Pierre Brown's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Lyles Movie Files, Word Of The Nerd Reviews: 71
8.5Avg. Review Rating

8
Batman: White Knight #4

Jan 3, 2018

Batman White Knight should have been a bit more socially conscious but still manages to be a good read overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batwoman (2017) #8

Oct 18, 2017

The Rebirth run of Batwoman is not to be missed and ends with fans waiting for the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Magick #9

Nov 30, 2017

Greg Rucka and Nicola Scott are a dream team as they consistently deliver great writing and engaging art. January needs to get here, fast.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Coyotes #1

Nov 8, 2017

Coyotes #1 is a strong opening to a new series and I hope the momentum keeps going in further issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Coyotes #2

Dec 13, 2017

Coyotes is definitely a series Ill be looking forward to reading in 2018.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Coyotes #3

Jan 10, 2018

If you aren't already a fan of Coyotes, get to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Coyotes #4

Feb 7, 2018

Coyotes keeps getting better but also sadder, as the unfortunate message of the story reigns true; the women in the minds of the wolves were made to be devoured but Red, the women of her village, and the Abuelas will fight to the death. Writing and art remains strong and effective as well, helping the series remain one of my favorite Image reads.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Curse Words #9

Oct 18, 2017

Becoming a fan of this Image series was a good move I made months ago and I urge others to check it out. Start at the beginning though because just jumping into #9 will have you extremely confused.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Curse Words #10

Nov 15, 2017

Issue #10 keeps Curse Words fresh and interesting this far in the series and should not be neglected to read for fans of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Curse Words: Holiday Special #1

Dec 20, 2017

A nice little treat before Valentine's Day, Curse Words Holiday Special might not be enough to sustain you but certainly is a nice gift for fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Dark Fang #1

Nov 15, 2017

The art was slightly cartoonish for an action horror series and had moments of what Im sure was unintentional comedy. Most of the violence was hard to take seriously however the emotions Valla experiences are believable as she adjusts to life on the surface once more. Slow at times, but also full of social commentary Dark Fang is not completely passable. Ill hold out on being too harsh on this series since Im aware of the message this art form is trying to convey. Make next issue will be a bit clearer and less monologue-ish.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Fang #1

Jan 17, 2018

Dark Fang returns next month and I anticipate what's next for Valla.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dark Fang #2

Dec 20, 2017

Combining sex, social commentary, and the supernatural, Dark Fang looks to be a release to keep an eye out for in 2018. " Pierre Brown

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Days of Hate #1

Jan 17, 2018

Days of Hate certainly has my interest and I would certainly love to see this as a movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Elsewhere #2

Nov 1, 2017

This issue also leads us to believe that perhaps the next arc will be the best yet and I look forward to the return of Elsewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Eternal Empire #1

Nov 22, 2017

Eternal Empire is definitely a good read and I look forward to see how Tair and Rion advance their plans for change in their ruthless world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eternal Empire #6

Jan 10, 2018

In short, if you like Game of Thrones this series is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Gasolina #2

Oct 25, 2017

Questions, foreshadowing, and violence are still in tow for readers anticipating this title and I am eager to see how all the pieces in this puzzle will be put together by the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Generation Gone #4

Oct 18, 2017

Writing and art will not disappoint fans of the series but definitely provides a look at the ugliness of being human.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Generation Gone #5

Nov 15, 2017

Issue #5 says goodbye to this set of characters for now and hopefully an announcement will come soon for when we should expect to see them again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Genius: Cartel #3

Oct 18, 2017

This issue was heavy and even depressing but also inspiring. Im definitely on board to see what happens next in Destinys adventures. " Pierre Brown

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Genius: Cartel #5

Dec 20, 2017

Destiny may just be going to war in 2018 or beyond and I look forward to an announcement of her return sometime in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Glitterbomb #4

Dec 27, 2017

Glitterbomb: The Fame Game certainly was an interesting read up until this point. Theres loose ends and a rushed confrontation that doesnt quite add up o the drama and horror of the earlier issues. Hopefully 2018 gives readers an opportunity to revisit this series and continue where we were abruptly dropped off.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Glitterbomb: The Fame Game #2

Oct 25, 2017

Original, tense, heavy, and strong social commentary towards the core of fame makes Image Comics Glitterbomb: The Fame Game a story that is not to be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Glitterbomb: The Fame Game #3

Nov 22, 2017

Writing also takes a stronger, impactful hit with the character Martina; Kays friend who recognizes all that Kay is going through. Issue #4 is definitely going to be a must read after the ending of this issue. Still dark, bloody, and loaded with social commentary, Glitterbomb: The Fame Game remains a consistently fresh series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hack/Slash: Resurrection #1

Oct 25, 2017

Fans of Hack/Slash will be pleased at the return of their favorite sexy, foul-mouthed, darkly philosophical slayer with tons of gore and blood in tow. Newcomers to the series should not be scared off too much from reading this issue since Tini Howard does a great job of providing substantial amounts of backstory.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hack/Slash: Resurrection #2

Nov 30, 2017

Hack/Slash is highly recommended reading and I look forward to seeing this series again in December.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hack/Slash: Resurrection #3

Dec 27, 2017

2017 has been a good year for the Hack/Slash team and I look forward to the brutal violence Cassie and Vlad will do in 2018.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hack/Slash: Resurrection #4

Jan 31, 2018

I can't recommend picking up this series enough. Just do it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley & Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica #2

Nov 1, 2017

Issue #2 packs action, humor, and more character cameos which keeps Harvey and Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica a series to keep an eye out for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harley Quinn (2016) #30

Oct 18, 2017

Harley Quinn #30 was a good time with a promise of more drama to come in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ice Cream Man #1

Jan 17, 2018

Ice Cream Man definitely has a fan in me and I'm eager to see the direction this series is heading. Id highly recommend this to fans of works by Stephen King.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Injustice 2 #12

Oct 18, 2017

The comics are much further than the video game adaptations and this has been on my must read list for quite some time. This issue shouldn't be missed by fans but I urge newcomers to start at the beginning otherwise this will be extremely confusing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Injustice 2 #13

Nov 1, 2017

An exciting, action packed issue is found within the pages as Kara begins to learn more about the world around her and beyond her place in Kahndaq. Nightwings emotional and physical pain resonates within Kara and she taps into her powers to save innocent townsfolk. The focus being on three members of the cast made this issue all the more understandable and approachable to newcomers to the Injustice comic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Maestros #1

Oct 18, 2017

Gore, foul language, comedy, and a being who makes small dicks big makes this series worth checking out even though this storyline will remind you of like"at least 6 different fantasy plots.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Maestros #2

Nov 15, 2017

Maestros looks to be growing better with each issue and I look forward to Decembers Issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Maestros #3

Dec 13, 2017

Hopefully Im incorrect because I certainly ship their union. William needs as much love as possible as he continues to fills the shoes of his dead father in 2018.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Mage: The Hero Denied #3

Oct 18, 2017

This didn't really have it for me although the writing and art were appealing. Apparently this series has been around for a long while but as a newcomer, I just wasn't fully into it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Port of Earth #1

Nov 8, 2017

Port of Earth #1 is recommended for fans of sci-fi and especially fans of the Men in Black franchise.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ragman #2

Nov 8, 2017

The art is still consistently superb and the writing is engaging as a new superhero is coming into form in Gotham City.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Rat Queens (2017) #6

Nov 22, 2017

Im holding the smallest fraction of hope for this series because what it used to be was great.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Rat Queens (2017) #7

Jan 3, 2018

Once again I feel the story is both missing pieces and also accelerating further from events before the reboot. Combine that with general confusion of what's going on in general and the lack of psychological edge this series used to possess. I am hoping that these, (what I am hoping to be), filler issues before the true plot is revealed will lead readers to something worth sticking to.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Redlands #3

Oct 11, 2017

Perfect series for fans of horror and witches. Especially fans of the darker elements of American Horror Story: Coven.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Redlands #4

Nov 8, 2017

I am still very much intrigued with this comic series and will try to wait patiently for the next issues release on December 20th.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Redlands #5

Dec 20, 2017

Depressing, sexy, and combating racism, sexism, and the blurred lines between good and evil, Redlands has had a great year and I look forward to their return in 2018.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rose #7

Jan 10, 2018

Rose is off to a great start in this year and I'm eager to see where the story goes next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Rumble (2017) #1

Dec 13, 2017

Perhaps 2018 will bring forth a better welcoming to the series. " Pierre Brown

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Sacred Creatures #4

Oct 11, 2017

This issue was definitely an interesting read, with a retelling of the events leading to the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah. Issue #4 keeps up with the common theme in fantasy that even powerful supernatural beings can make the most human of choices. And those choices could have deadly consequences. Definitely a must have for fans of the series and a recommended read for fans of The Mortal Instruments series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sacred Creatures #5

Nov 30, 2017

Claire is an intriguing villain throughout the issue as she kills, harms, and possesses people without even breaking a sweat and I now notice that character Karen Porter looks a lot like Hollywood actress Jessica Lange.Loaded with rich backstory and a bloody confrontation, Sacred Creatures proves to a series worthy of picking up as its art, writing, and issue size never wastes a page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Shuri (2018) #1

Oct 18, 2018

The first issue of Marvel's Shuri is more than worth the hype it has gathered. I look forward to the future Okorafor and Romero have in store for the titular character. Fans of Roxane Gay's touch on the world of Black Panther will certainly enjoy this title and I am in deep need for Issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sleepless (2017) #1

Dec 6, 2017

This first issue does a great job of hooking in new readers with great coloring and art and a plot that seems eager to be revealed. 2018 will be a great year for some new Image Comics and Sleepless is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Spawn #280

Nov 30, 2017

There seems to be a lot to look forward to as the next issue begins to close the 'Dark Horror' arc of Spawn in December.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Gravediggers Union #1

Nov 1, 2017

Im holding out hope for this series though because theres a black lead character, hints of past traumatic events, and perhaps when the witches show up Ill have a completely different opinion of the series. The first issue could have been a whole lot better regarding plot but serves its purpose of properly introducing the readers to the setting.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Gravediggers Union #2

Dec 6, 2017

I think this series should keep more moments with Morgan more often or try to create the same tone in the main storyline to stay appealing in 2018.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
The Gravediggers Union #3

Jan 3, 2018

The reason I stick around definitely is for the development of what most likely will be the antagonist. I believe I've even said in a previous review that the daughter of the protagonist has a much better storyline than that main one. Issue #3 only helps my case rather than dismisses it and I really really hope they decide to give her more page time going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Jetsons (2017) #1

Nov 1, 2017

Fresh and full of potential, The Jetsons #1 sets up a beautiful yet possibly doomed world with a family that wants to survive. Definitely recommended for fans of the environment of the Image Comics series Low and fans of sci-fi.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
The Wicked + The Divine: 1923 #1

Feb 7, 2018

Though the art is strong and beautiful as usual, this was a complete disappointment for me. I would have much rather have seen this fully drawn out and longer than the typical issue than what was given.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Trinity (2016) #14

Oct 18, 2017

This issue doesnt appear to be one to ignore in the Trinity series with betrayals, blood, and interesting storylines to keep fans intrigued. Definitely makes the series worth checking out overall and the next issue promises an, (hopefully satisfying), end to this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Trinity (2016) #15

Nov 15, 2017

Although this was a fun ride to get to the end of this arc, Trinity misses the mark on an original ending to such a strong, mythological concept.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Underwinter: A Field of Feathers #1

Oct 25, 2017

This issue certainly marks the beginning of something because we as the readers are given a few specks of the overall plot which is both good and bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Void Trip #1

Nov 22, 2017

Writing from Ryan OSullivan and art from Plaid Klaus keeps this comic engaging and throwing curveballs at every turn. Its not easy to pull a reader in completely with a single issue but Im fully convinced that this will be a great read. Unfortunately, though the end is already in sight since this will be only 5 issues long but Ill be waiting for Issue #2 in December.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Void Trip #2

Dec 27, 2017

With action, comedy, drama, and hints of the darkness of the human psyche, Void Trip is a series I look forward to reading in 2018.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Void Trip #3

Jan 31, 2018

Void Trip #3 is a hilarious addition to the series and I look forward to seeing what's next for Ana and Gabe.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
VS #1

Feb 7, 2018

Although this series reminded me of some elements of Images Low, I wasn't all that impressed or swept up into this debut. The art is definitely nice but I'm hoping future issues of the series will leave a better impression.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wild Storm #8

Oct 18, 2017

Another must read for fans of the Wild Storm reboot and a major plot reveal at the end makes this issue essential reading for established fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Witchblade (2017) #1

Dec 6, 2017

Witchblade receives the feminist prose and much more personal grasp it deserves and I look forward to what Kittredge and Ingranata will give readers next year.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Witchblade (2017) #2

Jan 10, 2018

Witchblade #2 solidifies itself as a must read as new developments are hinted although this issue isn't quite as action packed as the first. Alex is an interesting heroine to follow and I look forward to reading more of her adventures with the Witchblade.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Witchblade (2017) #3

Feb 7, 2018

I'm hoping issue #4 will be as engaging as this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman/Conan #2

Oct 18, 2017

This issue also welcomes newcomers to the series that love fantasy and adventure. I'd recommend this to any fan of Gail Simones writing and fans of Wonder Woman or Conan.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman/Conan #3

Nov 15, 2017

Simone even gives readers something to look forward to in the next issue and Im anxious to see what shell do with these legends next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wonder Woman/Conan #4

Dec 20, 2017

A few flaws and a few side eyes doesn't keep me from enjoying this series though and 2018 will continue their adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More