Ryne Wiley's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 18
8.0Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Jessica Jones #14

Nov 18, 2017

Bendis is finishing up what might be his last arc of Jessica Jones. It would seem he is attempting to go out exploiting the most interesting relationship in Jessicas history. The manipulation is authentic and intimate as a result of the last 17 years of character development with each character. They truly bring out the best and worst in each other.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Jessica Jones #15

Dec 31, 2017

Jessica gets put under the twisted Purple microscope for a majority of the issue, but the cat and mouse game is far from over. The balance of power changes hands several times and the dizzying effects bring the reader into the psychological torment. Combined with some beautiful layouts that escalate the action, this issue is anxiety-inducing, to say the least.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jessica Jones #16

Feb 7, 2018

Digging deep, we are treated to a look inside Jessicas head. Always one to blame herself, she is put in circumstances beyond her control, and she resents it. Conversely, The Purple Mans ego is put on display. A character developing issue, its the strongest in the arc so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Ms. Marvel (2015) #25

Dec 28, 2017

An entire issue missing the main character is always a risky one. However, with the titular character missing from all scenes, we see just how much she is needed throughout different aspects of her life. A well-paced issue that is sure to build into a greater story arc showing the true importance of not only the hero but of the girl herself.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Ms. Marvel (2015) #26

Jan 16, 2018

A transitional issue in an interesting study of what Jersey City would be like if there was no Kamala Khan moonlighting as Ms. Marvel. Pieces are falling into place to create the ultimate climax, but for now, the issue turns into a lot of talking heads that seem to whip about at lightspeed to get to the action.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #27

Feb 22, 2018

Kamalas friends are learning the hard way that Ms. Marvel has a gift for protecting Jersey City. Illustrating that it takes more than a costume to save the city, the tension escalates as one of Ms. Marvels old foes enacts his new place to get revenge on the hero who spurned him the first time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
No. 1 With A Bullet #1

Nov 15, 2017

The more you read No 1. With a Bullet, the denser it feels. There is clearly a grand scheme at play that includes social media, anonymity, internet scandal and online bullying. Nash is a character with a fully developed life and inner monologue that will make her an exciting character to explore these topics. The book feels so grounded in reality, the themes hit harder than many other Sci-Fi books on the shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
No. 1 With A Bullet #2

Dec 11, 2017

The second issue of No 1 With a Bullet gets a little more personal. Introducing a culture that is a funhouse mirror to our own, we are given an in-depth look at how media and gossip can affect the individual. More importantly, we see the dehumanization of a woman. A subject all too many people are apt to ignore, Semahn pulls the ugly culture into the light and has no qualms about reflecting that mirror back on us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
No. 1 With A Bullet #3

Jan 4, 2018

Shaping into a David and Goliath story, No 1 With a Bullet puts a woman against a culture. Our hero even internalizes the culture that snubs her but shows growth in rectifying her feelings and standing up for herself. In contrast, the men show their true colors in this issue. And its not pretty for anyone involved.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
No. 1 With A Bullet #4

Feb 13, 2018

No 1 With a Bullet never disappoints on its social commentaries. Acknowledging that much of the abuse in the book's plot is related to influence is a poignant aspect of the books themes. The constant descent of our hero Nash while her former boss seems to be on the rise becomes even more harrowing as we inch forward to an explosive climax.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Redlands #5

Dec 28, 2017

Ever dark and sexy, Redlands is intriguing in its captivating storyline. Revealing our witchy heroes may not be on the right side of the law is starting to bring into question their true intentions for their little town. As the story arc ends, hopefully, we get a bombshell answer that brings us a little closer to understanding how all these pieces fit together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sex Criminals #21

Jan 31, 2018

A fun look into what our sex havin, bank robbin, heroes have been up to as of late, this issue sets up the entirety of the arc. Normalcy and routine are a theme to the issue that will hopefully set up the complete opposite for the next several issues. The realization that life has come to screeching halt will surely drive Jon and Suzie into some insane adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Wicked + The Divine #33

Nov 17, 2017

The end of this arc proves, once again, while new questions are constantly raised and never answered, Kieron Gillen, has a masterful plan that will take turns never imagined. Beginning the issue with a twist that defies expectations, an even bigger reveal in its final pages inspires a dumbfounded awe. The execution through McKelvies art is breathtaking. The book is never boring, and always sexy. This time is no different.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
The Wicked + The Divine Annual #1

Dec 14, 2017

The Wicked + The Divine Christmas Annual is pure fanservice. Giving a glimpse into the earliest day of The Occurrence, we dig a little deeper into the characters we love. Seeing a few other characters get a more central part in their own story is a nice treat. The stories we often hear and never saw are now no longer a mystery. Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Wicked + The Divine: 1923 #1

Feb 14, 2018

A playful mystery style novel plays out as the gods of the 1923 Pantheon uncover a conspiracy. The arrogance of the gods is overshadowed by the overarching head of the chaos, Ananke, as she manipulates the gods like puppets to enact one of her masterful plans. Still leaving plenty of questions, the one-shot feels as fun and sexy as its main series counterpart.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wild Storm #9

Nov 21, 2017

Probably the slowest issue of an already slow-burn title. Eventually, we will reach a climax that will be exciting and explosive, but to say this issue is anything but transitionary would be a lie. When 10 pages are devoted to only a fight scene, its clear there is not enough story to fill out the 24 issue arc. But those 10 pages are beautifully rendered, so if youre looking for great art, youll find a lot of it here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Wild Storm #10

Dec 28, 2017

While this is another issue of talking heads, we are getting a greater sense of the bigger gears at play and getting more foreshadowing into the sense of doom that will lead to the Armageddon of the Wild Storm Universe. Each character is getting closer to understanding their place in the machine but has yet to discover what the plot truly is.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wild Storm #11

Feb 1, 2018

The Plot inches forward ever so slowly. Again we feel as though not much has happened while a million little things march their way to the finish line. A brief look into why the treaty is so important is probably the key take away from this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

February

January

More