Dan Iverson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: IGN Reviews: 49
7.1Avg. Review Rating

6.5
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #660

May 11, 2011

I wasn't a big fan of this issue. And while I won't say it was bad, I also won't say that I particularly enjoyed anything more than the two page "Infested" back-up. More than anything else, The Amazing Spider-Man #660 acted as a sign of things to come. We have Doc Octopus and the Sinister Six inching closer to Ock's "destiny", Jackal starting to infuse Spider powers to the citizen's of New York, and Ghost Rider finishing up his side story with Spidey just in time for his new solo book - which starts June 8th. If you're a Marvel continuity whore, this issue will be worth picking up. Otherwise, save your $4 this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #661

May 18, 2011

While this can be seen as a tie-in issue, let it be known that Peter Parker is still the main focus of this story. Like any good Spidey story, it is his dilemma which fuels narrative. But fans that are looking for a non-FF Spider-Man story, you're going to have to wait for #663 or for Spider-Island starting in #666.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #662

May 25, 2011

When looking at all three of the stories found in this issue, it is impossible not to recommend this book to true Spider-Man fans. Sure, the main story plays better as an Avengers Academy story rather than an Amazing Spider-Man story, but by the end of the issue it is impossible to say that the story doesn't work well as an exploration on all the heroes involved. Likewise, the two back-up stories further in giving the reader a better idea of who not only the Spider-Man, but Peter Parker really is. Despite the tie-in feel, I still recommend this issue to the true Spidey fans out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #663

Jun 1, 2011

I won't say that this was a great issue of Spider-Man, but it was very good. It brought a lot of previous stories together, and gave them all purpose, while being able to keep up the drama and action that the series is known for. Fans of Spider-Man will undoubtedly enjoy this issue, but I don't see it converting those that aren't into the old web-head.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Astonishing Spider-Man And Wolverine #6

May 25, 2011

All the pieces came together in an incredible way in Astonishing Spider-Man & Wolverine, and helped to make this entertaining story a memorable one. If you haven't read the series yet, you're missing out on a fun story with two of Marvel's best characters. For those that have been following it along the way, I can't see you being disappointed with a comic of this caliber. Pick this up, you won't regret it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Atomic Robo: The Deadly Art of Science #3

Feb 10, 2011

By slowing down the pace of the Deadly Art of Science's story, featuring Robo and Tesla's nemesis Thomas Edison, we were able to have a more character driven issue that was able to balance in a little comedy and action to keep diehard fans happy. Issues like this remind me just how good Brian Clevenger and Scott Wegener are at storytelling, and show just why we shouldn't let this indie book slip through the cracks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers Academy #4

Sep 22, 2010

While it is necessary to read Part 1 of "Scared Straight" before reading this issue, the four books put out thus far for Avengers Academy have proven the quality of this title's concept.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Avengers: Children's Crusade #5

Apr 6, 2011

Taking the good with the bad, this issue doesn't really disappoint, it just doesn't live up to the lofty expectations that Heinberg's first Young Avengers volume set for this team's adventures. However, if you've enjoyed the series thus far, you'll undoubtedly enjoy this issue as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman #703

Sep 9, 2010

For those still wondering if this issue is worth your cash, Fabian Nicieza's decent script is brought to life by Cliff Richards' beautiful art. While I did have some issues with some of the artwork (i.e. missing pupils in characters, Gotham looking like Times Square, etc.), for the most part, Richards' art is a welcome change from Tony Daniel's more basic style, and well worth the price of the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Black Panther: The Man Without Fear #513

Dec 15, 2010

I am not completely sold on Black Panther: The Man Without Fear quite yet, but this issue did manage to pique my interest enough that I am willing to pick up the next few issues to see how T'Challa further adapts to the Kitchen while fighting off a more than formidable opponent.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Brightest Day #12

Oct 20, 2010

The only other portions of the larger Brightest Day story elaborated on in this issue were Deathstorm and his Black Lanterns receiving marching orders, Firestorm dealing with their personality clash even further, and Boston Brand cozying up to Dove in their exploration for the one worthy to be the White Lantern. If these aspects of the story sound interesting, they were. Unfortunately, even though they were more interesting than the Martians issue long throw-down, they were only given four pages. Don't get me wrong, I like the Martian Manhunter, and his story is interesting, but I miss when this series followed Boston Brand as the main character weaving through the lives of those resurrected at Blackest Night.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Brightest Day #16

Dec 31, 1969

It is true that I didn't enjoy the issue, but that doesn't mean that it was uneventful. Both of the major storylines took a step forward, with Aqualad taking his mantle and Firestorm fatefully becoming what they had feared. For those still interested in all the story threads of Brightest Day, there is plenty to sink your teeth into here, but I know for myself that I found it to be a bore with the only redeeming quality being the artwork provided by Ivan Reis, Scott Clark and Joe Prado.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Captain America: Patriot #1

Sep 15, 2010

This issue was well told. I like the main character, the art is quite good, and amid all the bogged down mythology and convoluted ongoing storylines in other comics today, it's nice to have a mini-series that is self contained, easy to get into and most importantly is an entertaining read. Fans of Captain America and Golden Age comics should definitely give this series a chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Chaos War #2

Oct 20, 2010

While I am still not a fan of Khoi Pham's artwork in this series, the story is being told well enough in every aspect that it is hard not to recommend the book. Whether you're a Herc fan, a cosmic and Marvel mythology fan, or you just like to see stories which feature insurmountable odds for your favorite superheroes, then take a look at Chaos War.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Chew #18

Apr 6, 2011

There isn't much more to say than: if you enjoy Chew, you'll love this issue. If you don't get it, I don't see this issue convincing you of its humor. I, however, love Chew, and despite thinking the issue was going to be mediocre at the beginning, it went on to get one of the largest laughs that I've experienced from reading a comic. Here's hoping that those of you who pick this up laugh as hard as I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Chew #27

May 12, 2011

Regardless, as fans of the series you're probably asking, "Should I buy this?" My answer is, "I don't know." It's a reasonably good comic, and if you see yourself reading this series no matter what down the line, Future You may appreciate not having to pick this up in April next year. But, this is a gimmick, and the content doesn't really matter until April. So, how I see it is that this is really a question of how big of a fan of the series you are, as to whether this is worth your #2.99 right now or not.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Curse of the Mutants: X-Men vs. Vampires #1

Sep 29, 2010

Plus, for those not completely sold on the quality of this series, between issues #1 & 2 Marvel is reprinting Uncanny X-Men #159. For long time fans of the X-Men, you know that this is a classic issue well worth reading… unfortunately you need to wait for issue #2 for the most exciting part of the story – Wolverine and Nightcrawler vs. Dracula.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Detective Comics #869

Sep 29, 2010

Oh well... at least we only have one more issue of this mess before Scott Snyder and Jock are brought in to clean things up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Lantern Corps (2006) #53

Oct 20, 2010

Those looking for a solid Green Lantern book that features good character work and a fare share of originality should check out GLC's new direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors #3

Oct 13, 2010

One of my biggest complaints about the last issue was that it introduced a new villain, but he was merely teased and not given enough time to establish a role in the series. In this issue Zardor's plan is expanded upon, and even though we are still without motive or backstory, the plan that he detailed was of such a nature that it set him up to be a much larger threat than originally anticipated. When you combine the subversive danger within the Green Lantern Corp that Zardor has planned along with Sodam Yat's new messiah-like status, and Guy Gardner's continued dedication to working off the grid in order to help out the Corp, this issue displayed the beginnings of yet another excellent story by Tomasi. Now, if only the book would kick into second gear already.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors #5

Dec 31, 1969

Weighing the good with the bad this is still a great issue that shows that the Green Lantern franchise still has plenty of surprises left for us after all these years.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors #10

May 26, 2011

All in all I wasn't a big fan of this issue, but it wasn't bad either. As probably my favorite issue of this mini-series yet, I can't help but figure that my problems with the book are more directed to the direction of the Green Lantern franchise as a whole and the story presented in "War of the Green Lanterns". That said, if you've enjoyed this mini-series thus far, I believe you'll absolutely love this issue. If you're like me however and this mini-series has pushed your tolerance for over-the-top absurd sci-fi "epic" storytelling then join me in hoping for an interesting new status quo for GL after this mini is over.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hellboy: The Fury #1

Jun 1, 2011

Even if you're not up to date with Hellboy's story I can't help but recommend jumping in to Hellboy: The Fury. For those afraid that they'll be lost, there is a thorough two page recap to bring you up to date quickly. As for those that have been fans of this series for years, you owe it to yourself to pick up issue, as it could be the best $2.99 you spend this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Herc #3

May 18, 2011

I have yet to be convinced of the quality of this new Herc series. As a fan of the character it is tough to know whether this is because The Incredible Hercules was so good, or whether it's that the new locale and tone of the series has changed the character from what I enjoyed so much before. Regardless, I'm willing to stick with the book for now, but Pak and Van Lente will need to step it up if they plan on making me continue to fork over my hard earned cash for the entire run of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Heroes for Hire (2010) #4

Mar 2, 2011

For those that are already invested in Heroes for Hire, this issue is definitely worth picking up as it moves the series' plot along. But for those new to the game, I wouldn't recommend starting here.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Heroes for Hire (2010) #5

Apr 6, 2011

For those wondering whether this issue is worth their $2.99, I'm finding it hard to come up with a single reason to recommend it. As the end of the first arc, it should be the culmination of everything that's come before it. Instead, it's a little bit of action, some characters getting a chance to briefly catch-up, and steps taken to move into the next storyline. As a fan of DnA and the Heroes for Hire, I hope that the series stays popular enough to continue publication. But if the quality of the art and storytelling doesn't get any better, they may lose my $3.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Heroic Age: 1 Month 2 Live #5

Sep 29, 2010

1 Month 2 Live is one of the most human stories that Marvel has published in a long time. Even though the protagonist was given superpowers and rubbed elbows with the likes of Spider-Man, Wolverine, the Fantastic Four and the Avengers, the series never lost touch of what its true goal was – thematically or pertaining to the character's journey. What we have here is a story of life and death, and what it means to be a hero, and even though Dennis Sykes was only given five issues to save the galaxy and make right with his family, I'm glad Marvel decided to give us something different with this touching story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Incredible Hulk (2009) #631

Jun 22, 2011

If your idea of a good Hulk comic is one with super science, absurd villains, witty comedy, insane scale, and Hulk punching everything in sight, then you'll love this issue. Sure, this issue could have progressed the Red She-Hulk/Tyrannus/Hulk story a bit more, but this storyline still has three issues left. So I say enjoy the fun while it lasts. Enjoy Hulk smashing ridiculous baddies for your enjoyment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League: Generation Lost #10

Sep 22, 2010

While this may be the slowest issue of Generation Lost thus far, it will have fans questioning whether the JLI will be able to catch Max Lord… or if they even should.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League: Generation Lost #11

Oct 13, 2010

The biggest problem that I have with this issue however is that it continues to give the series a feeling like it is stalling. We knew Generation Lost would be a cat and mouse game between the former JLI and Maxwell Lord, but the series feels like it needs to take a big step forward at some point... and simply finding new powers for characters isn't accomplishing that goal. While not a bad book in any way, it just no longer feels like a necessary read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Loki #1

Oct 20, 2010

This book isn't perfect, as the narration sometimes feels a bit overwritten and the art at times is less than stellar, but it is one of the better character explorations that I have seen in quite some time, so all my problems are easily overlooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Namor: The First Mutant #2

Sep 29, 2010

It isn't that this is a bad book mind you… it's just not an entertaining one. While I have hope that this series will pick up steam once it starts to focus more on the main character and less on the bland vampires, I am just afraid that I will be too apathetic to care.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
New Avengers (2010) #4

Sep 9, 2010

But, it isn't all bad. Whatever the secret of the Eye is, it could potentially be very interesting, bringing about a different facet of Dr. Strange's character. And as always Stuart Immonen's artwork is fantastic. I have been a big fan of Immonen for years now, and I can say, beyond a doubt, that New Avengers is his finest work yet. The characters are great looking, the action is well crafted, the scale of the violence is appropriately captured, and the otherworldly happenings are given shape by his talented art. …If only Bendis' writing were up up to par with Immonen's art…

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
New Avengers (2010) #12

May 11, 2011

While I won't say that The New Avengers is back to being a top tier book, I will say that this was easily my favorite issue of the series thus far. If Bendis can continue to move the book along at this current pace, and we can continue to enjoy the artwork of Deodato and Chaykin, I'm on board to continue pulling this series every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Secret Avengers #14

Jun 22, 2011

For those that jumped on to Secret Avengers at the .1 issue a couple months back, you know what to expect from this great comic. For those that were fans of Ed Brubaker's espionage action story, you may find Spencer's more character oriented stories to be too slow for your taste. Personally, I commend his method of storytelling for its uncanny ability to make me enjoy the book more as I read on, and actually have me want to read an issue a second time directly afterwards. That's an accomplishment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Secret Warriors #24

Feb 9, 2011

Secret Warriors continues to be one of the smartest and most exciting titles in the Marvel library, but if you haven't been here since issue one I would have a hard time recommending this issue. For everybody else, enjoy the beginning of a unique Nick Fury centered story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Shadowland #5

Dec 2, 2010

And really, if we get that, Shadowland can just be a bad memory relegated to a trivia question years from now.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Spectacular Spider-Man (2003) #1000

Apr 20, 2011

The only real positives that can be gleaned from this issue (other than the cover and re-print) was Todd Nauck's art was pretty good, and the Spider-Man universe now has another Peter Parker-hating jock that could potentially be used as a villain, should Marvel decide to bring him back down the line. But really, forgetting about this story seems like the best tactic for Marvel, myself, and anybody else who was thinking about purchasing this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Steve Rogers: Super Soldier #3

Sep 15, 2010

What struck me this issue, and what had me thinking about the previous two, is what little happens across an issue. I'm sure this will be an entertaining read when collected, but each issue seems like it can be summed up extremely quickly, and more so than the other two issues this book feels a bit extraneous. While there was an opening for Brubaker to delve deeply into what made Steve Rogers want to become a super soldier and how his previous life formed who he has become, we instead were left to gather that info from our previous experience with the character in lieu of the cheesy villain pontificating over and over about how he has beat Rogers. In a way, Machinesmith came off like a bad Bond villain, and as such, like all Bond movies, the hero was able to go from his position of peril to being perfectly fine back on the chase in no time flat. It seemed a little convenient, and to me, like a missed opportunity. But once again, that is how the whole mini-series has gone down; being a

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Strange Tales II (2010) #1

Oct 13, 2010

If you're looking for something different from the Marvel Universe, look no further.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Super Dinosaur #1

Apr 20, 2011

Honestly, if you're looking for a madcap action comedy series that looks great and delivers an absurd story with a dinosaur, your money is much better spent on a series like Axe Cop: Bad Guy Earth. At least Axe Cop's story has an excuse for being written like it was done by a six year old.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Thanos Imperative #5

Oct 13, 2010

The Thanos Imperative has been a top tier comic its entire run, but this issue is unequivocally the best of series thus far. With some of the best writing in the comic book industry today and art that brings this action packed space opera to life, it is impossible for us not to implore everyone reading this to buy the book immediately.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
The Killer #8

Aug 20, 2008

Finally the wait is over!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Thunderbolts (2006) #157

May 18, 2011

For Thunderbolts to work right, it needs the writer and artist to come together to perfectly capture the emotion of a scene, and in this issue we have too many times where it seems like the creative talents are on different pages. While I maintain that Thunderbolts is one of the best team books on the shelves today, I hope that the problems found in this issue can get smoothed out soon so that this lofty claim can continue - for the sake of Marvel, the creative staff, and the faithful readers of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Thunderbolts (2006) #158

Jun 1, 2011

So, you take the good with the bad. On one hand it is a crossover book that is more concerned with tying in to Fear Itself than telling its own story. On the other hand you have a well told narrative with plenty of action, albeit briskly told, with more excellent art work from Kev Walker and Frank Martin Jr. My question to those looking to pick up this book is: How big of a fan are you of Jeff Parker's Thunderbolts? Your answer will determine whether Thunderbolts #158 is worth your $2.99 or not.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Thunderbolts (2006) #159

Jun 22, 2011

While the price seems steep, the package you get here is worthwhile if you are a fan of the series. Likewise, those enjoying Fear Itself may enjoy seeing the aftereffects of a run-in with one of the most powerful members of the Worthy. As for those longtime jaded Marvel fans that have seen it all, this issue will have a familiar "been there, done that" feeling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man #14

Sep 22, 2010

The "Tainted Love" story arc was expertly told from every standpoint. The dialogue was natural and humorous, the scenario of the identity theft of Peter Park was tense and will have consequences for the character, the villains were so interesting that you know they will be brought back at some point, and the artwork perfectly captured every comedic, dramatic and action-packed moment along the way. While I know some will call "Tainted Love" out for being similar to the "Red-Headed Stranger" storyline from Amazing Spider-Man last year, I challenge those naysayers by asking what the better told story was… the answer is this one. And while the story wraps this issue, things are by no means back to the status quo. That's always been Bendis's MO on this series, and poor Parker is just going to have to deal with the pain and misery of being, as Mary Jane put it in issue #12, "the perfect person."

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Factor (2005) #209

Sep 15, 2010

Continuing the story from the past two issues, X-Factor (minus Rictor) have gone to Sin City to save Pip the Troll from the evil goddess of the Norse underworld Hela. If that summation of the situation didn't make you want to read it, how about Shatterstar battling actors in pirate garb, Longshot bleeding casinos dry with his impeccable luck, Strong Guy hitting up a strip joint, and Madrox stuck in the middle attempting to wrangle everybody together? With all that and much more in this issue, it is impossible not to recommend this book to fans of X-Factor, and more importantly, to those who don't know just how good this series is yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
X-Men: First Class (2007) #11

Apr 23, 2008

In the end, it is sad to say that the cover to the comic is the most interesting portion of the issue. So, while I don't like to beat down comics (seriously, we critics don't like to do this), I just need to plead with Jeff Parker to not do parody of this variety again… please.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

3rd

October

September

More