Doug Warren's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 92
7.4Avg. Review Rating

10
Abbott #1

Jan 24, 2018

This really is the best comic I’ve picked up in months. Do yourself a favor and check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Abbott #3

Mar 28, 2018

This is the best issue of the series, and with all the open doors and pathways, the last two are guaranteed to be even more in-depth and action packed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Abbott #4

Apr 25, 2018

The artwork has remained consistent and topnotch through the run up to this point, and the writing and story keeps getting better, more engaging, more exciting, and more enthralling. If you want to know what a perfect supernatural thriller looks like, well, this might be the closest I’ve seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New Classic Archie: Your Pal Archie #2

Aug 30, 2017

The classic Archie story was just as entertaining, but, I think it’s hard to call something classic Archie when the characters are taking selfies and posting them on Instagram like sites, but, as with the previous two stories, it was really nice to see all of the time-honored Archie traditions placed in a contemporary setting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Archie (2015) #23

Aug 23, 2017

To end this on a not-so-depressing note, I just want to say I love how the girls’ noses are draw in this series. Seriously, for the past 25 years I’ve been reading Archie, that is the one thing that bothered me. As a kid, I could even piece together in my head how Betty and Veronica even had noses. I thought there was just a hole for a uni-nostril. And as I got older, I could rationalize that there was a nose there, they were just stylistically made dainty, but I still couldn’t see it. So, hats off to design team of the revamp because Betty and Veronica finally have the noses they deserve!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Archie (2015) #25

Nov 1, 2017

A lot of story was packed into this issue, but I could’ve used more! It is going to be a long month waiting for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Back to the Future: Tales From The Time Train #1

Dec 27, 2017

I understand this was only a first issue, and more revelations and answers from the movies can come, more adventures and excitement. We just aren’t there yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Coyotes #1

Nov 8, 2017

There are endless possibilities for this comic, and I can’t wait to see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Coyotes #2

Dec 13, 2017

The series may be taking it’s time getting started, but I can’t wait until the whole scene is set and we can start getting into the action.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Coyotes #3

Jan 10, 2018

At this point, the background work is still building in Coyotes, and it continues to deliver deep, symbolic stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dan Dare #1

Oct 11, 2017

And, at the end, there was some teaser as to what would come next issue. I can’t wait to pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dead of Winter #1

Aug 2, 2017

I have a feeling you are going to hear a lot about this series as it continues, and if you don’t pick up issue #1 and get in from the beginning, you’re going to be kicking yourself later.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dead of Winter #2

Sep 13, 2017

In all though, it was still a good book. It has great potential, and I am really hoping this issue is just leading up to something huge.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Deadly Class #30

Aug 30, 2017

Back to my predictability claim: Read the “Story so far . . .” recap at the beginning, look at the first page of the book (you don’t even have to read the dialog, just look at the pictures) and take a guess at what is going to happen on the last page. I promise you, you’ll already know.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Dodge City #1

Mar 7, 2018

(Also, I was told this was going to be a comedy. Where were the jokes?)

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dry County #1

Mar 14, 2018

All that being said, the book was good. It did something that a first issue hasn’t done in a long time. Made me excited about the second issue. Tommaso not only gave us an entertaining story, but he also made us care about the characters and what happens to them in the storyline, and I can’t wait to see.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Ducktales #1

Sep 27, 2017

This first issue will probably sell a lot of copies to guys my age who grew up watching DuckTales, are waxing nostalgic, and are excited to see it coming around. I think IDW blew their chances here of getting that audience to buy the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Elsewhere #1

Aug 2, 2017

I was about ready to give up on the series. Call it a one and done until I got to the last page. And there was a twist. The first thing to actually get me excited in the whole comic. And honestly, despite all of the aforementioned flaws, I can’t wait to pick up issue number two to see where this thing is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Elsewhere #2

Sep 6, 2017

I don't know what happened with the first issue. Maybe it was too forced to get all the back-story in and rushed to get to the good parts, but this issue did get to the good parts.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles #1

Jan 3, 2018

There are nods to the charm of the original series, throwbacks, even! But this is 100% not what you would expect from a Snagglepuss title, yet it is so unbelievably good.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Fence #1

Nov 15, 2017

It wasn't bad. It wasn't all that great either. If you like the underdog story and want to see it in a new context, go ahead and pick this issue up.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Fence #3

Jan 17, 2018

I know readers would openly embrace a good, strong LGBTQ comic book. One only has to look at Kevin Keller in Archie to see this is true. Unfortunately, Fence is neither good nor strong.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #28

Aug 9, 2017

Barring what I said in the first paragraph, the issue shows potential to be the launch of a very unique and interesting arc, perhaps taking the Flash to levels he hasn’t reached before. And the artwork is spot on, capturing the emotions and anguish of the character, making a very beautiful book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flavor #1

May 16, 2018

Flavor #1 did a good job of introducing this new world to the readers, but it leaves so much to be explained. It may be a few issues until we get this all fleshed out, but, it’s looking to be an enjoyable ride getting there.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gasolina #1

Sep 20, 2017

Gasolina hits all the big points you want to see: sex, drugs, violence, family connections . . . and in a way, this helps to humanize the characters, as did the artwork. It matches the style of the comic perfectly, and the color choices went far to illustrate the gritty existence the characters are living in.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Gasolina #3

Nov 22, 2017

So, if that is what you are looking for, read this. I’m going to keep picking it up just to figure out what is going on. Or, maybe not.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Gasolina #4

Dec 27, 2017

But, Gasolina, I’ve given you four issues. Four months out of my life. That is a third of a year, and what have I gotten? Anything? I still don’t know what’s going on. And what’s the deal with those bugs?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Go Go Power Rangers #1

Jul 26, 2017

This series definitely has potential, and it would be a good read for anyone looking to pick up a new series, whether you’re a fan of the original MMPR or not.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
God Complex (2017) #1

Oct 11, 2017

Sometimes in first issues you can get too bogged down with the details and back-stories to the point where it's boring, but, I felt like this book had the opposite problem. I couldn't get into it for the first 2/3rds of it because I had no idea what was going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Goosebumps: Monsters At Midnight #1

Oct 25, 2017

So, you know what, it’s not a bad book. I guess I wouldn’t call it Goosebumps, just Goosebumpsish.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Groo: Play of the Gods #2

Aug 9, 2017

But this story brilliantly satirizes religion and greed, and holds no punches when exploring the motives, and pointing out the hypocisies, of the early explorers. And the artwork is classic Aragonés. Groo fans, and hopefully some new fans, will be very happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Groo: Play of the Gods #3

Sep 13, 2017

The artwork is still classic Aragonés, perhaps with a brighter and more modern color scheme. Even though his cartoon style may seem simple compared to the depth and shading of contemporary super hero books, his attention to detail is right up there with the best of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Groo: Play of the Gods #4

Oct 11, 2017

And Groo. Though I hope it’s not, if this is the last time we see you, I want to say, it’s been an honor going on adventures with you these past 30+ years. Thanks for the laughs and memories.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Grumpy Cat/Garfield #1

Aug 2, 2017

I’ve got nothing else to say. This book was released to try to make a quick buck off of an established franchise and a waning fad, and quality wasn’t a priority.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Haunted Horror #29

Aug 16, 2017

With nine complete, non-remastered stories, this is a must buy for any fan of the classic horror comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
James Bond #6

Aug 2, 2017

If you are a James Bond fanatic, you may disagree with everything that I’ve said. Possibly. Maybe there’s something I’m not seeing. But, for the casual fans, I don’t think this comic offers enough to get you excited.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
James Bond: Moneypenny (One Shot) #1

Aug 30, 2017

The art was clean, and I am sure the readers will be thrilled with the variety of classic James Bond poses and stills.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jenny Finn #1

Nov 15, 2017

There is no telling where this comic series is going, and I’m sold on going on the journey to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jenny Finn #2

Dec 13, 2017

I will say, this story was so full that it could serve as a stand-alone issue. If you missed the first issue, here is a perfect place to start. And those of you who put down the last issue confused because you had no idea what was going on, come back. Buy this one. You will be happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jenny Finn #3

Jan 17, 2018

The series is sprinting towards the finish line. Make sure to pick it up before next month brings the final installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Jenny Finn #4

Feb 14, 2018

This issue was all right. It’s just not what you’re wanting.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mall #1

Jul 18, 2018

Brief recap. Three teens, each with their own issues and demons, are snatched from their normal lives and thrust into organized crime. The level of depth of the characters and plot let you know this is a series is bound to be your new addiction.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Minky Woodcock, The Girl Who Handcuffed Houdini #1

Nov 15, 2017

I understand serial comics"we get pieces of the story in each issue, but this one just seemed so short. I felt like I was just about to get into the story and it stopped. Of course, leaving off where it did, it's ensuring I pick up the next issue, but if I continue to feel short changed like I did with this issue, I can see it getting frustrating fast!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nancy Drew And The Hardy Boys: The Big Lie #5

Jul 26, 2017

It isn’t hard to see why this series is already garnering attention and numerous accolades. Please, check your preconceived notions about the characters at the door and enter this dark world with the new Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nancy Drew And The Hardy Boys: The Big Lie #6

Sep 6, 2017

And I hate that. I don't like when mysteries are so obvious I figure out the big secret early on, but I love that "ah ha" moment that comes when you put everything together, and that didn't happen for me, and that takes the satisfaction away.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Punks Not Dead #1

Feb 21, 2018

If you were a fan of punk rock at anytime (even if you were in high school in the late 90s and got wrapped up in the pop punk scene like me), this is a comic you cannot miss. And with all the openings brought up in this first issue, there's no doubt the depth of this series will keep you coming back.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Punks Not Dead #2

Mar 21, 2018

This issue is a can’t miss. If you are new to the series, still pick it up. The “Story so far…” on the title page does a good job of getting you up to speed, so you have no excuses not to dive into the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Punks Not Dead #3

Apr 17, 2018

This wasn’t a bad issue in anyway. The artwork is still top notch, and I am noticing more intricate things in it, like the splatters around Culpepper’s head. But, this issue really does feel lacking in story, action, and plot development.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Punks Not Dead #4

May 9, 2018

This comic had the perfect balance of answering questions brought up by the previous issues, and raising new ones to make sure you pick up the next month’s issue. And with the “story so far” summary at the beginning, even if haven’t read the previous issue, you can get caught up enough to thoroughly enjoy Punks Not Dead #4.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Punks Not Dead #6

Jul 25, 2018

This is the issue we’ve been waiting for—where everything starts to come together, and let me tell you, it is definitely worth the build up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rick and Morty #28

Jul 26, 2017

If you can’t wait for the next episode to appear, this comic will definitely help you get your Rick and Morty fix.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rick and Morty #30

Sep 27, 2017

As a comic and story, it was good. But does it fit with the feelings and flow of the Rick and Morty universe? Eh. Maybe? I don’t know.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Rick and Morty #31

Oct 25, 2017

I’m going to watch some Rick and Morty on hulu now and try to forget what I just read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rick and Morty #32

Nov 29, 2017

I have to say, Ribon's writing had the same feel as the series regular writer Kyle Starks. And, there were a lot of the meta, Rick and Morty jokes that readers expect.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rick and Morty #33

Dec 27, 2017

The way the comic started out, I was afraid it was going to be a tame issue of Summer lying around, wasting her summer chanting woe is me, but, she got off the couch, was able to view what was going on in other dimensions, got her hands on a portal gun and took off. Rick got an alert, and we saw the dimension Rick and Morty were fighting in, and honestly, it was laugh out loud hilarious. (Laughing at a comic book, what a novel idea.) And, I am glad it was just a dimension mentioned in a comic mainly taking place in another one, because it was definitely a one off joke, but it was a funny one.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Rick and Morty #34

Jan 30, 2018

Seriously. There was nothing Rick and Morty about this. The duo's limited role could've been played by Grimace and the Hamburglar from McDonaldland and it would've made just as much sense.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rick and Morty #35

Feb 28, 2018

However, it’s like Rick and Morty comics always have a balance. The weak issues always seem to have the best second story at the end. And after this comparatively strong issue, we are stuck with part four of The Rick Identity, which is undoubtedly a confusing storyline mostly devoid of humor. But, this one was better than the rest. Maybe the best one of the lot because after four parts, The Rick Identity finished with the word end instead of to be continued.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rick and Morty #40

Jul 25, 2018

This issue really did a good job of capturing the essence of the characters. Their actions/reactions and motivations are what you would expect from either of them. Also, the humor is a little more crass than the previous issues I’ve read, and I think that will appeal to the fans as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rocko's Modern Life #1

Dec 6, 2017

If you’ve never experienced Rocko’s Modern Life before, this is the perfect introduction to it. If you are a fellow fan of old, well, you have no excuse. Buy this comic. You will love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rocko's Modern Life #2

Jan 10, 2018

The humor, gags, and satire from the original are all still here. If you’ve ever been a fan of Rocko’s Modern Life, you will enjoy this trip down memory lane.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rocko's Modern Life #3

Feb 14, 2018

Ferrier and McGinty continue to prove that Boom Studios knew what they were doing when they put this franchise in their hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rocko's Modern Life #4

Mar 14, 2018

The thing I can say is Ferrier is doing a remarkable job of respecting this franchise. Everything that fans of the TV show loved about it in the 90s is still present, and now that all of us 90s kids are now grown up, he’s somehow managed to make the stories relatable to adults while still keeping the charm that kids will love.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rugrats #1

Oct 18, 2017

All that being said, I can’t rate it too harshly because it did accomplish the main job (in my opinion) of any comic. It was entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rugrats #4

Jan 17, 2018

Rugrats is now on the right track. Hope it continues to stay that way.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Rugrats #5

Feb 21, 2018

I did like the section where it showed what the babies would look like as different alien incarnations. Jar-Jar Chucky cracked me up. So there’s that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Scales And Scoundrels #1

Sep 6, 2017

There isn't too much given away in this first issue, just enough of a taste to make us want to read more. And this series looks destined to have endless characters and avenues to be explored.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sherlock Frankenstein & The Legion of Evil #1

Oct 18, 2017

This was a great introduction to an exciting series with a lot of potential. Can’t wait to see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sherlock Frankenstein & The Legion of Evil #2

Nov 22, 2017

Overall, I can appreciate how in a comic called Sherlock Frankenstein we have a “detective” gathering clues and trying to solve a mystery, and the characters we are meeting are interesting. I think this book held my attention even better than issue 1. It was definitely entertaining. But, if we don’t see some action or meet Sherlock soon, it may start to become dull.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sherlock Frankenstein & The Legion of Evil #3

Dec 20, 2017

All I said about the art in the previous two issues still holds up. It is well done, fits the story, and gives the story its charm. EXCEPT, for the first time in the history of Sherlock Frankenstein, I didn’t read any of the speech bubbles out of order. It just wasn’t as confusing this time. Or, maybe I just used to be really dumb, and I’m getting over it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Sherlock Frankenstein & The Legion of Evil #4

Jan 24, 2018

Have you ever read the final issue of a series, and it made you retroactively hate every book in the entire series? Well, welcome to Sherlock Frankenstein no. 4.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sherlock Holmes: The Vanishing Man #1

May 2, 2018

Sherlock Holmes: The Vanishing Man is an entertaining and engaging story. Anyone looking for a layered mystery that they can solve along with the great detective should pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shirtless Bear Fighter #3

Aug 23, 2017

Oh yeah, the quality of the artwork is beyond all expectations. But, of course it is. When you put out an ad saying you need someone to draw hundreds of bears, you get the absolute cream of the crop to choose from. I wouldn’t be surprised if every artist in the country was fighting to draw for this comic, and they chose the best! The over exaggerated, anime inspired expressions and bright colors give Shirtless Bear-Fighter the perfect look and personality to compliment the writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shirtless Bear Fighter #4

Sep 20, 2017

And silliness aside"and this book is awfully silly, I mean, take a transformer, combine it with a toilet, add insect legs, and saws for arms, and you have one of the main antagonists"there's actually a deep human story beneath the layers. With a broken protagonist and betrayal, it's not just a one-gag strip. It is a legit story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shirtless Bear Fighter #5

Oct 18, 2017

I hope this isn’t the last we see of old Shirtless. This is such a great franchise, I just can’t see this being the end of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Slots #1

Oct 4, 2017

I was hesitant to give this book the rating that I did because I try to use the 10s sparingly. But, I read this comic twice, and there is absolutely nothing I can count off for. It’s flawless. Probably the best first issue of a book I’ve read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Slots #2

Nov 8, 2017

I fell like that is about all I can say without crossing the line into spoilers. But just know, as the story gets deeper, there is more edge of your seat excitement that will definitely make you come back month after month. Another top-notch issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Stretch Armstrong and the Flex Fighters #1

Jan 31, 2018

This is a fun book for kids. Probably not going to interest many serious readers, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Archies #6

Apr 11, 2018

This comic doesn’t have the classic Archie charm; it doesn’t have the dark undertones that are causing the current surge in Archie’s popularity. I don’t know what it has.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Archies #1

Oct 4, 2017

I enjoyed the comic. But, it feels like it is at the cusp of either being great or a disaster. For now, I’m giving it the benefit of the doubt.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Beef #1

Feb 28, 2018

Look, you aren’t going to get answers in this issue. And since you haven’t picked it up yet, you don’t have questions either. Maybe it’s best to stay that way. But, this series could have some payoffs in the months ahead, but, eh. Who wants to make that kind of commitment?

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Beef #2

Mar 28, 2018

The Beef #2 just comes across as having more filler than a school cafeteria meatloaf, and it isn’t nearly as satisfying. But, dangit, its covers are so good, I just keep coming back.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Beef #3

Apr 25, 2018

After reading the first couple of issues of The Beef, I predicted it would be a series that will pay off if you have the patience to stick with it, and perhaps it is nearing that point.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Beef #4

May 23, 2018

In short (as if this review wasn’t short enough already) The Beef #4 was long on preaching, short on story, and had a surprise ending completely out of left field. Enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Gravediggers Union #1

Nov 1, 2017

If you are a fan of the horror or zombie genres and are looking to get in early on a new series that has the power to go the distance, now is your chance. Check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Gravediggers Union #2

Dec 6, 2017

The artwork is still incredible. Cypress’s unique shading techniques give the book its feel, and Guardia’s colors do a prefect job of bringing it to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Gravediggers Union #3

Jan 3, 2018

I guess it will be future issues that let us know the importance of this installment, but I am glad we are finally into the action.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Hard Place #1

Aug 23, 2017

I’m trying not to give too much away here, so I apologize if the review is brief. But, I read this comic with minimal knowledge of it and was totally enveloped in the world and characters, experiencing them all free of spoilers and the like, and I want that same experience for you. Just, trust me when I say you need get this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Hard Place #2

Sep 27, 2017

Another A+ issue from Wagner, Rummel and Kirchoff. Can’t wait to see more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Prisoner (2018) #1

Apr 25, 2018

Bottom line, it sure would’ve been a lot more exciting if the comic had started in the Village. Or, if it had started a few months earlier and we’d seen more of what led him to quit his job as a spy, but, I guess that might’ve ruined the mystery of the thing. All I can say is, in the 50 years since the TV series appeared, there have been several attempts at a comic book adaptation, and none of them have been successful. I don’t know if any of them even made it a full run. I don’t see any reason why this series would buck that trend.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The X-Files: Case Files: Florida Man #1

Apr 17, 2018

If you want a well done adaptation of a classic franchise, are a fan of good suspense and mystery, and don't mind if every once in a while the protagonist's face turns into Archer without explanation, I definitely recommend The X-FIles: Case Files.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Uncle Scrooge (2015) #29

Aug 16, 2017

If you are a fan Donald Duck Disney universe, it will be worth if for you to pick up this comic. Sure, it’s not as charming as Duck Tales, but I can practically guarantee you will find stories you’ve never read before.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Unholy Grail #2

Aug 9, 2017

If you want a break from super heroes and the modern world and want to discover a new take on a classic story, this book is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More