Spider-Man #17

Spider-Man #17

Writer: Brian Michael Bendis Artist: Oscar Bazaldua Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: June 7, 2017 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 10
8.6Critic Rating
8.2User Rating

+ Pull List

• Spider-Man and his amazing friends!
Rated T

  • 9.0
    AiPT! - Nick Nafpliotis Jun 7, 2017

    Great action, a great plot, and some (normally) lame characters getting their moments to shine have Spider-Man firing on all cylinders. Read Full Review

  • 8.3
    Black Nerd Problems - Omar Holmon Jun 8, 2017

    Oscar does a great job portraying a deathly serious Miles through his mannerisms, which accompany Bendis' undefeated talent for dialogue to push character development. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Spock's Brain Jun 12, 2017

    Aside from the hideous cover (Howard Porter has got to go, sorry--his covers are terrible), this is a good issue. Miles is all dark, but this issue does a nice job with his supporting cast, trying to help him find perspective. The opening scene with Bombshell is well done, and Bendis actually has us consider the plight of the bad guy. Good fight action with Hammerhead here, as Oscar Bazalua does a fine job on pencils.

  • 8.5
    DDJamesB Jun 16, 2017

    This is the kind of story I have been expecting from this series. Early crossovers watered down this series a tad, so to see him getting back to his own stories is refreshing. I like the supporting cast they are building for Miles beyond Ganke and his parents. Besides the cover ( the last one was horrible too ) the art in the issue is great and I really like Bazaldua as a successor to Pichelli. The fight between hammerhead and Miles.... WOW, is all I can say. A great ending and great art make this a great issue overall and I am excited to see more stories like this coming out of this series. Somehow in the back of my mind I feel like they could be creating a villain spider-man in Miles by going down a dark path. That is just wishful thinking though.

  • 8.0
    RustonLF Jun 8, 2017

    There is something interesting in the fact that Miles is slipping further into emotions. This is especially true if you remember the vision of Miles killing Steve on the steps of the Capitol building. There is a good amount of action in the issue. What bothered me is it seemed to mirror the issues that come up in the last issue. I think seeing where this leads may put this chapter of the story in a different light, but until then it was just another case of Miles being taken over by his emotion. The art is of course still strong. It does a good job of representing the action as well as the slow moments. Still a consistent title.

  • 10
    Jason The Dude Jul 29, 2017

  • 8.5
    StanielK Jun 28, 2017

  • 8.0
    Billyndo Jun 7, 2017

  • 8.0
    Spidey Spawn Jun 9, 2017

  • 8.0
    Jabberwocky_Superfly Jun 28, 2017

  • 8.0
    jmprados Sep 19, 2017

  • 7.0
    sebastianorellana95 Jun 7, 2017

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More