Ellie J.'s Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 11
8.2Avg. Review Rating

10
Star Wars (2020) #6

Sep 17, 2020

The last couple issues were slow, but now I'm totally on board. Soule is writing something special here, as he did with 2017's Darth Vader series. Add that to the amazing art from Jesus Saiz, Arif Prianto, and Clayton Sowles, and this is the best Star Wars comic this year, in my opinion. I absolutely cannot wait to see where the next issue leads; I have a feeling it's only gonna get crazier and crazier, in the best way!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #7

Nov 20, 2020

The last panel of Valance with his face in his hands as he flies away from Lowikalonegenuinely hit me in the feels a bit. So... yeah, I really liked this issue. The series is finally starting to find it's footing, and I hope that doesn't change next issue! I didn't mention the art or lettering much in this review because it was stellar as always, that's been the most consistent part of this series. I think this series has a real chance to stand out among the current Star Wars ongoings... as long as it doesn't go back to copying from The Mandalorian. Read this issue!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #10

Mar 21, 2021

Both of these things are set-up for Marvel's huge crossover event, War of the Bounty Hunters, which now promises to be really exciting. The event hasn't started yet, but we already have two little prelude subplots leading into it. And... that's the issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #10

Mar 21, 2021

Both of these things are set-up for Marvel's huge crossover event, War of the Bounty Hunters, which now promises to be really exciting. The event hasn't started yet, but we already have two little prelude subplots leading into it. And... that's the issue! There was also a really fun interlude about T'onga and her wife Losha getting a big Nexu, teasing their return to the series later, but it was short and there's not much to talk about thereyet, although I will say I love how Sacks so casually includes LGBTQ rep in this series. The art by Paolo Villanelli was stellar as usual, as was the lettering by Travis Lanham. Next issue is a full interlude about Bossk filling time before War begins, and that promises to be good!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #3

Aug 30, 2020

That's it for this issue! So far, this series is everything I wanted it to be, and I can't wait to see how the arc wraps up over the next two issues. My only hope is that Lucky's motivations are explored more, since he's the only member of the "team" that hasn't been now. See you next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #6

Nov 30, 2020

Anyway, this issue was very, very good. It did a great job of being a set-up issue that felt contained and important in its own right. In series like Bounty Hunters (and even Star Wars), the set-up issues always feel really slow and boring, but that wasn't the case with this issue at all. The art by the new art team (replacing Marika Cresta's art from the first arc) was really good, the art style really suits the Indiana-Jones tone of the series. I'm super-excited to see where this arc goes in the next issue, more so now that Sana is playing a big role in the story!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #7

Jan 21, 2021

I'm really loving this second arc of the series! Aphra continues to shine brighter than any of Marvel's other Star Wars series, though the High Republic started out with a bang too. The art and writing and everything about this issue was great, and I didn't even mention a few smaller things like the short detour to Lucky's subplot (mainly because there's not much to talk about yet) or the non-binary character that works for Domina. I highly recommend checking out this issue, and I can't wait for the next one!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #8

Mar 24, 2021

In any case, Aphra and Sana get a diagram of the Path Engine and head to their next stop, an auction on Midaar where a fake Path Engine is being sold. Vukorah's going there too, so it seems that there's finally gonna be a big showdown next issue. This issue was... good. Besides the already-talked-about pacing issue, the rest of the writing was great, and the art from Minkyu Jung and Victor Olazaba was really great. I'm still excited for the next issue though, and looking even further, the series is gonna bereintroducing Durge into Canon, something that should come as a welcome surprise to fans of Dark Horse's Republic comic series and the animated Clone Wars series from Genndy Tartakovsky.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #9

Apr 21, 2021

There's not much else to say about this issue, the series continues to be fantastic! Beyond the writing and story, the art by Minkyu Jung, Victor Olazaba, and Rachelle Rosenberg continues to be amazing and perfect for the tone of the series. This arc is not only coming to a conclusion next issue, but next issue is also a Prelude issue for the big War of the Bounty Hunters crossover that's coming up. This series already has a leg up over the other series, since it's already been crossing over with other underworld characters and concepts from Bounty Hunters. And the issue after that has Durge!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: The High Republic Adventures (2021) #1

Feb 3, 2021

The issue ends on a cliffhanger, with the two parallel stories colliding. Zeen and the Jedi are both surrounded by the Nihil, and their leader... Marchion Ro! Ro appeared in Light of the Jedi too, and in that novel he instantly became the newest iconic Star Wars villain. And here, in comic aimed towards kids, he's making his second appearance! This is why I love this issue. It's still at it's heart a comic book aimed towards kids, but it still feels significant and important, which is something I couldn't say about the mainline Star Wars Adventures series. Beyond the awesome story, the art was also really good; again, it was much better than the art typically seen in the Adventures series, and I hope that's kept up. I can't wait for the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: The High Republic Adventures (2021) #4

May 10, 2021

This series is... complicated. It's leagues better than IDW's other Star Wars series, but it's still lacking in some ways. These characters are extremely engaging and interesting (particularly how Zeen's story was seemingly an allegory for being LGBTQ and living in an unaccepting environment), but it's so barebones that it barely does anything with all that potential. The most consistent thing about it is the art, which is very good for an IDW Star Wars series. Harvey Tolibao and Rebecca Nalty are doing very well. I'm hoping the series gets better next issue, since it's pretty much locked in to actually doing something because of that cliffhanger, but we'll see.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

May

April

More