SHAY REVOLVER's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Graphic Policy Reviews: 111
8.9Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Alters #1

Oct 5, 2016

Often in media we see sexuality and gender identity used heavyhandedly to sensationalize or add a shock factor to a story, in Alters it seems organic. You can feel every emotion that the hiding of who she is causes her. You cringe at the deceptions she has to engage at to keep herself safe & the people she loves in the dark. Despite how strong she is, you find yourself wanting to reach through the pages, hug her and, tell her it's going to be alright. Chalice seems like a real person, which is a testament to the great story and brilliant writing in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Alters #3

Dec 22, 2016

I enjoyed reading this issue and the series itself has been solid, even though we're only three issues in I feel for the characters and enjoy the world that has been created and the characters that live in it. There are no wasted panels or word and everything seems real and unforced. This issue was no exception to the momentum and expectations the previous two issues set up, in fact, the series seems to be getting stronger and better with each new issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
America #1

Mar 1, 2017

Overall, I found this issue to be a rapid-fire, clever and interesting setup. The writing is solid and appropriate for a young superhero, the story was realistic (in comic book storytelling format). The main character is thoroughly fleshed out, auxiliary characters were shown in a way that not only introduced them but, gave an insight to their personality. This is a great comic book for tweens and up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
America #2

Apr 11, 2017

This issue shows America trying to figure out how her powers work and how far they can take her, we also see her forming a community with other females which is always good to see in any form of media. We find her supporting and engaged by a black child prodigy and fighting brodudes about their appropriation, objectification, and dismissal of minority culture and to a similar degree women. America tackles hard subjects and makes them entertaining without diminishing the gravity of the situations. This comic is a prime example of how to merge representation, politics, and entertainment in a way that is both strong and full of teaching moments without watering down very real problems and ideas.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
American Gods: Shadows #1

Mar 19, 2017

Dark Horse has another hit on its hands with this one, not just because of the story's original fans but, because it this strong first issue is any indication, they're going to have whole bunch of new readers falling in love with the story for the first time as well as OG fans finding a new way to love the story in a new and exciting way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batgirl (2016) #4

Nov 6, 2016

Overall, the fourth issue was a good read from beginning to end and brought something special to the current story arc. The main player's motivation were brought out and well defined. I enjoyed reading it and am looking forward to seeing how this all plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #14

Sep 17, 2017

I truly enjoyed this issue. It wasn't as intense or story arc driven as the things I'm used to but it was a nice change of pace. The issue focused on the simpler and fun campy things about the Birds of Prey. Things are tense enough in the real world so having a mellow, pure, low key fun issue to read was nice escape.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Batwoman (2017) #1

Mar 19, 2017

Overall, I found this issue a fast, compelling, well-written read and I can't wait until the next installment in, if this opening issue is any indication, what I am sure will be a very interesting arc and a wonderful upgrade to the Batwoman legacy and series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Batwoman (2017) #2

Apr 23, 2017

This second undertaking of an underutilized character in the DC universe is perfect. It has a real chance of bringing her and her story into the light and, I'm always here for complex, solo female (anti)heroes. The writing makes her interesting and adds a layer of dimension to her that I'm happy to see. The art team does ethnicity well in its drawing and color choices making it so that it doesn't feel like we are just looking at a homogeneous group in different shades and,, they do so without making other ethnicities look like caricatures. Overall, I can't wait to see what this team does with this character and arc because, if this issue is any indication there's so much talent happening that it can only keep going up from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Batwoman (2017) #3

Jun 23, 2017

Usually the third installment in a story arc is filled with exposition and erroneous background info, that is not the case here and I'm grateful to the creative team for going for homeruns with every issue that I've read so far. Overall, this issue is not only on par with the previous ones but it builds on the momentum created in the previous issues but, connects them adding layers to the story and allowing for some top notch entertaining reading. Bennett and Tynion raised the stakes and, gave us full fire awesomeness that has me fully primed to check out the next issue because, I need to know what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Batwoman: Rebirth #1

Feb 19, 2017

Overall between the storytelling and the art, this issue felt sincere, smart, well thought out, and engaging. There wasn't a lot of action but, there didn't need to be, it was about human connection, the things that drive us and, make us into what we become.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Big Trouble In Little China / Escape From New York #1

Oct 5, 2016

Daniel Baylissserves up classic 80s comic book art making every panel magic. It's a real page-turner and anyone who digs Carpenter's work , Snake or Jack will love the homage, artistry and style. It is the best kind of throwback and the mashup to end all mashups. I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black #1

Oct 4, 2016

Overall Black was a good read that can only expand on a smart, interesting premise and story. I look forward to seeing Black‘s world expand and finding out what Kareem does with his powers, what his new “family” wants him to fo with his powers and, what the government wants to do with the people who have the super powered multiquarks.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Panther (2016) #7

Oct 22, 2016

Overall, Black Panther #7 was a great read that left me wanting more. Every aspect of the comic was thought out, deliberate, every word was integral to the story and the characters and, every panel was packed with detail that brought the story to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Black Panther: World of Wakanda #4

Feb 15, 2017

This issue was chocked full of storylines all interwoven in a way that shows all things are connected and, I'm looking forward to the butterfly effect dial waves that this will send throughout the series as a whole. Gay serves up a lot on a small plate and a lesser writer would have had so many bumps in the road, through clunky dialogue and unnecessary exposition but, Gay is a pro and not a word, bubble or scene is wasted. The handling of the lesbian relationships between Ayo and Aneke is human, real and compassionate. In the short number of pages that showcase it, there's never a sense of putting on a show or pandering. The way she handles sexual assault is flawless, showcasing the shame and fear. This was a mostly female crew and what they pulled off I'm sure will inspire a legion of little girls who think they can't, to take up thief pens and pencils and do it too! This issue is a fearless, well thought out tribute to the comic gods and they are well pleased.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Black Panther: World of Wakanda #5

Mar 21, 2017

Dawn of the Midnight Angels concludes in an amazing way and I'm looking forward to the next story arc and seeing all of the great things that I am sure this stellar team has in store for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Panther: World of Wakanda #6

Apr 21, 2017

The current story arc is interesting and well thought out enough to make up for the lack of the Midnight Angels and open the door the strong black male lead we find in Kevin Cole. Browne takes special care to add all of the little details necessary to make Cole an interesting and complex character. I'm looking forward to seeing where this extraordinarily strong creative team takes what seems to be a compelling story line and how it all intertwines with the rest of the Black Panther universe. But, wherever this story arc goes, I'm all strapped in and ready to go along for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Black Widow (2016) #7

Oct 23, 2016

There was unfortunately not enough meat or Natasha to make it a real page-turner but, I still hold out hope for the next issue because the arc must go on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Brik #2

Aug 16, 2016

As a stand alone issue, BRIK #2 is a complete mini story and, a really good read. Full disclosure, I started with this issue and without having read issue #1, finished it feeling connected and invested. I then purchased issue #1 and read it and after the sinking feeling in my stomach for Drew and his family wore off, found myself a fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Brik #3

Sep 21, 2016

Drew doesn't find out what happened to his mom in this issue but, we all know and we know how this story ends. Drew is going. To discover that his mom was attacked while he was off dealing with a bully. He will seek vengeance and his path will either be that of the Spiderman or that of the Punisher. Either way works for me and I can't wait to see how Drew's story unfolds .

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Brik #4

Dec 27, 2016

Overall Brik #4 serves up more of the consistency, superbly drawn panels, and well thought out story line that we fell in love with. I can't wait to see how the next two issues pan out and what the creators do with this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Brik #5

Dec 28, 2016

Issue five ends with an edge of your seat cliffhanger that doesn't feel gimmicky or forced. The organic progression of the series means that this issue is everything that you need it to be with a nice push to make it even more than you expected.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Brik #6

Dec 29, 2016

Overall issue #6 ended this arc with a bang and I can't wait for them to reload the gun and give us another shot!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Bullseye (2017) #1

Feb 1, 2017

Overall this issue as a whole was a solid read. The stories match up nicely and seem to complement each other. The two separate storylines also seem like if at some point they wanted to combine the two stories into one story, it would work well and it's quite feasible that the storylines could interconnect. The first issue of Bullseye gave us two really good stand alone stories that prove that Bullseye doesn't need the Devil of Hells Kitchen to be interesting or relevant.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Bullseye (2017) #2

Mar 2, 2017

This issue is a wonderfully created collaboration between some very talented individuals that give the reader something to sink their teeth in to. No panel is wasted, no human character defect left unexplored, no bloodshed left covered up. Bullseye is a deep dark look into the soul of a killer, especially when the arc trajectory has him facing off against a man whose soul might just be as dark as his own. The only thing wrong with this issue is that Marvel is back to its once a month production schedule for this character and I loathe having to wait so long to see how this shakes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Bullseye (2017) #3

Apr 22, 2017

There's so much action packed into this issue that you'd be a fool not to read it with popcorn. It's an intense romp through a dark underworld, with well-written characters, a villain masquerading as "hero" and, a kick-ass, take no prisoners agent out for revenge. There is no moral to the story, no political commentary just good old-fashioned senseless beautiful violence and there's nothing wrong with that. Escapism isn't a bad thing in the current political climate and Bullseye #3 is nothing if not a sweet, albeit bloody, escape from the real world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Carnage (2015) #13

Oct 21, 2016

Overall Carnage #13 left me wanting more, in the best possible way. As a stand alone issue it draws the reader in and makes you feel invested in the story. As part of the story arc, it serves it purpose as a stabilizer that readies us for the battle to come. I'm ready for whatever comes next and super excited to see how all of this plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Crosswind #1

Jun 22, 2017

This is a stellar debut issue and it has me longing for July so I can see what shakes out between the two main characters. Overall this was a great read, quick, but containing moment of questioning and genuine interests.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #6

Oct 22, 2016

Overall issue #6 was a perfect read, it propelled the fight and current story arc forward. As a stand alone issue it's still solid and stands up but, as part of the whole it is a perfect piece as this storyline winds down. With a few more issues to go before the end of this series, this issue gives us something to look forward to and, a team to root for when everything comes to an end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deadpool vs. The Punisher #1

Apr 12, 2017

Overall, Van Lente manages to keep both of the title characters in their truest form, giving us loads of action, blood and, pure adrenaline raising violence. In round one of what I'm sure is going to be an epic arc, that ultimately ends with the two teaming up to take out the “real” bad guys Tango & Cash style, the story comes to an abrupt and honest end. All of these amazing factors combine to form a perfect start to the arc, leaving me fully primed for round two because, Van Lente is telling one hell of a story and, I want more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Deadpool vs. The Punisher #2

Apr 26, 2017

Van Lente provides a great story and the Perez and Redmond artwork complements his words perfectly. There are no wasted bubbles or panels and everything that is done is done deliberately and serves its purpose of moving the story along keeping the reader engaged and leaving us wanting more. Round 2 of Deadpool vs Punisher is just as intense and fun as the first issue and, if Van Lente keeps this momentum up I'm sure the finale of this arc will make your head explode in the best possible way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deadpool: Too Soon? #1

Oct 22, 2016

Overall this issue was everything I wanted and more than I expected. It was a nice call back to the comic books of my youth and reminded me of what I loved about comic books as a kid. It was cohesive, smart, well written., expertly drawn and a perfect start to a story arc. I look forward to seeing how this story plays out and if it keeps ending on such hard and enticing twists. I am totally in for the long haul and you should be too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Death of X #2

Oct 25, 2016

Overall this was a page turner and well worth a read. it is more than just a place holder or an expository link in the overall story line chain, it is a full fledged stand alone part of the universe and it has earned its place in the timeline as a great and gripping story with a lot of action, complex characters and motives and beautiful art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Die Kitty Die! #1

Oct 19, 2016

Ruiz and Parent picked a perfect point to stop this issue. It left the readers invested in Kitty and her story but, it also put us on the edge of our seats. Would Kitty escape the clutches of her traitor friend? Will she survive the series? Will she turn the tables on her publishers? So many questions and so long to wait until the next issue but, I can wait. I think Die Kitty Die is worth it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Elektra (2017) #1

Feb 25, 2017

div.wpmrec2x {width: 100%}div.wpmrec2x div.u > div {float: left;margin-right:10px;}

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Elektra (2017) #2

Mar 22, 2017

Overall I was more annoyed at this issue and disappointed than anything else, it was sexist, reductive and, an ill-conceived look at what should have been an amazing Elektra story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Elektra (2017) #3

Apr 27, 2017

The whole point of this arc seems to be rooted in making Elektra fight for other people but, not to save them, she is not in control of her body or actions and is trapped in a storyline that makes her a slave to others, under the thumb of her male enslaver and at the mercy of a mob who takes delight in using her body as entertainment. It's lazy storytelling and it's not even interesting or complex enough to be an actual story. To answer the question posed by Arcade early on in this issue, NO! I am not entertained.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Extraordinary X-Men #15

Oct 29, 2016

Overall I found this issue a real page turner. It was strong, cohesive and effective in pushing the story along. With the X-Men being such an old series it's kind of refreshing to read new stories. It's a nice addition to the universe without being contrived or appearing like a trick to keep readers interested. It's a solid issue in an interesting arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Gamora #1

Dec 21, 2016

Overall this issue was a great read that left me wanting more, even though it ended at a nice closing point. It was pretty to look at and fun to read, and it acts as a nice gateway into the world of the Guardians and I can't wait to read about how her trip to the planet that no one returns from goes, especially with Thanos going after her to save her and a bounty hunter after the same prize that she wants. It's a set up for an action-packed second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Gamora #2

Jan 21, 2017

Overall issue #2 of Gamora is a great read from cover to cover. Even without reading issue #2 you can jump right into the story and feel like you're not only part of it but, have a sense that you know what's going on without Pelman dumbing down the content or spoon feeding you the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Gamora #3

Feb 16, 2017

Overall this issue is a hit and like the issues that proceed it, it works well as a stand-alone. The Gamora series seems to make a point of engaging its readers from cover to cover. The creative crew behind it are adept at telling such a compelling story that you can pick up any issue and jump right in, although you will want to read the issues that precede this one if only to hold you over until #4 comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Gamora #4

Mar 24, 2017

Overall, Gamora #4 is a solid character story but, it's not all exposition and character development. There's a whole lot of action going on and, a sense of realness and urgency. All of the central characters that have appeared in the previous 3 issues make an appearance, alliances are made and destroyed and, there's a very strong reason to check out the next issue. Perlman tells a compelling story filled with genuine nuance and feeling causing any reader, fan or newcomer to the series, to get caught up in the balanced chaos. The looming destruction of Ubilex provides the perfect parallel and backdrop to the story being told and everything comes together with perfect symmetry making this issue more than worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Ghoul Scouts: Night of the Unliving Undead #4

Sep 16, 2016

I decided to review it expecting a kiddy bop version of the walking dead for my tweenage daughter to read because Walking Dead is kind of heavy at times. I got that and so much more, it's a solid read with good characters, a compelling and eerie story and some well-placed jump scares. The unmasking of the villain at the end turns out not to be an unmasking but, a way to add an extra layer to the story & propel it forward. There is no pandering, no coddling, lots of blood and gore and a great story. It's a good read no matter what your age is but, if you know a kid or tween that's all about the zombie apocalypse, you should direct them here. Ghoul Scouts serves up some Lost Boys, with a little Monster Squad and a dose of Walking Dead, sans all the rape and sex scenes. It's not a bubble gum fun romp through zombie land, it's a full-on brawl. I was entertained and found myself invested in our heroes journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Guardians of the Galaxy (2015) #1.MU

Mar 9, 2017

This issue is a nice tie-in to Marvel's mini-event, there's so much tension and love in the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Harley Quinn (2016) #6

Oct 25, 2016

Overall this issue will give you life and suck you back into the world of Harley Quinn. It serves to take the bitter taste out of readers mouth for the uncertain direction that it felt like Harley's character was taking, especially in the new 52s. This new path stays in line with the Harley as her own woman and an entity in love with but, separate from the Joker. The issue expands on the Rebirth of the Harley brand and although fleeting we get a glimpse at her and Red Tool and how their relationship is evolving. We also get to see a story line progress and make sense. Issue #6 continues to do right by Harley and it deserves attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #11

Jan 5, 2017

Overall, Issue #11 was just OK and since the first 10 Rebirth issues were so on point and I was loving the direction that Harley was taking, this was kind of a let down. It felt like the writers kind of ran out of steam and went for a place holder style set up issue as opposed to the intro to the arc style they had been using. I'm hoping this arc turns itself around and gives us more of the Harley that we love and a meatier story because, this issue compared to the previous 10, was just meh.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #12

Jan 20, 2017

Overall this was a solid issue and a return to what I fell in love with about the Rebirth Harley. It was a strong read as a stand alone issue and a nice bridge to for what is to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Harley Quinn (2016) #13

Feb 1, 2017

Overall, Harley Quinn #13 gives you a front row seat to one of the most deranged subplots that I've seen in a while. The issue subtly tackles domestic violence recovery, the long-term and recurring effects of emotionally abusive relationships, stalking and if all of that wasn't enough to cram in they add mental illness to the bag. With all of those issues you'd think that the issue would be heavy and bogged down but, Conner & Palmiotti manage to keep things entertaining and page turning without making light of the serious issues that it makes reference to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Harley Quinn (2016) #14

Feb 16, 2017

Overall this issue of Harley Quinn brings together some A-team level storytelling and artwork. Everything fits together and the words complement the art which aids in the ability of reader to get sucked in and enjoy the ride. This was a solid set up for a new arc and, a good precursor for the arcs that will follow. I appreciated the story and, enjoyed that it had a mildly political subtext with a good, relatable, entertaining tale dominating the forefront. It was a blast to read and I look forward to not only watching this story arc play out but, discovering what other arcs are lurking in the wings waiting for their chance to have a full fledged story arc of their own. Wherever this team decides to go I'm here for it and have full faith in their ability to keep us all wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #15

Mar 2, 2017

This issue is like well-choreographed concert, it engaged me and left me on the edge of my seat, er couch, and I can't wait to see what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Harley Quinn (2016) #16

Mar 21, 2017

Overall, I found the story to be emotional, well planned and a great tie-in to the rest of the arc. Many writers would find themselves facing an uphill battle having so many storylines running concurrently in one issue but, ass usual the Palmiotti and Conner team take on this challenge like champs and emerge victorious. There's bonus points for making Harley and her female squad hella feminist in the process. There's something truly great about their choice to have other women be the first people that the ladies reach out to when they're in trouble and there's something even greater about the ladies working together to get the job done. I'm also a fan of the small talk and affection that occurs in this issue, there's some ribbing on Harley from Power Girl but, it's nothing too harsh and all in good fun. There's also an acknowledgment that people can change over time and evolve into something new. I loved every panel of this issue and I'm pretty sure that you will too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Harley Quinn (2016) #17

Apr 11, 2017

Harley Quinn #17 beautifully weaves together entertainment and tackles topics like gentrification, homelessness, female autonomy and to an extent animal rights. Palmiotti & Conner manage to make this issue political and entertaining and, it's a beautiful combination that I'm looking forward to seeing more of.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Harley Quinn (2016) #18

Apr 20, 2017

Overall this issue was a page turner that kept me on the edge of my seat. It covered political and cultural issues and maintained a high level of entertainment value. Not a panel or word was wasted and I read this issue more than once and retained its freshness, authenticity, and fire.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Harley Quinn (2016) #27

Sep 6, 2017

Overall I loved this issue especially the “take a joke” ending. Tieri knows the fan base and he's in on what we love about the P & C Harley and he plays with us. Kudos to Tieri and thanks for giving one of fave writing teams a break for a bit and Harley sitting like a boss.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Harley Quinn (2016): 25th Anniversary Special #1

Sep 13, 2017

Overall, this issue is a fun read for Harley fans. There's some nice girl powered storylines, a glimpse into Harley and Joker, a view into her turning point where we remember the complex nature of our favorite antihero. It's a hella fun ride and I think that everyone should get in on the action for some great stories that are short, sweet, and packed full of Harley Quinn goodness.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley's Little Black Book #5

Dec 29, 2016

Overall this issue is a nice return to form for Harley Quinn and it's keeping the character on the right path. She's still kind of underdressed, but I can over look it because she was on the beach when the story started and she might be rocking a bikini top but she's got combat pants on for the rest of the story. I'm really excited to see more of these stories where Harley is not just the “Property of the Joker,” but her own fully realized person with goals, ideas, and thoughts no matter how deranged or convoluted they are. The story is exactly what it was meant to be, a fun romp through Harley land with a nice change of tone for the character. It's a fun, quick, chuckle-inducing read with nice tattoo worthy art and I liked it from the first panel to the very end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Harley's Little Black Book #6

Mar 30, 2017

There are so many finely nuanced points made in this issue and none of them were sexist, demeaning, or put Harley, the woman who was smart enough to go to school and med school and become a shrink, into the bimbo bag. Palmiotti and Conner always seem to find moments in each issue they write to remind the reader that Harley isn't just the Jokers chick or some dumb one dimensional character. She's a character worthy of her own agency, stories, victories, and life. I'm all in for this wonderful direction they are taking her in and this issue helped keep up that momentum. Well played Conner and Palmiotti, I don't know where this is heading but, I'm here for it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Hawkeye (2016) #5

Apr 11, 2017

Overall this issue was a nice entry into the next part of the Hawkeye story. There are no frills, no watering down and no nonsense, as readers we are treated to peak bad assery from Hawkeye and Jessica Jones and it's a nice entry pint into the Hawkeye story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Hi-Fi Fight Club #1

Aug 26, 2017

Overall, I like the premise and I can see this comic going places. I just hope that they try to showcase more shapes, colors and sizes in the art work and that the story focuses on making the characters people who are more complex than microsentence descriptors. I look forward to seeing where the ladies go as they delve into their first case together with their newest addition Chris. The comic world needs a secret teen girl vigilante fight club and I hope that this evolves into the greatness implied in the issues final pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
I Hate Fairyland #8

Aug 19, 2016

As a whole, I Hate Fairyland #8 is a good read. It's quick, fun and easy. There isn't a lot of depth but, there is a lot of cleverly written potty humor. It's not a comic for engaging in deep thought, it's a comic for people looking for an escape, some bad jokes and a little bit of fun. It serves its purpose and niche well. I don't know how long the running gags with our surly, baby-faced anti-hero can go on before they get a bit tedious but, for now, the jokes still funny and the comic is still a nice diversion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Iron Fist (2017) #1

Mar 25, 2017

Brisson keeps things pretty low key and tells a story that seems very real of a fallen hero on a downward spiral and it's a very good way to start an arc. It's not classic Iron Fist, it's darker in tone and deeper in texture than the source material but, maybe that's just what this series needs to stay relevant and rid itself of its racist undertones.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Iron Fist (2017) #2

Apr 23, 2017

There's real thought behind the words and actions of each and every character and it all seems to be coming together in a way that addresses the outcry about the series, except for the casting choices and strives to make the character relevant in today's society. Brisson gets bonus points for letting us get to see the minorities whose culture is being appropriated by Iron Fist speak out about how they feel about it in subtext-laden conversations that the proctors of the “Seven Trials” have about Danny Rand and his rights to the Iron Fist mantle.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
IvX #2

Jan 15, 2017

Overall this issue pulled no punches, was an incredible read and seemed to end at just the right point. It was well crafted, well written, beautiful to look at as part of the series and as a standalone issue. It gave just enough of a taste to get us ready and leave us wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
IvX #4

Feb 11, 2017

Overall this was a great read from cover to cover and it provided a fresh take on a good story. Even though the battle rages on full of good intentions and bad foresight it's a valid and beautiful tale, one filled with emotion and meaningfulness within the universe the story is built on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
IvX #5

Feb 26, 2017

div.wpmrec2x {width: 100%}div.wpmrec2x div.u > div {float: left;margin-right:10px;}

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
IvX #6

Mar 10, 2017

This issue lays out everyone's ultimate motives and solidifies alliances. There's a sense of tension in the air and a lot on intrigue. Emma is on the war path and her rage might just take down a truce. There's also a lot of fighting in the midst of the talking and some rage filled (and rash) moments adding to the drama. The old guard on both sides, with a few exceptions, are at odds with the young ones who seem more into talking things out than going all out nuclear. Despite all of the drama inside this issues pages, there remains a sense of hope towards the end as the writers close out this arc. While there's still some vengeance in the hearts of some members of each team, this issue ends on peace and sets up what's to come in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Jean Grey #1

May 3, 2017

Hopeless' writing makes Jean feel like a real person and in some ways, gives her more autonomy than her previous versions had. She seems real, not guided by the men around her. She never feels like a damsel in distress, even when she's fighting the bad guys on her own and, she never stops trying to figure it all out, in her own way on her own terms. Hopeless allows Jean to make mistakes and grow as a person, a mutant, a member of the team and, as a young woman, and even with the suspense of the ominous ending of this premier issue leaving the hairs on the back of my neck standing up, I feel like Jean is in good hands and I look forward to seeing with this arc and this version of Jean goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Jessica Jones #5

Feb 11, 2017

Overall this issue was pure fire. It evoked actual emotion and managed to create tension, dread, and mystery. It was a full color, well drawn, well written, film noir mystery in comic book form and I was here for it. As a whole, I was still on edge when I finished reading and it took a moment for me to calm down enough to write my review. The issue felt real and there's something marvelous about picking up an issue of a comic book and having fit take hold of you by pulling you into the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Jessica Jones #6

Mar 10, 2017

The story itself isn't that bad, it's actually well thought out and well written, it's just not what I would call a Jessica Jones story. It was a very odd way to end this arc, I understand that things have to end with some loose ends to propel the character into the next adventure and arc but, this seems to be too much. There are other ways to move the character and story forward without relegating the main character to the back seat.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Jessica Jones #7

Apr 22, 2017

The story is convoluted, unrealistic, and hackneyed. It is the epitome of what men think women want and are like. Bendis portrays Jones as a one-dimensional, agencyless, manic pixie detective for hire in her own story. There are so many character cameos, Cage, Rand, and Hill, that it feels like Bendis really wanted to write these other comics but, didn't get hired so he's cramming them all into the Jessica Jones' solo outing and forgetting to tell her story in an authentic way. He actually seems to take more care in the scenes that Rand and Cage are in making sure they're featured than he does making sure that we know that it's a Jessica Jones' comic. Even the artwork is steadier and more detailed for the male characters than it is for Jessica. It's insulting & derivative and trite and, both the readers and Jessica deserve more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Josie and the Pussycats #9

Sep 1, 2017

Between Shannon's great art work, that allows the panels to be characters and propel the story forward all by themselves and DeOrdio and Bennett's smart, realistic and fun writing this issue is a quick read and a refreshing action packed, page turner. The story ends on a sweet note with a hint of more to come and I can't wait to see what's next in store for them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America (2017) #1

Feb 26, 2017

Orlando's storytelling skills seem more than ready to tackle whatever turn this current arc will take and I'm excited to tune in for his action-packed stories that couple perfectly with Reis's killer modern comic realist art style.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #2

Dec 28, 2016

Overall this issue was an interesting and fun read. It propelled the story forward, never felt stagnant or forced and provided the reader with enough information to get them to get the next issue. The panels and story flowed together seamlessly making it a page turner. It was fun to watch the heroes face off against the anti-heroes and not be sure of who to root for. The team behind this issue and arc did an amazing job and I look forward to seeing what happens in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #3

Jan 8, 2017

Overall this issue was well written, beautifully drawn. Not only was it well crafted but, it works well as a stand-alone issue. I felt it had just the right amount of suspense to warrant checking out the next issue while being a solid read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #6

Jan 30, 2017

Overall this final issue packed one heck of a punch providing some extra insight into the characters, tipping us off to more of Amanda's plans, which may or may not include purposely making Frost pure evil and wrapping things up in this arc just well enough to leave the door open for a second glance. The creative team has taken this arc out with a bang and whether they pick it up again or let it die to be continued in bits and pieces of other comics across the Rebirth universe there is some definite magic occurring on these pages and I was blown away by this issue in a good way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kim & Kim #2

Aug 25, 2016

Overall Issue #2 was a great find and a wonderful read and, I will be back again to see how the story plays out and how two of my new fave female comic book bad asses get through their mission, to save Tom Quilt and get him and the other drug mule slaves El Scorcho is holding hostage free.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Kim & Kim #3

Oct 2, 2016

Overall Kim & Kim's third issue is an exciting and interesting page turner that gives the readers what they want. I loved every page and panel of the story and found myself engaged even when the Kim's were doing nothing more than hanging out. There was a lot of back story packed into this issue and it seems the creative team is giving us all the tools needed to follow along without pandering or dumbing down the story line and plot points.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Kingpin (2017) #1

Feb 9, 2017

The issue as a whole is flawless. It's a nice, well written, old school issue complete with the foul language, drug use, alcohol consumption, and danger. There were no pop colors and happy upbeat feelings, it's grimy NYC rage in readable form. The panels and backgrounds were part of the story and kept the tone of the words that were on the page perfectly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Kingpin (2017) #2

Mar 10, 2017

Overall, this comic is an amazing leap into the world of Kingpin. It shows that the man he was is still alive in him and, we are treated to shades of man he was before he became Kingpin. I'm not sure where this arc is going but, I'm glad to be going along on this journey with Sarah. The material is rich, the characters are engaging and the art work is the perfect baseline for the overall mood of the comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kingpin (2017) #3

Apr 12, 2017

The good news is that it is an arc worthy of becoming invested in and serves as a testament to the overall package.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Lucifer (2015) #11

Oct 22, 2016

Overall, this was an amazing issue. It kept up with the momentum of the previous issues and builds up some hype for the issues to come. Between the story and the art you feel invested in how things turn out and you find yourself not only wanting more but, needing more. I found this issue to be a great, enjoyable read and it's definitely worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Mama Tits Saves the World #1

Sep 14, 2016

If the story isn't enough to get you on board, Mama Tits even has some fun activity pages in it for the reader that wants to be a little more involved. From cover to cover, Zan lays his brightly colored history (and current events) lesson out in the open. The reader is made aware of the issues that the LGBT community faces. There is a message of perseverance and tolerance that is necessary in today's political climate. I think that media especially comic books can go a long way in educating the public about important issues and the discrimination that racial and sexual minorities face. Mama Tits manages to not only tell a good story filled with fabulous fight sequences, dastardly villains (based on real life villains) and, beautiful costume changes but, it provides the reader with info that they might not have and calls them to action.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Miss Fury Vol. 2 #5

Aug 26, 2016

This issue wasn't enough to make me give up on Miss Fury and her adventures but, it was enough to have me already giving the side eye to the next issue because I'm not sure it's going to be able to bounce back and bring our hero with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Nancy Drew And The Hardy Boys: The Big Lie #1

Mar 25, 2017

It's not an extraordinary comic book but, it serves its purpose and does what it's supposed to do. It's entertaining and interesting enough to make you want to see what happens next. Truth be told, not everything needs to be fast paced and in your face, sometimes just being different and well written is enough to warrant some praise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Nick Fury (2017) #1

Apr 24, 2017

Overall this issue was a character study combined with a fun romp through Nick Fury's life and exploits and I was all in. The art matched the subject matter and everything tied together nicely to form a cohesive understandable story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Power Man and Iron Fist (2016) #14

Mar 8, 2017

If you want a fun, engaging romp through Harlem complete with maniacal bad guys, blaxploitation style heroes, possessed junkies and some serious zombie action, then this is the comic for you. It's got some social undertones, smart dialogue, great action, a good story and it's well worth a look. This issue on its own is a page turner full of engaging characters, well-defined villains with clear motives and some reasonable shades of gray characters. The lines are drawn in this issue so that you can root for the heroes but, to also give the reader a sense of tension with all the body snatching going on. Extra points given for the modern pop culture references being spoken with the old school art that serves as the backdrop. I have a feeling that it will only keep getting better and I'm here for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Power Man and Iron Fist (2016) Annual #1

Dec 27, 2016

Sweet Christmas is a good read for what it is. It's a diversion, nothing too heavy but, it's not frivolous. It just a good solid read and worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Punisher (2016) #10

Mar 20, 2017

This issue is so well written that it can stand alone and even though it's not the beginning of an arc, it's easy enough to follow that it would make a nice entry point into the character and the story as a whole. There's so much to love about this issue, from it's easy to follow along with plot to its easily identifiable Gillian's, to its characters with clear motives and personal agendas who don't come off as one-dimensional, cookie-cutter bad guys. The only I didn't like about this issue is that there wasn't more of it and now I have to wait to see what happens next to Frank, Agent Ortiz and Condor as a whole. But, I know with Cloonan at the helm it'll be well worth the wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Punisher (2016) #11

Apr 23, 2017

The latest issue of The Punisher is one of the most effective placeholder/fill-in issues that I've read in a long time. There's not a wasted panel or word contained in all of this issues 28 pages. While it doesn't provide any new information, we all know that Condor is crazy AF and pretty much a grown up militia style ,bad boy, Lord of the Flies crew, this issue does give us an in-depth look at Frank Castle and how strong he is, mentally and physically. It also shows how hard he will fight to stay alive and make the bad guys suffer. There are moments in his fights with various Condor members that he uses excessive force, even when it isn't necessary to get away from his captors. This issue is a case study in Frank Castle and, it's everything you could ever want from a look inside his head, making it a good read from cover to cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Raven #2

Oct 23, 2016

Overall Raven #2 is worthy of applause, praise and maybe a few rereads. Issue #2 is great as a stand-alone issue and as part of the larger arc. I loved reading it now and I can't wait until this arc is over so that I can have it in TP form and absorb the awesomeness by reading the story as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Spell On Wheels #1

Oct 20, 2016

Overall Spell on Wheels #1 has me hooked and I'm all strapped in and ready to ride shotgun in Jolene, that beautiful convertible coup that will taking them on the journey. This issue ends with the witches knocking on the door of the first person who bought some of their stolen magical loot off of the dark web magic ebay. I can't wait to see how it all plays out, because Spell on Wheels looks like it is going to be a fun road trip romp with some strong female characters and a killer story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Gwen (2015) #13

Oct 22, 2016

With all the questions in my head from the previous episode, I was looking forward to having them answered and seeing how Gwen's new alliances and foes worked out. I felt a bit cheated. That's not to say this is a bad issue just to say that it would have been better as a one off or special edition so that the reader would know what they were getting into. It was more about Gwen's friends and less about Gwen herself or the struggle that Spider-Gwen is dealing with outside of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Suicide Squad (2016) #10

Jan 29, 2017

Suicide Squad #10 was a wonderful read from cover to cover. It can stand alone as a one-off issue or blend well into a new story arc with minimal loss of understanding in between issues. The issue ended on a note that was somber enough to be a full stop ending and hopeful enough to start a new chapter. The art and writing blended together seamlessly and created a cohesive and beautiful world covered in bleakness with just enough hope to keep things going and progressing. This issue would serve as a great entry point for people who have never read a comic before. It has a very human story at its core with minimal metahuman power showing, this would allow new readers to become invested in the characters as people before introducing all of the amazing superhuman things they can do. Humanizing the characters makes the story relatable and creates a nice gateway into comic books as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #11

Feb 10, 2017

Overall this was a well thought out and brilliantly executed issue and it was understandable and relatable to a point that if this was your first run in with the Squad you'd be on board to tune in for future issues. It has a solid start for both new arcs and both parts end in a way that make you want to read more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #12

Feb 23, 2017

Overall this issue was exactly what it needed to be. We got the end of one major characters life fused with a rogue former squad members evil plan coming to fruition, an act that can propel the story even further. The stories are self contained enough to stand alone at their respective short lengths but, nice to see together in one issue. There's enough catalysts in these two stories to tell a ton of stories and keep these arcs going for many issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Suicide Squad (2016) #13

Mar 9, 2017

Eddy Barrows, Eber Ferreira, and Adriano Lucasprovide the pop inspired visuals that brought this half of the issue to life. The intermittent bright pops of color with the hard lines shadows gives an ominous tone to the story. The artwork engages the reader and prepares us for that gut check in the final panel.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Suicide Squad (2016) #14

Mar 22, 2017

This issue is a beautifully well-written end of an arc and a perfectly plotted out start of a new one. A clear line has been drawn in the sand and allegiances are solidified and destroyed. There's a lot going on in this episode and some pretty good surprises but, one of the things that really impressed me was the degree of talent in the story telling. This is one of those issues that those who are new to the story could pick up, still know what's going on and want to not only follow along in the next issue but, maybe play catch up just so they have something to keep them occupied while they wait, for what'll seem like the longest two weeks ever, for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Suicide Squad (2016) #15

Apr 12, 2017

This issue highlights the best of his work and the best of his art teams works, their talents combined, create a wonderful world for the Squad to exist in and do their best and their worst. Williams has the story follow a realistic tone where things aren't black and white but, he makes sure that those shades of gray are unique and pop, bringing an added layer to the story. Suicide Squad #15 is a solid read from cover to cover and the only fault that I find in it is that it was too short but, then again Williams is a master at leaving the readers wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #16

Apr 26, 2017

As a whole this issue is well put together, popcorn worthy , beautifully written, drawn and executed. The issue provided a level of intensity that reminded me why I sometimes have real feelings about imaginary characters. The entire team deserves a round of applause for their efforts and talent. I'm looking forward to seeing how Waller's current plan plays out and how Luthor and her newly aquired, possible, Squad member, handles being on one of her leashes. No matter what happens next, I'm sure that Williams will bring the same heat and intensity he has been giving us from the beginning and ,that means that what's to come is going to be nothing short of pure fire.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Suicide Squad (2016) #25

Sep 14, 2017

This issue takes you through the end game of an amazing arc. It's filled with passion, fighting, moral dilemmas and tension. With Williams words and Carlini's art this issue is a page turner that's a fitting end to an amazing story arc. Williams also manages to make his epilogue a nice momentum builder for the next issue in the series as he has created a world where heroes and villains can work together to secure freedom for all. I really love Williams portrayal of his female characters, he makes them multidimensional and complex in a way that's seldom seen in male writing of female characters. I also love that every act of violence seems logical and needed to move the story along. Overall, I found this issue a beautiful work of art that kept things interesting and engaged me at every turn. I can't wait to see where the story goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Suicide Squad / The Banana Splits Special #1

Apr 1, 2017

Suicide Splits is exactly what you'd expect and what your soul wants in your one off mash-up story. Well written, great art and a bit of a pulp all in one comic. Trading off of the Squads badassery and having them need a rescue from a pop band who hasn't had a hit since before I was born is a cute touch that works well with the over the topness of the Squad.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
The Forevers #1

Sep 17, 2016

There were moments when I forgot that I was reading and imagined myself in a really kick ass TV show. The only real flaw that I saw in The Forevers was that it ended so soon a few more pages would have been nice but, I can see why ending Issue #1 when it did was a smart choice. Issue #1 grabs your attention and grasping for a few extra pages, what a better way to keep the readers wanting more and shivering with antici—pa—-tion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Wicked + The Divine #22

Aug 19, 2016

This issue hit all the marks of a great comic book, right down to the ending of this arc setting up what I'm sure will be yet another great story arc in this already stellar series. There are so many directions that this story can take next and all of them are equally promising. Is Laura/Persephone on the run? What is the ominous Darkness that would make Ananke spend eternities sacrificing four of her god proteges? Has the Darkness been abated or are we about to have some Hellmouth or Cabin in the Woods type action? What's going to happen to Mini? Does Ananke count as a fourth sacrificial? Issue #23 can go anywhere and, thanks to the lure set in this issue, I can't wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The X-Files: Origins #1

Sep 17, 2016

Overall I found the beginnings of their origin stories a nice read. And, I can't for issue #2 so I can find out what happened to Mulder and his friends on the beach with the men in black and how things turned out with Scully and the car headlights that either have something to do with her dad or something to do with the recently deceased Sunday school teacher.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Throwaways #2

Aug 20, 2016

Issue #2 wasn't a flop by any means, I just came into it expecting more after the build up of the Issue #1. I'm still holding out hope that this issue was a placeholder and, it's purpose was to wrap up all of the character introductions and set up their motivations. I still have hope for this series and want to see it succeed. I know that all the elements of this being a great series is there and, the writer and artist are extremely talented and are capable of so much more. I just hope that all the promise I saw in the series opener comes back soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Throwaways #3

Oct 16, 2016

Overall, Throwaways #3 has everything I loved about the first issue and turned the dial up to 11. We've got bad ass , complex women, interesting characters, a smart story and the story seems to have hit its stride with this issue and I hope it keeps going in this direction. This issue is more cohesive and character orientated making it a quick, deep read and it puts the Throwaways train back on track.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Throwaways #4

Oct 19, 2016

Overall I feel like the Throwaways is starting to find its voice and I really enjoy listening to it. It's a deep read and as the story progresses it's becoming more and more interesting and involved.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Trinity (2016) #2

Oct 25, 2016

The symbiosis between the story and the art make issue #2 of Trinity an overall great comic. Everything about it is damn near perfect and I am looking forward to see what happens when the trio returns to the present to face the threat that has them on a time run. Will Poison Ivy's seedlings cause a change in Clark Kent/Superman? Will the timeline be forever changed for the worse? Will there be a Jon Kent and/or Lois Lane in his life in the future? So many questions and such a worthy story arc to wait and find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
War Mother #1

Aug 27, 2017

Overall, I found War Mother to be beautifully written and I was drawn intro into a new world order where men and women fight and raise families side by side in a broken world as the inhabitants try and find hope and retain what's good in society.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wynonna Earp #7

Aug 26, 2016

The artwork is basic but , it pops and tells the story. The show stills are a nice bonus but, seem kind of unnecessary considering if you're already seven issues in, it's because you're already hooked. Issue #7 is just as consistent as every other issue. The writing is clever and is just as much a page-turner as the action is. It's like a mini episode in your pocket that you read. It was flawless to the last panel which left me filled with ideas and hope for whatever is coming next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Wynonna Earp #8

Oct 5, 2016

Overall, I really enjoyed this issue. There was no cliffhanger or catching up to do in the beginning. Everything was contained in this one issue making it a fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More