Dwight Thomas Jr's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: On Comics Ground Reviews: 30
8.9Avg. Review Rating

10
Damage #1

Apr 10, 2018

This one is leading to a crazy confrontation between the Fantastic 4 and Doom versus Doom lol. This issue was fire all the way through. I'm loving what they're doing giving us the Fantastic 4 back and it gets me even more excited for their eventual book that comes out. If one of Marvels best groups excites you on any level you NEED to be reading this. Also check out their future book when it comes out too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Defenders (2017) #10

Feb 27, 2018

The series started off well enough but due to the cancellation it shortened the lifespan making Marvel have to cram everything into one last issue. A true shame imo because I enjoyed this series for the most part. I wanted more Punisher but it was good having him in as well as Blade and Spider-Man they just didn't do anything really. Decent series if you're still on the Defenders high from Netflix or just want to read a team book. The Iron Fist vs Elektra fight (The FIRST time they've ever met btw) is hands down my favorite moment from this. I'd recommend it anyway but be prepared for the rushed ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Marvel Two-In-One #2

Feb 18, 2018

This series continues to impress me and I hope it continues in all honesty. I've always respected the F4 because of their place within the Marvel community and what they stand for"family. even if halved without all 4 there they still stand for that. They stand for Family. I'm very excited to see where they go from here. This series can only get better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Marvel Two-In-One #3

Feb 19, 2018

The first lull of the series to me but still solid in its own right. Some great moments of humor especially early in with Hercules and Doom but otherwise this one didn't get me as hype as the rest. As mentioned above I'm expecting it to bounce back in short order.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Marvel Two-In-One #4

Mar 20, 2018

This might actually be my favorite issue thus far for the series. I'm VERY impressed with how this is going so far. I'm liking the writing too. I'm torn because I really REALLY want for the 4 to be reunited but I'm enjoying just Torch and Thing working together. The mention of that world's Dr. Doom being back to his (Most likely) villainous ways is a sight to see as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Marvel Two-In-One #6

Jun 2, 2018

This series has been great so far for Fantastic 4 fans waiting on their next fix. It's been great seeing the crew back together even if half of them aren't their original selves. We also get to see other characters who they routinely see like Silver Surfer and others. I recommend this series for any and everyone. Long time fans and new ones considering jumping in now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Marvel Two-In-One #8

Aug 5, 2018

This one reminds me of some type of filler in my opinion. It did get interesting toward the end of the issue so there is that but it was hard getting through this one and to that point. If you've been with the series thus far you may even like this one and that's fine. I'm just not huge into this specific issue here. Hopefully next issue will bring the older style back with some hard hitting plot twists.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Marvel Two-In-One #9

Sep 4, 2018

We've been waiting for the F4 to make a comeback for years and it seems we're finally right there. This is one of the most beloved groups and families in comics and has been that way for years. Ben and Johnny getting their powers back is a good move as well as I certainly wasn't a fan of them not having them. I just want the 4 back. We'll see what happens from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Marvel Two-In-One #12

Feb 8, 2019

The Fantastic 4 will always stand out to me. They have always been special because they were always much more than a group they were a family and always embodied what that stood for. They've had a number of great adventures over the years and this is no different. Too see the family back together and operating as one again is a feeling I can't accurately describe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Marvel Two-In-One Annual #1

Jun 16, 2018

This issue was loaded with greatness. A standout issue in this already good series most definitely. I hope they keep the momentum going. As I mentioned, Doom is always interesting, and his dialogue with Reed almost gave me chills. The rivalry has withstood the test of time. This series is rocking right now, I say it all the time, GET ON IT!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Hawkeye #2

Feb 27, 2018

This was a pretty good successor to issue #1 I hope they carry the momentum forward. I was definitely thrilled when I heard this story was being written. Old Man Logan is considered the definitive Wolverine tale among many and I hope they can replicate that same magic with old Man Hawkeye for Clint.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Old Man Hawkeye #3

Apr 2, 2018

The mission is set for real now. Hawkeye is looking for his former Thunderbolts teammates and now after finding out what's going on, so is Bullseye. We can't forget we have the Venom bonded survivor of the gang he killed looking for Hawkeye too with the symbiote bonding. This one could explode anytime now and hopefully it does next issue. I've been enjoying this book so far but this by far took it to the next level this was an emotional exchange I honestly wasn't prepared for. A great story please check this out if you haven't.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Hawkeye #4

May 2, 2018

This ride has been fairly consistent thus far and I really like Clint running into and killing his old friends. The emotional weight is taking a heavy toll on him. This one is well written and a very enjoyable experience. Next issue we have Venom attacking but the main fight I'm here for is Hawkeye and Bullseye. I'm sure that will be pay per view worthy, even with Clint's vision slowly but surely fading. Hop on this one if you haven't it's a great story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Hawkeye #5

May 27, 2018

I've been waiting on the next issue in this series for awhile now and this one didn't disappoint. I was waiting for the inevitable confrontation between Clint and at least one of his pursuers. I think the Bullseye one will be more personal"so happy they got this one out of the way first well the first part of it. The cameos were great and was the highlight of the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Old Man Hawkeye #7

Jul 23, 2018

As the story rolls on we get a glimpse into what motivated Hawkeye and set him on the path of no return. This issue was packed with action, chaos, death, and sadness. An extreme sadness and darkness that now from my perspective hangs over this entire arc. This has been an experience thus far. After taking a second to reflect the mission of vengeance continues next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Old Man Hawkeye #10

Nov 9, 2018

This was a good issue overall. I wish they did show some of the history between Moonstone and Clint on panel. I mean maybe they assumed her saying "Lover" was enough to satisfy everyone, but everyone reading this hasn't read everything Thunderbolts related. It was still enjoyable and it's always good seeing another Thunderbolt character.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Old Man Hawkeye #12

Jan 15, 2019

The ending while ultimately satisfying leads me to believe we might get more Old Man Hawkeye adventures in the future. Though his mission is complete it sounds like he has more fight left in him. I hope we get to see more. Here's looking forward to the new and improved (But still old) Clint of the future. Until next time Hakweye"

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Punisher (2016) #222

Mar 19, 2018

The situation has been ratcheted to the next level with a nuclear weapon in play. Punisher is trying to save the day and win or lose I've enjoyed this story immensely since I began. This is one of my favorite stories out right now and it keeps getting better from the last issue. This is probably my favorite of this arc and I eagerly await the next. Even with the amp taking control Frank is still in his element with chaos and war around him. We'll see what happens with this nuke in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Punisher (2016) #224

May 19, 2018

If you missed the Chernaya arc catch up on that asap before you jump in here. It's a different version of the Punisher but on the inside it's still the one-man army the most dangerous vigilante in New York.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Punisher (2016) #226

Jun 18, 2018

Another action packed testosterone soaked adventure for Marvel's hardest character. I'll never forgive Marvel for the garbage writing of having him be HYDRA but at least Frank is trying to make amends. I can respect that and hope it's something that can be forgotten at a later time. Still though this War Machine deal has been a overall success as far as I'm concerned. I'm looking forward to Zemo catching that work and HYDRA Steve if he pop up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Punisher (2016) #227

Jul 14, 2018

This arc has been pretty damn good thus far but THIS single issue has raised the stock of the entire series. The twist toward the end of this issue was magnificent and set up a confrontation I hope I was wanting to see sometime ago. If the arc goes where I think it will we'll see Frank finally atone for the bad writing from Marvel not to mention his own personal biases. I can't wait to see where this goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Punisher (2016) #228

Aug 6, 2018

So here we are, this arc has been excellent and we'll be heading to the next story in Franks war on crime. The major cameo in this issue was great as well as unexpected but the ending let me down a bit. I understand why it had to happen to set things up for future stories but I wasn't a fan anyway. Otherwise though this was highly enjoyable and I'm hoping Frank has more run ins with this specific antagonist. I was pulling for him as I was underwhelmed with what they did with his character in Secret Empire. Hopefully by the end of this he is fully redeemed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Punisher (2018) #1

Aug 29, 2018

Good things seem to be coming from this one. This initial issue definitely got the Punisher back in his element quickly after the time off from last issue. The violence, blood/gore, and stuff getting broken are all hallmarks of a good Punisher story I'm just as excited for this arc as I was for the previous one. It seems the Punisher character is in good hands and I hope this arc continues the magic from the one before it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Punisher (2018) #5

Jan 15, 2019

So now we're going to Zemo's turf. Frank has set the pace in his hunt and has basically been in control the whole time. That's about to stop now with him being in custody. I'm sure some more not so nice things are in store for Frank too. Good time to jump in and catch up before the setting switches officially. This is one of my favorite Marvel Books out right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Punisher (2018) #6

Jan 24, 2019

Frank is trapped with no escape plan but he might have one now. We'll see where this goes but Zemo having marked Frank should be ready for New York's most dangerous vigilante to return the favor and with interest. I can't wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Punisher (2018) #7

Feb 12, 2019

This issue was as soaked in testosterone as some of the issues before but that's not necessarily bad. Frank has been rotting in prison and it appears it's time to take over. One can never underestimate the Punisher's ability to prep so stayed tuned. This one is about to turn the corner and get crazy again.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Tales of Suspense #101

Feb 8, 2018

This book to me seemed like a slower burn than the first issue, but it definitely picked up when the action got started. Though I predicted the assassin wasn't Black Widow, I was only partially correct. The banter between Clint and Bucky is pretty funny with Bucky going back and forth about his likes and dislikes for Hawkeye. You really start to see the differences between the two characters in response to the ever changing situation in their environment. Their personalities merge well. This is especially complimented with the mutual connection to Natasha they share.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Tales of Suspense #102

Feb 26, 2018

3 issues down and we have 2 more to go with a decent amount of story left to be told. This one has been running at a pretty good pace thus far and I hope it doesn't slow down. Next issue should have some intriguing angles to hit us from based on who has shown up here and made themselves known. The chemistry between Bucky and Clint is always great to read as their mutual respect and mutual dislike for each other stand out from the narrative. I'll feel kinda bad when this wraps up but it's been a good ride so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Tales of Suspense #103

Mar 25, 2018

I expect fireworks in this final upcoming issue but as I said this one was pretty good. We finally get confirmation that not only is Black Widow back (Mostly lol) but she has been critical to the adventure since it began. Our story is to be concluded in the next issue and I'm excited. I hope to see some shining moments from the boys as I'm assuming they aren't really dead lol.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Tales of Suspense #104

Apr 26, 2018

This one went out with a whimper in my opinion, but I'm curious to see what the future holds. The ending sets up a follow up with I'm assuming the same heroes, but I'm sure focusing on Natasha and Bucky. I'd say I'm happy to read it and continue the story, however, I'm feeling very apathetic. Here's to hoping it's better in the next issue. If you're a fan of this group, check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More