Jared Wood's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: On Comics Ground Reviews: 27
7.9Avg. Review Rating

7.4
Doctor Strange (2018) #1

Jun 19, 2018

Mixing magic and science fiction is an idea with a lot of possibilities. While this first issue is mainly just a way of delivering exposition and getting Stephen out into space, it was still interesting enough that I'm certainly looking forward to seeing what comes next. Mark Waid has numerous options at his fingertips, so let's see if he can craft something worthwhile. I remain anxiously positive so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Doctor Strange (2018) #2

Jun 24, 2018

So far "Doctor Strange in space" continues to be a compelling idea. We're getting to see more unique ways of using magic, along with new alien worlds to be introduced to. Blending science fiction and fantasy doesn't always work but so far Doctor Strange is proving the status quo wrong. I look forward to seeing what's in store for the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Doctor Strange (2018) #3

Jul 8, 2018

This issue doesn't really make drastic leaps and bounds in the story but it's a short side-adventure that's still fun to read. The combat is engaging and the continued story-book style narration makes the issue a unique read. My only wish is that we get to see more unique usages of magic and less event related pop-ups. Overall the issue isn't groundbreaking but it's still the typical fun comic fare.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Immortal Hulk #1

Jun 9, 2018

Immortal Hulk has begun with very familiar territory, but still presented it in an interesting way. It's fun to see Hulk back taking on common thugs and criminals instead of giant climactic hero fights. Hulk initially was just a sort of monster anti-hero, so for this book to go back to his origins and delve deeper into that initial question of Man or Monster has me excited to see more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Immortal Hulk #2

Jul 6, 2018

Immortal Hulk continues it's horror-movie style very well in this issue, while at the same time sticking to Banner's roots as a wandering loner. These two elements combined with the superb artwork make this the most engaging Hulk comic I've read in quite awhile. I can't wait to see what's in store next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Immortal Hulk #3

Jul 23, 2018

Being only three issues in, this break from the norm was a somewhat startling change but it proved interesting enough to keep you engaged. Even just as a single Hulk tale I would say it's worth picking up as 95% of the story stands on it's own at any point in Hulk's history. I'm looking forward to seeing what's next from the Immortal Hulk team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Immortal Hulk #4

Aug 5, 2018

This issue provided a bit of character growth for both Walter and Bruce through their college flashbacks. Having the perspective shift from Bruce to Jackie and Walter is an interesting change. While this does mean that we get less action, the character development we receive in return helps to provide a stronger reason for caring about each individual. I hope the series does return to it's anthology style at some point, but until then I'm still curious to see where this story leads.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Incredible Hulk (2017) #712

Feb 5, 2018

Hulk is all about action, strength and managing the beasts within. This issue covers all of those criteria very well. The Hulk and Thor fight is an awesome moment in the character's legacy and I can't wait to see what's in store for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Incredible Hulk (2017) #713

Feb 26, 2018

In the end, Return to Planet Hulk was an enjoyable story, but it doesn't deserve the name it was given. The characters weren't nearly as memorable, the villain was a cardboard cut-out and it fails to live up to it's name. If it had a new setting and name it would have been a perfectly fine story, but in the end all it managed to do was hurt itself in the process. If you're new to Hulk you'll enjoy the story fine, but for readers like myself that know of the original, you'll probably be left feeling unsatisfied.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Incredible Hulk (2017) #714

Mar 25, 2018

Overall this is a fairly average Hulk story. Hulk gets mad and he smashes. As the beginning to a World War Hulk sequel it's slow but thankfully different enough from the original to warrant it's existence. I'm curious to see where things lead.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Incredible Hulk (2017) #715

May 5, 2018

As a sequel to World War Hulk this is shaping up to be an interesting story. Things don't seem to be having as major an impact on the greater Marvel universe as the last WWH, but with the set-up for the conflict being established I'm still looking forward to seeing where things lead. Greg Pak continues to prove that he knows how to handle the Hulk.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Incredible Hulk (2017) #716

May 14, 2018

World War Hulk 2 has been a fun ride so far. The action has been top notch, the conflict doesn't feel overly forced and I look forward to see how things wrap up. I would have been perfectly fine with another issue or two before the end to add more depth to the story, but at the same time I'm glad it's not being needlessly dragged along either. If you're coming into the series now it's not a great point to start off at, but I would certainly recommend picking up the other issues and catching up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Incredible Hulk (2017) #717

May 28, 2018

Following along with Amadeus through both these sequel stories has been a fun ride. There's been some bumps along the way but in the end Greg Pak delivered once again at telling an engaging, fun and surprisingly insightful Hulk tale. I hope he comes back to write Hulk again soon. I'm curious to see how the new Immortal Hulk title picks up the reigns. We'll have to wait and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Iron Fist (2017) #75

Dec 19, 2017

While this issue does have some fun fight sequences and builds more on the buddy cop idea between Creed and Danny, it is purely a bridge issue to reach the big end-goal of the fight for K'un-Lun. A necessary issue to follow along with the plot but doesn't stand out much on it's own.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Iron Fist (2017) #76

Jan 9, 2018

When you read an Iron Fist book, good action is to be expected. This issue delivers that in spades, but the book overall is still hampered by a lackluster bit of plot continuation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Iron Fist (2017) #77

Feb 17, 2018

I couldn't have imagined a better way to end this arc then what has been delivered here. Great action, killer moves and a good story. It's been a thrilling adventure from start to finish, with a few minor bumps along the way. I can't wait to see what the team has in store.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Iron Fist (2017) #78

Mar 25, 2018

I really don't like forced tie-in's. I just wish that if we're going to have to have tie-in issues, do one to help introduce the main story. A bit more explanation as to what the heck is going on is all that's needed to elevate this book to at least a "fine" story. Please let these tie-in's be over soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Iron Fist (2017) #79

Apr 10, 2018

This issue certainly isn't a ground-breaking read but it is an improvement over last issue. We've gotten into the midst of the action now and action is where Iron Fist always does it's best. The book ends on a good twist (which I won't spoil) and I'm moderately excited for what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Iron Fist (2017) #80

May 5, 2018

These Damnnation tie-in issues were a fun little side plot, but there wasn't much depth to keep me fully engaged. The action sequences were still enjoyable to look at and the plot was interesting enough to keep me coming back next issue. All in all it was a good detour but I hope the next arc has a bit more to keep me reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Monsters Unleashed (2017) #9

Dec 21, 2017

A fun, simple adventure that may not lead to deep thinking or strong emotions, but it's held up by good characters and enjoyable action. Any monster movie fan will get a kick out of this issue. Hopefully there's more one-on-one adventures yet to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Monsters Unleashed (2017) #10

Jan 22, 2018

Monsters Unleashed is a simple book, but that's part of it's charm. As a fan of big monster movies myself, this issue satisfies my love of monster brawls and goofy plots. There's nothing really deep under the surface of the book, but there's still enough heart behind Kei and his team to make you root for their adventures and keep reading along.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Monsters Unleashed (2017) #11

Feb 25, 2018

Monsters Unleashed continues to be a fun book for all ages. Kei and his team are developing well as characters and I do look forward to the next major arc in the story. I just wish that "all ages" included a bit more maturity and depth for older readers. I still recommend the book to anyone that enjoys wholesome fun and adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Monsters Unleashed (2017) #12

Mar 25, 2018

Another fun and silly read for Kei and the monster squad. The premise is simple and character development is rather weak, but in the end the comic is still a very fun read so I'm glad that it's still going. Hopefully the next arc will produce something a little grander in scale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Moon Knight (2017) #194

May 5, 2018

A truly fantastic issue that provides an interesting and engrossing backstory into Marc Spector's life, as well as touches upon an often overlooked part of human life. I cannot recommend it enough. If you're a fan of the character this is an essential story to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Moon Knight (2017) #195

May 28, 2018

A very creative and engaging art style helped to bring a typical monster of the week story to new heights with the start of this new arc. I still really enjoy the whole "mind" aspect of this book and I'm really looking forward to seeing where things go next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Moon Knight (2017) #196

Jul 1, 2018

An incredibly artistic and creative issue that I can't help but go back to and look at over and over again. Moon Knight is proving to be a very bizarre, yet unique read. I'm glad to see it earning it's own niche in today's superhero culture. I hope the next issue is just as creative.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Moon Knight (2017) #197

Jul 31, 2018

A very clear build-up issue for the next major story arc that, while providing some interesting backstories and a greater dive into Marc's psyche, doesn't do enough to have it stand on it's own as a great issue. Combined as part of a trade it would fit in well but I wouldn't recommend picking it up by itself outside of needing to keep track of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More