John Hagmann's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Dark Knight News Reviews: 84
7.7Avg. Review Rating

6.5
Batman '66 #24

Jul 23, 2015

1966 Batman purists will no doubt be concerned with expansion outside television canon. Expansion within the Batman '66 comic series, however, was inevitable. In three seasons, television's Batman only faced 33 villains. Expansion into Batman's rogues gallery is how Batman '66 can evolve " and that's a good thing. Digital readers know we will be seeing more rogues given the Batman '66 treatment soon. I believe this will enhance and enlarge interest in this series and thus keep the style and sensibilities of the 1960's Batman alive.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batman '66 #26

Aug 28, 2015

Overall, Batman '66 #26 was surprisingly disappointing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman '66 #27

Sep 24, 2015

Sadly, Batman '66 #27 starts the countdown to issue #30, recently announced to be the series' last. I will miss this lighthearted and nostalgic version of the Caped Crusader, with its fun gadgets and over-the-top writing style. Hopefully, for 1960s Batman fans and younger readers, future "one-shot" episodes (Man from U.N.C.L.E., etc) and special editions willcome along in time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman '66 #28

Oct 29, 2015

Much like the final season of the classic television series, this issue seems overly simplistic. No cliffhangers, few creative devices, and the villains fall far too quickly without placing our heroes in peril. The writing wains a bit due to its brevity. As Batman '66 moves toward its final curtain, the series feel like it's grasping " introducing new villains at the expense of telling great stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman '66 #29

Nov 19, 2015

Batman '66 says farewell in issue #30, so check back for our review next month!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman '66 #30

Dec 18, 2015

Batman '66 had its share of brilliant issues, along with some lackluster. However, it was always fun. Batman '66was a colorful series suitable for almost all ages. This issue is a wonderfully fitting end to a fun-filled series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #28

Jan 14, 2016

As a new Batman/Superman reader, this was an excellent first introduction to the title. Although it is a throwback story, set prior to the up-til-now Batman/Superman continuity, the compelling storytelling, known villains, surprising twists, a sweeping plot and grand settings lure this reader toward wanting more. The art is great in some spots and not-so-great in others. However, the good far outweighs the bad in Batman/Superman #28.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #29

Feb 10, 2016

Batman/Superman #29 shines in all the right places. Writing and plot, art and action all come together for one of the best comics I've read and reviewed in quite some time. This one is all-around awesome, and well worth the attention of DC readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #30

Mar 9, 2016

Batman/Superman #30 wraps the three-part story in brilliant fashion. Its twists and turns, beautifully rendered art, and depth of character development shine through. I, for one, cannot wait to see what the next arch brings for this dynamic title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #31

Apr 16, 2016

Batman/Superman #31 is a good read that would have been enhanced if given a heads-up in the previous issue. I can only assume reading Part 1 would alleviate some of the plot gaps regular readers might experience. Having Superman deal with cancer is poignant on many levels. Most Americans can relate to courageous struggles malignant cells " either themselves or vicariously through someone the know and love. May this story bring hope!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #32

May 7, 2016

If one follows the "Final Days of Superman" cross-over, Part 5 may be incredibly important. To readers who follow the Batman/Superman title, it is difficult to follow. On its own, Batman/Superman #32 looks good, reads well, and contains incredible action. As part of the Batman/Superman continuity, it is incredibly difficult to read with any understanding

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Super Sons/Dynomutt Special #1

May 30, 2018

Tomasi weaves an incredibly poignant and heartfelt tale in this issue. Surprisingly, without previous knowledge or interest in these characters, I found myself intrigued. The classic story of man and dog " now with a modern, mechanical twist " held my attention and tugged my heartstrings. Tomasi's narrative had a rhythmic fluidity to it and the art was fantastic. This issue was enjoyable in every way. For certain, I would never have cracked the spine of this comic had it not been assigned to me. And, what a shame. I would have missed out on a solid, stand-alone tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #43

Jun 7, 2018

Harley said it best, "Ya want the good crazy? Well, this is the ugly crazy that comes with it." Harley Quinn #43 was a bit of the bad crazy. It was a mess. But, the mess was endearing in ways, just like its titular character. Here's hoping the next issue brings more of the good crazy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #45

Jul 4, 2018

Overall, Harley Quinn #45 was an enjoyable issue. The new creative team pulled together a compelling story without limiting all the fun and fury Harley's character has to offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #46

Jul 18, 2018

Harley Quinn #46 was a wild, non-stop ride. Admittedly, I prefer more grounded tales and this story was anything but. Still, the setting didn't stop Humphries and company from adding layers of depth to its titular character. Artistically, the issue was filled with splash pages and action. Yet, it still conveyed a delicate beauty. For my taste, the issue suffered from a lack of breathability. However, it was enjoyable and moved the narrative to an interesting place. I'm intrigued to see where this one goes next!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #47

Aug 1, 2018

The writing was witty and whimsical while still conveying a sense of importance. Harley seemed to develop a sense of self and a path forward. Additionally, Humphries presents moral dilemmas well despite far-fetched scenarios.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #1

Jul 21, 2016

Justice League #1 was thoroughly enjoyable. As a first issue, it set the stage well for a large, sweeping narrative and a seemingly impossible-to-defeat enemy that requires an incredible response from the heroes in the League. While the proof of the quality of this story arch will be in upcoming issues, Justice League #1 is an attention-worthy launching point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #2

Aug 4, 2016

I really enjoyed this issue, and have a peaked interest in what Hitch and company comes up with next!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #3

Aug 18, 2016

This reader was engrossed in the story of Justice League #3. I was left with an eager anticipation of subsequent issues and resolution to the story arch. Justice League #3 is a wonderful stand alone issue that I believe will have center-piece significance in an eventual collected volume.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #4

Sep 7, 2016

In Justice League #4, I found myself yearning for resolution; a glimpse of daylight in this currently dark, chaotic story. These past few issues have been a roller coaster ride " a good one at that! However, I am anxious to see some sort of "win" for the heroes. Still, there is much more Justice League ahead " and I cannot wait to see how this story unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #5

Sep 21, 2016

“Extinction Machines” was an interesting story arch. Initially, I found myself disappointed itdidn't wrap the story lines in a nice, neat bow. On reflection, however, its grand scope and loose ends leads me to believe “Extinction Machines” sets up a larger narrative that will play out acrossthe pages of future issues of Justice League. Each character had a role to play and readers saw development in characters – Jessica Cruz, in particular. This was an epic story that kicked off the next era of Justice League extremely well. I am a fan of this creative combination of Bryan Hitch and Tony Daniels, and can't wait to see what tiesare woven from this story to the next in upcoming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #6

Oct 5, 2016

Overall, I enjoyed "State of Fear," Part 1 and look forward to seeing the further impact of this mysterious foe on the team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #7

Oct 19, 2016

So, what happens when the people with the power to change worlds are governed by their fears?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #8

Nov 4, 2016

Justice League #8 gets a new storyline off to a good start. The cinematic panels and plot devices work well. What happens if the League isturned on itself? How will they fight off an unseen enemy? I look forward to seeing how the storyline moves and fits into Hitch's newly established continuity.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #9

Nov 16, 2016

While I enjoyed this issue for what it was, the "Outbreak" story feels a bit slow. Thus far, it lacks the emotion and depth found so prevalently in“State of Fear.” I would love to see a more overtconnection with the previous arc. Justice League #9 is still an early entry into a new story, so we must remain patient and allow the story to develop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2015) #3

Aug 28, 2015

For me, this is the beauty of comic books " true works of art and literature that allow us to gain perspective. Faith, hope, and love are not relegated to the religious, but belong to humanity. And, this story arch continued in JLA #3 is giving us a chance to work out what it means to be truly human.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2015) #4

Oct 14, 2015

Hitch continues to deliver crisp storytelling and vibrant art work with JLA. Readers are getting closer to discovering the truth behind Rao's sudden appearance on Earth, and the backstory to his alluded involvement in ancient Kryptonian affairs. My interest is peaked and I'm excited to see where this story leadsand how these beloved JLA characters continue to develop through this story arch over the coming months.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2015) #6

Dec 23, 2015

Perhaps in hindsight, this issue will help fill gaps and provide much needed context for the story arch to make sense? After a laterelease built anticipation, though, this issue felt lacking in stand alone substance " the kind that moves readers to have that "I can't wait for the next issue!" feeling. I'm still hopeful for a strong storyline for "Power & Glory," but will need at least another issue's worth of context and content to be sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America (2015) #7

Jan 29, 2016

JLA: Justice League of America #7 returns this story arch to excitement. The issue moves the story forward in major ways and connects the dots from previous issues. The payoff is worth the wait. JLA: Justice League of America #7 asks big, ethical questions that leave one thinking long after the pages are closed. In doing so, however, it provides satisfying answers to plot questions and moves our heroes toward saving the day. I am eagerly awaiting the next episode.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America (2015) #8

Mar 31, 2016

With beautiful art, compelling story, and intense action, JLA: Justice League of America #8 leaves little wanting. It's an amazing issue that brings the story to its zenith and raises the level of anticipation for the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2015) #9

Aug 31, 2016

It took some revisiting of past issues to reclaim the ground lost in the time between issues. However, the effort was worth it. This is an epic story arch, and I am happy to see it continuing despite attention shifting to other titles. There were a few surprises in this issue, ones I believe will prove to be integral to the ongoing story. In all, it's nice to have this story back and moving toward its conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2017) #1

Feb 23, 2017

Justice League of America #1 depicts a teamstruggling with well-founded trust issues, and lacking in skill, experience, and courage under fire. Whilethe team faces internal conflict, they are also up against formidable foes. This Justice League is not the traditional team-up we're used to; it's fraught with relational dynamics that make this a much more intriguing title. Justice League of America #1 was an enjoyable issue, and leaves readers with baited breath as this team and storyline develops.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2017) #2

Mar 8, 2017

While gaps still exist, Justice League of America #2 gives readers piecesof the backstory ofLord Havok and the Extremists. The threat level is high and the narrative is gaining significance and depth. Despite a change in artist, the issue is still beautiful. Although some of the panels are a bit too graphic for my taste, the action carries the story. The background of the Extremists is intriguingand leaves readers eager to fill the gaps in their story. However, their immediate, gracious reception by the people of Kravia leaves too muchunresolved. It remains to be seen how the Extremists' story will impact the new Justice League and its ongoing development as an eclectic team in an ever-changing world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America (2017) #3

Mar 29, 2017

Justice League of America #3 was truly enjoyable. The writing was solid and the art, exquisite. Lord Havok is portrayed as amore politically-minded villain. He threatens to wield his considerable power, but leverages it to gain political allies. Each Extremists is locked upwith their Justice League counterpart. Some fight valiantly; others seem swayed from Havok's ideology. The action and intrigue heat up as the story arch reaches its zenith. Dreamslayer is a very intriguing character I look forward to seeing again. The story is progressing well, but it remains to be seen which Extremists turns on Havok and how the League is being shaped by this initial encounter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America: Rebirth #1

Feb 8, 2017

While the new team is odd, it provides a unique perspective on what it means to be a hero. The addition of Lobo and Killer Frost alongside rookies and veteran heroes alike affords Orlando plenty of fodder for intriguing narrative. The inclusion of unique characters in Justice League of America Rebirth #1 leaves readers imagining what tales, and troubles, this new team will encounter. After all, with friends like these…

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League: Rebirth #1

Jul 8, 2016

Justice League: Rebirth #1 is a solid issue and a good starting point for this newly titled, ongoing series. As a longtime fan of the Justice League, I am excited about the future of this newly formed team. The addition of new heroes makes for interesting character dynamics moving forward. This bodes well for subsequent issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2014) #16

Jan 28, 2016

While Teen Titans #16 was a bit cumbersome for this newcomer, it was a fun issue with a solid start of a much bigger feeling story:

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2014) #17

Feb 25, 2016

Teen Titans #17 is a good introduction of Pak's new direction. I suspect it will only get better from here with new twists and turns awaiting our heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2014) #18

Mar 26, 2016

Teen Titans #18 does features a very beautiful variant cover by PhilJimenez and Romulo Fajardo, Jr.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2014) #19

May 1, 2016

Nevertheless, Cassie Sandsmark is Wonder Girl…and a good one at that. I had high hopes for the “Who is Wonder Girl?” story, but was disappointed. Here's hoping we get more storiesthat play to the strengths of the Teen Titans as they mature as a team in the near future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2014) #20

May 26, 2016

Teen Titans has traditionally been a seminal title at DC. It has tackled youthful issues unique to its moniker – identity, coming of age, becoming more than just sidekicks, working on a team – with all the challenges those brings. I am hopeful the Rebirth narrative will moveTitans back toward the spotlight and give it something meaningful to say.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2014) #21

Jun 23, 2016

Overall, I thought Teen Titans #21 was an improvement over the last few. The story had some distinctive moments that made sense as they moved the team toward a potential new plot twist and direction. The art was solid and the allowed readers to move swiftly through the panels and pages. It left me intrigued to see where Red Robin's story will move next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2014) #22

Jul 28, 2016

Teen Titans #22 is a pleasantly surprising issue. It fits squarely within the ongoing story arch, but could also be a fine stand alone issue. The premise of the team's development is a welcomed one. The Titans are beginning to come into their own as a team-using not just their powers, but their wits as well. Seeing Tanya's character tip-toeing into a new role and seeing the other Titans respond to her bodes well for future stories. The art was beautiful and the pacing was brisk.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2014) #23

Aug 26, 2016

All told, Teen Titans #23 told a pretty solid, self-contained story. I enjoyed the issue and it moved the Titans arch forward into new territory, as they are no longer fugitives. The team continues to grow and develop, especially Tim's Red Robin. For me, Tim Drake is being positioned to assume larger responsibilities in the DCU, much like Dick Grayson's leadership of the Titans did for his character in yesteryear. This is a welcomed move, and I would love to see Tim get more recognition and storylines in other titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2014) #24

Sep 14, 2016

If readers felt Teen Titans #24 had the toneand gravitas offinality – they aren't wrong. Those dynamics teased in the final panels will have to play out in a different book, as #24 is the final issue of the Teen Titans (2016) title. This last issue is a fitting end for the team – with the potential for rebirth, but its future left in suspense. Power Girl's <klik> of the light switch was an appropriate and poignant panel that delicately captured the moment for this iteration of the Teen Titans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2014) Annual #2

Jul 1, 2016

I really enjoyed this issue. It's complete as a contained story within an issue. At the same time, it ties past issues together for a big reveal. The writing is good, the art is crisp. The issue seems to move forward or at least add flesh to current storylines. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teen Titans (2016) #1

Oct 28, 2016

Damian longs to emerge from the shadow of both the Bat and the Dragon. As he moves into adolescence, Damian faces the challenge of finding himself while carrying the incredible weight of expectation and legacy. I really enjoy Damian in this new role. He is a good fit with these Titans and I suspect readers will see himdevelopinto an importantcharacter moving forward. I found myself loving his exchanges of dialogue and his complete disregard for social etiquette. This iteration ofTeen Titans can go in numerous directions and I look forward to seeing which one the creative team takes. I enjoyed Teen Titans #1 and feel this title is off to a fast, fun start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #2

Nov 23, 2016

Through compelling stories and artistic style, Teen Titansis setting the stageto reclaim the itsimportant position in the DCU.The inclusion of major villains like Ra's and Talia lend credibility to this title and to the position of this team within the larger continuity. The result is agood mix of youthful characters andcoming-of-age tales, which can give Teen Titansjust the boost it needs.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #3

Dec 28, 2016

Teen Titans #3 is a solid book. It moves the story forward by examining the past.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #4

Jan 25, 2017

The story in Teen Titans #4 is straightforward and predictable. Still, seeing the new Teen Titans come together was entertaining. The short-lived matchbetween Damian and Mara over a lava pit was equally fun. Teen Titans continues to explore the intricacies and development of a young Damian Wayne. I am interested to see how his character growsas a result of this narrative arch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #5

Feb 24, 2017

Teen Titans #5 moves the narrative along an unexpected trajectory. The team is drawn closer together through its vulnerability. The Titans' becoming a unit has tremendous impact on its ability to defend, but also exemplifies what life with powers might be for its adversaries. This is a unique and unexpected angle to the story, and lends itself to ongoing intrigue. The appearance of a major character enhances its depth and the tease of an additional member in upcoming issues is tantalizing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #13

Oct 27, 2017

As someone new to the title, there were some allusions and callbacks to former issues. Still, I caught on quickly asTeen Titans #13 was a well-woven story with many options moving forward. Damian seems to have met his match in Emiko, Wally's imminent return, Beast Boy's shenanigans, and a chilling villain in Onomatopoeia, in particular, made this issue a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #14

Nov 22, 2017

Pick this one up and get ready for what Percy and team have in store for readers in the coming months.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #16

Jan 24, 2018

Teen Titans#16 has considerable strengths. However, I disliked the feeling of this being a filler issue. Starfire certainly shined, but the meaning and consequence of the story felt shortchanged. Still,Teen Titans #16 strikes a good tone. The story is compact and wraps neatly in a single issue. Wolfman's return brings nostalgia and weight to this one-off issue. Derenick's art is well-paired with Wolfman's dialogue. The colors were excellent and leptoff the page. However, the issue felt less than critical to the continuity of Teen Titans. Readers will wait to see if this story has any bearing on the next story arch.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2016) #17

Mar 2, 2018

Teen Titans #17 is a good read and solid issue. Readers without knowledge of the crossovers might have some catching up to do at first. However, the issue isn't dependent on these others. The art is enjoyable and the story is intriguing. Yet, the issue sufficates from being over-packed with little room for the emotion of the story to breathe. Still, it will be interesting to see where Percy takes Gar and develops him as a character in subsequent issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #18

Mar 28, 2018

Teen Titans #18 aptly moves the story forward by introducing significant drama and a villain with valid reasons for taking action. Still, the “Puppeteer” has all the makings of a solid baddie who could return time and again to befuddle the Titans. Poignantly, Ben Percy connects with the ethos of today's youth culture – the sometimes delicate balance between escapism and authenticity. The art is good and the pacing is swift. Overall, this was an enjoyable issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teen Titans (2016) #19

Apr 26, 2018

Teen Titans #19 is a fulfilling conclusion to an interesting tale. I appreciated the emotive nature of the story as well as the maturity and growth shown by Gar. The art was appealing and clean. The story felt like it received a fitting end. The cliffhanger panel was just enough to whet the appetite for subsequent issues. This issue held my interest and felt meaningful in a way that transcends the pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teen Titans (2016) #20

Jul 25, 2018

I believe readers are in for a treat as this creative teamshifts its gears in full, fluid synchronization. Certainly, DC has placed the belovedTeen Titanstitle in quite capable hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #21

Aug 22, 2018

Teen Titans #21 was an enjoyable issue. Surprisingly, Adam Glass managed to move each character forward in compelling ways. While the team is new, familiar conflicts remain. Still, the new members brought a fun vibe to an old tension. The villain proved inconsequential in the story and served only to highlight the characteristics of the new Teen Titans. However, the primary baddie awaits in “The Other.” Artistically, the issue was hit and miss. But, overall the issue held together nicely. I am excited to see where Glass and his creative team take the Teen Titans next!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #22

Sep 21, 2018

Teen Titans #22 was enjoyable. Surprisingly, Adam Glass treated readers to not one, but two shocking reveals. The author brought the narrative forward in compelling ways while adding depth and intrigue to several relationships within the team. While the rest of the team interests me, I am most excited to see where this new/old relationship takes Robin next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #23

Oct 19, 2018

Teen Titans #23 was a solid issue that moved Glass' narrative forward. Also, it served to add a terrifying element of reckless abandon to The Other. Furthermore, tension continued to build between teammates. Different styles, levels of experience, and expertise brought the inherent conflict to the fore. Romantic relationships and the jealous feelings they induce add to the flavor of this newly minted team. Author, Adam Glass has left plenty of room to pursue multiple angles and directions in subsequent issues. Consequently, I am anxious to see how the storyline develops!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teen Titans (2016): Special #1

Jun 27, 2018

What this issue accomplished was to add depth and backstory to this newly minted or soon-to-be minted team. Subsequent stories will have more perspective because of this special issue. Each character was enjoyable, but I found Damian's story most compelling. I am anxious to see what comes of the cliffhanger ending! Teen Titans Special #1 lived up to its moniker as a special "special" issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teen Titans: Rebirth #1

Sep 28, 2016

The first issue sets up a new Teen Titans series well. It establishes characters and gives foundations and insight into stories to come. I was surprised how much I enjoyed this issue and can't wait to see where this creative team takes the story next. My first exposure to Ben Percy and Jonboy Meyers certainly did not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Titans (2016) #16

Oct 19, 2017

As a standalone issue, Titans #16 lies precariously in the middle of a complicated story. It presents an awkward jumping-in point for those new to this title. However, when taken in context, it is an intriguing and intricate tale woven across issues. And, this one feels important.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Titans (2016) #17

Nov 9, 2017

Titans #17 is a riveting issue revealing Troia – a future version of Donna Troy – as the Titans' primary foe. Troia has embraced her purpose as a weapon and urges Donna to quickly do the same. Rather than sugar-coating the situation, Troia embraces the pain, citing it is much easier than watching her friends suffer and delaying her purpose in the long run – an enticing offer to the young Donna Troy. This exploration of what it means to be human makes Titans #17 a tantalizingread. The art is beautiful and the dialogue is poignant and compelling. This was a thoroughly enjoyable issue in the Titans series. I am excited for the cliff-hangers to be resolved in subsequent issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Titans (2016) #18

Dec 13, 2017

All told, Titans #18 is highly enjoyable. It boasts some memorable moments, the return and restoration of teammates, and the swift defeat of villains. It's a solidif not less-than-fulfilling conclusion to the Donna Troy-centric story. It also boasts exquisite art, color, and settings. I'm looking forward to seeing what comes next in this series. I would not be surprised if Titans #18 is better in hindsight because of what it sets up in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #20

Feb 14, 2018

Titans #20 is a good start to a potentially great story. The allusions to Roy's past were poignant for long-time readers but may have been lost on newcomers. The revelation of lesser villains left me a bit cold. Still, Roy's past coming back to haunt him is an intriguing device to get the plot rolling. I was disappointed to see the Roy-Chesire reunion seemingly cut short but have faith this creative team is leading us to a potentially larger payoff down the line. The art is fantastic and carries the story forward in visually appealing ways. Titans #20 is a good launching point with the makings of an intriguing narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #21

Mar 15, 2018

In conclusion, Titans #21 wove together a poignant story with incredible art. Most of all, I enjoyed the dialogue which added depth and developed characters well. Here, Roy Harper remained the focal point of the narrative and gave promise to future storylines filled with emotional depth. Consequently, the plot thickened in Titans #21 and relational wreckage awaits in the months ahead. Almost certainly, the Titans will be dealing with the ramifications of this emotional baggage for a long, long while.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #22

Apr 13, 2018

Titans #22 packs quite the punch, ramping up the action of this arch considerably. Finally, Donna Troy takes action. Batman squares off against a multitude of Brain bots. The Brotherhood is portrayed as formidable and threatening. Still, Roy Harper and Donna Troy's characters progress forward. These were all satisfying and welcomed advancements. Additionally, the art was beautiful and evocative. Finally, with few critiques, I must say I enjoyed this issue and look forward to what comes next!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #23

Jul 11, 2018

Titans #23 is the continuation of an ongoing story told through the formation of a new team. Still, the implications of past narratives run deep. I fear new readers will struggle to connect without a thorough introduction to prior events. Thanks to recent media, such as the highly acclaimedYoung Justice cartoon, readers may find familiarity with Miss Martian. However,Dan Abnett's iteration of her character in this comic felt very different. Titans #23 was a good jumping off point for solid storytelling. And yet, it felt strangely familiar. Even so, I'm eager to see what Abnett and team have in store for this team, and how they will differentiate this title from the pack!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Titans (2016) #24

Aug 8, 2018

Titans #24 was intriguing and mysterious. The creative storytelling brought enjoyment to the reading. Most noteworthy, the brilliant plot device which utilized an imaginary world come to life struck a cord. However, there were some bumps along the way. Unfortunately, the issue lacked the flow readers expect from a typical Dan Abnett issue. Admittedly, the confusing conclusion may have an ulterior motive which will manifest in subsequent issues. As a result, without the advantage of foresight, Titans #24 felt less crisp than past offerings.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #25

Sep 13, 2018

In conclusion, Titans #25 brought the “Spark” storyline forward in compelling ways. The introduction of technology that can harness the power of the Source Wall's collapse was exciting. Consequently, a once seemingly random threat is now weaponized. The narrative was poignant and sharp. The art was crisp and clean. I eagerly anticipate where this story might go next and how it will intersect with Teen Titans in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #26

Sep 27, 2018

Titans #26 felt important in a number of ways. First, it increased the tension between characters on the team – particularly, Ben and Miss Martian. Next, it increased the conflict between the Titans and the Blood Cult, who proved more of a threat than ever before. Itsseemingly callous depiction of Donna added intrigue while a mysterious Miss Martian cast doubt on her loyalties. Abnett's narrative and Peeples' art were well matched in this enjoyable issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #27

Oct 11, 2018

In conclusion, Titans #27 was an incredibly poignant issue. Two characters loomed large over the team without being present. Two iconic characters lie dead or gravely injured. Consequently, Donna Troy – one of the original Teen Titans – struggled to cope. And yet, this new team of Titans persevered. Abnett moved the story forward in compelling ways while paying homage to the past. Those with knowledge of Teen Titans lore will appreciate the sentiments. However, losing so many of the original team proved more emotionally draining than anticipated.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #28

Oct 27, 2018

Titans #28 is an in-between issue. Here, Abnett successfully gets Titans readers up-to-speed with some of the events of “Drowned Earth” while advancing the existing team dynamic and story. While I dislike most cross-overs this one felt important in the scheme of the Titans moving forward. Still, Donna is left with unresolved emotional baggage and the team still doesn't know about Roy or Dick. I'm looking forward to seeing the team wrestle with the tragedy, with its potential to build or bust.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Titans (2016) #29

Nov 16, 2018

These questions and more remain unanswered. Perhaps answers will become apparent soon? Still, Titans #29 adequately positioned the team for more internal drama. While I enjoy this iteration of the Titans, I am growing weary of its lack of resolution. Raven, Donna, Beast Boy have all been left without closure to major life events. None of the Titans are fully in control of their powers or emotions. Perhaps this is what Abnett desires? Or, maybe, it's time to move on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Titans (2016): Special #1

Jun 13, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed Titans Special #1. The brilliant convergence of multiple stories across titles stood out. The art was a bit disjointed but visually appealing nonetheless.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Trinity (2016) #1

Sep 21, 2016

Perhaps our heroes will come to learn despitetheir distinctions, they share the same substance.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Trinity (2016) #2

Oct 19, 2016

Next up is: “Murder in Gotham,” which leads me to believe each character will be led through a version of their past to explore their identity and, perhaps, to gain some sense of closure? If my hunch is correct, I would welcome this storyline and look forward to where Francis Manapul takes these characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Trinity (2016) #3

Nov 16, 2016

Trinity #3 continues to impress. It is incredibly beautiful withan insightful story. Seeing these quintessential heroes explore their psyche under the influence of a powerful villainess is truly compelling. I am blown away by this storyline and title right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #4

Dec 21, 2016

In conclusion, Trinity #4 is a solid issue. It moves the story forward, reveals the primary villain, and creates intrigue for subsequent issues. The art is pleasing to the eye and the narrative is fair. Trinity has been an incredibly stunning title thus far. As a result,Trinity #4was likely held to an unfairly high standard. In comparison, for this reader, it was a step down from the previous issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #5

Jan 19, 2017

Trinity #5 was an enjoyable encounter with a uniquely sympathetic and humanized villain, Poison Ivy. The issue is absolutely stunning and smoothly paced. However, the trajectory of the story veers sharply.The true nature of Mongul's plot and the roles Batman, Superman and Wonder Woman will play in them remain unseen. The addition of a new character added emotion, but raised more questions than answers. Still, Francis Manapul is a trustworthy creator/artist. I suspect the story will progress seamlessly in subsequent issues, but this onefelt disjointed from the others. Despite lingering questions and seemingly new direction of the arch, the beauty of Trinity #5 earns it high praise.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #6

Feb 15, 2017

Trinity #6 tidily wraps Manapul's “Better Together” narrative in a neat bow. The issue is solid on its own, but falls short of the high standards established by previous issues. Yet, as “Better Together” ends it leaves plenty of new beginnings for future Trinity stories. This new title is impressive, and I anticipate more intrigue and success in its bright future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Trinity (2016) #7

Mar 15, 2017

Surprisingly, in Trinity #7 the titular heroesare all but missing. Outside of one-panel memories, only villains appear in this issue. However, Bunn uses these three villains to write the beginnings of one compelling drama. I found myself incredibly impressed with the substance and feel of Trinity #7. I enjoyed this issue way more than I thought I would. Consequently, Trinity #7 is a terrific start to a new narrativearch.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More