Brian A. Madrid's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 97
8.0Avg. Review Rating

8.8
Action Comics (2016) #988

Oct 18, 2017

I have to tip my hat to Dan Jurgens for coming up with a story like this. Re-introducing a dead character to life like Jor-El takes guts.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Action Comics (2016) #999

Mar 22, 2018

This is a humble comic book issue as Clark uses his strength to bring an enemy towards reformation while uses his farm-boys manners to bring a two drifted family members closer. I thoroughly enjoy this and I think you will too.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Barbarella (2017) #2

Jan 10, 2018

Not too much imagination to the storyline but Barbarella is rather intriguing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman: Creature of the Night #1

Dec 5, 2017

A wonderful and unique take on the Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Creature of the Night #2

Jan 1, 2018

What makes Creature of the Night so interesting is a personal connection we all have with heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman: Creature of the Night #3

May 15, 2018

To draw to a close, Creature of the Night #3, is a bitter-sweet installment to the series. The storyline offers a constant surprise in every issue. I'm huge Batman fan who dabbles in various storyline series of the Caped Crusader, but never something like this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batman: Lost #1

Nov 10, 2017

The warm colors of this Hallmark like Christmas moment jumps quickly over to a war between two enemies in a bloodthirsty battle.Then the panels jump again through time and space never allowing Bruce Wayne get his bearings. The sketch artwork and coloring is spot on!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Batman: The Dawnbreaker #1

Oct 7, 2017

If you are reading these tie-ins from DC's Metal series, the origins stories of multiverse Batman have turned for the worse and benefits BarBatos. So far we have not see this Dark universe Lord and Master, he does have a good right Batman for the job. A demonic Hellraiser form of Batman who keeps company with a chain of Strigoi Robin by his side. With Red Death and War Machine, and Dawnbreaker as part of BarBatos regime, there are more Multiverse Batman waiting in the wings.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batman: The Devastator #1

Nov 5, 2017

Panels from the comic books are stunning. Some single page, some full pages of the Devastator unleashing himself upon Earth 1's Superman are heart-stoppers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: The Murder Machine #1

Oct 9, 2017

This issue of the Metal tie-ins will tug a little at the heart-strings.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman: The Red Death #1

Oct 1, 2017

This Metal series tie in gives a glimpse how the Earth -52 Batman was seduced by Barbatos using Batman's promise to save Gotham City and the ones he loves. As for Bruce Wayne it show how really smart and intelligent this man in the DC Universe. Love the scenes of Batman new look as Red Death and his trail of hellish bats.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batman: White Knight #1

Oct 10, 2017

My question is, "Why hasn't anyone ever wrote a story like this before?' One can use movie transformation scene to describe the rags to riches life of Joker. What was once a man who enjoy wreaking havoc on the city of Gotham City only to have Batman capture him is empower to have Batman be behind the bars of Arkham Asylum and become Gotham's White Knight.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: White Knight #2

Jan 21, 2018

This is one of the most intriguing Batman comic book storylines to come from DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batman: White Knight #3

Jan 23, 2018

Don't let this series slip through your fingers and buy this comic book. It's one of the most original stories about the Batman saga in quite a Mar's solstice (I'm watching The Martian.)

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: White Knight #6

Mar 18, 2018

One of the best comic series of the Batman I've had the pleasure of reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: White Knight #8

Jun 7, 2018

This was a great series to read and I thoroughly enjoy many of the character's story development. I look forward seeing Sean Murphy's next project series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Batman: Who Laughs #1

Nov 17, 2017

For the most part, this is a creep comic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Battlestar Galactica Vs. Battlestar Galactica #1

Jan 10, 2018

In any event, the comic book offers the same magic as the original series as well as its recent television run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batwoman (2017) #5

Aug 29, 2017

The Batwoman, who fights and has the determination of Bruce Wayne's Batman, is painted a different picture in this comic book series. The early life of Kate Kane, is a far shadow cry from what she will later become as Batwoman. Kate seems to lack focus in her life and clings to those offering a deep friendship. I give this a Go read this series. Look forward to more Batwoman action.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Batwoman (2017) #6

Aug 22, 2017

When DC's Universe Rebirth was going to a series on Batwoman, I jumped on the chance to read it. Unlike a prissy Bat-girl or a commanding Wonder Woman, Batwoman is a blue collar of crime fighter. Despite all her setbacks and personal love tragedies, she's has the tenacity of a Batman but she's not Batman. She's a women drawn to justice and order. She'll do whatever means necessary to accomplish that mission.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Bettie Page #4

Oct 28, 2017

I love the concept of this one of a kind woman, who broke barriers. The perception of women mimicking a Donna Reed persona gets old real fast. Bettie Page was a woman ahead of her time and wonderful to see her in her own comic book series. Love the concept of Betty being a secret agent for the United States. I just wished artist give more of Bettie Page. Anything less would simply won't do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bitch Planet: Triple Feature #1

Jun 12, 2017

This is part one of a 3 part story in one comic book. As per the comic book's introduction, " In the future, not so far away, troublesome and offensive women are jettisoned to the off-world penitentiary commonly known as Bitch Planet. Mostly written by women, Bitch Planet offers 3 story where the women were mistreated and/or were ignored of their personal rights. More nonfiction than fantasy, these stories does draw a grim view of women in a modern society where the sexes are not always equal.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Cloud #1

Apr 23, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed reading Black Could. Being the first issue of the series, one can only hope Barrett will undoubtedly offer chances to see more of the dream world as the story unfolds. See life through the eyes of Barrett and her power will keep this series running for a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Cloud #2

Jun 18, 2017

As always, Black Cloud #2 is a well thought out comic book to read. Zelda is a hustler of the streets. She needs food and shelter in order to survive in a cold city. Her ability to open a fantasy world and be engulfed in it is her bread money. Without it, she becomes barren. I will be very interesting to see her encounter with Frank will divulge in upcoming issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Cloud #3

Jul 11, 2017

Black Cloud is an original comic book series that does not disappoint readers. The series can only get better with more issues on the way. Although, I am fearful the writing might dwindle after this episode, one can hope to see more of the dream world with Zelda Barrett and her cast of characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Breathless #1

Mar 30, 2018

Ultimately, not a bad comic book to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Curse Words #1

Nov 20, 2016

Curse Words is by far one of the most intriguing yet cosmic comic book I have ever read. And that's not entirely a bad thing. As so long the storyline is not hindered with too much magical wizardry and does not shorten character development, I'm fine with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Days: The Casting #1

Aug 20, 2017

Dark Days: The Casting is really going with engines on full thrust. I strongly suggest reading some backstory information regarding Batman. From 52 series Batman # 40 thru 49 should be good for one to understand some of the scenes in this comic book. Again it leaves the reader wanting more to the story and this is where DC gets you. Just remember the storyline will wash into various comic titles from DC, so watch out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Days: The Forge #1

Aug 19, 2017

This epic comic book saga will have readers wanting more. The series is not cheap as the cover has increased by $2.00. Also, be prepared to buy lots as the Metal series will wash into the rest of the DC titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dark Knights Rising: The Wild Hunt #1

Feb 24, 2018

This book will forever be forgotten and only found in discount bins.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Dark Nights: Metal #3

Oct 15, 2017

Fighting the mind of Bruce Wayne is tough enough, but to fight seven of them is like playing chess against someone a hundred moves ahead of you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Dark Nights: Metal #4

Dec 25, 2017

In summary, the Dark Nights metal series is near the story's end. Overall the storyline has been solid for most of the series though at times slow the story's pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Dark Nights: Metal #5

Feb 10, 2018

Dark Night Metal #5 reprises the various Batmans who have to turn themselves into these demonic creatures for the benefit of Barbatos conquest.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Dejah Thoris (2018) #1

Feb 9, 2018

Think of Dejah Thoris as a royalty world who's planet will soon die unless someone rises to the challenge and sacrifice everything for the sake of their people.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Dejah Thoris (2018) #2

Mar 6, 2018

Generally speaking, Dejah Thoris is a decent comic book to follow. It offers some great artwork and a solid foundation of a storyline reviewer will be interested in.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Dejah Thoris (2018) #3

Apr 11, 2018

In conclusion, Amy Chu is a writer for women. She sheds the idea of what a woman can accomplish as so long as she prepares herself for anything.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Domino (2018) #1

Apr 17, 2018

Gail Simone has a natch of bringing a character to life and Domino is no different.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doomsday Clock #2

Dec 30, 2017

There's little chance this comic book series will disappoint the average comic reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Doomsday Clock #3

Feb 2, 2018

A good pace of storyline as well as very well drawn panels that starves an unquenchable curiosity.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Elsewhere #1

May 29, 2017

Truly a remarkable sense of storytelling as Jay Faerber takes one of greatest aerial mysteries of the legendary pilot, Amelia Earhart, into a science fiction comic book series. Amelia's Moxie attitude will surely be a catalyst for surprising adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Eternal Empire #1

Apr 9, 2017

The story of Eternal Empire #1 is a timeless tale of good and decent people succumb into the hands of a tyrant. The Synnian has made a career of crushing all hope from those conquered. As the story unfolds, there's one, the white-haired woman, is compelled to free herself from all this pain and suffering. Love the scenes depicting the coldness she endure while harvesting. My only regret reading Eternal Empire is the small, light font texts in some of storyboards. It was very difficult to read at times. A little larger and darker please. Over a nice story introduction and a bit of a cliffhanger. Looking forward for Eternal Empire #2, soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Eternal Empire #2

Jun 13, 2017

Eternal Empire does have a Star Wars feel, as young man and a young woman venture out into the unknow. Neither of them have no idea what awaits for them, but one things is clear. It a lot better than spending the rest of their lives as expendable slaves for the Empress.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Eternity Girl #1

Mar 21, 2018

Not a bad comic book issue, though I do find it morbid at times.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Flash (2016) #33

Oct 30, 2017

What really draws me into the story has to be the panels of Central City destroyed, as Flash runs towards it. Fans of the Flash will recognize the two fallen signs of Bob's Belly Burgers, and Star Labs on the streets. Panels showing parts of the city in shambles, while seeing the good citizens of Central City transformed into dilapidated souls. Great artwork. The image of Central City and it's citizens bring chills of dread and a real page turner.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Geek Girl #2

Jan 13, 2017

Sometimes, especially young women, it can be difficult to live a happy life. Ruby is one of these college women who has a very difficult time feeling comfortable within her own skin. There's nothing wrong with that but if you going to be this impersonable superhero in you town, you better bring guns of confidence and swag. Ruby sees Geek-Girl as being the hottie, loved and admired. For Ruby, it's the dorky girl no one wants to associate with. Summer explains that no matter whether wearing the glasses on or off, your still you! It's not until Nina forces herself upon Ruby the point is clear. She's no Kiki and kicks Nina on the ground. Ruby is no dork not be bullied. Although this cuts away from knowing about Lightning Girl, but makes a good point about a young woman's persona is constantly put to the test.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Geek Girl #3

Apr 5, 2017

I was very excited to finally see the character, Mr. Mash-Up. Dressed in all green with a Fedora hat on, looked to be a worthy villain for Geek-Girl. Unfortunately, the character was short-lived. I Don't Know Why, but it did. Although, from my understand about him there may be two possibilities to his origin. Either a form of punishment was ruled to live the rest of eternity living in Ruby's universe? Or, escaped to Ruby's universe as a form of refuge. In either case, Mr. Mash-Up, could have been something interesting to read about. Again, the storyboard is good to follow as well as the graphic drawing of all the characters. My only regret to the Geek-Girl series is the almost empty character story development. I need that, desperately!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Geek Girl #4

Apr 6, 2017

Great storyline with great storyboard graphic scenes. Looking forward reading series #5 and hoping to reveal how the glasses were created.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Ghostbusters: Answer The Call #1

Oct 24, 2017

I dont have a lot of positive feedback to this comic book. I know somebody will enjoy, and I hope someone will, but in the meantime, this book needs more flavor.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Gotham City Garage #1

Oct 16, 2017

It's female characters of DC Comics meet the world of Mad Max.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham City Garage #3

Dec 10, 2017

Gotham City Garage does keep one's interest enough to read until the end. It's a strange version of Gotham City turned apocalyptic and have one of the most ruthless men of the DC Universe, Lex Luthor as your town mayor and absolute ruler.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Gotham City Garage #4

Dec 12, 2017

Like I've said before, it's a different look on the DC characters living in a post-apocalyptic period. Everyone has their own agenda and will stop at nothing to achieve it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Green Hornet (2018) #1

Mar 2, 2018

A great start to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Green Hornet (2018) #2

Apr 5, 2018

The series gives heartfelt sentiments to the character Britt though lost but is certainly not being forgotten. With the investigation now in full throttle done by Tai and Mulan, the two may find something more sinister plot in the works. If so, one can only hope they packed their fighting gloves with them.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.4
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #32

Nov 12, 2017

Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps issue #32 would better served using more battle scenes, more plot twists, or even a small submissive love story. Anything would have been better than this. If you read, Batman: Lost issue #1, though there was little fighting in that comic book, I loved the storyline of psyche of Bruce Wayne and his Kryptonite.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Highlander: American Dream #4

May 25, 2017

Highlander: The American Dream #4 for most of the series shows reader what was like for an immortal to live in the 50's. Living in a big city carrying a Katana just was not as popular as .38 special, but can argue a point. Nevertheless makes a great side story this this timeless man. This is one of my favorite movies and this comic book series and does have some of the film's mystic in it. I would surely love to see in the coming issues some flashbacks of Macleod's moments through history or with ol' friend Juan Sanchez Villa-Lobos Ramirez.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Hit-Girl (2018) #1

Mar 11, 2018

Mindy McCready is only doing what her loving father wanted her to do, be a survivor while serving social justice as she was bred to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Hit-Girl (2018) #2

Apr 2, 2018

Hit-Girl does not disappoint readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Hit-Girl (2018) #4

Jun 1, 2018

It's all magic and Hit-Girl issue #4 has the series off to a good start.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Hit-Girl (2018) #6

Aug 13, 2018

Jeff and Eduardo take issue #6 of Hit-Girl to offer a moment to show a side of Mindy expose her one weakness, being alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Iceman (2017) #2

Aug 16, 2017

From seeing issue #2, the Marvel Universe has made both Kitty and Bobby more grown up than from previous adaptations. Though the writers did keep Bobby's corky sense of humor intact. Not the most serious person in the X-Men family of mutants, but he manages to break the ice during tense situations(No pun intended there). As of now, Bobby has no one special in mind to begin a relationship. Kitty offers good advice about seeking out others for support and offers her friendship to him.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Iceman (2017) #3

Aug 17, 2017

I think reader sometimes do not understand the daily life of a superhero. In Iceman issue #3, gives an look into Bobby's world ( Again no pun intended) and it's not all bells and whistles being an X-Men. Yeah, go go out and recruit new mutants and save the world once in while but where's the 401K plan? Is there workmen's compensation due to job injuries? Not to mention when will mom and dad enjoy the pitter patter of grandchildren? For Iceman, being a mutant, fighting for equality as well as being gay might become a heavy burden to carry on. And that what the writer is expressing about the character. Great Stuff!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
James Bond: Felix Leiter #1

Jan 7, 2017

Now, for those who are not familiar with the James Bond films, Felix was tortured by a drug cartel named Franz Sanchez who tied Felix up while a shark nibbled at his extremities. That is why Felix uses prosthetics to live a somewhat normal life. I tip my hat to the writers for including this bit of information about character Felix -it keeps it authentic. Overall, the story is open to many possibilities to explore.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
James Bond: Felix Leiter #2

Feb 8, 2017

I'm just waiting for a lovely Bond siren to appear in an upcoming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
John Wick #1

Dec 10, 2017

Hearing about John Wick turn into a comic book, I thought would be a bad idea. How can you bring all that cinema action and yet capture the tormented soul onto the pages of a comic book? Rest assured, the pages hold up to John Wick persona. I hope that both the writing and the drawing continue to follow the character and his bullet-filled escapades.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
John Wick #2

May 4, 2018

The issues are satisfying morsels as I wait in anticipation.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Justice League (2016) #32

Nov 5, 2017

This comic book is a bit semi climatic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Kick-Ass (2018) #1

Feb 24, 2018

This is a new take on the Kick-Ass story. I just found it a little disappointing. Though the comic can't be the same as the movie, which I loved watching, it was missing a key piece. It didn't have the part where Patience makes the hero her own.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kim Reaper #1

Apr 4, 2017

The artwork and dialogue is clean as crisp and well as the story-telling. Though I should point out, (If you are not aware of already) Becka is a curious character wanting to have a relationship with the same sex. Whether or not Becka will have these crush-like feels remains to be seen. Just throwing it out there. An interesting comic book and look forward reading Becka and Kim's adventures in love and death.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Legenderry Red Sonja (2018) #4

May 27, 2018

A less than a desirable comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Lost City Explorers #1

Jul 30, 2018

In closing of my review of The Lost city of Explorers #1, offers childhood nostalgia of a group of teenagers solving a mystery drop into their hands. Big fan of the Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew, and crew members of the Mystery Machine. Having read the second installment of the series gives some more information about Segan Labs and what does Helen need to save her father. I find this series a keeper to read and definitely, there's more to come. Issue #2 is currently available with issue #3 comes out August 15th.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Mera: Queen of Atlantis #1

Mar 3, 2018

This first issue does shed some light to her past and a glimpse of a possible future with Arthur C. Being this a six part comic book series, I can only speculate this might be a prequel to DC's Aquaman film, coming the 21st of December.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Orphan Black: Deviations #4

Sep 13, 2017

The comic book origins comes from the show which lasted 5 season on BBC television. The lovely Tatiana Maslany portrayed the show's the three main characters. Wonderful to see the essence of the show live on. If you loved the show, you will loved the comic look. And if you never heard of Orphan Black, go see the show. All issue are currently available as well as volume collections.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Pathfinder: Spiral of Bones #1

Mar 28, 2018

Pathfinder Spiral of Bones will give those D&D fans something to read about when not on some sort of fantasy role-playing campaign.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #1

Jan 1, 2018

Though this issue leaves me aching to see Jean turn into the Pyrokinetic Phoenix, we're gonna have to wait for the next issue. Also, seeing Logan as an old and ancient man and not the stoic youthful character I'm accustomed to reading surprise me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Raven: Daughter of Darkness #1

Feb 2, 2018

In conclusion, one can see instantly the change in older Raven rather than the one fans have come to know from Teen Titan episodes. One can only speculate that her power will also become more refined as she faces new challenges. Right now, Raven is beginning to see a whole new aspect of various people. Who like her, have problems of their own to work through. Love it when moments of pearls of wisdom becomes her Life's Lesson # so and so.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Redneck #4

Aug 14, 2017

Rednecks is one of those comic books that has yet to be discovered by Warner Bros. or CW Network. The storyline would make an interesting television series or at least a one shot movie. It's got love, family, friendship, sworn enemies and revenge. Plus that fact almost all the characters are vampires just wanting to live a normal life. I grown very fond of this comic book and strongly suggest readers to pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Samurai: Brothers In Arms #4

Dec 7, 2016

It reminded me watching old Samurai movies as a kid. Stories of a lone warrior bent on conquering an injustice. Brothers in Arms has a great storyline that's mixed with moments of betrayal, love, espionage, and of course sword fighting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Shadowman (2018) #1

Apr 3, 2018

Generally speaking, mystical realms coming from deep in the bayou always intrigued me. Stories older than the Civil War about voodoo and dark arts have spread throughout the south that still shivers spines today. In any case, Shadowman brings an old classic storytelling into the modern era.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Sheena: Queen of the Jungle (2017) #1

Sep 12, 2017

I find Marguerite Bennett fascinating to read. The stuff she imagines must keep her awake all night.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sherlock: The Blind Banker #6

Jun 12, 2017

There no greater detective story than the adventures of Sherlock Holmes in modern times. His mind is a complete library of facts, information and deductive reasoning all wrapped into this one man. The Blind Banker does leave a sense of a cliff-hanger for a possible new storyline series to be discover. Though the reading the panel from right to left is an act unfamiliar to me, one gets use to it. I hope to see more of Sherlock stories in comic stands and book shelves. This is a buy!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shirtless Bear Fighter #1

Jun 20, 2017

Shirtless Bear Fighter could be one of the funniest comic books I read so far. This is something Alfred E. Neuman would have copy write for his Mad magazine. No one knows who's the parents of Shirtless one thing is certain. Don't call flapjacks pancakes. If funny comic books reading is your favorite pastimes, get naked and read this.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Trek: Boldly Go #8

May 24, 2017

Boldly Go comic series does capture the feel of J.J. Abrams vision from the film but needs a little more plot twist, McCoy and Spock banter and more of Jim Kirk gut instinct space fights.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #1

Sep 3, 2017

Darth Vader is, in my opinion, a well loved, timeless character. Just a man who suffered the death of his mother and the only woman he's ever loved. Truly a Greek tragedy among the stars as Anakin's humanity burned away and was forged to become a weapon for the dark side. I thoroughly enjoyed Marvel's Star Wars: Darth Vader series #1 and you will too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Teen Titans (2016) #12

Sep 21, 2017

This is the first comic book tie-in from the Metal series and there's more coming. The DC Universe is in jeopardy of becoming absorb into the Dark Multiverse. With the Teen Titans, the Suicide Squad, Green Arrow from the Justice League, and Nightwing representing the Batman Family their task is an uphill battle while wearing cement shoes. Barbatos and his seven evil Batmen are here to stay.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Dregs #1

Jan 20, 2017

Overall an intriguing story and look forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Few #6

Jul 9, 2017

This is a great comic book to read. It plays with a lot of emotions as Hale see herself fail in one aspect in her life while finding people to lift herself up. Seeing her inner demons haunt her through most of the series is given the opportunity for redemption through the people she cares for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Greatest Adventure #4

Jul 31, 2017

Like I said, The Greatest Adventure is a modern day comic book with golden age classic storytelling from the past.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Lost Fleet: Corsair #1

Jun 16, 2017

Overall something to read and gain a fan. I absolutely love a good intergalactic war story that true to those classic science fiction stories from the past.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Silencer #1

Feb 10, 2018

This is a hit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Silencer #2

Apr 1, 2018

So far, from the DC Universe, The Silencer is starting to become one of my favorite comic books. I'm a sucker for ordinary things we take for granted to be something completely different. One never knows about anyone living next to you. They could be someone like a typical wife and mother of two children or someone who knows 1001 ways to kill you in your sleep. In any event, The Silencer is expected to have more surprises in store in coming issues and look forward to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Silencer #3

Apr 2, 2018

Growing up in the era of Jaws, Star Wars, Superman: The Movie, and Rambo I have seen a lot of action films. The Silencer gives that classic action movie feel like a surprising bonus, a woman is the main character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
The Silencer #4

May 6, 2018

I enjoy reading the Silencer series. In light of the implementation of Deathstroke in the series does not alter the storyline, but enhances it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
The Silencer #5

Jul 7, 2018

The Silencer has been a wonderful comic book to read and collect. The storyline has been very consistent with great action panels. For the character Honor, one can only imagine how she'll manage to keep her retired life in place while everyone she's ever known wants her back in action.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
The Silencer #6

Jul 22, 2018

I love how the series brings the most dangerous assassin woman ever known and make her into a typical mother living in the suburbs.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Turok (2017) #1

Aug 15, 2017

Give Turok: Blood Hunt a chance before you decide to hang-up your bow and arrow.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Victor LaValle's Destroyer #4

Dec 8, 2017

The storyline just did not fit the pieces well enough to be enjoyed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Xena: Warrior Princess (2018) #1

Feb 24, 2018

The artwork is tremendous to look at when you see Gabrielle and Xena back in action once again. To even have the face of Gabrielle pout during one panel is priceless. One would hope to see more of the dynamic dames be involved in a high pace, action-packed adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More