Quinn's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 70
8.2Avg. Review Rating

7
Cojacaru: The Skinner #1

Apr 16, 2021

Cojacaru the Skinner #1 provides an interesting alt-history with plenty of gore and supernatural elements to entertain fans. While its a bit of a monotonous slaughter-fest initially, the story picks up interest with the introduction of its titular character. A few elements in the story and Cojacarus background are a tad confusing, which either suggests issue two will reveal more or that this is best read along with the rest of the series in The Outerverse.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Cyberpunk 2077: Trauma Team #1

Aug 26, 2020

Overall, the creative team did a marvelous job with this first issue. The art and coloring are gorgeous and, for anyone who is a fan of cyberpunk, youll enjoy the themes in this comic. Nadia is an interesting character so far, but whatll be more interesting is just how shell settle the conflict between her morality and her job.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Cyberpunk 2077: Trauma Team #2

Sep 23, 2020

Trauma Team #2 is a great follow-up to the first issue. Nadias motives and background are expanded, and we really get to see just how much the revelation about Apex is affecting her.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Cyberpunk 2077: Trauma Team #3

Nov 5, 2020

Overall, Trauma Team #3 brings a better understanding of Nadias psychewhy she does what she does despite disagreeing with the status quowhile also hitting some poignant cyberpunk themes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Cyberpunk 2077: Trauma Team #4

Dec 15, 2020

Trauma Team #4 marks the end of this wonderful, short series. Even though the ending is ambiguous, its handled well, and, like past issues, this issue doesnt fail to hit those cyberpunk themes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dark One OGN

Jul 15, 2020

In the end, there are still a few questions I had left, but these minor plot holes do little to dampen the impact of Dark Ones story. This a brilliant graphic novel that has some amazing themes delving into the duality of man and light and dark. The creative team tells Pauls story beautifully, making sure that this novel will leave an impact.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Empyre: X-Men #1

Jul 22, 2020

Although the theme and plotline of Empyre: X-Men #1 was not something I would ever expect to come out of Marvel Comics, the issue remains entertaining in part because the writers embrace the absurdity and lean into the humor of the situation.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Giant-Size X-Men (2020): Fantomex #1

Aug 5, 2020

The story is captivating, the dialogue is fun, and the art is gorgeous; theres absolutely no reason why anyone shouldnt pick up this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Guardians of the Galaxy (2020) #6

Sep 2, 2020

Overall, Guardians Of The Galaxy #6gives us an interesting insight into Nova's mind, how he's dealing with the loss of Peter Quill, and how he's can potentially heal from this. The creative team does a wonderful job with this issue and I'm excited to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Guardians of the Galaxy (2020) #8

Nov 4, 2020

If youre a fan of Rocket, youll get a kick out of this issue as he logics his way through a murder mystery. His flippant attitude is front and center but the rest of the cast of characters are wonderfully represented through the dialogue and art.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Guardians of the Galaxy (2020) #9

Dec 9, 2020

Overall, Guardians Of The Galaxy #9is a gorgeous issue. The artwork and colorwork are stunning and really lend to depictions of worlds and people that you can't help but want to learn more about. However, the pacing is a bit quick which is likely a result of packing in over a hundred years into 20 pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Guardians of the Galaxy (2020) #10

Jan 5, 2021

Guardians Of The Galaxy #10 has some wonderful artwork and colorwork but because this issue appears to be the only tie-in to the King in Black event, the pace zooms by and Star-Lords reemergence feels too convenient.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Guardians of the Galaxy (2020) #11

Feb 15, 2021

Overall, Guardians Of The Galaxy #11 is a middle of the road issue. With a lull in the action, we do get an inkling of the changing relationships between Quill and the rest of the Guardians, but there's not enough time before the Olympians show up to truly explore this new dynamic. This issue acts as mostly set-up for the next big fight.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Guardians of the Galaxy (2020) #13

Apr 14, 2021

With a new look to the classic team, Guardians Of The Galaxy #13introduces an exciting new antagonist and new characters. Despite the visual change, the Guardians are still their loveable selves, if just a tad less chaotic. This new arc in the Guardians' story should prove a fun read, and I'm excitedly awaiting the release of the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hellions (2020) #2

Jul 22, 2020

The characters are written wonderfully and the tumultuous interactions between the members of Hellion represented well. The plot is picking up quickly and the creative team is handling this team of misfits beautifully.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Horizon: Zero Dawn #1

Aug 5, 2020

Overall, Horizon Zero Dawn #1 feels a tad short but it sets up the main characters and the plot well. If youre not familiar with the game, youll likely be very confused about the natural order of Horizon Zero Dawn's world.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Horizon: Zero Dawn #2

Sep 3, 2020

Overall, the art, coloring, and lettering are well-done. The main downfall is the simplistic plot that neither adds any novel ideas to the world of Horizon Zero Dawnnor does it expand on the existing characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
No Guns Life #6

Jun 10, 2020

No Guns Life Volume 6, as always, does some great world-building while upholding the integrity of its characters. The series has always been centered around character growth, and volume 6 doesn't deviate from this trend. Both Juzo and Tetsuro have grown so much over the past few volumes, but all these changes culminate at the end of this volume, making for a very hard wait for volume 7 to arrive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
No Guns Life #8

Dec 27, 2020

No Guns Life Volume 8 is a treat. With Juzo impaired, the volume takes on a different tone while digging deep into cyberpunk themes and shining a light on more of Juzo, Tetsuro, and Mary's pasts. Although lighter in action than previous volumes, the art never fails to captivate.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
No Guns Life #9

Mar 1, 2021

While the plot has a few bumps, No Guns Life Volume 9 does Mary and Juzo justice. The two find some resolution to their tumultuous pasts, especially Juzo, and the artwork, especially the fight scenes, is wonderful.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Rom: Dire Wraiths TPB #1

Jan 21, 2021

Unless you're a big fan of Rom and have a yearning for nostalgia, ROM: Dire Wraiths' story offers only forgettable characters and a narrative whose pacing is chaotic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Seven to Eternity #14

Nov 21, 2020

It feels wonderful to get back into this series, but its also bittersweet because we know its going to end soon. But even a bittersweet ending is better than none at all. As has been the case since issue one, Seven To Eternity #14 is gorgeous. The characters have so much depth to them and Adam and Garils continue to be a great juxtaposition.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Seven to Eternity #15

Dec 19, 2020

Seven To Eternity #15 is another excellent issue in this fantastical series. Adam finally faces his fate and accepts the changes in himself while the artwork is still just as gorgeous as the first issue. The next issue is going to be hard to wait for.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Snake Eyes: Deadgame (2020) #1

Jul 15, 2020

Overall, the plot is intriguing and it will be interesting to find out more about Snake Eyes past, but the art and dialogue put a damper on the story in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Snow Angels #1

Feb 23, 2021

While the plot doesnt instantly strike me as unique, the ending of Snow Angels #1 brings plenty of promise. The art perfectly reflects the cruel, icy wasteland. This first issue is a good start, and Im excited to see where this series takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Snow Angels #2

Mar 11, 2021

Snow Angels #2 plunges its characters into suspense and fear. While the Snowman proves to be a scary antagonist in this issue, the mystery of the Trenchfolk and the Colden ones, and all the possibilities of what the Snowman could be, will keep readers around for another issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #2

Mar 24, 2020

Overall, this was a fun issue and Im excited to read future issues. If youre into bounty hunters and are rearing for a story with revenge, mystery, and plenty of action, youll want to check this one out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #3

Jun 24, 2020

Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #3 brings fans a healthy helping of action and bounty hunters. Although this issue contains much less mystery, character development, and background building than previous issues, it's entertaining enough and leaves off on a hopeful note that T'onga will finally receive more development.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #4

Aug 19, 2020

Overall, Bounty Hunters #4 falls short with a plot that isnt as intricate as expected from issue one, but does offer up some great violence and blood thirsty bounty hunters who have very little remorse to give.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #5

Sep 23, 2020

For its simplicity, Bounty Hunters #5 is entertaining. Who doesnt want to watch a few bounty hunters beat each other up? The art is gorgeous and the colors are beautiful. But the plot itself just isnt up to snuff. The characters are painted too black and white for my tastes and the plot just isnt engaging

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #6

Oct 21, 2020

Although the storyline isnt particularly unique or detailed, Bounty Hunters #6 is at least visually entertaining with its gorgeous art and colors. The fight scenes, as usual, are great and who doesnt like watching bounty hunters beat each other up? The addition of Zuckuss and X-Lom is a good choice and Im interested in seeing what theyll get up to in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #7

Nov 18, 2020

Overall, if you like this series for its art and action, you'll enjoy Bounty Hunters #7 for the very same reason. However, with the inclusion of more flashbacks about Valance's past, his character feels too shallow to sympathize with his plight. The dialogue also falls short here and there, and the emotions and actions of the other characters around Valance feel stunted or unreal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tartarus #1

Jan 15, 2020

Tartarus #1 sets the tone for the rest of the series and does some great world-building to introduce us to the political climate and the culture of both Tartarus and the empire. Within the first few pages, the world of Tartarus drew me in very quickly and it doesn't seem to want to let go. Between the exciting plot and beautiful artwork, and maybe due to the cliffhanger at the end of the issue, I'm wallowing in my anticipation for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Best Of: Michelangelo #1

Mar 24, 2021

These Michelangelo-focused stories represent our party-turtle wonderfully. The wide collection features very different art styles, color palettes, and plotlines that, despite their differences, give us a motley of stories that will make you laugh and root for Mikey.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers (2019) #5

May 17, 2019

Overall, this issue resolves little to any of the plot. There's more complexity added to the murder investigation, but it does reveal, at least partially, what Bumbleebee has been doing in his spare time. This issue does leave off on a cliffhanger, and, overall, leaves the readers with a lot more questions than answers. Despite this, or perhaps because of this, I'm looking forward to the next few issues in this new Transformers series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers (2019) #6

Jun 4, 2019

Although I'm looking forward to seeing the murder investigation culminate, this small interlude to evaluate the relationship between Orion Pax and Megatron was insightful and reveals more about the political atmosphere of Cybertron.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Transformers (2019) #7

Jun 16, 2019

However, this issue is a little frustrating, for both the readers and the characters within. The murder investigation is no closer to answers, and you can see how this affects Prowl negatively. Chromia is much more put-together about the situation but she must also be feeling the pressure. We get more of a sneak peek in Cyclonus's mind, but we're also suddenly introduced to a new bot with questionable intentions. More questions than answers seem to be added to the mystery of the first murder on Cybertron. I can certainly tell you I'm antsy to be thrown a bone. There are so many questions needing to be answered, beyond those revolving around the murder. What are the Ascenticons up to? Why are Cybertronians going missing? Is Bumblebee making the right choice? Let me tell you, it's going to be a good day when all of them are answered. But, for now, we wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers (2019) #8

Jul 5, 2019

Largely, this issue feels like a good step in plot progression. A few of the past issues were definitely slow but this issue has me excited to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers (2019) #9

Jul 20, 2019

We get to see the faces of a few new characters in this issue as well. And a few other characters are simply mentioned. This gives me hope that we'll see even more characters in the future. Personally, I'm still waiting for one of my favorite characters to be added to the cast but despite his absence, the current trend of adding a couple of new characters each issue makes me have no doubt he'll show up at some point. Overall, this was a fun issue. We get a lot more action and see just what the extremists have been up to beneath the memorial.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers (2019) #10

Aug 11, 2019

Transformers #10 is jam-packed with politics and intrigue. Answers are finally given to us concerning the connections between Megatron, the Ascenticons, and the first Cybertronian deaths the planet has seen in a very long time. I won't say much in regards to what questions are finally answered in this issue to avoid any spoilers, but the ending of this issue greatly advances the plot. The first two issues of this series were very slow plot-wise, but now we're speeding ahead. The ending of this issue also introduces some characters who will most likely have a larger role in future issues and for which I'm personally very excited to see added to this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers (2019) #11

Aug 31, 2019

The end of Transformers #11 is really well laid-out and really strikes me as quite powerful. We get a more definitive definition of the Ascenticon cause, and Megatron's plans are pushing ahead quickly. It finally feels like we're getting to familiar ground in the creation of the Decepticons. The ending will definitely make anyone excited for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers (2019) #12

Sep 19, 2019

On top of this, the coloring by Lafuente is beautiful. There are a few panels showing foreign planets along with novel flora and fauna. These panels are visually striking and really capture the beauty that Nautica herself finds in these alien environments. The lettering by Tom B. Long, as always, is easy to follow and doesn't clutter the pages. The use of different types of speech bubbles also aides in ease of reading and separating spoken language with inner monologue. Overall, Transformers #12 is a great issue that continues to showcase the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers (2019) #13

Oct 18, 2019

This issue was really entertaining between the fight scenes and all the action. However, there are a lot of events that occur in this issue that seem to be coalescing into something big. This issue ends with an eerie feeling that something is about to happen and I get the vague notion that the Autobots are not going to be ready for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers (2019) #14

Nov 8, 2019

This issue was wonderfully entertaining but also leaves off on a more serious note. What's next? Will Cybertron survive what Megatron has in store for it?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Transformers (2019) #16

Jan 30, 2020

We have a new letterer on this issue and, although it's sad to see Tom B. Long step away from this project, Wood doesn't let us down. The panels are clean and uncluttered by the speech bubbles, and they allow for easy transitions between speakers. The well-placed sound effects don't add clutter but adequately express the actions in each panel. Overall, it's great to see Wood added to the creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers (2019) #17

Feb 15, 2020

Overall, this issue wasn't as exciting as previous ones. The technical presentation of this issue, between the artwork, coloring, dialogue, and lettering, was excellent. But the events just weren't as interesting as previous issues. I'm not as familiar with 'bots like Lodestar and Lightbright and just didn't become attached to them in so few panels. Their personalities didn't jump out at me through the dialogue and made it difficult to be entirely sympathetic to their plight.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Transformers (2019) #18

Mar 12, 2020

Despite there being some technical issues, Transformers #18 was an entertaining tangent to the rest of the series. It's hard to tell if, at all, this issue will have a greater impact on the plot of the series as a whole, but, after the gravity of the events in the previous issue, the end of the issue is a bit of a reprieve.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers (2019) #19

Mar 23, 2020

Transformers #19 feels like the true rise of the Decepticons has finally begun. Although Megatron and his followers have caused plenty of mayhem, the nonchalant nature of Megatron and the physical destruction really seems to expedite the formation of what fans know only as the Decepticons. I'm excited to see what the next issue brings with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Transformers (2019) #21

Jul 23, 2020

Although this isnt a plot-heavy issue, Transformers #21 gives us a large cast of characters to entertain readers and some fun fight scenes with snarky dialogue. However, the two different art styles clashed more often than not and put a damper on the fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers (2019) #22

Aug 21, 2020

Transformers #22 finds a satisfying conclusion to the last issues fight between Cybertrons security forces and the Decepticons. But given that half the issue is combat, it feels short and certainly not as thought-provoking as past issues. However, the creative team has done a wonderful job and the ending will come as a surprise for some readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers (2019) #23

Sep 17, 2020

Transformers #23 is an exciting issue. Its extremely emotional and a true turning point for the Decepticons. The creative team did a wonderful job handling the range of characters and events in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers (2019) #24

Nov 7, 2020

Transformers #24 is a breath of fresh air, momentarily moving away from the mayhem on Cybertron to focus on a fun gaggle of scientists trying to save the moon. Although the coloring had a few missteps, the art, dialogue, and story are excellent and the cliffhanger at the end insinuates that the next issue is going to be a fun one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers (2019) #26

Jan 1, 2021

We see our two leaders finally falling into their inevitable roles in Transformers #26. Ruckley continues to do a great job characterizing and juxtaposing Megatron and Optimus Prime. After the action of the last issue, the dialogue-heavy panels of this issue feel a bit slow, but Im excited to see where the next issue leads.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Transformers (2019) #27

Jan 24, 2021

The gaggle of characters in Transformers #27 is a wonderful choice. Their big personalities clash and make for fun and witty dialogue along with amusing situations and exciting fight scenes. This issue brings some levity to the series, as much as possible with the dire events going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Transformers (2019) #28

Mar 6, 2021

Transformers #28 is a highlight of characterization. Swindle and Cyclonus feel like they will finally make their way into the larger plotline. Ruckley does wonders in representing these characters with the dialogue while the rest of the creative team continues to do an excellent job.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers (2019): Valentine's Day Special #1

Feb 14, 2020

If you're interested in two heartwarming stories of love, populated by adorable characters and fun dialogue that'll leave you with a smile on your face, pick up a copy of the Transformers: Valentine's Day Special.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers: Escape #2

Feb 14, 2021

Overall, while I would recommend reading the main series first, the events of Transformers: Escape #2 are still impactful. This is largely due to the great selection of personalities and the excellent dialogue. But the art and colors also do an outstanding job supporting the plot. So far, this mini-series is a great tangent to the main storyline of Transformers (2019).

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers: Galaxies #1

Sep 27, 2019

Personally, I think this is a wonderful start to this series. I was a bit wary when I heard that the series was going to start out highlighting the Constructicons, but my fears have certainly been assuaged. The only downside to this series is that I have to wait a month to get my hands on the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers: Galaxies #3

Nov 29, 2019

Transformers Galaxies #3 goes into greater depth on why the Constructicons were on Mayalax in issue #2. The readers learn more about what it takes to combine and why this combining is so threatening to Cybertron. The creative team is doing an amazing job on this series and I'm excited to read more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers: Galaxies #4

Feb 19, 2020

Transformers Galaxies #4 is a great conclusion to this arc. I was glad to see the Constructicons highlighted and I think that the creative team did an excellent job creating an emotive, complex story while at the same time tying it into the greater Transformers series in just a few short issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers: Galaxies #5

Mar 12, 2020

Transformers Galaxies #5 is a great start to a new tale in this anthology series. It's fun, quirky, but also emotional. Although a bit simplistic in comparison to previous issues, the plot is entertaining, and the technical elements of this issue are beautifully done. Im eagerly awaiting the release of the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Transformers: Galaxies #6

Mar 27, 2020

For something so short, we get a great story that is both emotionally impactful and entertaining. Although this arc, and issue, aren't filled with a multitude of events that convolute the story, the creators still manage to create an intricate culture surrounding the Probats and give a great background to Cliffjumper.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers: Galaxies #7

Jul 11, 2020

If you are at all familiar with the Transformers 2019 series, the last panel is likely no big surprise. However, the dramatic irony makes this a worth-while read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers: Galaxies #8

Aug 14, 2020

Transformers Galaxies #8 brings another wonderful issue to this anthology series. Its heartwarming to see Gauge reunite with her two mentors and Gauge is back to her brilliant and contrary self. Despite the use of flashbacks that may be old-news for some readers, the ending will definitely be a surprise for everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Transformers: Galaxies #9

Sep 6, 2020

Overall, this arc in Transformers Galaxies has been a fun one. Gauge is a great character and theres a lot people can learn from her, especially in finding faith in yourself rather than others.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Transformers: Galaxies #10

Sep 18, 2020

Overall, although I personally don't find Ultra Magnus a very interesting character, Easton keeps the 'bot true to character. Despite there being a couple of hiccups in the dialogue, the creative team did a wonderful job breathing life into these characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers: Galaxies #11

Oct 29, 2020

Although Storm Horizon is not my favorite arc so far in this anthology series, I still enjoyed my time with this issue. The way Easton writes Magnus has added an extra dimension to this character and the rest of the creative team has done an excellent job rounding this issue out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Transformers: Galaxies #12

Jan 2, 2021

Eastons writing is perfect for Magnus, and the art is wonderful. However, this issue is bittersweet for the fact that Transformers Galaxies #12 is the last issue in this series. Although its sad to see this anthology series end, this final issue leads into the next major events of the Transformers ongoing series excellently and I can't wait to see where Transformers is headed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Venom (2018) #28

Sep 23, 2020

Overall, despite having a couple stumbles with the dialogue, the creative team has done a wonderful job with this issue. The plot is surging forward and youll be pleasantly surprised by the revelations in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Venom (2018) #29

Oct 21, 2020

With Annie telling the history of this dimension and her Dylan and Eddie facing his mistakes with Scorpion, this issue trades action for emotional content. The creative team has done a good job of marrying the flashbacks with the present story and the next issue will undoubtfully be an interesting one.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

March

More