Nikko Soto's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 36
9.0Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Amber Blake #1

Apr 6, 2019

With all of this in mind, I can say I had a blast reading this comic. It's found a way to make the story feel original and does a fantastic job with creating a story that will have people eager for more. My only fear is that this will quickly fall into a generic action story that does no justice for the female lead. Regardless, I'm very much looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Auntie Agatha's Home For Wayward Rabbits #2

Dec 12, 2018

Overall, I'm very happy that I was able to read this comic. I'm looking forward to seeing how the story continues. My love forFoster's has carried over to this comic series. If you're a fan of the show, fantasy, or just looking for a new comic, I highly recommend you check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Auntie Agatha's Home For Wayward Rabbits #3

Jan 13, 2019

With this being the third issue, it would make sense for things to start getting closer to a major event. I'm excited to see how Julie and the rest of the rabbits defend their home. The humor, art style, and continuous intriguing storyline guarantees that I'll be reading the next issue. I look forward to see how the comic goes on from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Auntie Agatha's Home For Wayward Rabbits #4

Feb 16, 2019

Overall, I really enjoyed reading this issue. It's all coming together and I'm very excited to see how everything plays out. It really is a shame that it's coming to an end, but I'll forever be glad that I was introduced to this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Auntie Agatha's Home For Wayward Rabbits #5

Mar 15, 2019

Even though it's upsetting to see that this is the penultimate issue, I'm looking forward to seeing how this story ends. I really enjoyed reading this issue. I'm normally not a big fan of stories ending on cliffhangers but the way it was done in this comic only increases my excitement for the finale. Both Giffen and Benjamin have created a story that many readers will not only love but will genuinely enjoy reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Auntie Agatha's Home For Wayward Rabbits #6

Apr 18, 2019

Overall, I'm confident in saying that I've enjoyed not only reading this comic but the entire series. The creators blend elements of fantasy, real-world issues, humor, and a bit of the absurd together to create a comic that anyone could enjoy. The issue is a perfect conclusion to the series, tying everything together and ending in a definite manner. Neatly wrapping everything up in a limited series could hurt the story overall, but since the issue focuses on the theme of family, it provides a heart-warming feeling that will surely leave readers happy. I will surely be re-reading the series and will definitely recommend it to others.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Books of Magic (2018) #4

Jan 30, 2019

I really enjoyed reading this issue and I'm continuously impressed with every installment of the series. Part of what I like about the series is that the character of Tim's reminds me so much of Harry Potter. Since Gaiman's work was released first, it wouldn't surprise me if some inspiration from Tim was placed upon Harry. Regardless, this series continues to give a great story and will undoubtedly continue to do so.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Books of Magic (2018) #6

Mar 27, 2019

I have been enjoying all the issues of this series that have been released. It's found its place in a shared universe and found ways to provide a memorable story. The next few issues look to be the most intense of this revival series. I'm counting down the days until the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dial H For Hero (2019) #2

Apr 24, 2019

I had an absolute blast in continuing to read this action packed coming-of-age story. It does an incredible job in making Miguel question himself rather than thrusting him into the role as hero without any dilemmas. Things are most likely going to pick up fast, especially because of the way the issue left off. I'm looking forward to reading the next issue and will definitely look at the previous incarnations of heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dial H For Hero (2019) #3

May 22, 2019

Dial H For Hero #3 has also made great use of side characters and the hero designs have been just as incredible as before. With only a few issues left, it's acceptable to assume that the series will dive into the plot completely. All hands on deck for the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor #1

Nov 8, 2018

However, I am going to continue with the comic and highly recommend it if you are a Doctor Who fan and are enjoying what they've been doing so far with series 11. It captures the essence of the current series completely. As a comic fan and a fan of the series, I'm excited to see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Flash (2016) #62

Jan 16, 2019

Overall, I still enjoyed reading this issue. It was a bit lackluster with what went down with Bashir and Barry's will to trust everyone, but the ending twist managed to save the issue. Having this story followFlash War, there were bound to be dilemmas. I just hope it gets better from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #63

Jan 30, 2019

Overall, I really enjoyed this issue. There were moments where I wasn't quite sure where the story arc was going, but it all wrapped up nicely in the end. What really captured my attention was the ending, setting up the story forThe Flash Annual #2. This isn't the last time that we see the Force powers being talked about. Barry will surely be in the fight of his life when the time comes for him to deal with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #70

May 8, 2019

Overall, I had an absolute blast not only reading this issue but writing this review. I've been a fan of The Flash for a long time and have read a lot of Flash stories, but this might be the story I've ever looked forward to reading the most. The creative team has done a phenomenal job at capturing the character's essence but also finding ways to revamp his story. I look forward to reading the rest of this arc going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #71

May 22, 2019

The creative team has done a phenomenal job carrying the same essence that was established during the first chapter of this fresh take on The Flash's origin. With the story not fully revealing too much, it's still a perfect time for new readers to jump in and get a fantastic story of Barry's early days of being a superhero. It's hard to think of where this story can go, but there's little doubt that this has been one of the most innovativeFlash stories told in recent history.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) Annual #2

Jan 30, 2019

Overall, I really enjoyed reading this comic. It sets up the different story plots thatThe Flash will include and even story arcs from other comics. From this comic, it seems as if future stories will have a much darker tone. Plus, Barry still has to deal with the Force dilemma he learned about in issue #63. This might be Barry's toughest challenge yet. And with the announcement of aYear One story for Barry, there's definitely a lot to look forward to this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Glow (2019) #1

Mar 31, 2019

This comic is perfect for everyone, not just fans of wrestling. It'll serve as the perfect introduction to some aspects of wrestling that could possibly interest people.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Invasion From Planet Wrestletopia #1

Sep 21, 2018

Ultimately, I recommend this for both wrestling and non-wrestling fans. Wrestling hasn't really been a topic that has been written in comics for a few years now, so seeing something like this brings me joy. Non-wrestling fans can get a small glimpse into the world of wrestling but also get a fantastic story that will surely bring tons of action. I will continue to review any issues from this series as they come out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Invasion From Planet Wrestletopia #2

Sep 29, 2018

I wasn't quite sure where this story would go from its first issue, but I'm really enjoying what's been released. Like I said in my previous review, this is for both wrestling and non-wrestling fans alike. It's shorter than the first issue, but it also doesn't seem like it dragged on. I was engaged from the very first page and the ending left me wanting more. I'm looking forward to any future releases of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Little Bird #1

Mar 12, 2019

Having gone from not knowing a single thing about this series, I can say with full confidence that I really enjoyed reading it. The world-building, characters, and overall concept of the series is sure to attract many readers. The last few pages set up the second installment perfectly. Even though this is a limited series, I'm looking forward to seeing where Little Bird's adventure goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Oliver #1

Jan 21, 2019

Overall, I enjoyed reading the first issue of theOliver comic series. It brought me the same joy as when I read the Dickens' novel many years ago. I'm sad that I have to wait for the next issue to come. It's a perfect example of how to do an adaptation of a major piece of literature into a comic but also finds a way to make it its own. This coming-of-age story will surely have readers invested and will hopefully find ways to relate to it. It's incredible to see creators caring about these sort of stories. I'll anxiously wait for the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Oliver #2

Mar 1, 2019

Overall, I really enjoyed reading this comic. I read this comic at least three different times before writing this review. From the cover to the last page, I love everything about this issue. With the next issue coming out until April, I'll definitely go back and re-read both issues that have been released. This has easily become one of my favorite comic series of all time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Peter Cannon: Thunderbolt (2019) #1

Jan 31, 2019

Overall, I really enjoyed reading this issue. The plot and drawings blended together very well and managed to convince me to continue with this series. The ending set up an interesting villain who I'm sure will cause a lot of trouble for Peter. Other than seeing the character in theCrisis series, I don't know much about him but I'm definitely going to check out more comics on him.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scooby Apocalypse #33

Jan 16, 2019

Overall, I really enjoyed reading this issue. It reminded me of why I love this franchise and the fact that people still care for it. I'm very excited for what's to come and will probably have to go back to issue 1 to contain my excitement.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scooby Apocalypse #34

Feb 13, 2019

Overall, I really enjoyed reading this issue. It always surprises me to know that this hasn't been adapted into a movie or a live-action show yet. Many comics are getting this treatment, which only makes me want this even more. I eagerly await the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Scooby Apocalypse #36

Apr 10, 2019

I can't say I enjoyed reading the conclusion toScooby Apocalypse. From the quick plot progression, anticlimactic battle, and just overall lack of emotion, it's sad seeing one of my favorite series ending like this. This has been one of the best adaptations of theScooby-Doo series since the Cartoon Network showMysteryIncorporated. It's what I always imagined the series would evolve into. I'd love to go back and read the series one day, but the way it ended, I might just have to hold off for a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Section Zero (2019) #1

Apr 3, 2019

Overall, I quite enjoyed reading this comic. Like I said, it does seem a bit predictable in terms of who the villain could probably be, but the way the comic ended automatically leaves me wanting to find out what comes next. We'll get to see the agents dealing with a new mission and see how they function as a team. I'll definitely be on the lookout for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Steven Universe (2017): Fusion Frenzy #1

Mar 14, 2019

I had an incredible time reading this comic book. Like I mentioned before, I don't really know much about the show, but this has begun to convince me to check out the show. From the characters themselves to the stories, everything is put together and told with such heart. Seeing how this comic plays out only makes me want to dive into the show and the rest of the franchise.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder in Hell #1

Jan 17, 2019

Despite the issues I have with this comic, I'm optimisticabout what's to come. It seems like the story will dive deeper into Shredder's character as he continues to deal with his inner struggle. Part of what attracted me to the series was the intensely fantastic fight scenes. Hopefully, there'll be some of those in further installments.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Avant-Guards #3

Mar 29, 2019

This is very quickly becoming one of my all-time favorite series. Everything from the characters to the dialogue has been exceptional from start to finish. Upon finishing the issue, I immediately wished that the next installment would be out already. The series is only three issues in and the fact that it's making me want more without any major events taking place is incredible.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Avant-Guards #4

Apr 29, 2019

I had a fantastic time reading this issue. It focuses on character development and finds ways for readers to care about it. The dynamic of this blossoming relationship is handled well and many readers could definitely relate to it. Since the series focuses on LGBTQ characters, it shows that stories that are centered around members of the community matter enough to be told. It gives me hope that telling stories like these will continue to be accepted and praised. This is a comic series I wholeheartedly recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Avant-Guards #5

May 25, 2019

Like the previous four issues, this new installment did not disappoint. It was an enjoyable read that hasn't lost the spark that's made this series a must-read. It continues to shine a light on the LGBTQ+ community and does an excellent job showing how close this basketball team has become. The issue also includes stories that focus on other characters, which erases any belief that this would just focus on a romantic relationship blossoming and the formation of a basketball team. It will surely be interesting to see where the series goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Walking Dead #186

Dec 8, 2018

It'll be interesting to see how the conflict is handled in later issues. I hope it doesn't lead to another war. At this point, I think the comic has overstayed its welcome. It would be interesting to see more communities coming together and rebuilding society a bit more. There could still be conflict and even wars, but the fact that every new community they meet seems to be evil is getting old. The series suffers from having been around since 2003. I'm just not sure how much more story there's left to tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Walking Dead #187

Jan 12, 2019

Overall, I'm still not quite content with the direction the comic is going. This could be because of how long it's been running. But you can only take on so many groups before it starts getting old. Hope this saga adds more ingenuity.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
WWE: FOREVER #1

Feb 3, 2019

Overall, I had an absolute blast reading this comic. It serves as a reminder to see where wrestling was 30 years ago and how far its come since then. It focused on the legends that made this possible, which is great to see. I look forward to see what other stories this series will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
WWE #24

Jan 2, 2019

However, this comic made me completely rethink the entire feud. Fans only get to see a part of their feud and we can be quick to just rush and make opinions. It reminds that there's a lot more to wrestling than what fans see. This comic does a perfect job at reminding me why I love wrestling and why I should be proud to be a fan. I'll surely be tunning into more of these comics. Overall, I'm very happy that I was able to read this comic. Regardless of how I felt about having to revisit the feud, I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. I'm happy that wrestling comics are still being made and that it's finally getting the recognition that it deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

More