The Black Order #4

Writer: Derek Landy Artist: Philip Tan Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: February 20, 2019 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 1 User Reviews: 6
6.0Critic Rating
7.2User Rating

Empires, rebellions, super heroes and spies - all in a day's work for the enigmatic Black Swan. With a dark and twisted Nova on the rampage and her Black Order teammates getting decidedly pummeled, the Swan is presented with a simple choice: stay and risk an ungainly end or leave and abandon the closest thing she has to a family.
Rated T+

  • 6.0
    ComicBook.com - Christian Hoffer Feb 20, 2019

    This issue of Black Order swings a little too far from "over-the-top violence and goth/emo feelings" and more towards the melancholy, although I'm interested to see how this first arc wraps up next month. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    YourGreenMuse Feb 22, 2019

    Some of the charm is lost here as the character being focused on, Black Swan, is perhaps the least interesting member of the Black Order, despite being the most developed of the bunch.

  • 7.5
    Spacey Medicine Mar 3, 2019

    This wasn’t quite as fun as previous issues and I can’t quite put my finger on it, but I still enjoyed it!

  • 6.5
    Ryan Apr 23, 2019

    This issue upsets me because of how badly Black Swan is written and how misleading the cover is, even though the plot got slightly better this issue. Black Swan and Nova barely fight in this issue, despite the cover. Black Swan was one of the best characters in Jonathan Hickman’s Avengers/New Avengers/Secret Wars run, and yet she is so shallow in this series. She has no ulterior motive for joining the Black Order, except she just wants to fit in. That’s it. One of the most interesting and deceptive characters in recent memory written like this just has me frustrated. The plot does improve though and I’m actually a little excited for the Ebony Maw centered finale in issue 5

  • 8.0
    Grifter Feb 21, 2019

  • 7.0
    iPodwithnomusic Mar 11, 2019

  • 6.5
    CrazyforRAMU Sep 9, 2019

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More