ChrisDeneen's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Fanboy Buzz Reviews: 29
7.3Avg. Review Rating

10
Amazing Spider-Man #700

Dec 31, 2012

The story is a whirlwind of pain, ego and desperation. You have a nagging feeling the entire time youre reading it that things just won't end well. At the end of this issue you will feel your heart ache there is no way around it. As sadly as it ends though there is also a tiny ember of hope. I won't spoil anything further all I can say is that ASM #700 delivers on everything you could hope for. Amazing Spider-Man's 700th issue is a true milestone with a tremendous finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Army of Darkness Vol. 3 #8

Jan 8, 2013

To wrap it up a good issue added on to a series that is really strong. While there were some small problems they were ultimately forgivable. Im looking forward to where issue 9 takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Army of Darkness Vol. 3 #9

Jan 21, 2013

Overall i liked the issue but it felt like there was a definite shift in tone that i wasn't expecting. It could go either way at this point it all depends on how the story and future issues unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers Arena #1

Dec 31, 2012

The first issue has hooked me but only time will tell if the series ends up being anything special. I cant help but find myself wondering if we might be getting a new group book after the dust is settled. One perhaps forged from the survivors of Arena.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Avengers Arena #2

Jan 8, 2013

So far Avengers Arena is off to a rocky start. Issue 3 is right around the corner maybe it will get the series back on track.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers Arena #3

Jan 9, 2013

This book has quite the swerve ending, its unexpected and it pissed me off. Although this is probably good in the long run; because honestly I would rather be mad at a story for a moment of good storytelling than mad because a book just wasnt worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman Incorporated #8

Mar 3, 2013

To wrap things up this issue had one single defining moment to it that was good. The rest I could take or leave. At this point Im looking forward to seeing how the Batman books will be affected by the events of this issue. We may have lost an awesome character but change is always a good thing even if it takes a little getting used to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Avengers #184

Dec 31, 2012

I plan on to keep picking the book up for now but its place in my pull is nowhere near guaranteed. If the momentum of this issue can be maintained Dark Avengers could be a real interesting series. If not well they can shake up the roster as many times as necessary to get it right. The next issue marks the return of U.S. Agent which Im excited about it but reserved at the same time. The wait and see attitude is Dark Avengers in a nutshell for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Avengers #185

Jan 16, 2013

Things for this series are really starting to look up. I was very apprehensive when the book split from the Thunderbolts but now Im starting to come around. Im really hoping that U.S. Agent steps in as team leader and points the group in the right direction or maybe manipulates them whatever works. Its obvious this world needs heroes and villains may just be the right ones for the job.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadpool Killustrated #1

Jan 28, 2013

This issue builds up on the previous series well and propels Deadpool forward toward new worlds and interesting opponents. You have to wonder whether any of them will be able to stop such an efficient killer. Personally i'm wondering how much longer Marvel can drag this concept out for. As we all know Marvel Zombies ended up beating a dead horse for far too long and had way too many spin offs. It feels like this series could end up going the same route. As much as I love Deadpool as a character I think it might be best to dial back on using him for a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathmatch #1

Jan 3, 2013

Despite the fact that this is a first issue and a (sort of) crossover its a surprisingly good read. The characters are as fleshed out as they can get in a situation like this and their designs are really striking. Not just the typical spandex and armor crowd. I have to admit while I followed the promotion for the book I thought it looked really uninteresting. So far I have been pleasantly surprised and am looking forward to watching the series unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Who: Prisoners of Time #1

Jan 31, 2013

This is the first issue of the 12 issue 50th Anniversary special series. Each Doctor will get their own story that adds to the greater arc. I feel like this series could really turn out to be something special. I personally plan on picking up every issue of it and i recommend the book to any true Doctor Who fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Invincible #99

Jan 3, 2013

One last thing before I put a bow on this there are a few panels at the end that really bugged me. Its roughly the end of the fight sequence. Invincible is fully costumed while fighting Dinosaurus. Then a building falls on them both. Dinosaurus clears the wreckage holding Invincible by the back of the neck. Why is this interesting you may ask? Well because for seemingly no good reason Invincible is now completely naked. How did it happen? I dont know. Is it an error? Anything is possible. Its just weird though isnt it? Did his costume get caught on something as the building collapsed? Or did Dinosaurus feel his foe just needed to be unclothed and shredded it himself. We may never know why its in there but it is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Legend of Oz: The Wicked West #3

Jan 20, 2013

The art of the book is really detailed and beautiful, It complements the story in every way imaginable. Its obvious Big Dog Ink is dedicated to producing high quality comics. At $3.50 it is a bit on the pricier side especially for a small press book but I have to say its worth every penny. If youre looking for something with an engrossing story, memorable characters and top notch art Legend of Oz is for you. If you are a hardcore fan of the Wizard of Oz but yearn for more than what Zenescope offers or something different than Marvel has put out again this book is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mara #1

Jan 1, 2013

Im looking forward to issue 2 mostly because we barely scrape the surface of the story here. Im not sure what Brian Wood has planned for the series but it could shape up to be something really different.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Morbius: The Living Vampire #1

Jan 3, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with this issue overall. Launching a solo title for Morbius is a risky maneuver. Most recently he has been a guest star or supporting cast member in various different books. He hasnt had his own title since 1995. This new book could mean big things for Morbius but that all depends on how the story is handled. I am eagerly awaiting the 2nd issue because I have the feeling that Morbius could be a sleeper hit. This is just going off my gut of course. Marvel Now! has had its share of both good and bad titles since it launched. Luckily most of them have come off far better than any of DCs New 52. If you are in the mood for something different I would definitely recommend picking up Morbius #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Morbius: The Living Vampire #2

Feb 25, 2013

To wrap it up this issue drags on and has little story progression to it. The ending is meant to drive the tension up but with the story moving so slow it doesnt really hit the mark. Its only the second issue of course things could change as the series continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Nova (2013) #1

Feb 20, 2013

To wrap things up this was an extremely lack luster issue. The series may get better but with Loeb at the helm I wont be holding my breath or anything.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Saga #7

Dec 31, 2012

However if youre thinking about picking the book up for the first time this may not be the best place to jump in. Try picking up the volume 1 trade paperback. It's a steal at only 9.99 and will quickly get you up to speed on one of the best creator owned books out today.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scarlet Spider #12

Dec 31, 2012

Yost continues to impress me with his writing abilities. To be brutally honest when they first announced Scarlet Spider as a series I all but dismissed it. I thought it wouldnt make 6 issues let alone 12. Now I cant stop reading it and with the upcoming Marvel Now! Launch of Superior Spider-Man this may just be the only Spider book I read for a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scarlet Spider #13

Jan 14, 2013

Once again Chris Yost brings us a great issue. Its obvious that this arc will finally shed some light on some things readers have been wondering about since the series started out. At the same time we are getting some powerful villains who feel like they will really give Scarlet-Spider a challenge. This issue is pretty much non-stop action but it delivers a fair amount of story progression as well. While Kaine may not have a signature arch enemy yet its obvious he is going to rack up quite the rogues gallery. I look forward very intently to the next issue. Once again Scarlet-Spider delivers a solid story with great action and character development.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Wars #1

Jan 11, 2013

I liked the book but it just doesnt click for me. We do get a really cool scene showing off just how badass Princess Leia can be. I really feel like that moment is the only real saving grace of the issue though. Brian Wood is a talented writer but I just havent been impressed with his most recent work creator owned or otherwise. What he has here is the opportunity to craft the last truly great Star Wars tale from Darkhorse. Before the comic rights of course revert back to Disney and are eventually published under Marvel. Whether or not he succeeds of course is entirely dependent on how this series plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superior Spider-Man #1

Jan 9, 2013

This issue is good not great mind you well thats not completely accurate. The issue itself is good but then ending is damn near amazing. After reading it youll understand what I mean. Right out of the gate and Dan Slott delivers a surprisingly strong first issue and an interesting shock at the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Avenging Spider-Man #15.1

Jan 3, 2013

Overall I liked the book but the story but it just didnt grab me. Of course this is just a point one book and they tend to be mediocre. I think Superior Spider-Man could be a strong title but this issue is nothing special. Chris Yost is kind of trapped stringing together this issue and #700. There are legions of fans out there very pissed off at Dan Slott at the moment. He may be able to bring some back around and maybe even bring in some new readers but he has to tread carefully. The diehard fans will probably hold out for the return of the real Peter and that may cause some serious slumps in sales.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Todd, The Ugliest Kid on Earth #1

Jan 17, 2013

The art is cartoonish and has a distinct dysmorphic quality to it. The characters are exaggerated in many ways and overall the style suits the book very well. The story is kind of predictable but its clear by the end of the issue that things arent going to progress the way you might assume they would. I liked the book but there was a lot to it that I could easily spend more time picking apart. In fact I felt I had to rein it in on this review and limit just how much of that I did. There is definite potential here as long as they dont rely too heavily on being outlandish. With a book like this where you are juggling crime, horror and dark comedy it can be difficult keep the story balanced.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Uncanny X-Force #35

Jan 3, 2013

This of course is only the end of this iteration of the book. Uncanny X-Force volume 2 is on its way as part of the Marvel Now! Re-launch. All I have to say is that the new creative team has its work cut out for it. This was a book that always kept you guessing and more often than not shocked you with just how far things were taken. Is issue # 35 good? The answer is a resounding yes. It's a fitting and well-crafted ending that delivers us an intricate web of loss, perseverance and hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ursa Minor #4

Jan 22, 2013

This is a book that really grows on you quickly. I did have to suspend certain preconceptions about it before I started in on it initially. There are so many books containing Vampires, Werewolves and the like out there today and it does feel like the market has hit saturation on the genre to a degree. It was difficult for me to give Ursa Minor a shot because of this. After reading it though Im glad I did. The creative team seems to have strived hard to keep away from the standard tropes that can plague titles with this kind of concept.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Vampirella Strikes #1

Jan 3, 2013

I really hope the book gets better honestly I do. I have been a huge Vampirella fan for years but what we get here is an entirely uninspired first outing. At least give us back Vampirellas trademark skimpy outfit. That may make it easier to tolerate the narrative they have packaged. Vampirella books have never been the most innovative or interesting but they were solid stories. They combined action, horror and eye candy in a winning formula. Here all we get are played out tropes and story that feels like its the pilot of the CWs next young adult supernatural/action drama.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Young Avengers (2013) #1

Jan 24, 2013

This issue is quite frankly amazing. Gillen once again delivers us what no other could. The pace of the story and its somewhat chaotic setup work perfectly on every level. The art is great and suits the book quite well. There was one small thing that bugged me it seemed like many of the characters faces were stuck in these kind of overly emotive expressions. It just seemed weird for them to constantly look shocked or surprised. All of that aside I thoroughly enjoyed this issue. I wouldnt presume to guess what master plan Gillen has in mind for the series but I have no doubt it will be great.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More