #1

Feb 1, 2017

The story is interesting, although not overly engaging however. The highlight of the story being that the Organian Treaty seems to be no longer in effect and the Klingons are aware of this " that and they've been testing the limits of the failing Organian Treaty for some time. Here is a nice pinch of something that John may be planning for a future story or two, and it's something I'm looking forward to knowing that the Klingons are planning on delivering Kirk to the Klingon Emperor.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek New Visions: Swarm #1

Sep 21, 2016

Star Trek: New Visions - The Swarm is an excellent read and it's one that's worthy of picking up today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek New Visions: The Hidden Face #1

Dec 7, 2016

The Hidden Face is another highly enjoyable tale from John Byrne and is one for all Original Series fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek TNG: Mirror Broken #1

May 17, 2017

Star Trek: TNG - Mirror Brokenalready looks like it going to be hailed as a classic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Trek/Green Lantern: Stranger Worlds #1

Dec 21, 2016

Star Trek / Green Lantern: Stranger Worlds is an enjoyable opener. I'm interested to see where it's going to go and what the pieces being brought out are set to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek/Green Lantern: Stranger Worlds #2

Jan 25, 2017

Star Trek / Green Lantern: Stranger Worlds #2will make you so excited for Issue #3! When it ends you'll possibly smile, or – like me – say a tiny swear word and wish you had Issue #3 ready to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek/Green Lantern: Stranger Worlds #3

Feb 22, 2017

Star Trek/Green Lantern: Stranger Worlds #3 is outstanding and we're only halfway through this series. Grab this off the shelves today for you really shan't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek/Green Lantern: Stranger Worlds #4

Mar 22, 2017

Another great release from the pen of Mike Johnson also a special mention must be given for Tony Shasteen's 'Retailer Incentive Cover' which is very good indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek/Green Lantern: Stranger Worlds #5

Apr 19, 2017

Star Trek / Green Lantern: Stranger Worlds #5, is a truly excellent comic and anyone that has been involved in bringing this to the shelves needs to give themselves a well-earned thumbs up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek/Green Lantern: Stranger Worlds #6

May 10, 2017

Before I close both additional covers need a word or two of praise. The fantastic 'Retailer Incentive' from Elizabeth Beals and the truly excellent 'Subscription Cover' from George Caltsoudas are just brilliant,try to seek those out if you can.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek/Green Lantern: The Spectrum War #2

Aug 12, 2015

As with issue #1 Star Trek/Green Lantern is quite brilliant! With Mike Johnson (writer), Angel Hernandez and Alejandro Sanchez (art and colours) delivering an unbelievably fantastic comic book that leaves no time to breath and will you whip " at breakneck speed " through the pages. It is a perfect package of Star Trek and Green Lantern and as mentioned last month I don't even consider myself a Green Lantern fan, but here I am desperate already for Issue #3 of this comic series, alas however I now have to wait a very long month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek/Green Lantern: The Spectrum War #3

Sep 9, 2015

Turning to Mike Johnson's huge part in once again making this a crossover event to remember; not only has he created those scenes above " which will stick inside this skull for a longtime " but he's created a war in a universe that previously I knew nothing about, and now that it'sinside my head my brain screams to know more about what has gone on before. This issue is absolutely brutal, from the Gorn's newly discovered powers as he removes the heads of state to the take down of Decker's ship in the blink of an eye. There is nothing in the comic I'm expecting " everything is so refreshingly new! This comic is packed with so much energy I could stick a zinc and copper nail into it and power an alarm clock!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek/Green Lantern: The Spectrum War #4

Oct 14, 2015

Once again Star Trek/Green Lantern: The Spectrum War shows you how a crossover comic should be done. Balancing between both Star Trek and the Green Lantern with ease, introducing new fans to a franchise and keeping current fans fired up. If you haven't started this series already you're really missing out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek/Green Lantern: The Spectrum War #5

Nov 18, 2015

Whatever you planned on buying today make sure you're also planning on buying this too!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek/Green Lantern: The Spectrum War #6

Dec 9, 2015

Star Trek / Green Lantern Issue #6 is a perfect closing chapter to an utterly-perfect series and if you've missed any of this I'd really recommend you pick up the trade paperback if and when it hits the shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek: Boldly Go #1

Oct 19, 2016

Star Trek: Boldly Go is a perfect opener to a brand new Star Trek series and one you should be picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek: Boldly Go #3

Dec 14, 2016

If you haven't already (why not!?) started reading Star Trek: Boldly Go then you really need to, but if you are already reading it then I'm sure you'll agree that this is really rather brilliant.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek: Boldly Go #4

Jan 4, 2017

Star Trek: Boldly Go #4 is an excellent closer to this opening chapter, and my fingers are crossed that the rest of this Star Trek series remains as strong as this.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Trek: Boldly Go #6

Mar 29, 2017

Star Trek: Boldly Go #6 is a good comic; not ground-breaking and/or overly action-packed, but it's good nevertheless.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek: Boldly Go #7

Apr 12, 2017

I'm enjoying these continuing voyages of the U.S.S Endeavour and I'm glad that IDW Publishing are giving Mike and Ryan the chance to really expand their Star Trek stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Trek: Boldly Go #8

May 24, 2017

The conclusion of Murder at Babel isn't as exciting as I expected, whether this is down to IDW misprinting 1of3 or something else occurring in the background we're not privy to, but story arc really feels like it ended far too quickly.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Trek: Boldly Go #10

Jul 26, 2017

Star Trek: Boldly Go is a very enjoyable read this month; and inoffensive story that shan't be shaking the rafters of Trek History – the Borg aren't here, there's no Q going toe-to-toe against the Prophets, it's just a simple tale about Kevin the Teenaxi and Roddenberry's Federation.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Trek: Boldly Go #11

Sep 20, 2017

I'm interested to see where this episode takes us; the closing scenes of Star Trek Boldly Go #11 certainly pulled this issue back up to enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek: Deviations #1

Mar 15, 2017

Star Trek: Deviations is an enjoyable read to take a break from the norm in the universeof Trek with the "what if?", but now I need to know "What happens!?"

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek: Manifest Destiny #1

Apr 20, 2016

Star Trek Manifest Destiny #1 needs to be bought. I cannot sing the praises of this comic enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek: Manifest Destiny #2

May 4, 2016

Another excellent issue for the Star Trek: Manifest Destiny series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek: Manifest Destiny #3

May 18, 2016

Star Trek: Manifest Destiny #3 is outstanding, vicious and one that any fan of the Klingon race should be picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek: Manifest Destiny #4

Jun 8, 2016

Yes, we didn't get a movie tie-in for Star Trek Beyond this year, however after this storming, vicious and beautifully brutal "Welcome home Klingons!" treat instead, I'm more than happy that Mike Johnson, Ryan Parrott and Angel Hernandez all sat down together to make something this fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Trek: New Visions #15

Apr 19, 2017

There is a glimpse of two tales given at the end: a Rand story "Should Old Acquaintance Be Forgot" and "Time Out of Joint". Both have already sparked interest in me and I'm looking forward to see what they deliver in Issue #16. Overall The Traveler is a good releasethat is worth picking up; yes it is slightly let down by one recurring problem, but this shouldn't sway you away from it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek: New Visions #16

Jun 7, 2017

As I said above Time Out of Joint is the true seller here, with Home and Those Who Play With Cats being some excellent wrapping paper and a splendid bow for this gift. John Byrne has really shown off his talents as both a Star Trek story writer and a person who knows how to do a good photoplay.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek: Starfleet Academy #1

Dec 16, 2015

Star Trek: Starfleet Academy is both an enjoyable and interesting start forwhat could be a great new crew in an excellent series of comics; even for us readers that have seen a few more moons than others.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Trek: Starfleet Academy #2

Jan 6, 2016

Star Trek: Starfleet Academy #2 is both enjoyable and interesting, but I can shake the feeling that they are going to finish off the opening story rather quickly and I'm hoping over the next few issues that they will prove me wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek: Starfleet Academy #3

Feb 10, 2016

Issue #3 of Star Trek: Starfleet Academy is quite excellent! It's good to see the Cadets are not infallible, but at the same time they are grounded with morality, compassion and the want to put themselves on the line for others. Along with the USS Slayton conspiracy being brought into the light, this comic is fantastic read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek: Starfleet Academy #4

Mar 16, 2016

After last month I thought, 'This is it, this is the bar setter.' However now, issue #4 has come along and shown us that Star Trek: Starfleet Academy is an excellent read and it's getting betterall thetime.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Trek: Starfleet Academy #5

Apr 20, 2016

The other standout moments " as always " relate to the work of Derek Charm, for which I'd love to see his art more across the IDW Publishing universe. Perhaps his arm could be twisted so he could do a stint on the main Star Trek run for a month or two?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek: Waypoint #1

Sep 28, 2016

With Puzzles andDaylilywe have a decent level of maturity already flowing through the comic, which is great to see. If this six-part series continues on the path it's treading then I can see Star Trek: Waypoint becoming an excellent series, so you're going to want to make sure you pick this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek: Waypoint #2

Nov 16, 2016

Wrapping "Legacy" up " with a rather splendid bow " is the artwork from Rachael Stott and the colours from Mark Roberts. I'm already a fan of Rachael Stott's art and I'm constantly asking for more of it in the world of Star Trek, so to see it appear in Star Trek: Waypoint has placed a smile on my bearded face.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Trek: Waypoint #3

Jan 18, 2017

Star Trek: Waypoint #3 isn't the strongest release in the series so far.The Wildman Maneuver just really wasn't my cup of tea, though Mother's Walk did manage to bring it back up at the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Star Trek: Waypoint #4

Mar 8, 2017

The only real saving grace in this comic is Zachary Baldus cover, which in truth has nothing at all to do with the contents of the comic, this and Fran Gamboa's art for The Fragile Beauty of Loyalty. The rest of the comic isn't good at all. This is disappointing as now we've had two Waypoint comics which are below par, so we really need this title to pick itself up and dust itself off before it really gets counted out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek: Waypoint #5

May 31, 2017

It's good to see that Star Trek: Waypoint is back on track.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek: Waypoint #6

Aug 2, 2017

There are truly no negatives about this issue " my only disappointment comes from the fact I shan't be seeing anymore Star Trek: Phase II from the pen of Hardman, nor will Bechko & Herndon be delivering anymore Trek stories anytime soon. Truly a fantastic Star Trek comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More