Antonio Pedro's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 31
8.0Avg. Review Rating

7.5
Action Comics (2016) #980

May 27, 2017

Overall this is a good issue. I can't say it's excellent, but that's mostly because it's the middle of a story and, as such, it's kind of hard to say how it fits in overall. Dan Jurgens definitely still knows how to write Superman and Patch Zircher's art is good, even if it's not to my taste. Not only this issue but the entire Rebirth run of Action Comics, get a strong recommendation on my part, provided you can deal with a series that is a bit light on story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #1000

Apr 19, 2018

Action Comics #1000 was pretty much excellent.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #10

Dec 1, 2018

In conclusion, I thought this issue was a lot better than the last few and I'm interested to see where Spencer is going with this. While the plot itself wasn't much to ride home about, the characters were very well explored and the dialogue, while wordy, was still interesting enough. The art has to go though. If you're on the fence on this series and are thinking of dropping it, I'd say to pick up this issue and see if it can't win you over.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Batman: Damned #1

Sep 22, 2018

Look, Brian Azzarello is a love him or hate him guy. If you're going to buy Batman: Damned, you were already going to do it, and if you're not than you weren't going to do it anyway. This book has great artwork but suffers from the try hard grittiness that plagues almost all of Azzarello's work. If it looks interesting, buy it but otherwise stay away, because, apart from the infamous Bat-Willy, it's a pretty dull book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batman: The Dark Prince Charming #1

Nov 3, 2017

I enjoyed this way more than I thought I would. I was afraid the more European sensibilities of a guy like Marini wouldn't work with a superhero comic but fortunately I was totally wrong. While some of the dialogue feels kinda awkward and Batman's design isn't quite up to snuff, the book still takes the characters in interesting directions and the beautiful art more than makes up for its short comings. Highly recommend it, it's way better than the regular Batman issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: White Knight #1

Oct 7, 2017

Overall, I was very pleasantly surprised by this issue. It has an interesting idea, brings up points that I've always agreed with and it feels like a classic Batman story in the making, as if that winged rat didn't have enough classic stories. Big recommendation, go out and pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Crosswind #1

Jun 20, 2017

Despite some VERY serious problems with panel layouts, I really enjoyed this issue of Crosswind. I usually love whatever Gail Simone is doing and "Abused Housewife body swaps with Hitman" is an idea right up my alley. I'm looking forward to see where things go from here, and this issue gets a strong recommendation provided you get past the art problems.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Dark Days: The Forge #1

Jun 17, 2017

Overall, while this book did do its job of getting me interested in the Metal event, it's of little use otherwise. If you're reading this review in the week the book came out and you're not really convinced that Metal is going to be cool, go right ahead and buy Dark Days: The Forge. If you're reading this in the future, go ahead and skip it

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Nights: Metal #2

Sep 14, 2017

Overall, Dark Nights Metal issue 2 is a strong continuation to the first issue that's really just lead up to the next issue but it has enough good stuff that I wouldn't miss it. Despite that huge, gaping plot hole that I mentioned (or maybe because of it), I think this is tons of fun, a real treat for fanboys and the perfect way to sweeten people on events after the chaos that was fan reaction to Secret Empire. I give this a strong recommendation; feel free to pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Nights: Metal #6

Mar 28, 2018

In the end, while Dark Nights: Metal issue 6 was an improvement, it still missed the awesome impact that this type of book should have. Unless you've been collecting it issue by issue, I can't really recommend you go out and get it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC Nation (2018) #0

May 2, 2018

Overall, DC Nation #0 was a mixed bag but most of it was really solid. It's clearly a sort of "trailer" for what's happening in the DC Universe but it does its function of getting you intrigued for what's going to happen. Also it's 25 cents. You really don't have any excuse for picking it up. I recommend this issue wholeheartedly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Doomsday Clock #1

Nov 22, 2017

I'll say it looks great, reads great and feels exciting and fresh.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Fantastic Four (2018) #1

Aug 8, 2018

The characters are well handled and the art is really strong. Would I have liked a bit more action? Sure, but we want to establish how everything is currently, so that it can be fixed when Reed, Sue and the kids return. Go out and read this you, otherwise you'll make The Ever Lovin' Blue Eyed Thing cry, and nobody wants that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Fantastic Four (2018) #2

Sep 15, 2018

Buy this book. Just buy it. We finally get to see the Fantastic Four again after almost 3 years of getting sent to the corner by Daddy Perlmutter and it's in a well written, well drawn and damn fun book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2018) #1

Nov 10, 2018

The Green Lantern is, unsurprisingly, pretty damn cool. We still haven't gotten to the actual story of it, but the setup is all interesting, everything is weird and trippy and the art is spectacular. You've probably bought it already, but if you haven't, know that this is a fun book that promises an intergalactic adventure like nothing you've seen in the last few years. Buy this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
I Hate Fairyland #15

Aug 15, 2017

It's "I Hate Fairyland". If you ask me, it's practically perfect.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2018) #10

Oct 18, 2018

If you're not interested in the Drowned Earth crossover, this issue isn't for you because it's literally just set-up. If you're not quite sure if you want to get into it or not, I can assure you that this is a well written, well-paced, beautifully drawn issue that has actually made me kind of hyped for the crossover. Then again Metal also started awesomely, so" I guess we'll see. So far though, I recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Justice League Dark (2018) #1

Jul 28, 2018

I can't fault the book for not being exactly what I wanted out of it, but I am still going to point it out. If you are looking for that sweet spot between horror and superheroes, I am sorry to tell you that this isn't it. But, if you are looking for a fun, stylish and well written blend of superheroes and the supernatural, you can't go wrong here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League: No Justice #2

May 19, 2018

Overall, I hate myself right now. I want to like this book, I swear I do. The premise is neat, the idea is cool, the interactions are fun but it's doing so much so quickly, it can't possibly finish all of this in four issues. I want to believe they can make something cool out of this and turn these next few issues into all out, ultra fun blasts

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Justice League: Odyssey #2

Oct 26, 2018

It's an ok issue. I'm really only writing this review because I have the distinct feeling no one is reading this book. The writing isn't bad and the art is quite attractive, but it's such a slow burn that it's impossible to recommend. Maybe once it really gets going I can tell you "This book has a slow start but it really picks up in issue whatever" but, so far, I can say that it's fine. Pick it up if it seems interesting, but otherwise you can probably skip it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Man of Steel (2018) #1

May 30, 2018

I am feeling very cautiously optimistic. I really enjoyed this issue and I tend to like Bendis anyway, but I still know he can screw it up. The story didn't go many places but, at this point, it didn't need to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shazam! (2018) #1

Dec 7, 2018

Anyway, despite some small art problems, this is still the most fun I had with an issue all week and I highly recommend you go out and get it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Sideways #1

Feb 17, 2018

Overall, I don't know if I can necessarily recommend this to everyone but I can't say it's bad. Honestly, the biggest problem is that tangible lack of story but if you like the main character (which I did) I'd say it's probably worth sticking out. Also the art's pretty good so might as well try it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sideways #2

Mar 16, 2018

It certainly needs to pick up the pace a bit to really get going, but the characters are still likeable and the art is still good.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Sideways #3

Apr 15, 2018

Overall, Sideways #3 keeps the quality. Granted, I think it should be moving faster and I think it's been consistently wasting its side characters, but I like what's been established so far and the action's good. I give it a solid recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Super Sons #6

Jul 21, 2017

Do I even need to say anything else? GO READ THE BOOK! Super Sons has been tons of fun so far and, while this first issue for the arc wasn't perfect, it was still very well written and it still has me hyped to see Jon interact with the Teen Titans. GO! READ! IT!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Superman (2018) #4

Oct 11, 2018

In conclusion, Superman is looking up. This issue had better progression, more interesting events, good character moments and spectacular art. Overall, it was an improvement for Bendis's Superman and, if you were disappointed with the previous three, I would recommend this one. Whether this means that his Superman is getting better or if his next story will also be a decompressed bore" Well, knock on wood.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #2

Mar 23, 2018

I will keep reading it just for the art, but if you don't really care, then I'd say to skip the book because it doesn't have much to offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Terrifics #1

Feb 28, 2018

Sure, not much has happened yet but I have been so starved for new Fantastic Four content, this is practically a godsend. The art is great and the interactions are fun. It has good creators behind it; it's fun and it deserves your support, dammit. GO! GET IT!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Terrifics #3

Apr 27, 2018

Overall, this issue was really good. The art change is disappointing and the story itself is sort of average but the character interactions are so strong and it just has this spark of fun about it that you really want out of a comic. I give it a strong recommendation and advise you to pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Terrifics #5

Jun 30, 2018

If you want to just kick back and read a cool book, there are few better choices than The Terrifics. This issue was a bit slower but the characters are all still interesting and the action is a lot of fun. Highly recommend you to go pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More