Doug Warren's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 36
7.5Avg. Review Rating

8.0
All-New Classic Archie: Your Pal Archie #2

Aug 30, 2017

The classic Archie story was just as entertaining, but, I think it’s hard to call something classic Archie when the characters are taking selfies and posting them on Instagram like sites, but, as with the previous two stories, it was really nice to see all of the time-honored Archie traditions placed in a contemporary setting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Archie (2015) #23

Aug 23, 2017

To end this on a not-so-depressing note, I just want to say I love how the girls’ noses are draw in this series. Seriously, for the past 25 years I’ve been reading Archie, that is the one thing that bothered me. As a kid, I could even piece together in my head how Betty and Veronica even had noses. I thought there was just a hole for a uni-nostril. And as I got older, I could rationalize that there was a nose there, they were just stylistically made dainty, but I still couldn’t see it. So, hats off to design team of the revamp because Betty and Veronica finally have the noses they deserve!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dan Dare #1

Oct 11, 2017

And, at the end, there was some teaser as to what would come next issue. I can’t wait to pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dead of Winter #1

Aug 2, 2017

I have a feeling you are going to hear a lot about this series as it continues, and if you don’t pick up issue #1 and get in from the beginning, you’re going to be kicking yourself later.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dead of Winter #2

Sep 13, 2017

In all though, it was still a good book. It has great potential, and I am really hoping this issue is just leading up to something huge.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Deadly Class #30

Aug 30, 2017

Back to my predictability claim: Read the “Story so far . . .” recap at the beginning, look at the first page of the book (you don’t even have to read the dialog, just look at the pictures) and take a guess at what is going to happen on the last page. I promise you, you’ll already know.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Ducktales #1

Sep 27, 2017

This first issue will probably sell a lot of copies to guys my age who grew up watching DuckTales, are waxing nostalgic, and are excited to see it coming around. I think IDW blew their chances here of getting that audience to buy the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Elsewhere #1

Aug 2, 2017

I was about ready to give up on the series. Call it a one and done until I got to the last page. And there was a twist. The first thing to actually get me excited in the whole comic. And honestly, despite all of the aforementioned flaws, I can’t wait to pick up issue number two to see where this thing is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Elsewhere #2

Sep 6, 2017

I don't know what happened with the first issue. Maybe it was too forced to get all the back-story in and rushed to get to the good parts, but this issue did get to the good parts.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #28

Aug 9, 2017

Barring what I said in the first paragraph, the issue shows potential to be the launch of a very unique and interesting arc, perhaps taking the Flash to levels he hasn’t reached before. And the artwork is spot on, capturing the emotions and anguish of the character, making a very beautiful book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gasolina #1

Sep 20, 2017

Gasolina hits all the big points you want to see: sex, drugs, violence, family connections . . . and in a way, this helps to humanize the characters, as did the artwork. It matches the style of the comic perfectly, and the color choices went far to illustrate the gritty existence the characters are living in.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Go Go Power Rangers #1

Jul 26, 2017

This series definitely has potential, and it would be a good read for anyone looking to pick up a new series, whether you’re a fan of the original MMPR or not.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
God Complex (2017) #1

Oct 11, 2017

Sometimes in first issues you can get too bogged down with the details and back-stories to the point where it's boring, but, I felt like this book had the opposite problem. I couldn't get into it for the first 2/3rds of it because I had no idea what was going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Groo: Play of the Gods #2

Aug 9, 2017

But this story brilliantly satirizes religion and greed, and holds no punches when exploring the motives, and pointing out the hypocisies, of the early explorers. And the artwork is classic Aragonés. Groo fans, and hopefully some new fans, will be very happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Groo: Play of the Gods #3

Sep 13, 2017

The artwork is still classic Aragonés, perhaps with a brighter and more modern color scheme. Even though his cartoon style may seem simple compared to the depth and shading of contemporary super hero books, his attention to detail is right up there with the best of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Groo: Play of the Gods #4

Oct 11, 2017

And Groo. Though I hope it’s not, if this is the last time we see you, I want to say, it’s been an honor going on adventures with you these past 30+ years. Thanks for the laughs and memories.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Grumpy Cat/Garfield #1

Aug 2, 2017

I’ve got nothing else to say. This book was released to try to make a quick buck off of an established franchise and a waning fad, and quality wasn’t a priority.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Haunted Horror #29

Aug 16, 2017

With nine complete, non-remastered stories, this is a must buy for any fan of the classic horror comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
James Bond #6

Aug 2, 2017

If you are a James Bond fanatic, you may disagree with everything that I’ve said. Possibly. Maybe there’s something I’m not seeing. But, for the casual fans, I don’t think this comic offers enough to get you excited.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
James Bond: Moneypenny (One Shot) #1

Aug 30, 2017

The art was clean, and I am sure the readers will be thrilled with the variety of classic James Bond poses and stills.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nancy Drew And The Hardy Boys: The Big Lie #5

Jul 26, 2017

It isn’t hard to see why this series is already garnering attention and numerous accolades. Please, check your preconceived notions about the characters at the door and enter this dark world with the new Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nancy Drew And The Hardy Boys: The Big Lie #6

Sep 6, 2017

And I hate that. I don't like when mysteries are so obvious I figure out the big secret early on, but I love that "ah ha" moment that comes when you put everything together, and that didn't happen for me, and that takes the satisfaction away.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rick and Morty #28

Jul 26, 2017

If you can’t wait for the next episode to appear, this comic will definitely help you get your Rick and Morty fix.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rick and Morty #30

Sep 27, 2017

As a comic and story, it was good. But does it fit with the feelings and flow of the Rick and Morty universe? Eh. Maybe? I don’t know.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rugrats #1

Oct 18, 2017

All that being said, I can’t rate it too harshly because it did accomplish the main job (in my opinion) of any comic. It was entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Scales And Scoundrels #1

Sep 6, 2017

There isn't too much given away in this first issue, just enough of a taste to make us want to read more. And this series looks destined to have endless characters and avenues to be explored.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sherlock Frankenstein & The Legion of Evil #1

Oct 18, 2017

This was a great introduction to an exciting series with a lot of potential. Can’t wait to see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shirtless Bear Fighter #3

Aug 23, 2017

Oh yeah, the quality of the artwork is beyond all expectations. But, of course it is. When you put out an ad saying you need someone to draw hundreds of bears, you get the absolute cream of the crop to choose from. I wouldn’t be surprised if every artist in the country was fighting to draw for this comic, and they chose the best! The over exaggerated, anime inspired expressions and bright colors give Shirtless Bear-Fighter the perfect look and personality to compliment the writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shirtless Bear Fighter #4

Sep 20, 2017

And silliness aside"and this book is awfully silly, I mean, take a transformer, combine it with a toilet, add insect legs, and saws for arms, and you have one of the main antagonists"there's actually a deep human story beneath the layers. With a broken protagonist and betrayal, it's not just a one-gag strip. It is a legit story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shirtless Bear Fighter #5

Oct 18, 2017

I hope this isn’t the last we see of old Shirtless. This is such a great franchise, I just can’t see this being the end of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Slots #1

Oct 4, 2017

I was hesitant to give this book the rating that I did because I try to use the 10s sparingly. But, I read this comic twice, and there is absolutely nothing I can count off for. It’s flawless. Probably the best first issue of a book I’ve read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Archies (One Shot) #1

Oct 4, 2017

I enjoyed the comic. But, it feels like it is at the cusp of either being great or a disaster. For now, I’m giving it the benefit of the doubt.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Hard Place #1

Aug 23, 2017

I’m trying not to give too much away here, so I apologize if the review is brief. But, I read this comic with minimal knowledge of it and was totally enveloped in the world and characters, experiencing them all free of spoilers and the like, and I want that same experience for you. Just, trust me when I say you need get this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Hard Place #2

Sep 27, 2017

Another A+ issue from Wagner, Rummel and Kirchoff. Can’t wait to see more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Uncle Scrooge (2015) #29

Aug 16, 2017

If you are a fan Donald Duck Disney universe, it will be worth if for you to pick up this comic. Sure, it’s not as charming as Duck Tales, but I can practically guarantee you will find stories you’ve never read before.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Unholy Grail #2

Aug 9, 2017

If you want a break from super heroes and the modern world and want to discover a new take on a classic story, this book is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More