The Black Order #3

Writer: Derek Landy Artist: Philip Tan Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: January 9, 2019 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 10
8.6Critic Rating
6.1User Rating

You just can't work to destabilize an empire these days without drawing the attention of at least one pesky super-powered hero, now can you? All the Black Order wants to do is usurp, assassinate and sabotage, and here comes the man called Nova to spoil all the fun...
Rated T+

  • 10
    ComicBook.com - Christian Hoffer Jan 9, 2019

    Derek Landy and Philip Tan have made me care about the Black Order. Read Full Review

  • 7.3
    Sequential Planet - Frdric Bentley Jan 11, 2019

    Landy continues to explore classic themes in The Black Order, all the while examining the characters and pushing them in surprising directions. This is supported by good art, which goes into great art when it touches characters who aren't too human, and excellent composition. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    Spacey Medicine Jun 3, 2019

    I’m still enjoying it, but I felt like the art was occasionally a little confusing and let the story down in a few moments.

  • 9.0
    YourGreenMuse Jan 13, 2019

    This was probably my favorite issue so far. This issue focuses on Black Dwarf, who is actually a very deep character apparently. I can't remember if this is previously established or not, but it really works. I like the concept of each issue giving us a closer look at one of the members of the team. It's led to tonal shifts, for sure, last issue was a lot funnier while this issue is more serious and almost sad. The overall story being told is still a fun one and we get to see Corvus Glaive just be a huge dick and those moments are great. While the cover promises a fight with Nova, we won't actually get it until next issue, but at least we get to see Nova take down a kaiju monster. Which shows you how powerful he is. I forget that this serie more

  • 8.0
    Ryan Apr 23, 2019

    Black Order 3 is easily the best issue yet. The plot is still boring but this issue is the best yet because it’s told through the eyes of Black Dwarf, aka Cull Obsidian from Infinity War. He’s more of a complex character then he seems and honestly I hope he falls in love with Black Swan because he is a good brother to Corvus.

  • 5.0
    CrazyforRAMU Jul 26, 2019

    This issue's coy little Hitchhiker's Guide reference got me thinking: This title's ratio of humor to villainy is completely backward. This should be an absurd, cosmic version of Superior Foes of Spider-Man, not a retread of Hickman's Infinity flavored with a LaCroix-intensity dollop of comedy. That goes for the visuals even more than the writing; an expressive, cartoony treatment would be much more interesting than standard-issue Big Dumb Event™ art.

  • 10
    ffunS Feb 6, 2019

  • 8.0
    Grifter Jan 11, 2019

  • 8.0
    iPodwithnomusic Mar 11, 2019

  • 3.0
    Radar Jan 9, 2019

  • 1.0
    Snuff Jan 9, 2019

  • 1.0
    Bepis Feb 11, 2019

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More