Rob Ferreri's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders Reviews: 37
7.4Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Action Comics (2016) #992

Nov 24, 2017

One of the most important things in a Superman costume to me is bright colors. A light bright blue and a fire engine red with a little bright yellow in the mix is essential. Dark and dingy blues and reds just don't convey the spirit of the character. Hi-Fi does an incredible job of choosing the right color tones to set the right presence and feel for Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #790

Oct 31, 2017

As a longtime Spidey fan who has lost faith a few times over the years I'm looking forward to seeing what the future holds for both Peter Parker and Spider-Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #791

Nov 24, 2017

If this was the Fall of Parker then I'm curious to see where he lands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #12

Oct 16, 2017

I had a good time reading this issue. It was fun, fast paced, and took me back to a time long ago. We even get a giant robot, and who doesn't like giant robots? Now that the first year has wrapped I'll have to make sure I renew my subscription toRenew Your Vows because there is no way I am going to miss out on what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Amazing Spider-Man: Venom Inc.: Alpha #1

Dec 8, 2017

The story continues with part 2 ofVenom Inc.inThe Amazing Spider-Man #792. Then head over toVenom #159for part 3. We then head back toThe Amazing Spider-Man #793for part 4 and then toVenom #160for part 5. The story will conclude with another one-shot, Amazing Spider-Man: Venom Inc. Omega #1,that will conclude the 6 part story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bane: Conquest #6

Oct 4, 2017

Bane Conquestis a book that is worth your time to read, especially if you were a fan of the character when he first debuted way back in January of 1993 when Batman: Vengeance of Bane #1 hit comic shelves and promised us a different kind of super-villain. If you have avoided this book because of the erratic treatment of Bane in the past then it's time to look to the future and enjoy a great book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Batman (2016) #34

Nov 1, 2017

This issue was part 2 of the Rules of Engagement storyline and was a fun Batman story. I'm excited to see the character evolving and very curious to seewhat the future holdsfor Bruce and Selena.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #37

Dec 20, 2017

I really enjoyed this issue and if you are a fan of either Batman or Superman (or both) I highly recommend picking up a copy and checking out the World's Finest double date.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Batman Beyond (2016) #17

Feb 28, 2018

The Gotham City of the future looks to be in good hands and I can't wait to get my hands on the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Ben Reilly: The Scarlet Spider #9

Oct 31, 2017

Marvel Legacy has done well by Ben Reilly so far and it looks positive for the Slingers too if this issue's team up with Ricochet is any indication.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ben Reilly: The Scarlet Spider #10

Nov 27, 2017

I'm really enjoying The Slingers Return and I hope a Prodigy appearance is coming soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bruce Lee: Walk of the Dragon #1

Mar 8, 2018

I really enjoyed Bruce Lee: Walk of the Dragon #1 and hope that this team gets back together to deliver another fun adventure soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Captain Kronos #2

Oct 27, 2017

This is the first comic I've read in the Hammer line and if this title is any indication of the quality of the rest of the line I have some titles to add to my pull list and some back issues to go hunt down.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.4
Champions #20

May 24, 2018

All in all I was pretty underwhelmed and have no desire to check out the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.4
Cyborg (2016) #22

May 3, 2018

I may just have to peek back a bit through this run of Cyborg and see what other goodness I've missed out on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Flash/Speed Buggy Special #1

May 31, 2018

I was not expecting a lot of depth in the Hannah Barbara crossover books, but I was very happily surprised withThe Flash/Speed Buggy #1 and will be checking out the other crossover books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Detective Comics (2016) #967

Oct 31, 2017

As long as this creative team stays in place it will be no mystery as to whether to add this book to your pull lists.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #968

Nov 14, 2017

Even with a non-violent end there is still a lot of action in this issue and some great visuals courtesy of the pencils of Alvaro Martinez and inking talent of Raul Fernandez. The visuals, which are accentuated beautifully with the coloring skills of Tomeu Morey, capture your attention and draw you into the DCU.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #973

Jan 24, 2018

I really enjoyed this issue and highly recommend this series to any Bat fan. Now go pick up a copy so you can get to that splash page!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.4
Ducktales #2

Nov 1, 2017

It was a fun read and brought me back to happy childhood memories. The only real criticism would be toning down the abusive behavior towards Donald. In a world where bullying is a real problem giving kids the message that being a bully is ok by having Scrooge and Della bully Donald might not be the best example to set and did greatly impact my opinion of the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #32

Oct 20, 2017

Rebirth has definitely produced some interesting and exciting storylines for a lot of DC's major heroes and the Flash is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Green Lanterns #45

Apr 18, 2018

I went from disinterest in these characters at their inception to adding their title to my reading list. I recommend anyone who is skeptical about 2 more Lanterns read Green Lanternsand you'll see why they are needed. I for one am looking forward to issue #46 and the next part of Ghosts of the Past.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #33

Dec 1, 2017

The creative team has created a giant green energy hand and pulled me back in. I will be puttingHal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps. back on my pull list and going green.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #43

Jun 7, 2018

While not a title that has been on my pull list, I really enjoyed reading Harley's adventures and have to admit, I really want to know where the story goes next. I'll be checking out next issue for part 2 ofOne of My Turns.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
I Hate Fairyland #16

Feb 8, 2018

I remain a huge fan of Skottie Young's work and I Hate Fairylandin particular. If you want an out of this world, absurdly funbook to read then I highly recommend picking this issue up and even checking out the graphic novels to get the full story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #20

Oct 30, 2017

This issue is a great jumping in point. Fans of the show should check out the book and get a little Ranger history lesson. For those not familiar with or fans of the Power Rangers this book may just change that.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Mother Russia #3

Oct 24, 2017

The book is part of Alterna's newsprint line and has a cover price of $1.50. For that price it's worth picking up for a fun quick read, but at a more standard cover price I would have to pass on it. I hope that this is not an indication that the newsprint line will start to put out material regardless of quality just to keep its momentum. What Alterna needs to realize is that the novelty of cheap newsprint books will fade and so will readers unless you give them books worth staying for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #31

Oct 23, 2017

It was good getting back in touch with Nightwing as he has long been on my top 5 favorite heroes list. I'll be back in Bludhaven again next month and for the foreseeable future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Nightwing: The New Order #3

Oct 31, 2017

I love a good elseworlds type story and seeing familiar characters in situations we wouldn't get to in continuity and this is among the best I've read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sherlock: The Great Game #4

Nov 14, 2017

Being a mystery story I am not going to tell you the plot details of this issue, but I will say it is worth your time to read it yourself and find out. If you are a fan of the show andare looking for more Sherlock then this book would be perfect for you and if you have never watched the show, this might inspire you to change that and tune in. The format also makes this book a great choice for manga fans, especially those who prefer the original Japanese right to left format.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Gwen (2015) #25

Oct 24, 2017

For someone like me who is tired of characters who are based on other characters or proven formulas Spider-Gwen was a refreshing change of pace. What we are given is not merely another spider character, but a solid well-rounded character with a complex and interesting background. Looks like I'll be stuck in this web for the long haul.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spider-Gwen (2015) #26

Dec 1, 2017

Hopefully this issue was just a pause in the action and things will ramp back up next issue. Not only was there a lack of any real action or impact it was actually kind of depressing. There does however seem to be some hope of action ahead and this may have just been a means to get there. I am going to give Spider-Gwenanother issue or two and hope things improve and I get caught in Spider-Gwen's web.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Man (2016) #21

Oct 9, 2017

Miles may be called Spider-Man, but that's not what makes him interesting. I would follow his adventures wether he was Spider-Man, Kid Arachnid, or even just Miles Morales, but I think he's earned the title and is himself a “real” Spider-Man. I'm going to continue to follow his exploits and I think you should too.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Spider-Man (2016) #234

Nov 10, 2017

This issue also takes on the original numbering of Miles' series and Bendis has been with Miles since the beginning and seems to have just as much love for the character as ever and it shows in the writing. Miles is in good hands, unless the new Sinister Six get their way.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Supergirl (2016) #15

Nov 13, 2017

This issue was part one of thePlain Sight storyline and if you are a fan of the show you may enjoy it, especially if you are less bothered by the show dictating the direction of the comic than I am.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Torchwood: The Culling #1

Oct 22, 2017

No matter if it's traveling in the Tardis with the Doctor, fighting aliens on a space ship at the edge of the universe, or just running around the streets of Cardiff I will be tuning in for the adventures of Captain Jack Harkness for as long as the immortal adventurer continues to have them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Venom (2016) #155

Oct 5, 2017

This is a great time to jump onboard the Venom train for both new and returning readers and I highly suggest you addVenomto your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More