David Craig's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards Reviews: 55
6.7Avg. Review Rating

2.0
Angel Falling #1

Sep 26, 2014

In the end, while I appreciate what Jeffrey Kaufman was trying to do with Angel Falling, unfortunately I'd be lying if I said he was successful. While stories with autistic characters " or characters with any other disability for that matter " I feel are a great way to raise awareness, Angel Falling is not an example of a story done well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Jack Ketchum #1

Dec 2, 2015

The issue was also well plotted by writer Brian Schirmer for the most part, although I did find myself somewhat bemused by the ending of the main story. This doesn't spoil the issue as there's still plenty of fun to be had here " however, it did cap my excitement a little for the next instalment as rather than leaving me pumped, this finale left me scratching my head. Speaking of confusion, the decision to include a talking gun in the main cast is one that is yet to be explained or even touched upon. I can see the merit in not laying all your cards on the table straight away, but a hint as to whether the gun's voice is a figment of Tom's imagination or perhaps something supernatural would have been nice. Overall though, I'm nitpicking. This issue was a fun read, and shouldn't be dismissed due to these minor shortcomings. If you're looking for an interesting new indie title, Black Jack Ketchum is well worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Magick #1

Oct 28, 2015

All things considered, Black Magick #1 is a huge success on every level. The story established in this first issue is intriguing and hooks you in with ease, while a brilliant new heroine is introduced in the form of the witty, intelligent and powerful Detective Black. Additionally, Scott's artwork is truly astonishing and breathes life into the chilling world in which Black Magick is set. Just as he has done with the equally strong Image series Lazarus, Rucka has put a great amount of effort into building a history around this world and the characters that inhabit it. This much is evident at the back of the issue, where the story continues after the final panel in the form of letters, spells and other remnants of events that took place long before where this book picks up. Unsurprisingly, Black Magick is a book not to be missed and is hugely deserving of your time and money.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Bloodstrike (2015) #1

Jul 8, 2015

I don't know who this comic-book is for; too violent for young children, too stupid for everyone else. In case this review hasn't made it crystal clear, this is an issue to be avoided at all costs. There is literally no redeeming feature to this embarrassment of a comic-book that quite frankly I'm surprised Image even agreed to publish. These kinds of ridiculous stories are bad for the comic-book medium as a whole, and are part of the reason many non-readers still look down on comics as a lesser form of entertainment. Your $3.99 would be put to better use if you threw it in the sea.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Bloodstrike (2015) #2

Sep 9, 2015

I don't want to be a bully, and I don't enjoy taking something someone has made and ripping it to shreds. But honestly, I can't get away from the fact that this is a book that should never have been made. It simply doesn't belong in our time; it's nothing but a remnant from an age of comic-books that most people would like to forget. It fails even to cross into 'so bad its good' territory, and the fact that the first issue outsold a plethora of far superior books is genuinely quite saddening to me. Don't buy Bloodstrike, not even as a joke.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Book Of Death #2

Aug 19, 2015

The final page reveal of this series' true villain was an interesting surprise and leaves me optimistic that this book could be one of the strongest event comics we've seen since" well" Robert Venditti's last Valiant event, 2014's Armor Hunters. Indeed, the Valiant Universe is seemingly the place to be for those who like their super-hero comics of a consistently high quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Book Of Death #3

Sep 23, 2015

Book of Death is still a comic-book event above and beyond the likes of Convergence when it comes to quality, however whether it will be able to beat Marvel's Secret Wars for the title of best comic event of 2015 is in doubt after this wobbly third issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Book Of Death #4

Oct 28, 2015

Ultimately, Book of Death was a slightly disappointing event and is definitely inferior to the stunning Armor Hunters series of 2014. Nonetheless, the series is definitely worth reading if you're a Valiant fan and is still miles ahead of numerous event books from the big two.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Book Of Death: Legends Of The Geomancer #1

Jul 15, 2015

Legends of the Geomancer #1 is a solid debut for this new mini-series, but sadly is far from a must-buy. The main character of Anni is interesting, and I look forward to seeing if she has any connection with the modern-day Valiant Universe. However, the other characters at this point are very bland, and the story itself doesn't quite hook you in enough to warrant much excitement for issue two. Those only interested in the series due to it sharing a title with Valiant's blockbuster 2015 event need not apply, as the connection to the main storyline is almost non-existent in this issue. Meanwhile, those enticed by the book's cover should be warned that not one of the three characters featured on it appear in this issue. Ultimately, I'd say this issue is only for devoted Valiant fans, or those with a specific interest in the origins of the Geomancer. If you identify as either of those, then this issue may well be one to watch.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Book Of Death: Legends Of The Geomancer #2

Aug 19, 2015

Frankly, given that Valiant are using this book as an incentive for retailers to order the main Book of Death series, I had hoped for something a little more impressive. Instead what we have is a solid mini-series that certainly has moments of greatness, but is ultimately bogged down by boring characters and a somewhat predictable storyline. While this series hasn't tainted the Geomancer in the same way that the Star Wars prequels arguably ruined the character of Darth Vader, it's questionable just how much memorable material it's adding to the character's mythos and indeed whether this series needed to be made at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Book Of Death: Legends Of The Geomancer #3

Sep 23, 2015

Ultimately, Legends of the Geomancer remains quite a bland and forgettable story, and the fleeting moments of greatness aren't worth the time and effort that it may take you to track down the issues of this strangely distributed series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Book Of Death: Legends Of The Geomancer #4

Oct 28, 2015

Much to my surprise this series has delivered a genuinely compelling finale with issue four, an instalment which brings this story full circle with a very satisfying conclusion indeed. While I'm not sure that I could recommend this series as a whole because I do feel it lagged at points, this issue is undeniably strong and so perhaps worth seeking out on its own if you're interested in learning more about the origins of Valiant's Geomancers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deep State #1

Nov 12, 2014

In the end, I don't have many bad things to say about Deep State #1. I think you could pick apart some of the weaker aspects of the issue " such as the slightly expository dialogue, or how the premise of the book is put together by one flimsy sentence " but in my opinion these really don't weigh the book down at all. In fact I think that somehow they just make this sci-fi tale more fun. Deep State is not a book that is supposed to be thought about in great depth. It's a book that wants to take you on an awesome journey of space monsters from the moon and shady government agencies, and I implore you to let it do so. You will not regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deep State #3

Jan 21, 2015

To put it simply, Deep State is a lot of fun. This book is for people who want an action-packed sci-fi fix, one that perhaps doesn't have the thought-provoking moments that some indie comics go for, but does have all the entertaining thrills that are present in the best summer blockbusters. It may not be perfect " the dialogue isn't always spot-on, and the main characters still need some fleshing out " but that doesn't stop it from being a hugely entertaining read. If you're a sci-fi fan, you need to be reading this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Eternal Warrior: Days of Steel #1

Nov 5, 2014

However, as much as I did enjoy this issue I really struggle to get past just how weak Milligan's supporting characters are, and as these characters are such a vital part of the story they end up weakening the entire book. This along with some awkward dialogue here and there means that Eternal Warrior: Days of Steel #1 is far from perfect. But that being said, there is still fun to be had here. This story is shaping up nicely and has a lot of potential to improve in the next two issues. Plus, the nice art and Milligan's new-reader friendly writing style means that most should get some enjoyment out of this title. If you're a fan of the character, or have a casual interest in the Valiant Universe, you should consider giving this book a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Eternal Warrior: Days of Steel #2

Dec 6, 2014

In the end, Eternal Warrior " Days of Steel #2 has effectively killed any enthusiasm I felt for this miniseries. The story no longer feels exciting, and there isn't a single character that doesn't feel bland. Take into account the good but somewhat deteriorating artwork and you have a book that doesn't warrant your attention, not to mention one of the worst that the new Valiant universe has seen so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Graveyard Shift #2

Jan 28, 2015

However, aside from some occasional awkward dialogue, Graveyard Shift #2 was a great read and has cemented this series as a book that you need to be picking up. The characters feel very real, the plot is exciting, and the artwork atmospheric. While I maintain the view that this maybe isn't the most original story ever, that doesn't stop it from being very fun to read. Pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Graveyard Shift #3

Feb 25, 2015

In the end, if you've been reading Graveyard Shift up to this point, then I really see no reason not to pick up this issue. While there are problems with the writing " the lack of realistic drama, the weird plot development " this is still a solid and entertaining instalment which leaves me just as interested in how things are going to end for Liam and Hope as I was after issue two. Graveyard Shift is flawed and at times silly, but at this point it's still a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ivar, Timewalker #1

Jan 21, 2015

I usually like to find at least one criticism about a comic when writing a review, but with this issue I really can't do that. Van Lente had a lot of balls to juggle in this first issue, but somehow did it perfectly not only setting up a story with limitless potential, but also setting up two characters that I already adore. His witty dialogue kept things light, but there was still a great sense of tension that the next threat was right around the corner. Meanwhile the art team of Clayton Henry and Brian Reber work brilliantly together, meaning this book not only reads well, but looks great too. Plus, with no knowledge of any continuity required, this is also the perfect book for new readers " so if you're new to comics or just to the Valiant Universe I implore you to check this book out. I really don't have a bad thing to say about it, and I hope that it gets the success that it deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ivar, Timewalker #2

Feb 19, 2015

Ivar, Timewalker #2 is another great issue in this new series which continues to show a heck of a lot of promise. With two very likeable leads, an intriguing overarching story and some nice art thrown in as well, there's no reason why you shouldn't be reading this book. Give it a go, and I guarantee you won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ivar, Timewalker #3

Mar 18, 2015

In the end, I really have nothing to say about this issue of Ivar, Timewalker except "Buy it! Buy it! Buy it!" This series blends action, humour, and mystery and character development better than any other comic I've read in some time. Every issue is a blast to read, with each one leaving me wanting more. If you've not yet given this series a go then I implore you to do so, as you really are doing a disservice to yourself in letting Ivar, Timewalker pass you by.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ivar, Timewalker #4

Apr 22, 2015

Aside from some flaws with the art however, this is another great issue of Ivar, Timewalker. This issue sees one particularly gripping set-piece, more witty dialogue, and a progression of Van Lente's overarching story. Ivar, Timewalker continues to be a book worth your time and money, and one of my favorite comics currently on stands.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ivar, Timewalker #8

Aug 19, 2015

With issue eight, Ivar, Timewalker continues to be not only one of Valiant's best books, but also one of the best comics I'm reading right now. It's fast-paced fun, with a memorable cast of characters and a story that leaves you wanting more month after month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ivar, Timewalker #9

Sep 16, 2015

I feel like perhaps this issue is intended to be a jumping-on point for new readers, and that's the reason so much of the book is devoted to explaining the high-concept ideas that have been explored in the previous eight issues. Ironically though, Ivar, Timewalker #9 ends up being the weakest and most confusing instalment in this series to date, and may well turn away rather than entice those looking to get into this series. This is a great shame as I do really love this book, and previous issues have been truly phenomenal; I only hope that it returns to that level of quality with next month's instalment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ivar, Timewalker #10

Oct 21, 2015

With issue ten, Ivar is back on track and once again going to exciting places. I do find myself a little confused by some of this book's plot points and that does weaken it overall, however this issue's many fun moments and plot twists made it an entertaining read regardless. Factor in the strong art by Perez and Dalhouse and Ivar, Timewalker once again becomes one of Valiant's stronger reads.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ivar, Timewalker #11

Nov 25, 2015

Ivar, Timewalker #11 is one of the most engaging single issues I've read in some time and sets up this book's final issue as one not to be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Onyx #1

Jul 1, 2015

Onyx #1 is a disappointing start for this new series. While the artwork looks phenomenal, the writing leaves a lot to be desired. I can excuse the somewhat unoriginal and simplistic storyline, but the bad dialogue and lack of compelling characters are harder to ignore and end up really weighing this book down. If you're looking for some sci-fi action that doesn't require you to think too hard, then there is fun to be had with Onyx. But ultimately, it's hard to justify saving a place for it on your pull list when there is quite frankly far better comics available.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Onyx #2

Sep 9, 2015

In the end, Onyx is still far from perfect but this issue is a real improvement on the first. The story feels like its forging its own identity, and the artwork continues to impress. While the dialogue still isn't quite spot on, and the characters could use some more fleshing out, I'm optimistic that this book is on the up and up and may well wrap-up on a high note in a few months time. Onyx still isn't a must-buy, but it is one to watch; if it successfully manages to right itself in the next two issues, it could well be worth a purchase in trade paperback.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Onyx #3

Nov 18, 2015

But no amount of good art can hold up a book with such a weak plot, and the absence of any interesting or likeable characters to latch onto is perhaps the final nail in the coffin for this series. I want to like Onyx. I really do. There is potential in some of the ideas that the book offers. However, the series has been executed poorly so what is left of said ideas by the end is nothing but a bland mess of bad dialogue and nonsensical plot twists.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rasputin #1

Oct 29, 2014

Ultimately, I would say Rasputin #1 is worth taking a gamble on if you have room in your comic-buying budget for a wild card. It shows a lot of potential to grow into something great in the next few months, and the artwork alone is almost worth the price of admission. But at the same time, due to its shortcomings Rasputin #1 isn't exactly a must-buy, so if you're cutting back your pull list you could forgive yourself for giving this one a miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Rasputin #2

Nov 26, 2014

But no matter how great this book looks, it has to do something soon if it wants to hold people's attention. If you were a huge fan of the first issue, then perhaps you'll get more joy out of this second instalment than I did. However if you were on the fence about this series, I'd consider just saving your money and skipping Rasputin #2. Until we're introduced to some truly exciting characters, and the plot starts to show some direction and stop stagnating in one place, I see little reason to follow this series. I still think this book has potential, but right now it's being wasted.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Rasputin #4

Jan 29, 2015

In the end, I maintain the view that Rasputin has potential. This is a series that could one day be pretty great – unfortunately could is the operative word here. Right now the series really isn't living up to its potential with characters that lack personality, and a plot that really isn't very engaging. Things have at least improved since the second issue, with more dialogue and a slightly faster pace helping to keep things a little more interesting, but still the book is a long way to being where it should be. The artwork continues to be the one saving grace this book has, but unless you're happy to buy a comic on art alone then for now you might be best to spend your money elsewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Rasputin #5

Feb 25, 2015

I am once again puzzled by the positive reception that this series has received from other outlets. I just do not understand what other critics have found in this series that I have apparently consistently missed. I stand by the opinion that I've held for a good few months now that the book has no place on your pull list. It has an uninteresting and slow-moving plot, and a cast of bland characters that always seem to have nothing to bring to the table. While I throw the book a bone due to the fantastic artwork and because there's still a small part of me that wants to see where exactly it's headed, I still say that if you're trying to keep your costs down Rasputin is a book that can be skipped without losing any sleep.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rasputin #6

Jun 24, 2015

It's no secret that I wasn't a huge fan of the first volume of Rasputin, but volume two has kicked off firing on all cylinders. The story is more focused, the characters show a lot of promise and the art continues to look great. I'm really hoping that this creative team can keep up the high standard set by this issue, because if they can then volume two of Rasputin might well become a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Rasputin #7

Jul 29, 2015

The more I think about this series, the more frustrated I get by just how lazy it is. There's real potential here for a good story, but unfortunately issue after issue it is squandered. Despite the fact I've been reading this book for nearly a year now, each instalment can be boiled down to: a bunch of characters we know nothing about take part in a sequence of disconnected scenes that make little to no sense. This is the most disappointing issue of Rasputin yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rasputin #8

Aug 31, 2015

I still wouldn't necessarily recommend Rasputin as a series, simply because it is far too inconsistent. That being said, this is solid issue and if you've been reading this book since it began you'll probably get a lot out of this installment. Plus, the fact that despite all the disappointments this series has given me, I'm yet to give up on it completely is I suppose a testament to the story that Alex Grecian is telling here.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Rasputin #9

Sep 30, 2015

Here's my token "the art is good" line, which is consistently the only good thing I can say about this book. We've gone nine issues without establishing a single character or putting together a plot that isn't almost entirely nonsensical, and the one remaining issue we have left likely isn't going to change this. I'll come back for the last issue out of morbid curiosity, but needless to say Rasputin is not a series you should invest any time or money in.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Rasputin #10

Nov 4, 2015

To conclude, Rasputin #10 is the last in a line of disappointments this series has handed us since it began about a year ago. While the art has been a pleasure, there's not a single other aspect of this series that I will miss. None of the characters made an impression and the plot was uninteresting with few memorable moments. I really am just glad I don't have to read another issue of this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Resurrectionists #1

Nov 12, 2014

But it doesn't stop Resurrectionists #1 from being a great opening chapter for this new ongoing, and a series that I'm now more excited for than ever before. The story is clever and exciting (even if it does take two reads to really wrap your head around), and it has a great hook at the end that has left me really looking forward to the next instalment. If the art and characters develop well over the next few issues, this could be a very memorable series indeed. Resurrectionists is a book well worth checking out!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Resurrectionists #2

Dec 24, 2014

In the end, Resurrectionists #2 undoubtedly has some flaws. The art isn't always strong, some of the characters are still a little weak, and the dialogue could use some tweaking here and there. However, I don't think you should give up on this series just yet. The overarching story that Fred Van Lente is telling shows a lot of promise, and the way that this issue ends has left me very much looking forward to the next chapter. If you enjoyed or were on the fence about the first issue of this series, you should pick up this second instalment and give it a go. In spite of its flaws, there's definitely still fun to be had from this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Resurrectionists #3

Jan 14, 2015

What all this means is that Resurrectionists is a series that you probably should be reading by now. Plot threads are starting to come together, characters are getting more interesting, and there's some nice looking art thrown in there as well. While there is still a confusing moment or two here and there, this shouldn't dissuade you from picking the book up because there is a lot of fun to be had here. Give this book a chance, and I really doubt that you'll regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Seduction of the Innocent #1

Dec 3, 2015

This forgettable main cast is a real detriment to this book as are the plot shortcomings. That being said, this issue isn't without merit. The story does show some potential and is nicely brought to life by Esteve Polls whose artwork both feels modern, whilst also capturing the style of the 1950s pulp comics from which this series draws inspiration. I'm interested to see where this book goes, and will be sticking around to see whether things perk up " but needless to say if you're a comic-book fan on a budget, this is a book you can pass on without feeling that you're missing out on something.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Autumnlands #1

Nov 5, 2014

To conclude, Tooth and Claw #1 is awesome. While the vast story that Busiek is telling at first seems a little too ambitious for its own good, the creases iron out by the end of the issue and what you're left with is a very promising new title. After just one issue I feel attached to these characters and eager to see where Busiek takes them next. And if the great story and beautiful art aren't enough to persuade you to pick this up, how about that it's 44 ad-free pages for just $2.99? You owe it to yourself to give this book a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Autumnlands #2

Dec 6, 2014

I don't have much more to say about Tooth and Claw #2 except go buy it, and make sure you follow this series avidly from now on. With some absolutely beautiful art, a cast of interesting characters, and a story with plenty of promise this is shaping up to be one awesome series. The fact that it's still only $2.99 is just the cherry on top. So I'll say one more time: buy this book!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Autumnlands #3

Jan 21, 2015

To conclude, while a few issues I have with the human character hold it back from perfection, The Autumnlands is still a must-read. I'm really enjoying watching this series progress; characters are getting more interesting, the storyline is heating up, and the artwork continues to look great. To put it simply, The Autumnlands is one of the best books that Image is publishing right now, and it is one that you really should be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Autumnlands #7

Nov 11, 2015

The Autumnlands is back and fires out the starting gate with an impressive seventh issue. Relatively welcoming to newcomers whilst developing the ongoing plot and building the world in which it is set, this instalment manages to juggle several tasks with great success. The artwork accompanying Busiek's ambitious story also remains strong, meaning that aside from some minor gripes there's really no reason you shouldn't give this book a go.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Beauty #1

Aug 12, 2015

The Beauty #1 is one of the most promising debuts of the year so far. With some believable characters making up the cast, an intriguing mystery developing and some beautiful art to top it all off, I'm very excited to see where The Beauty goes next. If you're a science fiction fan then you'd be doing yourself a disservice by not picking this book up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Beauty #2

Sep 16, 2015

The Beauty continues to be a book worthy of your time and money, with this second issue maintaining a fast pace from its explosive first page to its action packed climax. With its intelligent story, well-rounded characters and wonderful artwork this book is shaping up to be something very impressive indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Beauty #4

Nov 18, 2015

In the end, this all amounts to the best issue of The Beauty since its impressive debut three months ago. The team behind this book seem to have a strong grasp on how to keep things interesting, with plot twists and mystery in abundance. With a cast of characters easy to throw your support behind and a beautiful art style as well, The Beauty has everything you could ask for from a comic on your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The White Suits #1

Nov 26, 2014

The White Suits tried to tell a story that, while not particularly groundbreaking, could have been solid and fun. But while it does have some cool moments every now and then, and at first I was interested to see where it was going to go, it ultimately crumbles under all of the book's shortcomings. The lack of any likeable or interesting characters is fatal, and the inconsistent artwork also does the book a great deal of harm over the duration. Mix in an ending that was a little ludicrous and doesn't take advantage of the real events of the Cold War, and you have a book that is truly underwhelming and tough to get through.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Will Eisner's The Spirit #1

Jul 1, 2015

Ultimately, The Spirit #1 is far from a perfect debut for this new series and undoubtedly won't please everyone. While the book is new-reader friendly, those unfamiliar with the character may find the writing to be a tad dated, which suggests that long-term fans may be an audience better suited to this new book. But in spite of its flaws, the story Wagner is telling here has potential and is accompanied by some nice artwork that succeeds in giving the book an energetic feel. The Spirit #1 is worth a go if either you're a fan of the character, or want to learn more about him; however, if you haven't had an interest in the character up to now, then this book probably won't be the one that sparks your enthusiasm.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Will Eisner's The Spirit #2

Aug 5, 2015

I really wasn't sold by the first issue of The Spirit. However, with this second issue I've fallen in love with the book's many fantastic characters and its intriguing and mysterious story that continues to develop. If you too were unimpressed by the first issue, I implore you to give this series another chance as it is with this issue that the book really hits its stride and becomes a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Will Eisner's The Spirit #3

Sep 16, 2015

This series stumbled out of the starting gate with a forgettable first issue, but just two months later the book has become one of my favourites on the stands. The Spirit boasts a fun tone, very memorable characters and some stylish art courtesy of Dan Schkade. Indeed, whether you're a new reader or a veteran this book is definitely worth checking out and I hope Wagner stays on board for more stories once this initial arc wraps up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Will Eisner's The Spirit #4

Oct 21, 2015

If you are not reading the Spirit you are missing out on a good time. This book is among my favourites on the stands, and has been firing on all cylinders lately. While this issue may not be a great jumping-on point, I would highly recommend catching up with this book either in back-issues or upon the eventual release of the trade paperback, as it is one of the most promising series being released at the moment and I worry that it's being overlooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Will Eisner's The Spirit #5

Nov 25, 2015

Matt Wagner's mystery surrounding The Spirit's disappearance, one that has been unfolding since this series began, seems to be reaching its final stages. I for one cannot wait to find out what exactly happened, and I really hope that this fantastic creative team is kept on for more stories in the future. I've said it before and I'll say it again: you need to be reading The Spirit.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More