Nemesis's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders Reviews: 23
7.7Avg. Review Rating

8
Archangel 8 #1

Feb 20, 2020

All in all this is a very good book with two flaws that end up detracting from the final score but in no way detract from the experience of reading the book. I would recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of spy novels, action, assassins and crime drama.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Three Jokers (2020) #2

Oct 5, 2020

This book is a treasure and I think it is a seminal event for both Batman lore and DC comics. A decade from now I hope we are talking about this series in the same we talk about the first Crisis event by Marv Wolfman and George Perez. I think it is that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Black Hammer/Justice League: Hammer of Justice! #4

Oct 11, 2019

Pick up this series immediately. This book and Black Hammer in general are one of the gold standards of comics at this point in time. If you are a fan of DC, Black Hammer, Dark Horse or just interesting crossovers then this is the series for you. Don't miss out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Claim: A Song of Ire and Vice #1

Oct 9, 2020

The book's combination or comedy, wit and beautiful art is hugely successful and makes for a wonderful read. As I said, it had me laughing out loud and pleasantly entranced. The book stays true to its fantasy roots but its comedic element can stand up to some of the giants in comedic fantasy; namely Order of The Stick, Battlepug and, another fantasy card game, Munchkin. I HIGHLY recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of fantasy, comedy, Dungeons and Dragons or beautiful art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Die #15

Nov 24, 2020

Die continues to be one of the standout books in all of comics in my opinion. The storytelling is engaging and engrossing, the artwork is first rate by a master of her craft and the two work in seamless tandem. If you are a fan of art, storytelling, roleplaying the supernatural or fantasy then I highly encourage you to pick up this issue and this series, you will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Elvira: Mistress of the Dark #12

Feb 25, 2020

I'll freely admit that I love this series and I'm looking forward to more from this team in the future. If you are a fan of comedy, Elvira, sexual innuendo, horror or just plain fun then I can't recommend this series and this issue highly enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Flash (2016) #753

May 13, 2020

All in all this was a wonderful issue of The Flash promising more to come in future issues as Eobard Thawne and Barry Allen briefly walk together during the paths of their lives. If you are a fan of Flash this is certainly an issue and story arc you will enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Geek Girl #7

Oct 2, 2020

All in all this is another enjoyable issue of Geek Girl and one I'd recommend to anyone who is a fan of super hero fare and is looking for a new take on the genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Geek-Girl Vol 2 #6

Sep 18, 2020

All in all this book is quite fun to read and pleasant to look at. The story and characters are fun and beckon you into their world, making you want to know more. Any book that can do that is deserving of the moniker comic-book imo and is a worthy addition to your collection. I recommend this book to anyone who is fan of classic comics or just good ol' capes and tights.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.8
Hellblazer (2016) #7

Jul 1, 2020

Overall, this book and series are one of my favorites and I can't recommend it highly enough. That Hellblazer has gone back to it's early roots and is being created by such a talented group is a treat for fans of John Constantine, Hellblazer and Vertigo. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of Constantine, the supernatural or horror.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Hellboy and The B.P.R.D.: The Seven Wives Club #1

Nov 16, 2020

All in all I would have to say that this is one of the finest stand-along Hellboy book I've read in several years. It may be one of the finest Hellboy books I've ever read period. It was intriguing, frightening, comfortable and welcoming".like a haunted house I haven't live in for several years and I'm now returning to. I HIGHLY recommend this book to anyone, especially those who are loves of Hellboy, the supernatural, horror comics and ghost stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Ghosts #2

May 27, 2020

This book was enjoyable and for a first effort quite an achievement. I look forward to seeing more work by Rostowsky and I can wholeheartedly recommend this book for the writing along"and of course the use of a weird, wonderful and macabre vampire myth from Southeast Asia.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvel 2099 (2019): Conan #1

Dec 2, 2019

All in all this was a very good book that I was initially skeptical of but enjoyed very much. If you're a fan of Conan or just Marvel in general then this is the book for you. It is an enjoyable one-off that may lead to something in the future and can be enjoyed as a single issue as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Middlewest #11

Sep 18, 2019

In short, this is a very good book and one I'd recommend. The story is excellently pace and flows well with artwork that serves the story and is strong on its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Reaver #4

Oct 10, 2019

It is a good book and that I enjoyed. It can be a little bit frustrating to read this book at times because one senses it could be so much more with just that much more put into it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Spider-Man & Venom: Double Trouble #1

Nov 6, 2019

I can't recommend anything about this book. The artwork is boring, the dialogue ridiculous (my God Venom say 'nom nom nom' for goodness sake) and the plot practically non-existent. The artwork is a horror show; amateurish and unbecoming of a Marvel book and the characters that grace its pages. I applaud the desire to bring in younger audiences but if this book is presented this way for that effect it is a failed effort that is an insult to the very readers you are trying to court.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Stealth #1

Mar 13, 2020

This book has a lot of promise and I love its premise. That said, errors throughout the book detracted heavily from my enjoyment. It should be noted that none of these errors have to be fatal for the ongoing series and I hope that the quality of the book improves as its run continues. I would recommend this title to those looking for human drama, urban stories or superhero action. The book is not perfect, yet, but it has potential and I will wait and see what happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Strange Skies Over East Berlin #2

Nov 6, 2019

This is a very good book that was intriguing, disturbing and thought provoking in turns. I recommend it if you are a fan of the paranormal or the Cold War era.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Strayed #3

Oct 16, 2019

I think this is a good book that is worth buying for the art alone. While the writing score may seem a little low, (I reserve the right to revise my score after I see more of the series lol), this is more of a function of my "wait and see" mood on this work in progress rather than a critique of Giffoni's writing craft. Meanwhile, the artwork here is incredible and worth the price of admission alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.8
Strayed #5

Dec 17, 2019

All that said, this book was not one of my favorites. I can't in good conscience give Giffoni a failing grade for his writing. However, I can't give it too high a praise either. The art is most definitely the saving grace of this issue and worth the price of the book alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The End: Deadpool #1

Jan 30, 2020

All in all this is a fun book and one that is executed to a very high standard with a few minor flaws. I recommend it to all fans of Deadpool.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
These Savage Shores #5

Sep 30, 2019

All in all this is fine book and mini-series, one I enjoyed immensely. I recommend it highly to anyone who is a fan of horror, historical fiction or the supernatural.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
You Are Obsolete #4

Dec 11, 2019

All things considered this is a very good book. I loved the tone and tenor of the book and sincerely hope that the reference to The Twilight Zone was intentional. If you are a fan of social commentary, horror or science-fiction I would recommend this title to you.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

2nd

November

More