Keigen Rea's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AIPT, Comics Bookcase Reviews: 57
8.1Avg. Review Rating

10
I Breathed a Body #1

Dec 29, 2020

This comic makes me want to eat mushrooms and also not ever eat meat again. It's awful, horrifying, and incredible. Read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Lonely Receiver #3

Nov 5, 2020

This is still on track to be my favorite comic of the year, with an issue where Jen Hickman gets to shine.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lonely Receiver #4

Dec 9, 2020

Sensual, surreal, haunting, this issue is a highlight of a series that was a highlight of my year. Horror comics are becoming more popular and good and 'Lonely Receiver' belongs right at the top.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed OGN

Jul 21, 2020

Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed is about losing your way of life and finding a new one. It's about using your abilities to help others for their betterment. I love this comic, and it's themes will stick with me for some time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Die #12

Jul 22, 2020

If you're behind, catch up; if you aren't reading, pick up the trades. This issue is a highlight in a week full of highlights, and it's about as recommendable as any comic running.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Die #15

Nov 18, 2020

One of my favorite comics of the year concludes an absolute monster of an arc. Trades out next month if thats how you read, but if not, youre gonna love this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ludocrats #2

Jun 16, 2020

I tried to give this comic a 10 but my IPad made fart noises and I heard my neighbors laughing at me. Hard. Ludocrats enjoy ass kissing, but not that kind.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ludocrats #3

Jul 15, 2020

Ludocrats #3 doesn't feel like a story that festered and fermented for a decade or two (even though it kind of did), it feels like a collaboration, not just between creators, but characters. The characters have agency and use it to be as big and ridiculous and as terrible as possible, and it is so. Much. Fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ludocrats #4

Aug 19, 2020

The Ludocrats #4 is my favorite issue of a series that will likely end up being one of my favorites this year. Very excited to see what the finale has in store.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ludocrats #5

Sep 30, 2020

Ludocrats ends its life as a monthly comic, but will be immortalized in my heart and on my shelf soon enough. I'm not sure I'm it's biggest fan, but I am 6'4" and 215 pounds, so I might be competitive!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Far Sector #8

Oct 6, 2020

This issue continues the streak of near perfection that Far Sector operates in. It's interesting, prescient, and cooler than any other comic you could buy right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Far Sector #9

Dec 1, 2020

'Far Sector' #9 is a continuation of everything good about the series. Worth the wait, and brilliant in art means story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Far Sector #10

Feb 2, 2021

The worst issue of 'Far Sector' is still much better than most comics. This one is just a bit too focused on thing things up for the ending, which is necessary, but less fun that the rest of the series. Will work much better without a two-month gap between issues!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Kaiju Score #1

Nov 24, 2020

Coming out of nowhere, The Kaiju Score #1 is one of the most fun and delightful first issues this year. Check it out if you like heist stories or being happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Something is Killing the Children #8

Jul 8, 2020

Something is Killing the Children #8 is able to deliver a creepy, funny, and engaging issue while mostly consisting of characters talking to each other. You shouldn't be missing one of the best monthly horror comics!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars: The High Republic (2021) #1

Jan 6, 2021

This is good Star Wars, and more importantly, a great comic. The High Republic era is off to a wonderful start.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Catwoman (2018) #27

Nov 17, 2020

This series is heating up! Hop on now, because it's worth it for the excellent art alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Catwoman (2018) #28

Dec 15, 2020

The conclusion to this opening arc is good, if a bit overstuffed. The promise the last page makes is more than enough for me, though, and I'm excited for more!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Stillwater (2020) #1

Sep 15, 2020

This comic feels designed for everyone to enjoy it, and I think everyone will. Its extra-sized for the same cost as the average comic, and it is extremely worth it. Jump on now and dont regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Stillwater (2020) #2

Oct 21, 2020

An issue that does a lot of necessary set up, while still setting up the mysteries of the series, but is able to escape being dull by the creative teams endless creativity. Keep up with one of this years best new series!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Stillwater (2020) #3

Nov 18, 2020

Stillwater #3 maintains the pace of the previous one, opting to spend its time fleshing out the town. Not the strongest issue so far, but still worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Stillwater (2020) #4

Dec 16, 2020

As long as this book is being published Ill be reading it, and hopefully Ill be reviewing it too! If you arent reading monthly, start searching solicits for the first trade, because this is a series I highly recommend!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Stillwater (2020) #5

Jan 20, 2021

The situation in Stillwater has for some time been a powder kegand after Stillwater #5, it is now ashes that used to be a powder keg. This is yet another solid issue of one of my favorite series, a big comic for this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Stillwater (2020) #6

Feb 17, 2021

On one hand, I liked the issue's story fine. On the other, it fell short as a follow-up to issue 5. The wait til May's issue 7 will be perfectly bearable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
House of El (2021): The Shadow Threat #1

Jan 6, 2021

Add another book to the list of DC's YA successes! 'House of El Book One' delivers a strong and unique story in the crowded superhero genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
I Walk With Monsters #1

Nov 25, 2020

This is a great comic in many ways, and I'm excited to follow up on it, but it does little to make me feel that I need to to so urgently. Still, this is a strong horror comic in a year of strong horror comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
November #2

Jun 3, 2020

I love this series, and Im onboard even if they keep adding more volumes as they go,but it it isnt something that I would give a blanket recommendation to. Give it a go if you enjoy formalism, non-traditional story structure, or beautiful design, provided youve also read book I.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
November #3

Oct 23, 2020

It's a showcase for one of comic's best artists in Elsa Charretier, and a place for everyone else to work hard to match her.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Protector #4

Jun 30, 2020

The penultimate issue of this arc delivers a meaty story and beautiful craft, along with perfectly setting up the arc finale. If youve been on the fence about the series, consider this your chance to catch up!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Sex Criminals #30

Aug 5, 2020

Sex Criminals #30 holds the weight of the previous 29 issues, and on one hand does it well, and on another disappoints. The fact that this isnt the actual finale is a sneaky strength, and sets up issue 69 by tidying up the series plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sex Criminals #69

Oct 28, 2020

Sex Criminals was already going to be one of my favorite series ever, but a finale this good that feels designed for me makes my argument much stronger, at least to myself. Pick it up without hesitation if youve read the other 31 issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Comic Book History of Animation #1

Dec 9, 2020

This is a comic that's informative without being boring. It is only the first chapter of a series, but it still delivers a complete part of the narrative. If you've been waiting to dive into one of these collaborator's books, now is the time!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Ray Robot #2

Sep 29, 2020

This is a delightful comic that has me excited for more X-Ray Robot. If you like The Allreds, this is a book for you!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
No One's Rose #2

Jun 15, 2020

Read this. No Ones Rose should be the crossover hit of 2020, not only because of its combination of notable pieces, but because the execution of it all is top shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
No One's Rose #3

Jul 7, 2020

This is a dense issue that is very close to being overfull, but the team as a whole pulled off another great issue. It also has a hairy chested piece of man beef on the last page. In other words, this comic is worth the $3.99.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Getting It Together #1

Oct 7, 2020

This issue is good, and I think Ill enjoy it more with the coming issues. Its full of heart, and a relative rarity in the direct market. As such I plan on cherishing this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Angel (2019) #14

Sep 22, 2020

This comic isn't just for fans of Angel or Buffy, but for everyone who likes good comics. It has unique art, and is approachable without being too slow or exposition heavy. If you're a fan of the Buffyverse this feels like a great place to get more of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Dead Day #3

Sep 16, 2020

I was surprised that this comic worked as well as it does for me, and Im happy about that as well! If The Leftovers+Purge+zombies sounds like a good time, pick this book up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Mega Man: Fully Charged (2020) #1

Aug 26, 2020

Mega Man: Fully Charged #1 has great pacing and art, but leans pretty heavily on common superhero tropes. Despite that, its still fun and energetic, and Im excited for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Star Wars: The High Republic Adventures (2021) #1

Feb 2, 2021

The High Republic era continues to click along, with Star Wars - The High Republic Adventures #1 being a less spectacular debut, but one that was still very enjoyable. Now please give me a clear timeline!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Silver Coin #1

Mar 23, 2021

I enjoyed the craft more than the story in The Silver Coin #1, though the story wasn't bad by any means. I'm on board for at least the next issue, although I should note that there is plenty of room to disappoint"which almost feels like a fun part of this series' format.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Bang! #3

Sep 2, 2020

A fun issue of a fun series thats held back by its handling of its protagonists disability. The future of the series may allow for some recovery, but it hurts much of my enjoyment of this particular comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Bang! #5

Nov 4, 2020

Bang! #5 is a fun finale to a fun arc. The execution is superb, even while Im not sure the mystery at the heart is really driving me along. This spy Avengers book is good fun, if nothing else.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
American Ronin #2

Nov 11, 2020

Second issues are hard, and this issue had more of an uphill battle because of the series' stellar debut. Worth reading if you enjoyed the first issue, and I'm still excited and confident that the rest of the series will deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Autumnal #1

Sep 23, 2020

In all, The Autumnal #1 is an issue thats highly elevated by the craft on display, but the story isnt something that really engaged me. It feels like it could be the opening chapter of a great trade, but it also feels like it could disappoint if it continues to lean on familiar horror ideas.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ironheart: Meant to Fly' review #1

Oct 28, 2020

'Ironheart: Meant to Fly' does a good job introducing the character, and has a few standout moments, but it doesn't quite stick the landing when it puts the focus on the MU rather than the core Chicago-based cast.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Miskatonic (2020) #1

Nov 11, 2020

Im not ready to write Miskatonic off completely yet, but this first issue isnt among my favorite debuts of the year. Give this a go if youre really into Lovecraft and X-Files and not into critiquing those things (yet).

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Big Girls #1

Aug 12, 2020

There are far worse first issues than this one, and its competently well-made in every way but the story. Tonal inconsistencies and derivative characters hold this back from being great, but future issues may correct those issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Join the Future #2

Jun 10, 2020

This issue has me more on board than the first issue did, and Im fully intending to read the next one, but I am a tentative about where the series is going. If you like pretty horses or westerns focused on social progress, Id recommend this.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Once & Future #8

Jun 24, 2020

Still a great series, this is simply an issue where little of substance happens, and/or I dont know enough about Beowulf to get excited. The art shines, especially the colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Future State (2021): Superman vs. Imperious Lex #1

Jan 26, 2021

This is an average comic. I like some of what it does with Superman, but it ain't new by any means. Hopefully it uses its extra issue well by the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Future State (2021): Harley Quinn #1

Jan 5, 2021

This comic was fine. It had mostly above-average art with some hiccups, and a mostly forgettable story with a fun twist on a classic relationship.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Catwoman #1

Jan 19, 2021

This is easily one of my favorite issues of 'Future State', if not my actual favorite, and has set me up to enjoy issue #2 even more.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Future State (2021): Robin Eternal #2

Feb 9, 2021

This is a confusing mess of a comic that maybe accidentally says something great and I'm fascinated by it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #51

Nov 24, 2020

This issue is fine, but I was hoping for a newer perspective on Jason Todd. Hopefully future issues will do so.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Wicked Things #2

Jun 23, 2020

This issue is plot heavy in a genre that is incredibly well tread. If you like Giant Days, this feels exactly like an average issue of that, but lacking much of the uniqueness of that beloved series.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Lonesome Days, Savage Nights OGN

Nov 12, 2020

So much of 'Lonesome Days, Savage Nights' feels like a missed opportunity, and it mostly lies with sticking too close to stories it shares a genre with.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More