Dylan B. Tano's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 20
7.9Avg. Review Rating

9
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #677

Jan 13, 2012

Waid's Daredevil works with Spider-Man, they have always been an interesting pair. Both firmly believe in right and wrong, and you can tell Spidey looks up to him in the same vein he looks up to Captain America. Black Cat's bad luck powers are used to an almost comic effect throughout the issue, causing an on looker recording her and Spider-Man to drop his phone, only by muttering, "Butterfingers." The closing in of the issue, as Spider-Man and Daredevil edge closer to what Spider-Man thinks is the bad guys feels like it is missing something. The dialogue is there, but there seems to be something missing. Spidey snaps at Daredevil but it doesn't seem like he should have in that instance. That is really the only thing I could find wrong with the issue. The rest of the dialogue flows well, the art is outstanding and the story can stand on its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #678

Jan 20, 2012

The World's Worst Super Hero! That is the catch phrase hanging at the top of the cover for this issue. Slott delivers a world without Spider-Man for a day and then gives Pete the chance to save it. The issue is fun, fast, colorful, and intense. It was a joy to read and Slott continues a great run on Amazing Spider-Man and I can't wait to see how Pete pulls this one out. Marty and Doc would be proud of the time traveling shenanigans, although if Spider-Man can't swing in at the nick of time to save the day we may be hearing a "Great Scott!" coming for quite a few in New York before they're vaporized.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Atomic Robo: Ghost of Station X #4

Dec 23, 2011

I mentioned that I was consistently amazed by the team of Clevinger and Wegener several times throughout this review. Consistency is the key word. This volume has kept a steady pace so far, and while not as emotionally touching as some of the prior volumes, it does deliver in other ways. There is humor and a steady story of who and why to follow. Robo doesn't seem to be lost in the modern world anymore, and it is nice to see a character develop and have it stick in a world of comics that constantly resets itself. Read this book, I mean it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Atomic Robo: Ghost of Station X #5

Feb 9, 2012

They almost always bring some scientist in to the fray and this time it is no different with ****** making an appearance. Between the technology the team dreams up to the story plots to the uses of famous figures left in our past, Clevinger and Wegener are on the top of their game. The Ghost of Station X was a blast to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bedlam #1

Oct 31, 2012

I've tried to describe the feeling of reading this book the first time to you, but my words can't do it justice. Do yourself a favor; whether you liked my review or not... just read the fucking book. It's worth it. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Chew #23

Jan 26, 2012

Chew continues to be on my must-read list. Sure the comic drags at some points but almost every comic does nowadays. The universe these two have created continues to bring enjoyment and I don't foresee them jumping the shark. They have a firm grip on where they want this to go and they are pacing themselves like long distance runners from Kenya. Perhaps I'll dedicate next issue to finding every last hidden reference.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Danger Club #1

Apr 13, 2012

I fell in love with Danger Club #1 from the very first page. It looks like something torn from the pages of days gone past. Landry Walker doesn't prance around in this opening issue one bit. He dives right in, giving you an introduction to a world that feels part Teen Titans and part Watchmen as the action unfolds on the pages, which has been sharply drawn by Eric Jones. Sure the creative team borrow some ideas, but instead of it being a distraction, it comes across as intentional. They're just wanting to have fun with the material and it really shines through.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Daredevil (2011) #8

Jan 20, 2012

Waid wraps up this issue with one big final twist that hits a little too hard at home for Matt Murdock, the man behind the cowl. Foggy has uncovered something in a local cemetery that will chill Murdock and send the Daredevil out into the night for answers. It's great wrap-up to a crossover, giving just the right amount of answers while leaving a new set of questions. Waid contrasts Daredevil as a man who always looks down the rabbit hole, trying to find the answer while Spider-Man only looks at the surface of the problem. Spider-Man pops out back into his own world while Daredevil is left to probe farther into this mystery. After all, the Man Without Fear never gives up on a case.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Wake #9

Jan 24, 2012

There hasn't been a series that has captured my imagination like Green Wake in a long time. I find myself rereading each issue multiple times in one sitting, trying my best to unravel its mysteries myself. I have total faith in Wiebe and Rossmo to end the series in the best way that they can, but even then I won't be satisfied. I'm always going to want to know what would have happened if the series lasted to Issue 25 like it was originally intended to. It may go down as one of the biggest crimes in comic history that this series doesn't get to go out on its own terms.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Wake #10

Feb 29, 2012

I wanted more, but I am happy with how they wrapped up Green Wake. There were no loose ends -- it was a good ending that didn't come across as rushed in any way. If you're looking for other books from these two then you'll be delighted in just a moment. Below is a list of books by each individual both out and coming out. Buy Green Wake #10, or if you haven't read any of the series yet, go buy issue #1 and get started, you won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Incorruptible #27

Feb 21, 2012

For an issue that is easily accessible for new readers I found it to be a great introduction. It conveys the feel of this comic's world without any issues and it provides a nice plot continuation for current readers. Waid is taking Incorruptible into a new world here, allowing him to continue this look into a world where hero and villain trade places. So far he is right on the money.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Scarlet Spider #1

Jan 13, 2012

I hope Yost takes this opportunity and creates a darker character going forward. There is a lot of promise here: he doesn't have to rehash Ben Reilly -- this is Kaine's Scarlet Spider and it should feel a such. He needs to be brutal -- not unnecessarily so -- but this is a character who has been a villain for years and he needs to act like it. Redemption doesn't come over night, it is earned. Yost has me interested, if he can deliver on the promise of the character then this could be an exciting book, or it could become a ripoff of the current Venom book. I hope it becomes its own art. I loved Reilly as Scarlet Spider and it could really take off with Kaine under the mask. Here's hoping Yost delivers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Star Wars: Crimson Empire III - Empire Lost #3

Dec 27, 2011

All in all, this was an enjoyable issue. It had a bit of everything; action, deception, space ships... We're halfway through this story arc and the end of the issue sets up for some big things to come in Issue #4 and going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Super Dinosaur #7

Jan 7, 2012

All in all, this is a setup issue and Kirkman doesn't bother to try and hide it. It works well in that respect, giving the heroes a moment of respite while the ne'er do-wells plot and scheme. Some minor surprises highlight the issue but nothing earth shattering. It was an enjoyable issue and I look forward to where they are taking the story next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superior Spider-Man #1

Jan 14, 2013

Oh yeah, and this storyline feels fun. We can't forget the fun! This book had a pretty high giggle-to-page count, and some wonderfully clever moments. Slott has set himself up to succeed on a few different levels, and I'm going to enjoy watching to see if he can achieve his goals.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Activity #1

Dec 14, 2011

Overall, as far as first issues go, it feels a bit light. That may seem like a criticism, but it isn't. Often enough first issues are cram packed and over saturated. This one is a little light but it carries itself well. It is something I look forward to seeing develop.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
The Immortal: Demon in the Blood #1

Dec 20, 2011

Dylan B. Tano is a relatively new reviewer powered by a love of bacon and constantly distracted by a kitten who would rather use his laptop as a bed. He grew up idolizing Spider-Man and cant believe he gets to review comics all day.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Uncanny X-Men (2011) #4

Jan 6, 2012

Gillen did a great job with what could have been a filler issue, using perspective to make you feel sympathetic toward a devourer of people, towns, cities and possibly worlds.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Valen the Outcast #1

Dec 16, 2011

Through it all Nelson deftly laid ground work for the journey going forward, after all no fantasy adventure is done alone. He brings in a scantly clad tattoo artist and the 1400s version of Han Solo along for the ride. These people have had dealings with our Undead liege in the past and they aren't the most friendly of traveling companions. The overarching themes you find in every fantasy story are here, but is that really a bad thing? I don't think so, mostly because of how the book closes. Lets just say our Necromancer has a surprise that made this book going forward something I will want to keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wolverine and the X-Men: Alpha and Omega #1

Jan 6, 2012

Wood does a decent job setting up for the next four issues, but it does feel a bit light. Wolverine seems to have woken up from the Construct by the end of issue one and I honestly expected it to take a few issues. Quentin had the world set up wonderfully, controlling their powers and keeping Wolverine's healing factor in check. If Wolverine is actually awake then I don't really see how it'll go for four more issues. I trust Wood as a writer though and I imagine this really is just the beginning. I'm expecting some character growth for Quire, he has such potential as an X-Man that I'd like to see it develop some, he will always be an asshole but as we saw in the first three issues of Wolverine and the X-Men he has the capacity to care about his compatriots. It'll be good to see a character grow a bit and have it stick.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More