Jennifer DeRoss's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders, Geekery Magazine Reviews: 31
8.5Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Batgirl (2016) #15

Sep 27, 2017

This may not be everybody's cup of tea as it is not quite a superhero action story, nor is it a romance, but I think it rides the line between the two genres very well. More importantly, it is well written and illustrated. Obviously, any shippers of the two will want to pick up this issue as well as fans of either party. It might even make a shipper out of you like it did me. Four Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bitch Planet: Triple Feature #2

Jul 20, 2017

All three stories bring something new to the universe that Kelly Sue DeConnick and Valentine De Landro have built and are well worth reading. If a "dystopian, feminist sci-fi take on exploitation genres that attempts to be both satirical and intersectional" isn't something that sounds appealing to you, nobody is making you pick up the book. It's that simple. But, if that does sound appealing, and you haven't picked up Bitch Planet yet, now is your time to do it. Now is the time to be non-compliant. Four Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bitch Planet: Triple Feature #4

Sep 20, 2017

This may not be the strongest set of stories put out in this series, but they are all important. I highly recommend this particular issue to male readers who may or may not be feminist not just because of the sports story, but because men are the focus in each story in interesting ways. This could be rather eye-opening for some. That is what is so great about this series. It takes what we see now and pushes on it just enough so that we can see it in a whole new light.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitch Planet: Triple Feature #5

Oct 18, 2017

Each issue of Bitch Planet works to highlight the issues that are otherwise not seen by enough people showing the way that fiction can help make these needed changes. The pen can indeed be mightier than the sword.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Magick #6

Jun 29, 2017

In the end, I would absolutely recommend picking this one up. For the newcomers,”Awakening II” provides a good taste for how the series typically feels as far as its art and pacing. It also provides some additional depth and much-needed back story for those who are already familiar with the series. There are no big plot twists and it doesn't make much of an impact on the story at large, but it is well worth the read. In the end, this feels like a very appropriate way to restart this series and I for one can't wait to see where the wheel takes us next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bombshells: United #1

Aug 30, 2017

This continues to be comic series that needs to exist. It speaks to right now, or any similar other time in our history and these people are doing it right. As expected, this particular issue has what established fans want, but it is a great series to start on if you haven't read any Bombshells before. More than anything, this new issue shows us, once again, that these girls are ready to keep throwing down for liber-er-ty!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bombshells: United #3

Oct 11, 2017

This issue takes big concepts and really explores them while making that struggle a heroic one. While not as strong as the original series, I still look forward to seeing where this might go and what the next arc will be. Hopefully, with a little more time, this series too will be brighter than the stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 11 #9

Jul 19, 2017

This probably won't bring in any new readers, but there are plenty of nuances to enjoy for those who are already fans of the series. In many ways, the issue promises a return to where it all started. Buffy the Vampire Slayer comics have not always lived up to the legacy of the show, but this issue provides a lot to be hopeful about. 4.5 Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Elektra (2017) #5

Jul 4, 2017

In the end, if you want some fun summer reading, this is a great choice. For those of you who adore each of the Murderworlds as much as Arcade hopes, this is a must read.Three Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Elsewhere #1

Aug 4, 2017

Overall, this issue is a lot of fun and an interest in Amelia Earhart is not required. If you like female led adventure, science fiction, fantasy, or even mystery stories, you should give his series a chance. Goodness Gracious, Five Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gumballs #3

Aug 18, 2017

Gumballs continues to be an important and needed addition to the comic world and the world at large. This issue is a shining example of it. While the primary audience is the trans community, there is still a lot to enjoy for those who are fans of comic autobiography, are twin or a triplet, are a timid skater or any other category of human. Nations even works in an obligatory Voodoo Doughnut reference! Five Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley & Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica #1

Oct 5, 2017

Overall, this is an issue that I still did enjoy despite its problems. It introduces the crossover storyline and does so in a logical way and character driven way. It's far from perfect, but it does makeme want to pick up the next issue. And, in the end, that is what it was supposed to do. Fans of Archie will definitely want to check it out and so will Harley and Ivy shippers. It's not a party yet, but it is fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016): 25th Anniversary Special #1

Sep 13, 2017

Overall, this issue is a great way of celebrating the character in all her forms and shows what kinds of stories are possible with her. The pin-up art between the stories shows this diversity too with some amazing work from Bengal, Babs Tarr, and an image I literally want to put on my wall from Dustin Nguyen. I will admit that I went into this issue not expecting it to be successful because a lot of things people are doing with the character right now are just not enjoyable for me, but I was pleasantly surprised. I really encourage people to pick this one up and give it a chance. Especially if you think you hate Harley Quinn, because, for at least some of the stories in this issue, "Yes! She shoots, she scores!"

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Harley Quinn and Batman #1

Aug 4, 2017

Ultimately, many people are going to read this regardless because they are excited for the movie. If you are simply looking to feel a little nostalgia, this does have the potential to be enjoyable. Despite the fact that it would be a pretty terrible episode, it does invoke a sense of Batman: The Animated Series. A girl can only hope Harley Quinn gets better treatment in the movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infamous Iron Man #10

Jul 27, 2017

Ultimately, this issue functions as a brief interlude from the action and gives the creators a chance to do a little more character building. This run already feels like the closest thing we have to a Fantastic Four series and that is only further cemented in the more intimate moments of this issue. As a whole, it shows that "Infamous Iron Man" has the potential to become a notable and important part of the mythos. Four Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
InferNoct #1

Aug 9, 2017

If you are looking for a modern comic with an old school horror feel to it, this is the comic for you. The pacing might be a bit too slow for some; however, it builds suspenseand sets things up nicely. It also ends in a way that should keep readers coming back for more regardless of how much actually happens in this introductory issue. It may not give readers a new reason to live, but this series seems quite ready to deliver on all its other promises. Five Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
InferNoct #2

Oct 10, 2017

I actually had a hard time reviewing this at first because I reacted so strongly to a couple of pages that I didn't want to go back and take a closer look. If that's not a sign of a good horror comic, I don't know what is. Any fans of Lovecraft or horror in general would love this book andI highly recommend checking it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
InSEXts #13

Sep 14, 2017

This Victorian horror series about Lady Bertram and her maid/lover Mariah has been a much needed inclusion into the comic world and one that I feel every woman needs to read. On its most basic level, it is an interrogation of monstrosity through the lens of feminism. This is something that speaks to every woman who is more drawn to the femme fatal or the villainous vixen than the pious hero we were are expected to emulate. It makes an implicit urge explicit and makes it clear why that urge exists. Five stars do not appropriately encapsulate the praise this deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jessica Jones #11

Aug 3, 2017

In the end, the best parts of the issue only tangentially include Jessica Jones. Maria Hill really takes over and, while that is not terrible, it may not be what every reader was hoping for. That said, there is a lot to like and I think that the inclusion of "The Breakout!" was a refreshing experiment that paid off. If you love Maria Hill, or Silver Age Marvel, make sure you pick this one up. Four Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kim Reaper #4

Jul 12, 2017

The main issue is that, while there is nothing wrong with anything that Graley is doing, it doesn't strike me as all that different from a lot of stuff out there already. That said, the issue is smart, fun, and cute. It is especially nice to see the relationship between the girls being explicitly developed instead of subtextually. I am not going to spoil anything, but, if you ship the couple at all, don't miss out on this issue. Overall, there is a lot of potential here and the series is well worth keeping an eye on. Four stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lazarus: X+66 #3

Sep 29, 2017

With all the buzz about Lazarus, this miniseries is a good time to try it out as each story stands alone. This particular issue may not make a fan out of you, but there is a lot for thepreviously established fans to appreciate. Works like these are important in a time like this and I can't think of anything better to end this review on than Greg Rucka's own words: "Resist. Rise. Be Free."

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Legend Of Korra: Turf Wars #1

Jul 31, 2017

Compared to other adaptations, this is remarkably well done. The characters look slightly different, but they are clearly still recognizable as are the situations they are all in. It also sets the board quite nicely for future issues making it superb for an introductory issue. If you are a fan of the show at all, this is a must read. There was a moment I laughed out loud and a few where I had tears in my eyes. Legend ofKorra really is back. Five Stars!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Long Lost #1

Sep 13, 2017

Despite the fact that the first issue of Long Lost lacks some much needed exposition of some kind, it does build very good suspense. It is also throughly immersive and emotionally resonating. If you are looking for a story that is gruesome yet beautiful, I recommend giving this a try. There is a good chance that this will be a hauntingly rewarding read once we have the full story. Four Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #21

Aug 15, 2017

In the end, there is a lot to love in this issue, but it would not be new reader friendly. First of all, the recap is a hard to read. The color matches the background far too closely and the letters needed to be farther apart with the font size being that small. And second, even though it is a smaller run, so much has happened to build to this point and that background information is important to the story as a whole. That said, I highly recommend picking up the whole run. The only way we are going to get through this is to work together like a family and Mis. Marvel provides a template for doing just that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mycroft Holmes: The Apocalypse Handbook #1

Sep 21, 2017

This is a funny and fun novel that puts Sherlocks "smarter cleverer brother" in the spotlight too much success. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar expressed concerns about doing Mycroft justice and, in my opinion, he can put those concerns to rest. If you were waiting for a complete story to pick this one up, now is your time and I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rat Queens (2017) #4

Jul 5, 2017

If there were any doubts about thesecond volume, this issue assuage's them. It has everything that makes this series notable. And again, if you haven't taken a chance on it yet, this is a very good place to try it out. Son of a kitten it's a good issue! Five Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Silver Surfer (2016) #13

Aug 18, 2017

After the last issue's focus on death and mourning, this issue relflects on living a full life and embracing love. There is so much that I wish I could talk about, but I don't want to ruin anything more than I have to. Go out and read it. Trust me. It is a beautiful piece of art that can be enjoyed all on its own or within the larger story line. Five Stars!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Steven Universe (2017) #7

Aug 31, 2017

This isn't the greatest adaptation for sure, but it is an enjoyable romp set in the Steven Universe world and with its main characters. That said, it does feel like the series, and this issue within it, might more targeted to a youthful audience than an adult one with its focus on single story adventures over a narrative arch. This is a shame because children like this show for is complexity just as much as adults to, but, as we all know, if every pork chop were perfect"

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unstoppable Wasp #7

Jul 6, 2017

While this issue may not be the most exciting thing you read, it should be read. More than that, it should be given to every little girl and boy because consistently exposing our children to the types of representations seen in this issue has the potential to truly change our culture for the better. 4.5 Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
War Mother #3

Oct 19, 2017

If you are not a fan of the 4001 AD, there may not be much here for you, but this issue made me care about the characters more than I did before. It is not perfect, but the last issue's overall motif of motherhood is complicated and that is something that this mini-series needed. Of course, established fans will not want to miss it. We truly are on the edge of the journey's end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #10

Aug 29, 2017

Overall, this issue is not the most exciting or ground breaking, but it should still prove to be enjoyable for old fans and new fans alike. More than anything, this makes me want to read the next issue and that is what a comic should do. By Lenin's Ghost, this should continue to be an exemplary run. Four stars!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More