Nicola Austin's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: We Have A Hulk, GWW Reviews: 25
7.9Avg. Review Rating

7.5
Action Comics (2016) #995

Jan 11, 2018

I've had a real blast reading this time travel arc featuring Booster Gold so far, and I'm really intrigued to see where Jurgens takes these two characters following the shocking reveal at the end of the issue. However I really hope that the troubled Superman will find answers regarding Jor-El's survival soon, as I'm getting the niggling feeling that the mysteries revealed in The Oz Effect will be left unanswered"

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Action Comics (2016) #996

Jan 27, 2018

Action Comics #996 is really stretching the time travel storyline to the limit, but I'm really enjoying the dynamics between team Superman and Booster Gold, their pairing really is a fun read! It's also pretty interesting to see Lor-Zod again regarding his and Superman's history, it'll be intriguing to see how this story plays out between the two of them. Oh and please tell me more about this war between Krypton and Earth!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Action Comics (2016) #997

Feb 16, 2018

Action Comics #997 starts off feeling once again like a bit of a filler issue to the titles milestone #1000, but there's quite a bit of a shocker at the end which has very much caught my attention. How will both teams make it out of their sticky situations? I'm very much intrigued to see what Jurgens does next – I'm sure it'll involve some sort of wibbly wobbly, timey wimey stuff!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #2

Jul 28, 2018

The Amazing Spider-Man #2 continues to be a really promising start to a really fun and classic feeling Spidey story, especially following the revelation at the end of the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #3

Aug 11, 2018

The Amazing Spider-Man #3 continues to be a fun and classic feeling Spidey story, but I'm a little bit hesitant to see what this Spider-Man is going to do next! It seems as though in the split he lost his sense of responsibility, and I really can't see this going well. How does the classic Spidey phrase go again? Anyway, I'm genuinely intrigued to see where Spencer takes this and am so enjoying the ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #5

Sep 15, 2018

The Amazing Spider-Man #5 rounded off the ‘Back to Basics' arc in a neat way, bringing the story full circle and setting up plenty of future foes for Spidey to face. The main plot device of separating Peter Parker and Spider-Man didn't last for as long as I'd hope for personally, but I can definitely see how this will impact Peter going forward. Overall I've been really impressed by this new collaboration and can't wait to see where they take Spidey next!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aquaman (2016) #32

Jan 17, 2018

Aquaman #32is another solid entry to Abnett's on-going political drama/thriller whose storyline rivals that ofGame of Thrones. This issue really ramps up the stakes for Arthur and even though it features a lot of exposition, the reveal from the Widowhood furthers the story to a very exciting reveal at the end. The next issue will be a must read as I can't wait to see what happens in the huge high stakes battle that the story has been building up to. Aquamanis quickly becoming one of DC's strongest and most consistent titles for me, I would highly recommend picking it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #77

Aug 20, 2019

Batman #77 is a completely gripping entry into the ‘City of Bane' narrative which fans have long been waiting for, and it definitely pays off! I honestly can't wait to see the return of the Bat and the Cat and the long-awaited showdown between Bane and Flashpoint Batman – this is now personal…

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #78

Sep 11, 2019

Batman #78 is possibly an unwelcome interlude for some, breaking up the action and pace of the ‘City of Bane' narrative, but there's no denying the emotional weight and beauty of the writing and art. Please, please, please can we head back to Gotham in the next issue though?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman and the Signal #1

Jan 6, 2018

This is a solid start to the limited run exploring the latest addition to the Bat-family. Duke Thomson, first seen in Zero Year and We are Robin, is a very intriguing character and I really hope we discover more about his powers, which were first teased in the Metal event. The pacing in this issue was a little slow as all the pieces needed to be put in place, but I'm sure this will pick up in the second part. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Bolt #9

Jan 6, 2018

This truly is one of Marvel's best ongoing series, there's so much heart and soul to it as well as a fantastic visual style. I'm intrigued to see where they're taking the character next following his return to Earth. I highly recommend picking this title up if you haven't yet!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Doctor Strange (2015) #384

Jan 20, 2018

Doctor Strangecontinues to be one of Marvel's strongest and most intriguing ongoing titles. I genuinely can't wait to see how Loki and Zelma deal with the horror that Stephen unleashed at the end of this issue, as well as discovering the price Stephen will have to pay following his heavy use of magic! If you haven't discovered this title yet, I would highly recommend picking it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kick-Ass (2018) #1

Feb 14, 2018

Issue one kickstarts this brand new series with a bang and really sets itself apart from theDavid Lizewski tales, Patience is a breath of fresh air and genuinely kicks ass! The issue raises some intriguing questions too, like how is this going to fit in with the continuity of the larger universe and what part are the other characters going to play in this tale? Also isn't wonderful to have a person of colour headlining such a well known comic? I really had a blast reading this comic and I can't wait for issue 2!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Marvel Two-In-One #2

Jan 28, 2018

Marvel Two-In-One #2 is another fun read and a very strong second installment that Fantastic Four fans have been waiting so long for! The ending left me so excited for the next issue, possibly setting up some interdimensional adventures for Ben and Johnny. Please for the sake of the broken Johnny let them reunite the Richards family, I'm not sure I could deal with him finding out that Ben has lied to him!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Moon Knight (2017) #190

Dec 31, 2017

So far I'm absolutely gripped to the ‘Crazy Runs in the Family' arc and I genuinely can't wait to see where Bemis takes Marc next following THAT revelation! 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Oblivion Song #1

Mar 11, 2018

Oblivion Song #1is a very promising start to a really intriguing story, especially following the revelation at the end of the issue. The first book sets up this new World so well and I'm really looking forward to diving into Oblivion more and unravelling the mystery of the Transference, as I feel we've only scratched the surface.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Man Hawkeye #1

Jan 14, 2018

Old Man Hawkeye #1 is a fantastic start to a promising twelve issue series featuring an intriguing story by Sacks, with some stunning dystopian artwork from Checchetto and Mossa. I'm intrigued to see where this goes following the reveal at the end and can't wait for Clint to explore more of the alternative universe that I loved so much in Old Man Logan.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #1

Jan 1, 2018

It's been over ten years since fan-favourite Jean Grey has graced a Marvel comic and I can't help but feel a little underwhelmed with how little she featured in the first issue, especially after the fantastic Generations title. This issue featured ALOT of X-Men, which is amazing to see and gives me all the nostalgia feels, but it's a big cast that takes up a lot of time in the first part of the series. I did however really enjoy the mystery from the first couple of panels, and can't wait to see just what's behind all these weird events! 

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #2

Jan 7, 2018

Phoenix Resurrection #2 furthers the mysteries introduced in the first issue and proved a little confusing if you hadn't read Jean Grey #10, which explained just what happened to all the psychics. So far I'm enjoying the mini-series; all the little easter eggs are great and seeing the mutants back together is fantastic, but can Rosenberg actually wrap the story up in the next three issues? Fingers crossed!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #18

Jan 10, 2018

There's plenty of revelations in Red Hood and the Outlaws#18 that will shock readers and lead them to question just what's next for Bizarro and the team! The closing panels raise a number of questions which I can't wait to unravel in the next couple of issues, but please don't break the family up Lobdell!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rogue & Gambit (2018) #1

Jan 6, 2018

Gambit and Rogue #1 is a whole load of fun, which the current X-Men titles are missing at the moment, but if a little lacking in plot! I'm definitely intrigued to see how the two get out of their hilarious predicament in the closing pages, so will definitely be picking up the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Runaways (2017) #5

Jan 12, 2018

Runaways #5 is the best issue of the new run so far, proving a fantastic combination of characterisation and overall plot. Rowell has nailed each of the gang and I can't wait to see her finally bring them back together as they battle Molly's grandma and her army of telepathic cats!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Superman: Year One #2

Aug 21, 2019

Superman Year One: Book Two is a completely left turn. What was a grounded, slow-burn tale ___ into a bonkers

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Tales of Suspense #101

Feb 4, 2018

Overall Tales of Suspense #101 is a very enjoyable issue and a great continuation to the first part, deepening the mystery and intrigue of the Red Ledger. I can't wait to see more of the bickering pair as they're just so funny working together! That cliffhanger really has me baffled and slightly worried for one of them though…

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thanos (2016) #15

Jan 28, 2018

Thanos is continuing to be a must read title with issue #15 setting things up nicely for the huge battle ahead! Donny Cates is proving one of Marvel's best writers at the moment, what with his phenomenal runs on both Thanos and Doctor Strange exploring some of the publisher's best villains. I absolutely loved the reveals in this issue and can't wait to see how things are going to play out. Also, please can we have more cosmic Ghost Rider?!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More