Skott Jimenez's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Booked Reviews: 27
8.2Avg. Review Rating

9
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #698

Nov 23, 2012

So, we have two more issues (not counting #699.1 because the Point One issues rarely seem to have anything to do with the main book anymore) until Amazing Spider-Man is shelved for the time being (honestly, do you really think Marvel will keep Amazing Spider-Man away forever?) and this issue has completely changed the face of the series. One page. That's all it took for Slott to completely change everything. It's amazing… until it becomes Superior.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Deadpool (2012) #1

Nov 9, 2012

In closing, it's with a heavy heart that I have to say this is a very unamusing, lack luster, and unfunny Deadpool comic. I most likely won't be getting the second issue of this one. I would suggest you do the same, or perhaps borrow a friend's copy if you know anyone who picked it up. I hope that, if you do, that you find something about it you like" but it's doubtful.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Evil Ernie #2

Nov 17, 2012

Evil Ernie was originally created by Lady Death. It's obvious that can no longer be the case. Are you willing to be a true fan of Evil and see “What If… Evil Ernie was created in a world without Lady Death?” I'm sure if you did you would bepleasantly surprised at how much fun this book is becoming! Also, if you support this book, who knows? We might finally get to see more of our Chaos! Cast: Chastity, Bedlam, Purgatori, Jade, The Omen, and who knows what else! Sometimes the only way to move forward is to reboot everything. Not the way Marvel or DC does it, they do it for sales. Evil Ernie is being rebooted for stories and substance!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Evil Ernie #3

Jan 1, 2013

So, three issues in and the new Origin Of Evil is moving along smoothly" but that's probably because of all the blood it's sliding on. Once again my hat goes off to Jesse Snider for his fresh approach to a classic character that perfectly blends the past with an all new future. I also have to thank Dynamite Entertainment for not only bringing back one of my all time favorite characters but for also allowing Snider the freedom he needs to do it right. This isn't Spider-Man or a "Rated T+" comic, this is EVIL ERNIE and he doesn't play nice!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Evil Ernie #4

Feb 21, 2013

But the best part of this issue is I finally got my hands on one of those Kyle Hotz covers! I really, REALLY hope he continues to do covers for this series because they are AMAZING!

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #1

Mar 28, 2013

Now, I wanted to like this book, I truly did. There has been almost nothing in this First Wave of Marvel NOW! titles that I've liked and as a longtime fan of both Marvel Cosmic and the Guardians Of The Galaxy I had hoped that this book would be the one I could get into despite all the disadvantages it has. Unfortunately, it failed on almost every level. Marvel Cosmic, like much of the Marvel NOW! 616 Universe, is almost completely unrecognizable. But, having said all that, I may be willing to give the second issue a chance. I don't know why other than I feel like I should have something from this wave of Marvel NOW! titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Journey Into Mystery (2011) #646

Nov 27, 2012

Overall, the series is in good hands. I am confident that Sif will be more than able to carry the title until her story is done. The question now is will people who have never read this book give it a chance? Well, with all the talk lately of the supposed lack of female characters having their own books going on these days, I hope people will be willing to put their money where their mouths are and give this book a chance. It certainly deserves to be looked at.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Mars Attacks KISS #1

Jan 14, 2013

All in all, while I didn't enjoy this issue as much as I enjoyed the Popeye one, I have to say there seems to be a theme here. While the Martians appear to be a force to be reckoned with, they seem to be very easily defeated. This is one of the drawbacks to these type of stories, you know the Martians won't be allowed to kill any major characters so while there is a lot of fun and entertainment value to these stories, there isn't much a feeling that these properties are in any real danger. But the Zombies Vs. Robots world might be different. The Martians may be able to impact that reality in a long-lasting way. We'll just have to wait and see. But, as I said, even with this in mind, and seeing how quickly these one-shots are wrapped up, this is still a highly entertaining event. Also just as entertaining this week are the variant covers: Mars Attacks Judge Dredd by Greg Staples and Mars Attacks Star Slammers by the legendary Walter Simonson!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mars Attacks Popeye #1

Jan 5, 2013

This issue certainly caters to fans of both franchises, but if you've ever been curious out either of them, now's a perfect time to check out Mars Attacks and Popeye. Also worth keeping an eye out for are the variant covers. Each of these 5 books will feature 2 additional covers featuring classic and independent characters in and around comics drawn by their creators. This issue's variants feature Mars Attacks Opus and Mars Attacks Miss Fury (I have included a look at the Miss Fury cover but, sadly, the Opus cover was only made available to another website and those meanies watermarked their name on it but trust me, it's amazing and if your LCS has it then you must get it)! Ask your comic shop if they have them available and check back here next week for…

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Mars Attacks The Real Ghostbusters #1

Jan 28, 2013

(Yes, I realize this is a shorter review but there really isn't much to say when you have a crossover with a property that doesn't have much current history. But that doesn't mean the book isn't a really fun read!)

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mars Attacks The Transformers #1

Feb 1, 2013

Nearing the end of the Martian attack on the different realities that make up the IDW multiverse we take a look at an attack that turns out to be one of the more unusual and, surprisingly, the most entertaining thus far of the Mars Attacks IDW event"

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mars Attacks Zombies Vs. Robots #1

Feb 3, 2013

*The Mars Attacks IDW trade paperback collection will be available in April. Check with your local comic shop for ordering information*

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robyn Hood (2012) #2

Nov 5, 2012

So, in closing, if you're already familiar with Zenescope and the books they produce then I need tell you nothing more, you already know. If you don't read Zenescope books and you have an interest in shows like Once Upon A Time and Grimm, or perhaps you read Vertigo's Fables and Fairest, then this is for you. If you're looking for another take on these classic stories then do yourself a favor, check out Robyn Hood or any other Zenescope book. Robyn Hood is currently available at finer comic shops everywhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superior Carnage #1

Jul 19, 2013

#SuperiorSpiderMonth

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superior Foes of Spider-Man #1

Jul 5, 2013

Look, I can go around and around about what I like about this book but the bottom line here is it was good. Really good. I expected this to be a one-and-done, read it and forget it issue like so many of the Marvel NOW! books have been for me but this book was actually something different and deserves all the attention it's sure to get. On a personal note I would like to add that while I'm sad to see Journey Into Mystery end in August I'm also glad to have this book which has a lot of the same charm as well as the expressive and fun art that Journey has. It doesn't make losing Journey any less painful but it certainly does help.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superior Spider-Man #1

Jan 9, 2013

So, love it or hate it, the bottom line here is that this book was well worth the wait. To be honest, I hated the title when I first saw it. Hated it. HATED it. HAAAAAATED it. But Slott said wait until after reading ASM #700 and the name will make sense and he was right. The Superior Spider-Man is the perfect title for this series and this is one Marvel NOW! book I'm glad I tried out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Superior Spider-Man #2

Feb 2, 2013

Unlike most of the Marvel NOW! books, I'm actually looking forward to the next issue! Also, I'm really happy Marvel isn't shipping this as often as they are their other books. I prefer to have my serialized comics on a monthly basis, not weekly or bi-weekly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Superior Spider-Man #9

May 4, 2013

It won't last forever but I plan to enjoy every moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Superior Spider-Man #10

May 25, 2013

Overall, Superior Spider-Man is exciting, fresh, and amazing (natch). It's given us a whole new era in Spider-Man stories and the fact that people are so passionate, either for or against it, just shows that, despite everything, Slott is doing something right because people are constantly talking. I know I am and I cannot wait for the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superior Spider-Man #11

Jun 10, 2013

Bottom line is this book is really coming into its own. All the nay-sayers really have nothing to nay-say about anymore. Now that we've finally gotten rid of Peter Parker we can really start to see what Otto is capable of and if these recent issues are any indication then we're going to have a very interesting ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Superior Spider-Man #12

Jun 23, 2013

Gage does a fine job with Slott's plot, to the point where I wouldn't mind seeing this writing combination on this book again. And soon. The dialogue was fast paced and well-rounded, the art kept up perfectly, all in all, as I said, this issue was as near perfect as you can get.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superior Spider-Man #13

Jul 13, 2013

This series in an interesting one, generally a series begins to flatten out some when it hits its 5th or 6th issue but this series just isn't letting up. Granted, it's shipped twice a month so it gives us very little time between issues to rest but that may be a good thing here. A fast-paced story should have a faster shipping schedule. It works.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superior Spider-Man #14

Jul 29, 2013

Superior Spider-Man #14 shows just how serious Spider-Man is about being Superior while setting up a few possible ways for the man to fall and fail. What will happen when someone finally upstages Otto and knocks him down a few notches? I'm curious if he is willing to learn from his mistakes as Spider-Man much in the same way he's used his failures as Doctor Octopus to make him a better Spider-Man. Regardless, this series continues to the foundation Marvel book in my collection. It's been a long time since I've had an Earth-based Marvel book that I've liked as much as this one. I'm sticking around for the long haul!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superior Spider-Man #15

Aug 9, 2013

So, Superior Spider-Man is getting bigger and bigger and, while Otto thinks he has total control, it's becoming more and more obvious that he's actually losing control over more than he knows. When everything begins to fall apart it's going to be interesting to see how he deals with failure after failure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Superior Spider-Man #16

Aug 23, 2013

Superior Spider-Man #16 is another in a long line of hits for a series that people claim to hate but can't help but show it love. This issue has gotten a lot of attention and for good reason: everything is coming together and one nice packaged webbed up for your enjoyment!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superior Spider-Man #25

Jan 16, 2014

Now, we've started doing self-imposed ratings on the comics we review, I'm sure you've noticed, and while I normally have a difficult time with this sort of thing I'd have to say, using the common scale, this book gets a 5 out of 5". let's say 'Goblins,' shall we? And it's HIGHLY recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superior Spider-Man Team-Up #1

Jul 29, 2013

All in all, this was a very fun book and, I feel, will fit in just fine with Superior Spider-Man. At least it certainly will in my collection. And to think" I was just going to pick up the first issue then jump to the trades for the rest of the run.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More