Unbelievable Gwenpool #23

Writer: Christopher Hastings Artist: Irene Strychalsk Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: December 6, 2017 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 7
8.0Critic Rating
8.9User Rating

DOOM SEES YOU Part 3
•  The Unbelievable Gwenpool vs. the mighty Doctor Doom, at last!
•  And only one of them makes it out in one piece...
Rated T+

  • 8.0
    Comic Crusaders - Jennifer DeRoss Dec 7, 2017

    As complex as this issue is, it doesn't take a lot of background on Gwenpool herself to understand it making this a perfect issue for any curious about the character to check out. Long standing fans are sure to love it. We get to see her both at her strongest and her weakest. Comics certainly are a journey and I hope hers is far from over. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Monkeys Fighting Robots - Brandon J. Griffin Dec 10, 2017

    Gwenpool is a blast every issue. It's one of the best comedy series around right now. Don't write this comic off, it packs a lot more than one-note knockoffs of the past. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Herushalaim Dec 11, 2017

    I love this issue and this series. This is meta done right!

  • 10
    Steve C Dec 29, 2017

    In my opinion, this is the best comic book that people aren’t reading. I’m so upset that it’s being canceled. This book came to me because I pre-ordered all of the Marvel Legacy lenticular covers from my local comic shop, and the issue of Unbelievable Gwenpool was the one I liked most. It’s such an entertaining read - issue after issue - and I hope Marvel keeps the character around after this book’s cancellation. It’s truly wonderful.

  • 8.0
    Rick Jonez Dec 9, 2017

    It continues to have metatextual charm and the threat of cancellation IRL makes for unique storytelling opps. IMO, this sort of did a disservice to the complex situation of Infamous Doom's current 'good guy' status quo - although it did play well paralleling Gwen's decision about going full out bad girl.

  • 8.0
    Troy Jan 24, 2018

    RIP You will be missed. o7

  • 8.0
    CrazyforRAMU Jun 18, 2018

    Gwen's attempt to kill Dr. Doom fails, of course. If she had paid closer attention, she would seen this problem coming three issues ago when her evil future self was unable to kill Spider-Man. It's an entertaining fight, though, and it segues smoothly into an interesting meta-moral discussion with the Infamous Iron Doom. I think Christopher Hastings's script stopped a bit short of sticking the landing. Irene Strychalski's art is also short of its maximum potential; her designs for both versions of Doom and for Gwen unmasked all look a little off.

  • 10
    StanielK Jan 1, 2018

  • 8.5
    iPodwithnomusic Jun 28, 2018

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More