The Black Order #5

Writer: Derek Landy Artist: Carlos Magno Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: March 6, 2019 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 1 User Reviews: 7
4.0Critic Rating
6.4User Rating

Treachery has always been the Ebony Maw's default mode. His plots and machinations whir away behind the scenes, quietly working to fulfill his grand ambitions. But as the Black Order's current mission enters its final stage, the Maw finds himself coming perilously close to reaping what he has sown...
Rated T+

  • 4.0
    ComicBook.com - Christian Hoffer Mar 6, 2019

    The series sadly didn't stick its landing, but it did make me more interested in the Black Order than I was during any previous Marvel comic or movie. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    Soul Assassin Mar 9, 2019

    No idea why they didn’t let Phillip Tan finish drawing HIS MINI-SERIES! ON THE FINAL ISSUE!!! It ruined the whole fucking book. Fuck whoever made that decision

  • 7.0
    YourGreenMuse Mar 7, 2019

    This was fine. I think this series took a hit in its final two issues, which is unfortunate. But I still think it was overall a good read.

  • 6.5
    Deadlybeavis Mar 6, 2019

    Up until this issue, this was a fun cosmic adventure. But, damn, what a horrible ending... And why change artists? And why did ebony maw look like judge Cal?

  • 6.5
    Spacey Medicine Mar 13, 2019

    It’s weird because I was way into this but it kinda went out with a whimper? Like, not bad, just not as good as I thought the earlier issues were!

  • 5.5
    Ryan Apr 23, 2019

    Derek Landy writes a fine Ebony Maw- and that’s about all the good stuff in this issue. First of all, giving the Black Order a mini series was risky, but giving it to a writer who’s never wrote a comic before is even riskier. This issue was pretty boring and the series itself made the Black Order kind of come off as weak. The only reason I got this comic was because it bounced out of Avengers: No Surrender but it didn’t come close to my expectations. They tried to give these characters depth, and it only worked with Black Dwarf. The Black Order are better written as a mysterious near-unstoppable threat to the Avengers or something, not doing boring missions for the Grandmaster. There were some bright spots though, like Tan’s beautif more

  • 7.0
    Grifter Mar 8, 2019

  • 7.0
    iPodwithnomusic Mar 11, 2019

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More