Jennifer DeRoss's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders, Geekery Magazine Reviews: 73
8.4Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Batgirl (2016) #15

Sep 27, 2017

This may not be everybody's cup of tea as it is not quite a superhero action story, nor is it a romance, but I think it rides the line between the two genres very well. More importantly, it is well written and illustrated. Obviously, any shippers of the two will want to pick up this issue as well as fans of either party. It might even make a shipper out of you like it did me. Four Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #41

Feb 21, 2018

Overall, this is a very good issue. The only real complaint I have is how short it feels. We get 21 pages, but it is almost all just a setting of the board where we are shown the scope and stakes, but don't get much of the actual story. That said, what could be told with what they have established in this issue could be huge. While there is a lot to love for any Batman fan, fans of Ivy will be especially glad to pick up this issue. Hello indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2016) #46

May 2, 2018

In the end, this will all be written out anyways. I understand that some people will want to read everything as we wait for the big wedding and there could very well be additional emotional resonances that could come from seeing the characters in such a different light, but we have the entire history of Batman comics to imbue the relationship with meaning. I recommend skipping this barely wedding-related Batman sidestep. There are some highlights including a mention of Blue Beetle sewing and a great nod to one of my favorite Batman movies, but there just isn't enough to make this a worthy entry into the Batman canon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bitch Planet: Triple Feature #2

Jul 20, 2017

All three stories bring something new to the universe that Kelly Sue DeConnick and Valentine De Landro have built and are well worth reading. If a "dystopian, feminist sci-fi take on exploitation genres that attempts to be both satirical and intersectional" isn't something that sounds appealing to you, nobody is making you pick up the book. It's that simple. But, if that does sound appealing, and you haven't picked up Bitch Planet yet, now is your time to do it. Now is the time to be non-compliant. Four Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bitch Planet: Triple Feature #4

Sep 20, 2017

This may not be the strongest set of stories put out in this series, but they are all important. I highly recommend this particular issue to male readers who may or may not be feminist not just because of the sports story, but because men are the focus in each story in interesting ways. This could be rather eye-opening for some. That is what is so great about this series. It takes what we see now and pushes on it just enough so that we can see it in a whole new light.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitch Planet: Triple Feature #5

Oct 18, 2017

Each issue of Bitch Planet works to highlight the issues that are otherwise not seen by enough people showing the way that fiction can help make these needed changes. The pen can indeed be mightier than the sword.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Magick #6

Jun 29, 2017

In the end, I would absolutely recommend picking this one up. For the newcomers,”Awakening II” provides a good taste for how the series typically feels as far as its art and pacing. It also provides some additional depth and much-needed back story for those who are already familiar with the series. There are no big plot twists and it doesn't make much of an impact on the story at large, but it is well worth the read. In the end, this feels like a very appropriate way to restart this series and I for one can't wait to see where the wheel takes us next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bombshells: United #1

Aug 30, 2017

This continues to be comic series that needs to exist. It speaks to right now, or any similar other time in our history and these people are doing it right. As expected, this particular issue has what established fans want, but it is a great series to start on if you haven't read any Bombshells before. More than anything, this new issue shows us, once again, that these girls are ready to keep throwing down for liber-er-ty!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bombshells: United #3

Oct 11, 2017

This issue takes big concepts and really explores them while making that struggle a heroic one. While not as strong as the original series, I still look forward to seeing where this might go and what the next arc will be. Hopefully, with a little more time, this series too will be brighter than the stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 11 #9

Jul 19, 2017

This probably won't bring in any new readers, but there are plenty of nuances to enjoy for those who are already fans of the series. In many ways, the issue promises a return to where it all started. Buffy the Vampire Slayer comics have not always lived up to the legacy of the show, but this issue provides a lot to be hopeful about. 4.5 Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
By Night #1

Jun 13, 2018

This is the kind of issue that just doesn't work all that well as a single, but it sets the stage well for the series and it will probably work perfectly in a collected volume. The last handful of pages are the only ones that really move the story forward because the character work needed to make me care about anything else is simply not there yet. This is not to say it was unenjoyable. It just needs a little more attention to details and a good polishing. I will definitely be looking for the next issue, but this one might end up being skippable as a single.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Come Into Me #2

May 3, 2018

We are at a time where people are obsessed with sharing their personal lives in ways that most people couldn't have thought possible even 10 years ago. Come Into Me taps into this drive in a very powerful way. If you like your science fiction to be firmly grounded in the present, this is the perfect series for you. Really, given how pressing the topics raised in this series are, this is a perfect read for just about anybody online reading this review.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #985

Jul 26, 2018

This issue captures so much of who Batman is and was. It speaks to many of the critiques that have been increasingly thrown at Batman and it looks like these will be further explored. If you are a long time Batman fan, this is the book for you. You certainly don't want to miss the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dungeons & Dragons: Frost Giant's Fury #1

Oct 25, 2017

Ultimately, this is a really enjoyable issue even if it isn't the most nuanced or unique. Itconveys the deep love the creators have for their work and this is the kind of fair that fans of the genre know and love too. There isn't anything hugely spectacular, but it is a fun ride that hits all the notes we have come expect. If this kind of stuff is what you love, chances are you will enjoy this too.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Elektra (2017) #5

Jul 4, 2017

In the end, if you want some fun summer reading, this is a great choice. For those of you who adore each of the Murderworlds as much as Arcade hopes, this is a must read.Three Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Elsewhere #1

Aug 4, 2017

Overall, this issue is a lot of fun and an interest in Amelia Earhart is not required. If you like female led adventure, science fiction, fantasy, or even mystery stories, you should give his series a chance. Goodness Gracious, Five Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Eternity Girl #1

Mar 15, 2018

Overall, this could be an amazing series. It has many important pieces working well together even if it isn't quite perfect as a whole. There is a little bit of back up information about Young Animal's second phase and a lot of background on Eternity Girl herself including a "Who's Who." While it would be better if they included that information at the beginning of the book, it still makes this accessible for any readers who missed the "Milk Wars" event. More than anything, this issue explores the real life struggle many go through and the creative team is willing to jump into these topics head first. Literally.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gideon Falls #1

Mar 8, 2018

This duo is firing on all cylinders. Jeffery Lemireexplains that the number of issues will depend on fan reaction, if you like what you are reading and you haven't picked it up yet, you might just do so. Given the fact that entire story is already planned out, it is a safe bet that the excellence here will continue. I know I am looking forward to seeing what horrors might be inside that dark old barn. Filled with creepy, religion, and the potential for literal evil, this is a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #39

Jan 17, 2018

Overall, the art is more than worth checking out and the writing has some solid moments too. That said, it is just another example of the artistic expression that stems from current events and it doesn't do enough to stand out from that canon.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gumballs #3

Aug 18, 2017

Gumballs continues to be an important and needed addition to the comic world and the world at large. This issue is a shining example of it. While the primary audience is the trans community, there is still a lot to enjoy for those who are fans of comic autobiography, are twin or a triplet, are a timid skater or any other category of human. Nations even works in an obligatory Voodoo Doughnut reference! Five Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley & Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica #1

Oct 5, 2017

Overall, this is an issue that I still did enjoy despite its problems. It introduces the crossover storyline and does so in a logical way and character driven way. It's far from perfect, but it does makeme want to pick up the next issue. And, in the end, that is what it was supposed to do. Fans of Archie will definitely want to check it out and so will Harley and Ivy shippers. It's not a party yet, but it is fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley & Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica #4

Jan 3, 2018

In the end, there isn't anything particularly deep or nuanced, but it is bright and fun. If you can ignore the problems and simply enjoy the ride, it is isn't all that bad. In short, this isn't as terrible as it could be. Just maybe Harley can hot wire it and turn it into something better before the series comes to an end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016): 25th Anniversary Special #1

Sep 13, 2017

Overall, this issue is a great way of celebrating the character in all her forms and shows what kinds of stories are possible with her. The pin-up art between the stories shows this diversity too with some amazing work from Bengal, Babs Tarr, and an image I literally want to put on my wall from Dustin Nguyen. I will admit that I went into this issue not expecting it to be successful because a lot of things people are doing with the character right now are just not enjoyable for me, but I was pleasantly surprised. I really encourage people to pick this one up and give it a chance. Especially if you think you hate Harley Quinn, because, for at least some of the stories in this issue, "Yes! She shoots, she scores!"

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Harley Quinn and Batman #1

Aug 4, 2017

Ultimately, many people are going to read this regardless because they are excited for the movie. If you are simply looking to feel a little nostalgia, this does have the potential to be enjoyable. Despite the fact that it would be a pretty terrible episode, it does invoke a sense of Batman: The Animated Series. A girl can only hope Harley Quinn gets better treatment in the movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hawkman (2018) #1

Jun 13, 2018

In sum, it might not quite live up to the high hopes of everyone as this was a very highly anticipated debut in some circles, but it is still a very good first issue that opens up the mythos in a new way. It is part adventure comic, part superhero, and all fun. We get a much more grounded take on the character while still packing in a couple of surprises and I, for one, look forward to seeing where Hawkman might fly off to next. He truly is Carter Hall. He truly is Hawkman.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Incognegro: Renaissance #4

May 23, 2018

This issue is both thematically dense and period appropriate all while being an entertaining read. Even though it does contain some of the same material as the last issue, it still brings new depth to the story as a whole and the moments that are repeated remain particularly important for the conversation started with this series. If you like your murder mystery stories to contain a fair amount of historically enlightening racial injustice, this is perfect for you. It will also appease anybody who likes classic noir. More than anything, it shows us exactly what it means to have the privileges we do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infamous Iron Man #10

Jul 27, 2017

Ultimately, this issue functions as a brief interlude from the action and gives the creators a chance to do a little more character building. This run already feels like the closest thing we have to a Fantastic Four series and that is only further cemented in the more intimate moments of this issue. As a whole, it shows that "Infamous Iron Man" has the potential to become a notable and important part of the mythos. Four Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
InferNoct #1

Aug 9, 2017

If you are looking for a modern comic with an old school horror feel to it, this is the comic for you. The pacing might be a bit too slow for some; however, it builds suspenseand sets things up nicely. It also ends in a way that should keep readers coming back for more regardless of how much actually happens in this introductory issue. It may not give readers a new reason to live, but this series seems quite ready to deliver on all its other promises. Five Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
InferNoct #2

Oct 10, 2017

I actually had a hard time reviewing this at first because I reacted so strongly to a couple of pages that I didn't want to go back and take a closer look. If that's not a sign of a good horror comic, I don't know what is. Any fans of Lovecraft or horror in general would love this book andI highly recommend checking it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Injustice 2 Annual #1

Nov 30, 2017

Wonder Woman is supposed to be a love leader who would rather educate and reform. This character is literally the opposite. She is intimidating, brutal, and lost in her devotion to Superman. There is nothing wrong with having a darker version of a character (likeEarth-Three's Super Woman), but this issue is literally overshadowedby Superman multiple times and is so heavily based on other popular versions of the character that it feels likethey were trying to force a concept instead of developing a unique character. If you are a reader who can put all that aside, then you might enjoy this issue quite a bit. The art is very well done at least. For people who understand why the original Wonder Woman was created, this issue only makes it clearer how much we still need her.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
InSEXts #13

Sep 14, 2017

This Victorian horror series about Lady Bertram and her maid/lover Mariah has been a much needed inclusion into the comic world and one that I feel every woman needs to read. On its most basic level, it is an interrogation of monstrosity through the lens of feminism. This is something that speaks to every woman who is more drawn to the femme fatal or the villainous vixen than the pious hero we were are expected to emulate. It makes an implicit urge explicit and makes it clear why that urge exists. Five stars do not appropriately encapsulate the praise this deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jessica Jones #11

Aug 3, 2017

In the end, the best parts of the issue only tangentially include Jessica Jones. Maria Hill really takes over and, while that is not terrible, it may not be what every reader was hoping for. That said, there is a lot to like and I think that the inclusion of "The Breakout!" was a refreshing experiment that paid off. If you love Maria Hill, or Silver Age Marvel, make sure you pick this one up. Four Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jessica Jones #15

Dec 28, 2017

Regardless of how you came to this series, or this character, you do not want to miss out on this arc. This issue sets the stage for something huge and does it in a way that really highlights what these characters are capable of along with the histories they have with one another. We are getting a chance to seeall of them go.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #3

Jul 4, 2018

Generally speaking, people know what they are going to get when they pick up a Justice League book: lots of superheroes that battle enemies on a large scale. This has been true since their creation. Because it is so long-running, this formula can sometimes feel tired or simply not as exciting. This issue counters that and continues to prove that this run is a must read as it returns the Justice League to its roots and then goes back even further.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kim Reaper #4

Jul 12, 2017

The main issue is that, while there is nothing wrong with anything that Graley is doing, it doesn't strike me as all that different from a lot of stuff out there already. That said, the issue is smart, fun, and cute. It is especially nice to see the relationship between the girls being explicitly developed instead of subtextually. I am not going to spoil anything, but, if you ship the couple at all, don't miss out on this issue. Overall, there is a lot of potential here and the series is well worth keeping an eye on. Four stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Koshchei the Deathless #2

Feb 7, 2018

Fans of Hellboy will want to check this out because it fleshes out another corner of the Mignolaverse. Those interested in folklore might also find this a fun little tale. It is brutal in the best way sometimes, but it is always gorgeous. This is a miniseries that is more than worth pulling upa chair for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lazarus: X+66 #3

Sep 29, 2017

With all the buzz about Lazarus, this miniseries is a good time to try it out as each story stands alone. This particular issue may not make a fan out of you, but there is a lot for thepreviously established fans to appreciate. Works like these are important in a time like this and I can't think of anything better to end this review on than Greg Rucka's own words: "Resist. Rise. Be Free."

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Legend Of Korra: Turf Wars #1

Jul 31, 2017

Compared to other adaptations, this is remarkably well done. The characters look slightly different, but they are clearly still recognizable as are the situations they are all in. It also sets the board quite nicely for future issues making it superb for an introductory issue. If you are a fan of the show at all, this is a must read. There was a moment I laughed out loud and a few where I had tears in my eyes. Legend ofKorra really is back. Five Stars!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Long Lost #1

Sep 13, 2017

Despite the fact that the first issue of Long Lost lacks some much needed exposition of some kind, it does build very good suspense. It is also throughly immersive and emotionally resonating. If you are looking for a story that is gruesome yet beautiful, I recommend giving this a try. There is a good chance that this will be a hauntingly rewarding read once we have the full story. Four Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Long Lost #2

Dec 14, 2017

The issue may not give us a whole lot of information or scares, but it does flesh out what we know about the sisters making what might happen to them more impactful for the reader. This makes it important to the story as a whole even if the individual issue is not the most exciting. Slowly but surely, this series proves that it has the potential to be great. Beware the woods indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Long Lost #3

Jan 18, 2018

All in all, this is a series that has shown a lot of promise from the start, but it took awhile for it to feel like it was all coming together. This is not a bad thing. In fact, I think the choice to start out with slower world building issues will be one of the strengths of the story as a whole. If you have been waiting to give this series a try, now is your time to get caught up. It seems certain that the gore will be ripening soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Long Lost #5

Mar 20, 2018

As always, this issue is more than worth picking up for the art, but the story too is deepening. If you have been holding off on reading this series, this is the issue to start with. If you have been reading it already, this is the one you have been waiting for. We are very much crossing over into a new stage in this very creepy story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Long Lost #6

Apr 26, 2018

Right from the start, I was in love with this issue. The first panel we see is simply an image of the woods with an ominous figure silhouetted in the distance. The depth brought out of this single image is a tribute to the work the creators have done. This issue marks a literal return, in both location and characters, where the readers are rewarded for following the storyline thus far. It is an issue you can't miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Long Lost Vol.2 #1

Jul 12, 2018

Even if you missed out on volume one, there is still time to start reading this great series beginning with this issue. The last page will definitelyleave you not so patiently waiting for the next issue in this new chapter. There are sure to be a lot more great waves of horror coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lucy Dreaming #1

Mar 21, 2018

One of the beautiful things about coming-of-age fantasy stories is the fact that they are so relatable to everyone. Whether you are a geeky high schooler or a full-grown adult, we all know what it is like to be going through that process and this issue does a wonderful job of playing on what that is like while also adding something new and exciting to the mix. I for one can't wait to see what worlds Lucy might wake up in next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mata Hari (2018) #1

Jan 24, 2018

In the end, this sets up the storyline well, which is what a first issue should do, but it doesn't grab me as much as I hoped it would and this is mainly due to the time jumps. Still, this is a very timely and powerful story. The final page invokes our post Weinstein climate in relation to the story as the powerless of women is a key part of Mata Hari's story as well. Indeed, it is a part of every woman's life. It will be interesting to see how much this proves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Milk Wars: Shade The Changing Girl/Wonder Woman #1

Feb 15, 2018

If you can make it through the problems in the main story, this really is a delightfully trippy and well done issue. The visuals are on point and the pacing is perfect. This is fantastic in the best possible ways and it really does try to make a strong statement about women being more than what some may think. This is especially pertinent in the era they are invoking. In the time we are now, we would do well to remember that there is a little bit of Wonder Woman in every woman too. Even in the housewives who love their appliances.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Moonshine #12

Jul 25, 2018

Overall, this left me wanting a bit more, but it was still a satisfying read. If you are looking for a story with a strong focus on atmosphere, this issue might just be your cup of tea. It might not be for everybody, but there is still a lot to enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mother Panic: Gotham A.D. #1

Mar 28, 2018

Overall, this was quite an enjoyable entry into the Batverse that brings a breath of air even if it isn't the freshest. If you are looking for a "Different bat time, different bat channel," this is perfect for you. There is so much potential here and I have a feeling that the series will eventually deliver something great.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #21

Aug 15, 2017

In the end, there is a lot to love in this issue, but it would not be new reader friendly. First of all, the recap is a hard to read. The color matches the background far too closely and the letters needed to be farther apart with the font size being that small. And second, even though it is a smaller run, so much has happened to build to this point and that background information is important to the story as a whole. That said, I highly recommend picking up the whole run. The only way we are going to get through this is to work together like a family and Mis. Marvel provides a template for doing just that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mystik U #2

Feb 1, 2018

Overall, this very serious lack of enthusiastic consent drags down an issue that would otherwise be excellent. Fans of Zatanna, or even just fans of the magical side of DC will want to pick it up regardless. These kids have a lot to learn and it should be fun watching them continue to embrace their differences and battle the big bad together at the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Persephone OGN #1

May 16, 2018

Persephone is a story for anyone who has struggled to find their place. It is expansive and deep, while also being intimate and emotionally driven. If you love Miyazaki films, modern retellings of classic tales, or urban based fantasy, this is something you don't want to miss out on. It is a story that is especially apt today where our society just might need a reminder that sympathy is the best way to grow a better world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rasputin: The Voice of the Dragon #2

Dec 6, 2017

This series is an occult mystery tale more than anything else and it is a good one at that. If you are a Hellboy fan, this is must read material. It would also be enjoyable for anybody who likes World War II history with an emphasis on the Nazis' obsession with the supernatural. The only real complaint that I can think of is that fans of Rasputin might be expecting a whole lot more than what they are getting. That said, this is a very well-balanced and paced issue that sets the board well for the next one. This series is very, as Bruttenholm would say, promising and this issue proves that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rat Queens (2017) #4

Jul 5, 2017

If there were any doubts about thesecond volume, this issue assuage's them. It has everything that makes this series notable. And again, if you haven't taken a chance on it yet, this is a very good place to try it out. Son of a kitten it's a good issue! Five Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Silver Surfer (2016) #13

Aug 18, 2017

After the last issue's focus on death and mourning, this issue relflects on living a full life and embracing love. There is so much that I wish I could talk about, but I don't want to ruin anything more than I have to. Go out and read it. Trust me. It is a beautiful piece of art that can be enjoyed all on its own or within the larger story line. Five Stars!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars Adventures #4

Nov 29, 2017

Overall, this issue is a love letter to the universe with a special emphasis on the original series. It looks at both the impacts of bigger heroics and smaller heroics in a way that inspires, which is what Joseph Campbell argues a story should do. Even if you haven't enjoyed the other issues of Star Wars Adventures, this issue is more than worth a read. It might just remind you why these stories are so important.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Steven Universe (2017) #7

Aug 31, 2017

This isn't the greatest adaptation for sure, but it is an enjoyable romp set in the Steven Universe world and with its main characters. That said, it does feel like the series, and this issue within it, might more targeted to a youthful audience than an adult one with its focus on single story adventures over a narrative arch. This is a shame because children like this show for is complexity just as much as adults to, but, as we all know, if every pork chop were perfect"

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Steven Universe (2017) #16

May 16, 2018

This book has all of the essentials that it needs. I did not dislike anything. The art is beautiful because its frickin' Steven Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans Go! #25

Dec 20, 2017

While holiday themed issues can be hit or miss, this was surprisingly enjoyable. Itis the perfect issue for anybody who enjoys the Teen Titans Go holiday themed episodes. You will definitely want to pick it up if Beast Boy is your favorite character. It has just the right amount of "Ha Ha Ha" and "Ho Ho Ho."

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
The Beauty #19

Jan 31, 2018

If you are a reader who is wanting to see Beauty treated like the disease it is, then this is the arc for you and this issue gives us a good glimpse of what this perspective might bring. It also has a pregnant black woman as a main protagonist, which is delightful to see as we get too little of all of those things.This individual issue may not have the bang of the first, butI look forward to seeing how this game plan plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Demon: Hell is Earth #1

Nov 22, 2017

This issue is everything I wanted it to be. It balances the scary and the funny quite well while at the same time as creating some real emotional depth and intrigue. It might be a little confusing depending on how familiar one is with the character, but it seems pretty self-explanatory. It is also rewarding for fans with its mention of Camelot, Gotham, and Los Angeles showing that this story is going to be cumulative. The Demon certainly has arisen and I cant wait for whats next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Mainstream #1

May 17, 2018

All in all, this lives up to the buzz for a very select audience. If you are a fan of 90s science fiction shows like Stargate and Sliders, this is much more likely to hit the spot. That said, I am a huge fan of the whole kinda terrible but oh so good aesthetic of those shows and still found this lacking. It really just makes me want to watch Charlie Jade again. We get all the familiar tropes, but it doesn't add anything new aside from what is uniquely possible within the comic form itself. In the end, this stream is just a little too main.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Mainstream #2

May 31, 2018

If you are on the fence regarding this series, this issue is a good one to pick up. It gives the reader a much clearerlook at the game board and all the players involved. It is still very Charlie Jade, but the series feels more like an inspiration point instead of a retelling and this is important. I hope that the future issues will continue on this more unique path.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unstoppable Wasp #7

Jul 6, 2017

While this issue may not be the most exciting thing you read, it should be read. More than that, it should be given to every little girl and boy because consistently exposing our children to the types of representations seen in this issue has the potential to truly change our culture for the better. 4.5 Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Wonderful World of Tank Girl #2

Dec 21, 2017

Tank Girl proves over and over again that one cannot predict where she might go and this nonconformity applies to even her own mise-en-scne. The more high-class this group appears in this issue, the more the low-class jokes land. Sometimes, it is indeed important to embrace stupidity and just run with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Transformers: Lost Light #19

Jul 4, 2018

Overall, this is a really fun and action-packed read. The issue touches back on several previous plot points, even referring back to the recapping, making it a perfect entry point for new readers who have been wanting to give the series a try. With the astounding visuals, you certainly won't be underwhelmed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Twisted Romance #4

Feb 28, 2018

This is one of those times where a single story in an anthology series makes the whole issue worth buying. The other stories may not be particularly notable, but the main feature is simply glorious in every way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Unbelievable Gwenpool #23

Dec 7, 2017

As complex as this issue is, it doesn't take a lot of background on Gwenpool herself to understand it making this a perfect issue for any curious about the character to check out. Long standing fans are sure to love it. We get to see her both at her strongest and her weakest. Comics certainly are a journey and I hope hers is far from over.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Vampirella (2017) #1

Dec 27, 2017

Overall, these five issues form a rough start to a series that becomes quite good. If you really want the full story of how this version of the character became this version of the character, pick it up. At the same time, readers could just skip it and start with the better and gayer storyline that directly follows it. Of course, this is a character who has many die-hard fans and I am sure they can find moments to enjoy regardless. Even if you don't like it as a whole, there are still some great lines that are quite fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
War Mother #3

Oct 19, 2017

If you are not a fan of the 4001 AD, there may not be much here for you, but this issue made me care about the characters more than I did before. It is not perfect, but the last issue's overall motif of motherhood is complicated and that is something that this mini-series needed. Of course, established fans will not want to miss it. We truly are on the edge of the journey's end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Weird Love #21

Nov 22, 2017

While nothing is new in this comic series, it contains seven reprints from publishers such as the loosely DC affiliated ACG and Vin Sullivan's ME making them very worth picking up for fans of that era of comic's history. One does not have to be a fan to enjoy the stories though as the experience of feeling alone and the fear of being seen as a freak are things that many people can relate to. Regardless of your starting point going into this collection, there certainly is a lot to dig.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #10

Aug 29, 2017

Overall, this issue is not the most exciting or ground breaking, but it should still prove to be enjoyable for old fans and new fans alike. More than anything, this makes me want to read the next issue and that is what a comic should do. By Lenin's Ghost, this should continue to be an exemplary run. Four stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Young Monsters in Love #1

Feb 8, 2018

More than just tradition Valentines Day love stories, this issue featuresso much more. Despite the collection being unnecessarily hetero dominant, many stories do not even feature romantic pairings making this less of an issue. In several of the stories, there is a strong emphasis on self-love, acceptance, and respect for those we live our lives with. Regardless of relationship status or lack there of, you have love in your life and this issue conveys that beautifully. It will pull at your heartstrings in just the right ways.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More