Aquaman Vol. 1: The Drowning

Aquaman Vol. 1: The Drowning

Writer: Dan Abnett Artist: Scot Eaton, Philippe Briones, Oscar Jimenez, Mark Morales, Wayne Faucher Publisher: DC Comics Trade Paperback: January 11, 2017, $16.99 Issues: 7, Issue Reviews: 391
7.5Critic Rating
7.9User Rating

Aquaman, the King of Atlantis, has never found a true home in either of the worlds that he was born of. In these tales from AQUAMAN: REBIRTH #1 and issues #1-6 of the new series, the King of Atlantis attempts to broker a peace between Atlantis and the surface, but this noble quest might force Aquaman to choose whether to live his life above the waves, or below them. Plus, Black Manta makes his bloody return and seeks to destroy everything and everyone Aquaman loves!

Rating Collected Issues Reviews
7.7
Aquaman #1 33
7.2
Aquaman #2 19
7.3
Aquaman #3 15
7.7
Aquaman #4 8
7.7
Aquaman #5 10
7.6
Aquaman #6 14
7.1
Aquaman: Rebirth #1 39
  • 8.5
    drwasheewashee Apr 24, 2017

    Back matter: variant cover gallery plus character sketches

  • 7.5
    ockedman Apr 30, 2017

    Aquaman is a midly interesting character and that's for me the biggest problem on his comics. While some authors, like Geoff Johns, managed skillfully to make him bad-ass and complex, other authors, like Dan Abnett, can't write extraordinary stories. The problem here isn't the author, it's the restricted capacity of the protagonist.
    The idea of Aquaman as "an enemy of the state" is interesting but too déjà-vu. Another thing that bothers me is the return of Black Manta because, with Ocean Master, they're the only villains of the protagonist and I feel like the modern authors don't create new villains. Also, Black Manta's characterization is too close to the Joker (he says that he has a unique relationship with Aquaman but they'll never kill each other because they live for revenge). However, the subplot of N.E.M.O. (the organization is really called like this) is getting intriguing and I'm curious to know what part they'll occupy in the story. The last issue of the volume is better than the others. It proposes a great confrontation between the king of Atlantis and Superman and it shows the many differences between them.
    For me, this is one of the series that suffered most from the bi-mensual publication. They promised Brad Walker as the artist of the series but he only draws two issues over 6. His art is great and fits very-well with the character and I'd like that he draws more issues. Scot Eaton, who draws the Rebirth one-shot, is correct without being exceptional but Phillipe Briones' art is really ugly. It isn't bad but the faces are hideous and the bodies are incorrect.

  • 8.5
    Gunnarthehuman Jan 13, 2017

  • 8.0
    Connor34 Apr 17, 2017

  • 8.0
    T.K. Aug 7, 2017

  • 7.5
    ComickerPerson Jan 11, 2017

  • 7.0
    jjoao.vvic Feb 26, 2017

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More