olddeserthymnal's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Marvel Comics Reviews: 23
8.0Avg. Review Rating

7.6
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #22

May 30, 2019

Yes this book is a little meandering, but I find it enjoyable. A couple of the subplot aspects could probably have been dispensed with, and conversely some of the plot points of this issue might have done better with a little bit more time to breathe. The situation with Mary Jane seems to be handled too briefly and I think the plotline probably didn't need to have the Vulture angle which seems to have overly complicated the story arc. That said, there is enjoyment to be had from this and Spencer, to my eyes has maintained a good standard since taking over this title. This issue does nothing to damage that position.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Champions (2019) #5

May 4, 2019

This is easily the standout issue of the series so far, and it clicks nicely with the other events in the Marvel universe at the moment. We have taken a break from the main storyline for a moment after four installments, and the events of this book are likely to fortify Kamala against the challenges she faces as leader of her young team. A solid outing and an enjoyable issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ironheart #6

May 15, 2019

This issue continued to show Ewing's skills with dialogue, and as far as that aspect of the book is concerned I think she elevates the character of Riri to new heights. Likewise we are seeing more and more of Riri as a multi-faceted character who is starting to interact in her own awkward and funny way with the rest of her peers. The plot for this issue is something of a trifle however, and it won't leave the reader with much of an impact. So maybe best avoided for the casual reader, and one for those invested in the series to take in their stride as a character driven piece, light on plot development and with some top quality artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Ironheart #7

Jun 12, 2019

The undead action, and the heroic response to it in this issue, it is brought to life well by Vecchio's art and Milla's color combinations. As funny and action packed as the writing is in this book, the art matches it step for step with some nice dynamic action panels, mixed with nice character portrayal. This issue picks up the action again in a big way after the one shot Miles cameo appearance last issue. Worth checking out at the beginning of a new story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Magnificent Ms. Marvel #3

May 31, 2019

The tale itself is left on an intriguing note and the arc has packed a lot in so far in the three issues served up. Anyone that was fearing the departure of Wilson from writing duties on this book need fret not, for my money Ahmed is proving himself a born successor, and he has the team around him to keep me around for a lot longer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Marvel Team-Up (2019) #2

May 4, 2019

All in all, I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this issue. Yes it is light-hearted fun, but maybe we need a little more of that sometimes. If the first issue didn't work for you I think I would encourage you to give this another go. Ewing has shown some great comedic chops here and the art is gorgeous. I'm not sure if the tale will sustain itself for too many more issues as a concept, but as things stand this issue was great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Ms. Marvel (2015) #3

May 31, 2019

The tale itself is left on an intriguing note and the arc has packed a lot in so far in the three issues served up. Anyone that was fearing the departure of Wilson from writing duties on this book need fret not, for my money Ahmed is proving himself a born successor, and he has the team around him to keep me around for a lot longer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Star Wars (2014) #65

May 3, 2019

All in all this is another good installment in the series. It strikes me that the ongoing, action packed serial style nature of this title is particularly fitting for Star Wars, a saga which is rooted in Saturday morning serials such as Flash Gordon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Star Wars (2014) #66

May 15, 2019

What is so appealing about this series is that the storyline is exciting, plausible and peppered with connectivity with the wider saga and the Original Trilogy films. It has broad appeal because it is set within the most popular period in the franchise. The art now consistently captures both brilliantly rendered and instantly familiar depictions of Han, Luke and Leia. Mark Paniccia's stewardship of the Star Wars titles has produced amazing results of late, but this title forms the spine of the whole line and it is great to see a book keep delivering such a consistent hit of the essential spirit of Star Wars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Star Wars (2014) #67

Jun 19, 2019

The parting panel in this issuejust gives you that warm feeling of being one of a band of friendsfighting against the Empire with only each other to rely on. You don'tget that too much from other Star Wars content these days but you will with this title. An enjoyable close to an exciting tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Star Wars: Age Of Rebellion: Han Solo #1

May 3, 2019

The art in this issue is in top shape, the new characters are made to look fresh and interesting (one of them seems to shop in the same place as Luke for yellow jackets) and there is a nice little nod of foreshadowing early in the issue to when Han looks at the holomap of the galaxy in The Force Awakens. The Han Solo portrayed on these pages looks and feels like the Han from A New Hope, and as noted above Chewbacca's critical knowing looks at Han and general body language is captured faithfully by the art. Also worth highlighting the brilliant cover to this issue from Terry and Rachel Dodson, which will make this very attractive as a physical copy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Age Of Rebellion: Boba Fett #1

May 10, 2019

All in all this book took me by surprise by providing me with the most enjoyable issue so far in these one-shot titles. While other titles in the Age of Republic and the Age of Rebellion books to date may have held more superficial shelf appeal for me, this is the one that now sits at the top of the pile as my favorite issue to date, and is the one that reminded me why Boba holds that special place in fans' hearts.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Star Wars: Age Of Rebellion: Luke Skywalker #1

Jun 5, 2019

The artwork in the book compliments the story well and the art team duties being spread across such a large artistic team is handled in a clever fashion. The switching of the narrative action across many small sequences means that even where the change of art style is noticeable it doesn't jar. All in all though this is a tale that underscores the heroism and goodness of Luke Skywalker in both the storytelling and the art. Both are used to depict an icon, and a role model of self-effacing courage. Someone with an ability to harness his great responsibility to his great power. Not bad for a single issue of a comic book, and a great return for the cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Star Wars: Age Of Rebellion: Lando Calrissian #1

May 15, 2019

Like the best of the other installments of these one shot titles, this book continues to distill a quality standalone story, appealing art, and a beautifully presented and lettered book like a fine glass of well aged oak cask single malt whiskey (Irish of course). As much as I like long form story telling it is quite welcome to be reminded of the fact that the comic industry still has the ability to pack a punch for readers within the confines of a single issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Star Wars: Age Of Rebellion: Jabba The Hutt #1

May 23, 2019

The art in this book has been undertaken by a small army of artists and colorists, but it works well with Canto Bight, Jabba's Palace interior scenes, and Mos Eisley/Tatooine all rendered in slightly different styles. The art at the final few pages of the book with Jabba indulging in the Tusken Raiders' gift is especially good.That coupled with a concise fun tale meant that this issue ended up just like that last batch of Tusken Wind"priceless.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #32

May 10, 2019

This is a good opening to a new arc which draws on a number of previous developments in the series as well as setting up very interesting plot potential in forthcoming issues. If you are a Star Wars fan you probably know by now whether this book is to your tastes or not. As a series it tends to fall into an esoteric, fairly niche bracket of Star Wars book that attracts Aphra fans as opposed to all Star Wars fans. That's fine though and for those invested in the series, this will perhaps spark off some great plot developments that will sustain interest for a number of issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #33

Jun 19, 2019

This is another strong issue and there is a high level ofsophistication in the storytelling here. The relationship with Tolvanremains a little open ended and there is not as much interactionbetween the two as one might have expected. Despite the large array ofartistic talent the book maintains a subtle and unified style andmatches the flow of the story well.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.3
Star Wars: Galaxy's Edge #2

May 23, 2019

While Sliney's art and Sanhez-Almara's colors are bright and attractive, narratively this series doesn't seem to know what it is trying to achieve. If it is flashback style tales that are desirable then last issue did this in a much more controlled way. If original stories told at Galaxy's Edge are the end goal, then we have barely gotten to know the characters in the two issues to date. If it is selling tickets to a Galaxy's Edge Disney theme park then I'm not sure this comic format will work unless the stories become a lot more gripping in the remaining installments.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Star Wars: Tie Fighter #2

May 15, 2019

This issue primarily serves as a bridge from the opening installment to the remainder of the series and performs that role solidly with a bit of excitement along the way. There is a sense of the issue feeling like it is over before it starts due to the back up story, and as such there are now pointers that this might be a series that reads better in trade. As with the last issue, the art is solid and impressive and this issue continues the stylish fresh look of the series. Not an issue to be read in isolation – if you've been in since issue 1 keep going, otherwise maybe wait for the trade on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Star Wars: Tie Fighter #3

Jun 19, 2019

All in all this issue does more to drive the momentum forward for theseries, but one can't help escape the feeling that this is much moreof a starter than a main course, and there is a real sense now thatthis might work better in trade format. Still, it is an interestingbook and it is definitely worth continuing to read if you haveinvested in it to date.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Vader - Dark Visions (2019) #4

May 30, 2019

This is another quality issue which makes this series four for four in my eyes. Lets hope that when the final issue lands that it matches the quality seen to date. These are great standalone issues, but read in a five issue collection they will will be a particularly rewarding as a study on Vader and his chilling reputation across the galaxy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Star Wars: Vader - Dark Visions (2019) #5

Jun 12, 2019

This is a fitting close to what has been a really high quality series. While the series will give us a varied and interesting collection in trade, every single issue of this book to date has been strong and stand on their own merit. This one though, may just edge it as the best of the five. It plays with the Vader imagery to heighten his terror. Dark Visions indeed. This is a tremendous series which sheds new insights into the character, while also reminding us of that instinctive fear we felt when first casting eyes on Vader, a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
War of the Realms: Journey Into Mystery #2

May 11, 2019

Although, I confess I was not looking forward to this issue, it actually surprised me by making me warm to it a lot more second time around. That said, this story is entirely of the trivial variety, a trifle of the least necessary sorts. Aspects of the story don't make much sense, Miles takes off his mask at one point as part of a trade off with Kate to take off her glasses (I'm sorry but those glasses are not a disguise Ms Bishop). So while in no way essential, it doesn't lack some charm, and some surprise guests at the end meant there was enough to bring this reviewer back for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More