Drew S. McCarthy's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: CourtOfNerds Reviews: 27
8.8Avg. Review Rating

10
A.D.: After Death #1

Nov 24, 2016

Thank you, Scott. Thank you, Jeff. Thank you, Steve. And thank you Image, for making this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Archie (2015) #9

Jun 22, 2016

Mitzushiba 4K 160-Inch DisplaysAny book that makes me feel like this book felt gets a perfect rating. Damn you Mark Waid and company. Damn you. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2016) #1

Nov 2, 2016

An excellent appetizer to the coming Avengers feast, Waid and Del Mundo might have brought a second Marvel book to my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2011) #50

Apr 6, 2016

When you take a character like Batgirl, make her the most accessible and loveable character on the DC roster and kill it in your finale, you get a perfect score.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Betty & Veronica (2016) #1

Jul 20, 2016

Mark Waid set the bar high with Archie, Chip Zdarsky nailed it with Jughead, and now, Adam Hughes has knocked it out of the park with his take with Betty and Veronica.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Road #3

Jun 23, 2016

This story is building and it's epic. Black Road is already on my pull list and now I just want more. Why is Bishop Oakenfold someone worth this road to see? What is Julia's quest? And just how freaking badass is Magnus? I need answers, and I'll happily keep reading to get them.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #13

May 24, 2016

This book shows a ton of promise and sets Bloodshot off down a new road. Lemire clearly knows where he's going and as long as the art de-clutters a little bit, this book could be an absolute knock out in the future. A good table setter and a nice way to get into the world of Bloodshot.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ether #1

Nov 16, 2016

I actively looked for a reason to ding this book with something lower than a 10, but it's just not there. Kindt and Rubn not only deliver on their promise of science and fantasy, they bring both in spades. Boone and Glum already have a spot on my pull list and I'll anxiously await the next journey into Ether and the mysteries it holds.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2016) #1

Jun 15, 2016

Green Arrow #1 is the opening chapter of a grand love story set against the backdrop of a superhero saga. Otto Schmidt is incredible on the art and colors while Benjamin Percy seems like he's got a story to tell. I'm in for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2016) #2

Jul 6, 2016

 I don't have enough words for this book or even a snarky rating system. Percy and Schmidt broke Oliver Queen so they could rebuild Green Arrow. It's brilliant storytelling. It's phenomenal art. It's a book I look forward to and can't wait to get more of. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2016) #3

Jul 20, 2016

Percy continues to nail the essentials of Oliver Queen, giving Green Arrow fans the Ollie they deserve while Juan Ferreyra steps in and continues to fire off (Get it, fire off, like arrows? Get it? Yes? Alright, good) flawless art work.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2016) #8

Oct 7, 2016

If Benjamin Percy and Otto Schmidt work on Green Arrow forever, DC will have a customer for life.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Jessica Jones #1

Oct 5, 2016

Maybe I just don't get it. Other critics seem to love this new Jessica Jones. I just can't bring myself there, even with some solid artwork. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #2

Apr 6, 2016

The book is a fun nostalgia trip with killer art and pace, providing an enjoyable read. Has me hooked for #3 to see what Rita is willing to do next, plus can Bulk and Skull catch that Putty without Trini and Kim seeing? A great read for Power Rangers fans of all ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #4

Jun 22, 2016

Dragon DaggersHiggins and company take us deeper inside the Power Rangers as human beings all while crafting a fantastic story. The ending will leave you begging for the next issue but then keep you happy with Bulk and Skull. One of my favorite books to pull every month because it's fun, fast paced and doesn't let me down. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #5

Jul 21, 2016

Higgins and Silas deliver a compelling back story and character development for our Black Ranger that also informa our larger plot. A well done issue in a well done series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #9

Dec 1, 2016

NEW RANGERSLook, flat out, Higgins and Prasetya get the 10 here for having the courage to do this. They get the 10 for execution. They get the 10 for refusing to settle. They get the 10 because I need more of this original creativity. Thanks for not settling BOOM.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Moon Knight (2016) #1

Apr 13, 2016

A strong first outing from a mostly new creative team, with a really intriguing take on a beloved character. Interested enough to add it to my pull list each month and see where Marc Spector's mind goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Moon Knight (2016) #4

Jul 6, 2016

WTF MomentsLemire, Smallwood and Bellaire are on to something great. If you like your mystery with a side of mysticism or you just like great art with a trippy story, get on Moon Knight now.  

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ninjak #22

Dec 7, 2016

Crawl Spaces Filled With Dead MonksA bloody ninja romp that's a bloody fun read from 2 of the best on the Valiant roster. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Over The Garden Wall #1

Apr 27, 2016

Rock FactsMaybe it's my overwhelming love of this world, maybe it's the great art and fast moving story that never lost me for a moment, maybe it's the attention to detail in the lettering. Whatever it was, Over The Garden Wall just made its way onto my pull list each month because I need more from this world and kaboom seems to have found the right team to bring it. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Seven to Eternity #1

Sep 21, 2016

Already adding Seven To Eternity to my pull list. Remender is incredible and teaming him back up with Opea is perfect for this book. Really stands out among the crowded shelves. A must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Skybourne #1

Sep 7, 2016

This rating makes me feel shallow, because it's mostly based on looks. Skybourne leaves readers with too many questions and the story feels flimsy,so far. While the art is incredible, I expect much more character and plot development in issue two. Man will not buy on art alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Supergirl (2016) #1

Sep 7, 2016

This art + this story + the villain reveal at the end = "Can you guys add this to my pull list?"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl: Rebirth #1

Aug 19, 2016

Supergirl is in good hands with the very talented Steve Orlando, Brian Ching in September, and Emanuela Lupacchino going forward. While this issue was cram full of information, it set the table for a great run going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #1

Aug 31, 2016

This book is sincerely good, sincerely well drawn and colored and I will sincerely be picking up #2. I just sincerely wish it had been the standalone Turtle title I craved.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Saints #1

Oct 8, 2015

While I refuse to give anything away about the plot or twists involved in Saints #1 (because you should all go out and buy it), I will say it leaves you hanging. Why are these Saints being brought together? Who is this person drawing them in? And oh my God, what just happened at the end? Saints #1 packs great art and excellent story building into an issue that will cost you only $2.99!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

December

November

More