Henry Varona's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: We The Nerdy Reviews: 42
8.2Avg. Review Rating

8.5
A-Force #1

May 19, 2015

A-Force is in so many ways everything I expected it to be. It's fun, accessible, and handles the premise of an all-female Avengers team without it coming off as a gimmick. My biggest complaint is that I wish that this premise had been handled without the gimmick of being a Secret Wars tie in. As somebody who has been extremely supportive of Marvel's moves to increase the representation of women in comics, I see no reason why this book couldn't exist in the regular cycle of ongoing titles. I think that it speaks to the strengths of Bennett, Wilson, and Molina that this book has the strength to outlast this event. I sincerely cannot wait to see more, and hope that this book continues to impress. You can buy this comic for anybody of any age and gender, and it will appeal across every demographic. This is just a good comic and it deserves your love.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
All-New Ghost Rider #1

Apr 1, 2014

All-New Ghost Rider is one of the best issue ones that I have read in a long time. Immediately engaging, I want to read more already. I sincerely hope this book gains traction, because its such a unique take on a long-standing character. It revitalizes Ghost Rider and provides a better launch than the character has had in the last decade. In this case, carving a new path is the best thing that could have possibly happened for this book. I love it and cherish it and can't wait until the next issue hits.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
All-New Ghost Rider #2

Apr 15, 2014

Overall, All-New Ghost Rider is blowing me away. I look forward to the explanation behind his powers, but right now I am just enjoying the ride. Ghost Rider is a character I never cared about before but thanks to the keen writing of Felipe Smith and the design of Tradd Moore, I'm enjoying it more than I ever thought I could.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
All-New Ghost Rider #3

May 20, 2014

Overall, All-New Ghost Rider is a flat out phenomenal book. It rivals Ms. Marvel for best new book from the All-New Marvel NOW! movement and it's clear that this book is going to keep going as fast and as hard as it can. Tradd Moore and Felipe Smith are creating a new icon for a new era and delivering one of the coolest new origins in years. Buy this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
All-New Ghost Rider #5

Aug 1, 2014

On art, Tradd Moore has made his mark on Ghost Rider. No other artist has ever interpreted the character in this way. There is so much style and energy in his art, but it never does too much. Moore puts in layers of details of that surpass most other monthly books. Granted, I don't necessarily always like this for some of his muscular characters, who grow a bit gargantuan for my taste. But in the moments where we see Ghost Rider power up, or Mister Hyde overdose on muscle stimulants, his work is in a class of it's own. I'll be sad to see Moore leave this book because he has defined Ghost Rider for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batgirl (2011) #35

Oct 9, 2014

Babs Tarr has only created a single comic before this, but man, the way she works the page you'd think this had been her whole life. Babs Tarr utilizes every inch of every page incredibly well. She has a style that is very appealing to a modern audience (Looking at you Tumblr), but still holds it's own during action sequences. The way she draws Barbara feels natural and authentic. Her attention to detail goes leagues beyond many others right now, as she designs real people, not simple figures. Tattoos, interesting outfits, and distinct faces litter the pages. As somebody who grew up in Brooklyn and has been witness to many characters similar to Barbara's supporting cast, I can happily say that she properly represents the new crowd. Oh, and did I mention her design? Yeah, it's flawless. Actually flawless. I could fawn over it for days, but plenty of others already have. If you don't love this look, we can't be friends. Full stop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batgirl (2011) #36

Nov 18, 2014

Babs Tarr on art is my favorite thing about this book. Everything about her work is stunning, from the incredible detail of her pages to the outfits that her characters wear. These things help to make the book feel more lived in and genuine, something that makes Tarr unique in the market right now. Her humble origins mean that she is out to prove herself, providing mesmerizing work that is sure to get recognition. Cameron Stewart does the breakdowns for the issue, which I'm sure is a huge help to Tarr. Having an industry veteran like Stewart helping this young talent assure me that she will do great things with this title as it evolves. You can already see how her action sequences, body posture, and character expression set her apart from others. Special shout out to colorist Maris Wicks, who compliments Tarr and brings her work to life, adding excellent tones to clothing and set designs.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2011) #33

Jul 24, 2014

Artistically, Greg Capullo has turned himself in the modern Batman artist. It was Jim Lee, then it was Dustin Nguyen and Tony Daniel, now it is Capullo. I don't say that lightly, but when you go through his art in this issue it's easy to see. He understands the tones that are necessary for a Batman title. His art goes through the standard layouts and knows exactly when to break free. He puts so much detail into each panel and is able to do so with ease. No other artist is able to do as many issues a year as Capullo, especially when you consider that many, like this, were of extended length. His Batman is powerful and commands respect. His Alfred is respectable and wise. His Gordon looks ready to fight. Capullo gets it all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: Joker's Daughter #1

Feb 5, 2014

Overall, Joker's Daughter One-Shot is an engaging look at a rising villain. With an upcoming presence in Batman: Eternal, fans will be sure to keep an eye out for more of the character, and this is a great place to go. Blood and gore are all the rage but true psychological terror takes center stage. Bennett and Hetrick are two young women to watch out for and I for one will be ready.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Captain Marvel (2014) #1

Mar 18, 2014

Overall, this issue is a strong start for Captain Marvel. Stronger than her last series, DeConnick seems to have an easy approach to starting this book off. The art by Lopez will win over many who were divided by previous artists, and the tie in to Guardians of the Galaxy can only help both books. I hope that we get a clear villain soon, as that has often stood in the way of this series, and I hope that DeConnick is able to handle the cosmic elements while keeping characterization front and center. However, I have little doubt that she can. This is the start of a great run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Captain Marvel (2014) #3

May 20, 2014

Overall, Captain Marvel is the flagship title that the company needs. Elevating the role of women at Marvel and the image of the company itself, it's a great adventure book that has a bright future ahead of it. Hopefully future issues will be able to further integrate Carol into the conflict instead of having her as an observer. As it stands though, Captain Marvel is simply stellar.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deadpool vs. X-Force #4

Sep 5, 2014

Pepe Larraz does a great job on the book as well. While it could be easy to overlook an artist in a comedy book like this, Larraz demands your attention with his bizarre visuals. He has great range, drawing a very serious and brooding Cable, while his Deadpool is all too pleased with himself. The outfit he comes up with for Nazi Deadpool is one of my favorite alternate looks for the character, being just offensive enough that it should never have seen the light of day. But man, I am so glad it did. Larraz also turns out to be a perfect choice for this series when you hit the end of the book and see how far the characters have come from their Rob Liefeld days.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Death Of Wolverine: Deadpool & Captain America #1

Nov 2, 2014

Overall, I greatly enjoyed this one-shot story. It was exactly what I wanted, a simple story that was done-in-one. Most of the tie-ins for the Death of Wolverine are mini-series, but this issue makes a case for strong, condensed storytelling. With smart gags, strong characters, and brisk pacing, I really enjoyed my foray into a forgotten favorite. I just might end up buying the next issue of Deadpool because of this book. Now that's unexpected.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Earth 2 #28

Nov 12, 2014

Artistically, the book is split into four parts, which a different creative team tackling each story. Where the main Earth 2: World's End book fails to credit each team for their work, DC is wise to tell us who tackles what here. As such, I can tell you that I really liked the art of Alisson Borges, who I had never seen before. Her work is clean and looks like Wes Craig meets Jae Lee. I particularly enjoy her thin inking style. For his part, Andy Smith does great work, making Mongul look awesome and Famine disgusting. Unfortunately, the work of Javier Fernandez and Diogenes Neves is just alright, providing pictures for the words, but failing to really captivate. They also suffer from having weaker content to adapt, so the fault is not entirely theirs.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Earth 2: World's End #1

Oct 9, 2014

The art on this issue, much like the writing, is a team effort through and through. There are no less than eight credited artists, plus the breakdown artist and colorist. I am very grateful that there is one consistent breakdown artist, because it allows the book to have some kind of consistency. Though the changes aren't blatant, an observant reader will be able to tell when the artist changes, and it can be distracting for a moment or two. That being said, there is not a single weak artist here. Some of the work is top notch, with Ardian Syaf in particular shining through. At Syaf's best it looks like Andy Kubert, with top notch line-work and definition. While the book doesn't maintain this throughout, it never becomes unclear, and the storytelling remains fluid.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Earth 2: World's End #2

Oct 20, 2014

Artistically, this book defines DC "House Style". I couldn't even bother to tell you where each artist stops and ends. This is both good and bad. It's very good, because it means that the quality of the art is consistent, despite multiple people doing pencils and inks. Many weekly books suffer from inconsistent art, but this book does not have to worry about that. Unfortunately, the bad end of the deal means that it is also hard to distinguish any particular style. Much like the writing, you have to look at it as if everybody did everything, which makes it hard to enjoy at times. It simply looks like DC Comics art, with no room for individuality.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Earth 2: World's End #4

Nov 3, 2014

I'm very frustrated with Earth 2: World's End. I had very high hopes for it, but after a month, I am unimpressed. It consistently does it's job and tells it's story, but it doesn't captivate me. If I can't be won over, I don't know how many other readers can either, and I get the feeling that this will quickly be forgotten once it's done.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Earth 2: World's End #5

Nov 12, 2014

Overall, Earth 2: World's End shows a bit of fight in this issue. While the characters seem to better prepare themselves for the coming tomorrow, the book itself picks up and grabs me back in. The promise for further explorations of the Green and the Grey, along with more elemental avatars is enough to keep me interested. I still think that this book needs to find it's own voice, and until it does, it is going to go unnoticed by most readers. But there is plenty of time and potential in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ghost Racers #1

Jun 9, 2015

If you enjoyed All-New Ghost Rider, you'll love Ghost Racers. If you enjoyed Mad Max: Fury Road, you'll love Ghost Racers. If you enjoyed Twisted Metal, you'll love Ghost Racers. Anybody who is seeking high octane action with an emotional core and a gripping cast of characters is sure to find themselves giddy over this series. Easily my most anticipated book in months, Ghost Racers does not disappoint. I can only hope in my heart of hearts that it leads to more from Felipe Smith on Ghost Rider in the future. But if not, if this is the end, Smith and Gedeon give us an adventure like nothing else that you'll find on the stands. It's one Hell of a ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gotham Academy #1

Oct 8, 2014

I'll admit that when I saw the first cover to the series, I wasn't sold. Karl Kerschl has impressed me in the past with his work on Wednesday Comics and Teen Titans: Year One, but I was a little turned off. And then I opened the book. His distinct style sells this entire book, immediately pulling you into the world that Cloonan and Fletcher craft. He makes it feel one part Hogwarts, two parts Wayne Manor. This balance plays off of the character designs, which are fresh and preppy. a perfect aesthetic that is key to understanding this book. Where I was scared away by the cover, I can flip through the book and immediately fall in love with his work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Harley Quinn (2013) #2

Jan 23, 2014

All in all, I'll admit that I wasn't too excited for this comic. Sure, I love Harley and all, but after a disappointing first issue, I was concerned that the zero issue may have been the peak of the book. I was dead wrong and I am now fully on board for the immediate future. Harley Quinn is a book unlike DC's usual offerings and is genuinely fun, something sorely needed by the publisher. I wish it the best of luck, but if early sales are any indication, this book has the legs to make it in this screwed up world, even without me. And that's just what I like to see.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn (2013) #3

Feb 25, 2014

But, all that being said, I really want more from this book. Harley Quinn 3 is another great issue for this series, but I want a larger storyline to appear sooner rather than later. With fantastic character direction and art, it's only a matter of time before this book gets rolling and everybody realizes that they've been missing out on one of the most fun books being published today.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #16

Jan 30, 2014

Overall, Hawkeye is a book that many are writing off due to delays, but it's still as much fun as it was in the beginning. It's fun and the fragmented structure of the issues works to the books strengths, allowing for them to balance multiple stories at once. I'm sticking around for the long haul and I can't wait to see how it pays off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Iron Fist: The Living Weapon #1

Apr 15, 2014

Iron Fist: The Living Weapon was one of the biggest question marks of All-New Marvel NOW! I can now happily say that it is a great read, and if Andrews is allowed the freedom he desires, it will make for a memorable read. With the upcoming popularity the character is sure to endure from Marvel's Netflix series, there is no better time to get in on the ground floor with a character. Iron Fist: The Living Weapon is a great compliment to past Iron Fist stories while engaging new readers. Sign me up for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Iron Fist: The Living Weapon #2

May 13, 2014

Overall, Iron Fist: The Living Weapon is a very exciting read. I am very much enjoying it after two issues and hope to see more great things from this title down the line. While I won't say it's flawless, the book has style in excess and is continually enjoyable. A very solid book for a very deserving character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League #23.2

Sep 12, 2013

That being said, I really hope that people check out this issue. I know that there has been plenty of controversy over the re-design of Lobo. Between the Rocafort re-design and the untested writing of Marguerite Bennett, many will stay away from this book on principle alone. I implore you, this issue is worth your time. Marguerite Bennett is an incredible up-and-coming talent that radically reinvents Lobo for the modern era. If the original Lobo was a parody of everything that was the 80"s and 90"s, sexy Lobo is a parody of the sleak and slim pretty boys of today. And he looks damn good doing it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Lobo #1

Oct 8, 2014

Meanwhile, Reilly Brown is no slouch on art. Coming off of his work onDeadpool: The Guantlet, Brown makes Lobo fun and exciting. He perfectly captures the fun and energy of the new Lobo, with enough grit to handle the gore. While it is still very much in the classic DC House Style thanks to the inking and coloring, it is very distinguishable and memorable. Brown perfectly executes Bunn's scripts, making a lot of great sight-gags. I don't know if it is due to his work, or inker Nelson Decastro, but the flashback sequence really stands out, looking graceful and optimistic. It's the exact opposite of what you expect from Lobo, and it really makes it work.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Marvel Zombies (2015) #1

Jun 11, 2015

Overall, Marvel Zombies has a clear and distinct vision of what it sets out to do. With a fantastic premise and an engaging lead, Simon Spurrier has a lot of storytelling potential in the future. Hopefully in future installments he will be able to milk it for all it's worth, allowing Kev Walker to continue astonishing us with his dark and twisted depictions of Marvel's living undead! I can't wait to read more and find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mighty Avengers (2013) #5.INH

Jan 29, 2014

Overall, this is another stellar issue of one of Marvel's best books. With the increased attention that Luke Cage and Jessica Jones will be getting from Netflix in the future, and with the most diverse superhero team in modern comics, Mighty Avengers is a top-notch book worth checking out. New readers should feel comfortable jumping into the book right now, and I hope that everybody sticks around for the great ride coming up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mighty Avengers (2013) #6

Feb 12, 2014

Overall, Mighty Avengers continues to handle itself in exactly the way I could want. It's a fun, character-centric book that has yet to disappoint. The greatest weakness of this book is it's slow pace and lack of conflict, though I hope that in time this will be resolved and we will resume to high standards of the early goings. As it stands, Mighty Avengers is one of my favorite books in comics right now, and my favorite from Marvel, period.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ms. Marvel (2014) #1

Feb 12, 2014

To quickly address the controversy of this title, I have this to say: Ms. Marvel deserves a chance. I know that for as many people who will be attracted to the Muslim background of the character, there will be as many turned away. But ultimately, Kamala is a young girl, like any other, and is written in such a way that she is not defined by her culture. She is a character that is written to appeal to any demographic, and has the potential to be a modern day Spider-Man, full of youth and energy not found elsewhere. For that reason and so many more, I fully support Marvel, the creative team, and this book for as long a run as they are granted, because we need a marketplace with more diversity. I support the new Ms. Marvel and can't wait for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Original Sin #8

Sep 5, 2014

Mike Deodato Jr. is an incredibly talented artist, but this is not his greatest showcase. While I'm glad that he finally got to handle one of Marvel's event titles, since he is one of their best talents, but this was not a great way to utilize him. I thought he would be a perfect fit for a murder mystery, and in many ways he is, but so much of his work gets muddled in dark shadows. While I genuinely love the way he draws Nick Fury and his LMD's, some of his heroes look too similar. I think that this issue is consistent with the rest of the series, and at times shines more than they have, but ultimately it left me wanting. However, a few moments are actually incredible, such as the ending with The Unseen and every single flashback with Nick Fury and Uatu. I could stare at his Uatu all day long.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
She-Hulk (2014) #1

Feb 19, 2014

She-Hulk issue one is a bit of a slow read. While by issues end, it is clear where the book will be going, it is not the action heavy start many may have expected. However, given Soule's expertise with law, an essential element to any good She-Hulk book, I trust that we will have a very accurate and engaging book in due time. She-Hulk is fun for all of the right reasons and looks to lead to bright things in the future. I highly recommend investing and giving it a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
She-Hulk (2014) #2

Mar 11, 2014

She-Hulk is not a book for everybody. If you don't like having fun, you won't like it. If you don't like kick-ass female leads, you won't like it. If you don't like tight and direct storytelling, you won't like it. But if you are a fan of books like Hawkeye, Fearless Defenders, and Harley Quinn, you'll absolutely love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
She-Hulk (2014) #3

Apr 9, 2014

Overall, She-Hulk is a truly different book from the rest of the stands. Filled with Doombots and mayhem, this issue is yet another in this spectacular series. I hope that this book gets the love and attention it deserves, because every month Charles Soule and Javier Pulido bust their butts to put out a top-notch comic. If you're looking for anything that defies convention and breaks the mold of what a superhero book should be, please pick up this book. It's sure to leave you excited for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spider-Gwen #2

Mar 12, 2015

Robbi Rodriguez does a really great job with the art on this issue. Coupled with the colors of Rico Renzi, who truly makes this book pop, his art is expressive and engaging. Rodriguez was largely unrecognized until this title, and frankly I feel like I've been missing out. He's imaginative and makes the book feel unique on his art alone. While it's been talked about to death, his design for Spider-Woman really informs the artistic direction on this series. It's high on style and has captivates you, establishing this world as a distinct being. Special shout out to Clayton Cowles, the letterer, who is a real highlight of this book. His work is very subtle, but it completes the package and makes the book feel whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Starfire #1

Jun 12, 2015

Overall, Starfire is a very solid start to what will hopefully be a fantastic series in the future. Amanda Connor and Jimmy Palmiotti give us a comic that is similar to Harley Quinn yet still maintains it's own unique voice. Additionally, the talents of Emanuella Lupacchino are given a great showcase, highlighting the artist like never before. But beyond all that, the most important part of Starfire is that it reaches across demographics, for adult men and young girls. I was able to sit and read this book aloud with my very young sister and felt perfectly comfortable as she experienced her first comic book. For that, I'm thankful this book exists.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman: Lois Lane #1

Mar 4, 2014

Superman: Lois Lane is a great one-shot for one of DC's premier female characters. It balances fun with suspense and reminds readers that Lois Lane is not dependent on Superman for good stories. If anything, Lane is stronger for being on her own here, and the issue leaves enough threads for further development that I wouldn't mind an ongoing series for her. So long as DC lands Bennett on this monthly, I'll be all in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Fearless Defenders #12

Dec 9, 2013

Overall, this issue ends the series as it was every month. It's fairly done in one, yet it builds off of everything this book has done so far. Everything feels earned, and I am left wanting for what they would have done with more time. Fearless Defenders went unnoticed in a market that demanded books just like it, and I like to think that one day people will look back fondly on it for the start of a new era for many of the characters. Thank you Mr. Bunn and Mr. Sliney, as well as the rest of the team for such a wonderful book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The New 52: Futures End #1

May 13, 2014

Overall, The New 52: Futures End is not perfect but it's a solid start. Given time, this book could be incredibly impressive. Featuring great characters that you won't see elsewhere, it's a title with a lot of potential and the creative team to bring it to those heights. I'm on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Years of Future Past #1

Jun 5, 2015

Years of Future Past is a lot of fun, despite (and because of) it's dark themes and dystopian tropes. Bennett and Norton deliver a comic that is hard to put down, and well worth the price of admission. Though it is $4.99, you are getting a lot of story and a lot of depth, which is easily worth it. I am very excited to see where this story goes, as it appears that the future will enhance it's connection to the larger Secret Wars event. I have the utmost confidence that this will be one of the best tie-ins of the entire event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Young Avengers (2013) #9

Aug 30, 2013

Overall, the issue was a lot of fun and successfully planted the seeds of what is to come. By breaking up the team a bit and leading them in a new direction, I have genuine curiosity about what will happen next. Young Avengers is my favorite Marvel title being published right now, and it's reaffirmed every month by stellar material such as this. A solid 8.5 out of 10. Now give me the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More