Quinn's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 44
8.5Avg. Review Rating

9
Cyberpunk 2077: Trauma Team #1

Aug 26, 2020

Overall, the creative team did a marvelous job with this first issue. The art and coloring are gorgeous and, for anyone who is a fan of cyberpunk, youll enjoy the themes in this comic. Nadia is an interesting character so far, but whatll be more interesting is just how shell settle the conflict between her morality and her job.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Cyberpunk 2077: Trauma Team #2

Sep 23, 2020

Trauma Team #2 is a great follow-up to the first issue. Nadias motives and background are expanded, and we really get to see just how much the revelation about Apex is affecting her.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dark One OGN

Jul 15, 2020

In the end, there are still a few questions I had left, but these minor plot holes do little to dampen the impact of Dark Ones story. This a brilliant graphic novel that has some amazing themes delving into the duality of man and light and dark. The creative team tells Pauls story beautifully, making sure that this novel will leave an impact.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Empyre: X-Men #1

Jul 22, 2020

Although the theme and plotline of Empyre: X-Men #1 was not something I would ever expect to come out of Marvel Comics, the issue remains entertaining in part because the writers embrace the absurdity and lean into the humor of the situation.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Giant-Size X-Men (2020): Fantomex #1

Aug 5, 2020

The story is captivating, the dialogue is fun, and the art is gorgeous; theres absolutely no reason why anyone shouldnt pick up this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Guardians of the Galaxy (2020) #6

Sep 2, 2020

Overall, Guardians Of The Galaxy #6gives us an interesting insight into Nova's mind, how he's dealing with the loss of Peter Quill, and how he's can potentially heal from this. The creative team does a wonderful job with this issue and I'm excited to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hellions (2020) #2

Jul 22, 2020

The characters are written wonderfully and the tumultuous interactions between the members of Hellion represented well. The plot is picking up quickly and the creative team is handling this team of misfits beautifully.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Horizon: Zero Dawn #1

Aug 5, 2020

Overall, Horizon Zero Dawn #1 feels a tad short but it sets up the main characters and the plot well. If youre not familiar with the game, youll likely be very confused about the natural order of Horizon Zero Dawn's world.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Horizon: Zero Dawn #2

Sep 3, 2020

Overall, the art, coloring, and lettering are well-done. The main downfall is the simplistic plot that neither adds any novel ideas to the world of Horizon Zero Dawnnor does it expand on the existing characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
No Guns Life #6

Jun 10, 2020

No Guns Life Volume 6, as always, does some great world-building while upholding the integrity of its characters. The series has always been centered around character growth, and volume 6 doesn't deviate from this trend. Both Juzo and Tetsuro have grown so much over the past few volumes, but all these changes culminate at the end of this volume, making for a very hard wait for volume 7 to arrive.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Snake Eyes: Deadgame (2020) #1

Jul 15, 2020

Overall, the plot is intriguing and it will be interesting to find out more about Snake Eyes past, but the art and dialogue put a damper on the story in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #2

Mar 24, 2020

Overall, this was a fun issue and Im excited to read future issues. If youre into bounty hunters and are rearing for a story with revenge, mystery, and plenty of action, youll want to check this one out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #3

Jun 24, 2020

Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #3 brings fans a healthy helping of action and bounty hunters. Although this issue contains much less mystery, character development, and background building than previous issues, it's entertaining enough and leaves off on a hopeful note that T'onga will finally receive more development.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #4

Aug 19, 2020

Overall, Bounty Hunters #4 falls short with a plot that isnt as intricate as expected from issue one, but does offer up some great violence and blood thirsty bounty hunters who have very little remorse to give.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #5

Sep 23, 2020

For its simplicity, Bounty Hunters #5 is entertaining. Who doesnt want to watch a few bounty hunters beat each other up? The art is gorgeous and the colors are beautiful. But the plot itself just isnt up to snuff. The characters are painted too black and white for my tastes and the plot just isnt engaging

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tartarus #1

Jan 15, 2020

Tartarus #1 sets the tone for the rest of the series and does some great world-building to introduce us to the political climate and the culture of both Tartarus and the empire. Within the first few pages, the world of Tartarus drew me in very quickly and it doesn't seem to want to let go. Between the exciting plot and beautiful artwork, and maybe due to the cliffhanger at the end of the issue, I'm wallowing in my anticipation for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers (2019) #5

May 17, 2019

Overall, this issue resolves little to any of the plot. There's more complexity added to the murder investigation, but it does reveal, at least partially, what Bumbleebee has been doing in his spare time. This issue does leave off on a cliffhanger, and, overall, leaves the readers with a lot more questions than answers. Despite this, or perhaps because of this, I'm looking forward to the next few issues in this new Transformers series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers (2019) #6

Jun 4, 2019

Although I'm looking forward to seeing the murder investigation culminate, this small interlude to evaluate the relationship between Orion Pax and Megatron was insightful and reveals more about the political atmosphere of Cybertron.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Transformers (2019) #7

Jun 16, 2019

However, this issue is a little frustrating, for both the readers and the characters within. The murder investigation is no closer to answers, and you can see how this affects Prowl negatively. Chromia is much more put-together about the situation but she must also be feeling the pressure. We get more of a sneak peek in Cyclonus's mind, but we're also suddenly introduced to a new bot with questionable intentions. More questions than answers seem to be added to the mystery of the first murder on Cybertron. I can certainly tell you I'm antsy to be thrown a bone. There are so many questions needing to be answered, beyond those revolving around the murder. What are the Ascenticons up to? Why are Cybertronians going missing? Is Bumblebee making the right choice? Let me tell you, it's going to be a good day when all of them are answered. But, for now, we wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers (2019) #8

Jul 5, 2019

Largely, this issue feels like a good step in plot progression. A few of the past issues were definitely slow but this issue has me excited to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers (2019) #9

Jul 20, 2019

We get to see the faces of a few new characters in this issue as well. And a few other characters are simply mentioned. This gives me hope that we'll see even more characters in the future. Personally, I'm still waiting for one of my favorite characters to be added to the cast but despite his absence, the current trend of adding a couple of new characters each issue makes me have no doubt he'll show up at some point. Overall, this was a fun issue. We get a lot more action and see just what the extremists have been up to beneath the memorial.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers (2019) #10

Aug 11, 2019

Transformers #10 is jam-packed with politics and intrigue. Answers are finally given to us concerning the connections between Megatron, the Ascenticons, and the first Cybertronian deaths the planet has seen in a very long time. I won't say much in regards to what questions are finally answered in this issue to avoid any spoilers, but the ending of this issue greatly advances the plot. The first two issues of this series were very slow plot-wise, but now we're speeding ahead. The ending of this issue also introduces some characters who will most likely have a larger role in future issues and for which I'm personally very excited to see added to this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers (2019) #11

Aug 31, 2019

The end of Transformers #11 is really well laid-out and really strikes me as quite powerful. We get a more definitive definition of the Ascenticon cause, and Megatron's plans are pushing ahead quickly. It finally feels like we're getting to familiar ground in the creation of the Decepticons. The ending will definitely make anyone excited for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers (2019) #12

Sep 19, 2019

On top of this, the coloring by Lafuente is beautiful. There are a few panels showing foreign planets along with novel flora and fauna. These panels are visually striking and really capture the beauty that Nautica herself finds in these alien environments. The lettering by Tom B. Long, as always, is easy to follow and doesn't clutter the pages. The use of different types of speech bubbles also aides in ease of reading and separating spoken language with inner monologue. Overall, Transformers #12 is a great issue that continues to showcase the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers (2019) #13

Oct 18, 2019

This issue was really entertaining between the fight scenes and all the action. However, there are a lot of events that occur in this issue that seem to be coalescing into something big. This issue ends with an eerie feeling that something is about to happen and I get the vague notion that the Autobots are not going to be ready for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers (2019) #14

Nov 8, 2019

This issue was wonderfully entertaining but also leaves off on a more serious note. What's next? Will Cybertron survive what Megatron has in store for it?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Transformers (2019) #16

Jan 30, 2020

We have a new letterer on this issue and, although it's sad to see Tom B. Long step away from this project, Wood doesn't let us down. The panels are clean and uncluttered by the speech bubbles, and they allow for easy transitions between speakers. The well-placed sound effects don't add clutter but adequately express the actions in each panel. Overall, it's great to see Wood added to the creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers (2019) #17

Feb 15, 2020

Overall, this issue wasn't as exciting as previous ones. The technical presentation of this issue, between the artwork, coloring, dialogue, and lettering, was excellent. But the events just weren't as interesting as previous issues. I'm not as familiar with 'bots like Lodestar and Lightbright and just didn't become attached to them in so few panels. Their personalities didn't jump out at me through the dialogue and made it difficult to be entirely sympathetic to their plight.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Transformers (2019) #18

Mar 12, 2020

Despite there being some technical issues, Transformers #18 was an entertaining tangent to the rest of the series. It's hard to tell if, at all, this issue will have a greater impact on the plot of the series as a whole, but, after the gravity of the events in the previous issue, the end of the issue is a bit of a reprieve.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers (2019) #19

Mar 23, 2020

Transformers #19 feels like the true rise of the Decepticons has finally begun. Although Megatron and his followers have caused plenty of mayhem, the nonchalant nature of Megatron and the physical destruction really seems to expedite the formation of what fans know only as the Decepticons. I'm excited to see what the next issue brings with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Transformers (2019) #21

Jul 23, 2020

Although this isnt a plot-heavy issue, Transformers #21 gives us a large cast of characters to entertain readers and some fun fight scenes with snarky dialogue. However, the two different art styles clashed more often than not and put a damper on the fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers (2019) #22

Aug 21, 2020

Transformers #22 finds a satisfying conclusion to the last issues fight between Cybertrons security forces and the Decepticons. But given that half the issue is combat, it feels short and certainly not as thought-provoking as past issues. However, the creative team has done a wonderful job and the ending will come as a surprise for some readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers (2019) #23

Sep 17, 2020

Transformers #23 is an exciting issue. Its extremely emotional and a true turning point for the Decepticons. The creative team did a wonderful job handling the range of characters and events in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers (2019): Valentine's Day Special #1

Feb 14, 2020

If you're interested in two heartwarming stories of love, populated by adorable characters and fun dialogue that'll leave you with a smile on your face, pick up a copy of the Transformers: Valentine's Day Special.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers: Galaxies #1

Sep 27, 2019

Personally, I think this is a wonderful start to this series. I was a bit wary when I heard that the series was going to start out highlighting the Constructicons, but my fears have certainly been assuaged. The only downside to this series is that I have to wait a month to get my hands on the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers: Galaxies #3

Nov 29, 2019

Transformers Galaxies #3 goes into greater depth on why the Constructicons were on Mayalax in issue #2. The readers learn more about what it takes to combine and why this combining is so threatening to Cybertron. The creative team is doing an amazing job on this series and I'm excited to read more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers: Galaxies #4

Feb 19, 2020

Transformers Galaxies #4 is a great conclusion to this arc. I was glad to see the Constructicons highlighted and I think that the creative team did an excellent job creating an emotive, complex story while at the same time tying it into the greater Transformers series in just a few short issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers: Galaxies #5

Mar 12, 2020

Transformers Galaxies #5 is a great start to a new tale in this anthology series. It's fun, quirky, but also emotional. Although a bit simplistic in comparison to previous issues, the plot is entertaining, and the technical elements of this issue are beautifully done. Im eagerly awaiting the release of the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Transformers: Galaxies #6

Mar 27, 2020

For something so short, we get a great story that is both emotionally impactful and entertaining. Although this arc, and issue, aren't filled with a multitude of events that convolute the story, the creators still manage to create an intricate culture surrounding the Probats and give a great background to Cliffjumper.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers: Galaxies #7

Jul 11, 2020

If you are at all familiar with the Transformers 2019 series, the last panel is likely no big surprise. However, the dramatic irony makes this a worth-while read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers: Galaxies #8

Aug 14, 2020

Transformers Galaxies #8 brings another wonderful issue to this anthology series. Its heartwarming to see Gauge reunite with her two mentors and Gauge is back to her brilliant and contrary self. Despite the use of flashbacks that may be old-news for some readers, the ending will definitely be a surprise for everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Transformers: Galaxies #9

Sep 6, 2020

Overall, this arc in Transformers Galaxies has been a fun one. Gauge is a great character and theres a lot people can learn from her, especially in finding faith in yourself rather than others.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Transformers: Galaxies #10

Sep 18, 2020

Overall, although I personally don't find Ultra Magnus a very interesting character, Easton keeps the 'bot true to character. Despite there being a couple of hiccups in the dialogue, the creative team did a wonderful job breathing life into these characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Venom (2018) #28

Sep 23, 2020

Overall, despite having a couple stumbles with the dialogue, the creative team has done a wonderful job with this issue. The plot is surging forward and youll be pleasantly surprised by the revelations in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

More