Batman: The Dark Prince Charming #1

Batman: The Dark Prince Charming #1

Writer: Enrico Marini Artist: Enrico Marini Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: November 1, 2017 Cover Price: $12.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 8
9.3Critic Rating
8.7User Rating

+ Pull List

Acclaimed European comics master Enrico Marini (Eagles of Rome, Le Scorpion) makes his American comics debut with an original, two-part graphic novel starring the Dark Knight! What secret connection do both Batman and The Joker share with a strange and mysterious young girl? After she's kidnapped by The Joker, Batman must plunge deep into the underworld of Gotham City and race against time to find out where she's being held. The stakes are high, and for Batman, it's personal!
Watch for BATMAN: THE DARK PRINCE CHARMING BOOK TWO coming in spring 2018!
RATED T+

  • 10
    Comic Crusaders - Johnny "The Machine" Hughes Nov 7, 2017

    For me, a long time Bat-fan, this is the sort of book that I have been waiting for. This is absolute proof that Batman doesn't need to live in the superhero world. In fact, he is better suited to life away from the Justice League. I can only hope that his recent shenanigans in his main book and his actions in Metal will finally get him kicked out . DC should take note, there is room on the rack for a teen + bat book as well as their mainly crowd pleasing titular Batman book. Read Full Review

  • 8.6
    Outright Geekery - Antonio Pedro Nov 3, 2017

    I enjoyed this way more than I thought I would. I was afraid the more European sensibilities of a guy like Marini wouldn't work with a superhero comic but fortunately I was totally wrong. While some of the dialogue feels kinda awkward and Batman's design isn't quite up to snuff, the book still takes the characters in interesting directions and the beautiful art more than makes up for its short comings. Highly recommend it, it's way better than the regular Batman issue. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Diezgo52 Nov 4, 2017

    It perfectly captures Batman's essence.

  • 6.0
    SloboSOY Nov 6, 2017

    So I take the English & the French version. If both book have a hard cover, the size are different. The English have a Comics' Size (28 X 18?5), the french have a European Size (32 X 21,4). So Marini art have more detail in the European version. I know that for most panel this isn't matter, but for some this's better. The French have in supplement some Marini sketch at the end that the English didn't have. That said, what's worth ? The art is beautiful. I love is Gotham. I love Is Batman & Catwoman. I does a very good job with almost every character (Specially Alina, Gordon & Alfred). So what I didn't like. Well is Joker & specially is Harley Quinn (just after Murphy, that's a shame to see her like that). The writing is not bad. You have to like when a story is tell not is the right order. Present, some past, then a month earlier, then present/past & present. The story is a little simple, but not bad. And a take some risk to tell a story darker than in most Batman Comics (If you don't count Elseword stories). We will have to wait for November market sales, to see if DC will continue is Partnership with Delcourt. For Delcourt Marini is a Big Name in France & Batman Too. They will sell it like hot cakes. Cover - 1/2 - Good but to simple. Writing 2/3 - Good but to simple. Art 2/3 - Very good except Joker & Harley Feeling - 1/2 Mixed for now. I will wait for part two with hope to be more astonished

  • 10
    TheFallenKing13 Nov 2, 2017

  • 10
    Alexandr Nov 8, 2017

  • 9.5
    Spider-Man Prime Nov 19, 2017

  • 9.0
    Bloodraven Nov 7, 2017

  • 8.5
    CraigR Nov 5, 2017

  • 7.5
    egon244 Nov 6, 2017

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More