Vixen Ninetails's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: ComicBuzz Reviews: 130
7.9Avg. Review Rating

8
Action Man #1

Jun 29, 2017

Certainly, there are a lot of positive points from this issue, and I would like to see how the story will continue down the line; perhaps a look at Doctor X in the next issue? So far, Action Man is highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Adventure Time #36

Mar 12, 2015

This was a very interesting issue. You can follow the story even if you have never picked up the issues before this. I know I haven't, and perhaps I should change that. The artwork is very true to the animations style, which I am very happy with. I was only disappointed in the length of the comic, as it meant I have to wait until the next issue to read more. Well worth picking up this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Adventure Time Comics #7

Mar 2, 2017

Overall an okay issue, good for a short read. I prefer multi-issue stories but Marceline & Princess Bubblegum's adventures were a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amazing World of Gumball Grab Bag Special: 2015 #1

Mar 20, 2015

Pick up this issue to find out more and rejoin all your favourite Gumball characters in this very special issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Aquicorn Cove #1

Apr 20, 2020

Aquicorn Cove is a book that not only focuses on how a young girl begins to adapt to life without her mother, but also shines light on an important environmental issue, with a magical twist. It is also LGBTQ friendly and can be used as an introduction to young readers on how big the World is when it comes to the different kinds of relationships out there. A story that has strong female characters at its core, that leave such an impact on the reader just as much as the illustrations do in supporting the story. I would be proud to give this book to any child, I believe it can be a stable in all book collections.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Big Con-Job #1

Mar 10, 2015

Find out more when you pick up this issue. Its a really fantastic read, and very insightful as it covers probably the worst case scenario facing actors. I'm really looking forward to the next issue and finding out the old casts reactions. What will happen next? Who knows, that's what I love about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Big Con-Job #2

Apr 28, 2015

The artwork is still carrying on the same style as Issue 1 with its very American comic style, with darker colours and shadowing. As well as its curvy women, as you can see from the front cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Big Con-Job #3

May 28, 2015

Finally we are getting some decent movement in the story with the reveal of the plan. Make sure to pick up this issue to see who is wanting out of the heist and the shocking plot twist that will put everyone in danger. The 4th and last issue will reveal all, so make sure and pick it up when it comes out!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Big Con-Job #4

Jul 7, 2015

In the end, it is a good read. Issue 1 will be the highlight, as after that the story does slightly loose its excitement. Worth the read just for the topic, how would you rob a world re-known comic con?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Big Trouble In Little China #8

Mar 19, 2015

Very interesting read, and I could only have understood it all because I have seen the movie. Other than that the art work was really interesting and so was the writing. Very comical and fast paced story telling. Be interesting to see how the next issue continues this tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Big Trouble In Little China #10

May 7, 2015

The artwork is still the same as before but the standard is slipping, both with the characters faces in certain panels, as well as missing backgrounds. Once again the effort art wise is slack and it can be seen as well in their poor character designs for the three monsters at the beginning of the issue, playing cards with Jack. Otherwise the issue is good story wise, as we advance farther into this Wonderland called Hell. The jokes however are getting worse, and the best way to enjoy this issue, is with a few pints in you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Big Trouble In Little China #11

Jul 16, 2015

The artwork is once again not to my liking. With too many white borders and plain backgrounds. The character designs however have a touch more detail and time given to them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Big Trouble In Little China #12

Jul 20, 2015

Well worth picking up and adding to your collection. With the way it ended, it will be interesting to see what happens in next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Bill & Ted's Most Triumphant Return #1

May 5, 2015

Make sure to pick up issue 1 of Bill & Ted's Most Triumphant Return for a trip down memory lane dudes and dudets!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Bill & Ted's Most Triumphant Return #2

May 29, 2015

The artwork is a joy to look at. It carries a nostalgic feeling to it, resembling much of the old Scooby Doo. This feeling is perfect for the series, as it brings us back to the time when Bill & Ted first crossed our screens when it came out in the 90′s. The script is a big let down however, with overwritten dialogues for Bill & Ted's introductions, to the sudden character emotional changes. With Chuck driven to kill the two boys that have made his life hell, to suddenly dropping all his hate in a spilt second to chat up a girl, and then to suddenly accept their help. Its all too sudden for my taste, but fans of the series, may well feel differently than I do on this matter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Cluster #1

Mar 24, 2015

This was a very good read, reminded me a bit though of All You Need Is Kill, without the whole repetitive days. I'm interested to see how this story will pan out with the next issue, but it is well worth picking up #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Cluster #2

Mar 31, 2015

This issue was a very interesting one, with more details being given about the characters past. As well as some mysteries that have yet to be brought to light. The art work is fantastic, and keeps giving me a nostalgic feeling like I've seen the style before. With its natural tones and dark lines, as well as its character designs, reminds me of the old Star Wars and X Men comics. At the end of this comic, you meet the leader of the rebels, Lustig, who I think is a dead ringer of Bishop from the X Men animated TV series. This is an issue not to be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Cluster #3

Apr 21, 2015

The artwork keeps with the same style as the previous issues, with its dark lines and favouriting of shadows. As well as its futuristic, interplanetary style. This issue gives us a new twist to the story involving the rebels and their version of events. What will happen next is anyone's guess, as they race to beat the punch clock.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Cluster #4

Jun 2, 2015

Pick up this issue to find out what happens during and after the airship battle. With more drama lying ahead, it sets up an interesting and exciting continuation for the next issue. The artwork is still carrying the same style since issue 1 with its dark lines and favouring of shadows. So not much more to add on that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba #1

Apr 10, 2020

Just like it's animated adaptation, we begin on a snowy mountain top as Tanjiro, unknownst to the boy, is interacting with the vast majority of his family for the final time. We understand the amount of hard work he puts in to helping his family and how respected he has come to be in the village below. Having already gained a good impression of how nice this character is, it's even more heartbreaking seeing how he is quickly left with no time to mourn his family and is so soon forced to try to protect his sister from being slaughtered before his eyes. Through this volume we see him travel through dangerous paths, encounter other demons, begin his training and set forth on his own path to becoming a Demon Slayer.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Donald Duck (2015) #1

Jun 9, 2015

This issue is a strong start to the new comic series bringing us the classic tales sand laughs from our favourite sailor inspired Duck; Donald. Just like the Uncle Scrooge comic that started recently, this issue is comprised of various side stories and a main story filled with ruffled feathers and our classic Disney characters. The artwork is exactly what you would expect from Disney, bringing its iconic characters back to live and supplying us with the types of situations and script we can come to expect in any cartoon rendition. I simply read this comic with the characters voices in my head, even with the triplets lisps and I could not have enjoyed the issue more. Well worth picking up and following the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Donald Duck (2015) #2

Jul 24, 2015

The artwork is as enjoyable as always, and truly stands the test of time. It makes you think you are holding an old issue, back in the 80s or 90s. Where if you hold it for too long, the dye will smear across your fingers. It still holds the piece of childhood that all classic comics seem to possess, and lets the reader fully enjoy the spark of being a kid again. The artwork isnt flashy and full of bright, neon colours. Its simple, and in that we get to fully enjoy the stories for what they are.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dream Daddy #1

Sep 20, 2018

Dream Daddy #1 is lighthearted, but tugs at the heartstrings all the same! Not in a sad way, but more of a flutter as these two bros take on an evening with no kids. Make sure to check this series out while you can. Issue #1 is out now in all good comic shops, as well as on Steam, Comixology, Amazon/ Kindle, Google Play, and iTunes/iBooks.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Dream Daddy #2

Nov 15, 2018

You can buy this series in physical print at your local comic book store, but it is also available digitally on the following platforms: Comixology, Amazon Kindle, iBooks, Steam and Google Play. It is a perfect series to get for those that have played the game, but as a newcomer to the franchise, it can be a tad confusing. It is clearly made for existing fans, as there are a few unknown bits of information about the characters that remain unexplained in the comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Dream Daddy #3

Dec 7, 2018

Altogether a good short read. You do get to see how the iconic characters from the game interact with one another when working on this commercial. Like myself, who has never played the game or have even watched any playthroughs of it yet on YouTube, newcomers will be lost with this comic series. You need the background information and ideally would also need to be a fan of the franchise to fully enjoy this comic adaption. It is currently available each month in stores and online, with #3 out now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Dream Daddy #4

Dec 11, 2018

Altogether a somewhat enjoyable issue, like I said earlier it is more aimed at existing fans of the franchise. If you are wondering when the next issue will be out, Issue #5 will be out both physically and digitally on December 19th. Which looks like it will be bringing us a tale of Dungeon and Dragons, with the cast of Maple Bay.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dryad #1

May 1, 2020

Fingers crossed we wont have a long wait until Issue 2, as according to Amazon, Dryad #2 is scheduled to be out on the 15th July this year, all going to plan. Although this is only going to be a short series, why not go out and show your support to the team behind it. So far it has been a positive start to the comic, so lets see where this adventure will take us!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Eromanga Sensei #2

Jun 13, 2019

This is such a nice in depth look into how different authors can be, even if they both write the same genre, each have their own approach to their work. Some see it as a full time job, other's as a hobby, while some don't even see it as work, but more of an artform. Refusing to put pen to paper until they are sure what they are writing is worth publishing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harley Quinn: Harley Loves Joker #1

May 2, 2018

Issue one will be available on the 2nd of May, and the last issue is coming out on the 16th of May.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harley Quinn: Harley Loves Joker #2

May 31, 2018

Although I did not read the Rebirth series that was out last year, you can follow this mini-series with ease. Check it out in your local comic book shops now, from those classy creators over at DC Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Holy F*ck #1

Mar 27, 2015

The artwork is really original I must say and the colours really fill up the pages. I can't really compare it to anything I have seen before which is a great complement any artist would love to hear. For me, the facial expressions in the artwork is the most enjoyable bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Holy F*ck #2

Apr 2, 2015

The artwork is really enjoyable. Still continuing on the original style from the first issue with the pages just filled with colour.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Holy F*ck #3

Apr 10, 2015

The artwork is fantastic. My favourite part though has to be the two variant covers in the issue by Kaylie McDougal. If you don't like these images, then put the comic down. This series is not for you. Like I said in previous reviews for this series, it is not for the strongly religious type, especially Christians. They will find this so offensive. But if you like all the above, and this is your first time reading the series. Then go and pick up issue 1.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Holy F*ck #4

Apr 14, 2015

The artwork is just as amazing as in previous issues. Filled to the corners with colour. My favourite part has to be the colour used in the fight scenes, especially with the use of fire from the crashed flying saucer. Like always, it is a good laugh looking at the various facial expressions, and Sister Maria gives us some interesting ones for a Nun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mister X: Razed #1

May 28, 2015

They art style reminds me of the stories in the young girls comic Jackie, that my mother used to read as a young girl back in the 1970s. This comic features a black and white art scheme and every variation of grey in-between, as well as the odd splash of red. It completely goes with the theme of the comic, and is no surprise seeing as this series as been in circulation for the past 30 odd years. The creators are the masters of this comic by now and are sure to give us top quality reading and art work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Munchkin #1

Mar 18, 2015

This comic tells it all in an interesting comedic fashion. The art work is simple, with certain features, like noses, boobs, feet and armour drawn far out of realistic proportions, but this suits the comic perfectly. The colours are simplistic, which makes it easy on the eye when reading. It also gives it a very child friendly look to it as well. So pick up your copy today, and venture into the world of Munchkin.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: The Cutie Map #1

Feb 23, 2018

This is certainly a good issue, and the first two-episode special of every season is always something I look forward to. It never fails to deliver the action and sets the stakes high for every episode there after. This comic is no different. It is worth grabbing while you can, and is available online or from all good bookshops.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
My Little Pony: Holiday Special 2015 #1

Dec 15, 2015

A charming MLP special that would be a welcome gift on Christmas morning. Make sure and pick up a copy of the My Little Pony Holiday Special 2015 in your local comic shop today!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
My Little Pony: Deviations #1

May 16, 2017

Certainly one of the most unique storylines we have had to date, that is a reverse reality to that of the MLP universe we know today. A one shot whose style I hope crops up again in the comic series as a filler arc, which will focus more on the characters that rarely get any storylines.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
My Little Pony: Equestria Girls: Holiday Special #1

Feb 18, 2016

An interesting issue to buy, especially for those that are fans of the recent Canterlot High movies!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Fiendship is Magic #1

Apr 24, 2015

A Little hidden extra in this issue includes in one of the panels you see a poster with pony cosplayers dressed as Attack on Titan characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
My Little Pony: Fiendship is Magic #2

May 1, 2015

Overall a fantastic issue, and one that can be enjoyed over and over again. Well worth the money.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Fiendship is Magic #3

May 4, 2015

This was a very interesting issue and one fans would really enjoy. According to this issue sliced bread was created in Roman times. Its interesting seeing ponies in toga's, not something I expected to be seeing when I opened the issue. The artwork is just as easy to follow as the other issues and the inside cover is gorgeous. It features Pinkie Pie with her pet crocodile with Mexican inspired make up. Very detailed and resembles the style from The Book of Life movie that came out last year. This issue is a winning success.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
My Little Pony: Fiendship is Magic #4

May 6, 2015

You might also notice that the leader of the Nyx; Gaimans' character design is very reminiscent of Snarf from the old 1985 cartoon, Tundercats. This issue is another great edition to all MLP collections, so make sure to pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
My Little Pony: Fiendship is Magic #5

May 8, 2015

This was a joy to read and was full of action and information on Chrysalis. It was also nice to see the addition of the main MLP characters for once as well. The art is as easy to follow as the rest of the issues, and does not distract you from the storyline, which is a huge plus. The cover art is fantastic and one that you would not typically associate with the MLP franchise. Its a welcome change and one that really draws you towards the comic if you saw it on a news stand. Its a shame its the last issue, but I will be re-reading it again and again in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #14

Jun 8, 2015

The artwork isn't great to be fair, with some panels even missing backgrounds. The characters anatomy is even un-proportioned in places, but the basic drawings actually give this comic some bit of charm and it lets us focus more on the story. This is a really good comic for any age group, a great thing seeing as how varied the MLP fan base is.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #18

Jul 14, 2015

Perfect issue for little girls, while older fans, not so much. But they will appreciate the cuteness involved however. The story didn't have much of interest to it, but it was a nice sneak peek into the two Pegasus ponies friendship.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #19

Aug 14, 2015

All in all a good issue and one that is a bit of a hit and miss. Its far more focussed on the everyday lives of the Ponyville cast and is less of the action I am used to in the Friendship is Magic main series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #20

Sep 17, 2015

With enough action, excitement, franchise references and unlikely relationships and emotions, this issue is a must win. Having dedicated a whole issue to ponies outside of the 'Mane 6' we get some interesting back stories and future storyline possibilities from it's supporting cast. 100% giving the fans exactly what they want.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #21

Oct 30, 2015

A strong addition to your MLP collection! With the added bonus of Zecoras rhyming ways!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #22

Nov 17, 2015

Far from the best issue I have read, but other readers may enjoy this story more than me. So go out today and buy your copy and leave your opinion of it in the comments below.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #23

Dec 10, 2015

Another interesting issue and a joyful one at that. Most definitely one to add to the collection none the less. Get out there and buy your copy of My Little Pony Friends Forever #23 today! And save any Pigasus if you see them flying around.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #24

Jan 8, 2016

A good issue with a surprising cast of characters. It is a side series and it does lack the action and drama that is expected from the main series, Friendship is Magic. The Friends Forever series is better suited to perhaps the youngest readers as it is both shorter and teaches some valuable life lessons.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #25

Feb 4, 2016

Another interesting addition to the My Little Pony franchise, with three new characters being introduced. With enough support I am positive they will be making an appearance in the future and possibly the series. Available soon in all good comic shops.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #34

Dec 14, 2016

The storyline is indeed one of the most bizarre ones I have read. A short, fun story and one that will be best suited for the younger audiences.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #35

Jan 5, 2017

Starlight and Twilight must learn to compromise in order to save their flanks from a creature of the Evergreen Forest.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #36

Feb 16, 2017

Issue 36 has been quite eventful, as Rainbow puts her skills to the test in order to reach the most dangerous Outpost in all of Equestria. We get to see some character development and insight from two members of the famous Wonderbolts. Truly an issue you do not want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #37

Mar 24, 2017

A difficult and trying time for Rarity as she sets to work on Sapphire Shores largest performance yet. Having to learn to forgive past foes and grant second chances in order to pull off this tight deadline.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #38

Sep 26, 2017

This issue is a strong story to end this exciting series of Friends Forever. We get to see the competitive spirit alive amongst the sisters, seeing another side to them that we very rarely get to experience. Although their past has been beyond difficult, it is nice to see that although they are royalty, all sisters have their moments where they clash. This is certainly a memorable issue and one that is available to buy now from IDW Publishing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #27

Jun 1, 2015

The artwork is definitely colourful and there is a lot of comedic value to be given to whoever draws Pinkie Pie as some of her most ridiculous faces would make a grown man howl with laughter. Make sure and pick up this issue as it is Part 1 of this story and you will miss it sorely if you go into the next issue and have no idea what on Earth is happening.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #28

Jun 9, 2015

The story was pretty solid, and had some very entertaining moments. Well worth picking up, but I say that about practically all the comics I review.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #29

Jun 12, 2015

The artwork is somewhat better than what we see in MLP Friendship Forever series. The characters seem to be better proportioned at least. Other than that it is a good read and you definitely know it was made by a fan of the series, a great thing to see with the new era of MLP. Worth checking out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #30

Jun 16, 2015

This issue was quite entertaining as we see an entire town spilt in two and begin a feud all over where a plaque goes and sits. Oh the entertainment! We also get to see the possible spilt of the Ponyville gang as they all go their separate ways when they can't agree, as well as a war of apples and ye ‘old garments. The artwork is still the colourful, child friendly style we have come to admire over the series. Its not the best or the worst, but the stories do outshine it. This issue is well worth the read, and it all continues with Part 2 of the story in Issue 31.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #31

Jul 9, 2015

Really enjoyable to read, but would have been nice to see this story extended to a third issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #32

Jul 23, 2015

Now I hope I planted that seed in your heads now, to go out and buy this months issue of My Little Pony Friendship is Magic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #33

Sep 10, 2015

So make sure and pick up your issue of My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #33 today, and then you will understand what I have been babbling about in this article.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #34

Nov 3, 2015

This issue plays more like a Benny Hill comedy with more chases involved than actual fighting. With the villains causing as much mayhem as possible to divide the Ponyville forces and send them in different directions, their distraction has made it possible for the main character to make their return. It's all going to come to a head in the next installment so sit tight! As there will be plenty of fighting between the friendship of magic vs darkness.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #35

Nov 6, 2015

Get this issue while you can as it is sure to sell out fast! With one of the most action packed stories unfolding, you will not want to miss a second of it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #36

Dec 11, 2015

Another strong addition to the series and a solid continuation to the story with even more information about the MLP world and history being told. Make sure and pick up your issue today in your local comic shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #37

Jan 14, 2016

Illustrated by Andy Price, who has done work for DC Comics, Marvel Comics, Innovation Comics and the Rittenhouse Archives. From the disturbing character designs of the Umbrum, the action packed battle scenes, and the tear evoking final images at the end, this issue has been a beauty to look at. Its script however could have done with a bit more work. None the less, its worth the money buying this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #38

Jan 26, 2016

The first of which, (pictured above) has been created by this issues Illustrator Agnes Garbowska.This issue centres around the Cutie Mark Crusaders and their class hiking trip. The front cover shows the young fillies arguing over which direction to take.The subscription cover was created by Sara Richard, with the young colts Snails and Snip galloping away from a very angry bear.The HotTopic cover special shows three very scared fillies lost in a dark and dangerous woods. This cover perhaps gives us a sneak peak into the events yet to unfold in this tale.Completely unconnected to the issues story so far, we have Princesses Celestia, Twilight and Luna is the middle of a lovely flower arrangement. This Cover RI was created by Mary Bellamy.And finally the Core Games cover has Nightmare Moon flying through the night, with the moon illuminating her figure. Dark times lie ahead it seems.Available to buy now in all good bookstores and is suitable for all ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #39

Feb 17, 2016

This story was written by Christina Rice who has worked on both the Friends Forever and Friendship is Magic series. She was even responsible for penning the Fiendship is Magic issue featuring Tirek the minotaur. Illustrations were supplied by Agnes Garbowska, a Canadian freelance artist who has worked across the MLP comic franchise. Her most recognizable work is the third issue of the Fiendship is Magic series dedicated to the Sirens. Her character designs are both cute and chibi, but the only issue I have with them is Snails appearance. Snails is known as a pony yet his neck suggests a giraffe and is too out of proportion to the rest of his body and the characters. I don't know if this is intentional or a coincidence.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #40

Mar 23, 2016

The regular cover pictured above is done by this issue's artist; Brenda Hickey. Featuring a collage of photographs from Spikes earliest days as a baby dragon, under the watchful eye of Twilight, (who looks very stressed out.)The second cover is for the subscribers and has been done with pastel colouring pencils. A soft technique that is perfect for the image, with Twilight, baby Spike and her parents enjoying a trip to the beach. This one was created by Sara Richard.The third cover is by Jennifer L. Meyer, with a passed out Twilight cradling a little Spike. A touching scene and one that truly reflects the young fillies torn commitments, between study and Spike.And lastly the Hot Topic exclusive is a scene straight out of US Box Office Hit – The Hangover. Twilight holds the innocent Spike in a baby carrier, while wearing some trendy dark shades.My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic Issue 40 is available now from all the awesome comic book shops!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #48

Dec 7, 2016

A solid start to the latest MLP multi issue story collection. I highly look forward to seeing what happens next as Harmony makes its way across Equestria for the better?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #49

Jan 11, 2017

We are almost done with this saga, as Issue 50 will hold the concluding part to Accords reign of domination.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #50

Feb 17, 2017

A satisfying conclusion to the reign of Accord in this, the 5oth Issue of My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic. We even get a second story where Discord gives Princess Celestia the most exciting Birthday gift of all – A Day Off! This is one Issue you can not miss!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #51

Mar 23, 2017

Issue 51 is the start of a new adventure for the Ponyville gang, when Twilight's castle is broken into by an unknown unicorn. Thrashing her library, the thief leaves with a few of the Princesses books. However even after tracking down the thief, apprehending him will not be so easy. More magic and adventure yet to come in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #52

May 12, 2017

Once again My Little Pony has brought us another exciting adventure. The next issue should bring us the conclusion to this story. Will Twilight be able to rescue her friends from the various points in Equestrian history? And just what is the truth behind Shadowlocks mission?

View Issue       View Full Review
7
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #53

Sep 19, 2017

Although a very interesting story, there was just too much of a build-up, which ended with an unsatisfying ending. Hoping the creators pick up on this unknown villain in the series shortly. This issue is available to buy from IDW Publishing online and at all good comic book stores.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #54

Aug 2, 2017

Friendship is Magic #54 is certainly not the most entertaining issue I have read so far, and acted more as a filler before the next big adventure. It is aimed more at the younger audience than the general readership, although still remains pleasing to the eye. It is available now from IDW Publishing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #55

Oct 20, 2017

This is definitely the start of an interesting story arc, as its not very often that we see the Dragons getting involved. With all Dragons now under the leadership of their teenage ruler Ember, it will be interesting to see why they are now attacking the Yaks. All is sure to be revealed in the next issue. It is definitely worth picking up this issue, as we see the return an angered Ember by the end of the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #56

Oct 25, 2017

Although a bit of a dissatisfying end to the story, as there was a great build up for a battle, it was a positive outcome for all involved. We get to see how brave Spike can be, how he can take charge of a situation and how even in the World of Unicorns, Dragons & Yaks there can still be some racism. All was handled rather well, as those involved owned up to their behaviour. Looking forward to seeing what the next MLP Friendship is Magic story will be next time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #57

Nov 2, 2017

This is definitely an entertaining issue, as we get to see a battle of creativity between Discord and Pinkie. However the best moment from this whole story is just seeing Pinkie Pie as an Alicorn. It is well worth picking up this issue just for those scenes!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #58

Nov 23, 2017

This is an interesting tail and one that is a must-own if you are a fan of the Legends of Magic mini-series. We see some new characters, a possible discovery of what could be the greatest find in Equestrian history and a hard lesson to learn for Princess Twilight.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #59

Nov 24, 2017

With this one-off story done, I wonder what the next multi-issue adventure will be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #63

Mar 29, 2018

This is an educational story and will resonate with all ages, although the message may be a little too blunt for the younger readers. I do hope the next issue is a multi-issue adventure so we can get some really good action.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #64

Jul 24, 2018

Well thats it for another issue! This one-shot is definitely worth picking up, but may be eclipsed by the next issue, featuring Princess Celestia!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #65

Aug 1, 2018

Although this issue has been out for some time, get out there and track it down. Very enjoyable, with new, interesting characters and some regal sisterly love within the first few panels.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #66

Aug 28, 2018

In the end this issue could have done with a few cameos or some more action, but ultimately it is a good comic in the end. I did not find it as entertaining as I thought I would, and I cant help but feel it would have been better if Princess Twilight had featured in this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #67

Oct 2, 2018

You can buy this issue now, both online and in your local comic book shop, from IDW Publishing. There is a lot more on the way in issue #68!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #68

Feb 1, 2019

Certainly a story arc well worth picking up if you can find it, if not, you can always buy the Digital edition online over on the IDW Publishing website.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #69

Feb 15, 2019

Overall an enjoyable issue for a standalone, although the plot seems vaguely familiar to when Pinkie took over ruling the Chaos Realm back in Issue #57.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #70

Mar 1, 2019

Once again, a really enjoyable issue from start to finish. Certainly worth buying online or if you can find it in stores now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #71

Apr 26, 2019

Well worth picking up this issue if you can find it in physical print, otherwise you can buy it digitally online from the IDW Publishing website.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #72

May 3, 2019

This was such a worthwhile read, from start to finish. I would love to learn more about the families of the Mane Six, especially what happened to AppleJack's parents in a future issue perhaps. You can purchase this issue digitally online over on the IDW Publishing website, or you could possibly find this backdated issue in your local comic book shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #73

May 15, 2019

This was certainly a great issue all round and one well worth picking up & adding to your collection. If you cant find this back issue in your local comic book store, then rest assure you can buy it digitally on the IDW Publishing website.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #80

Jul 16, 2020

This was a great issue for me, as I have really been getting into Critical Role during this lockdown. It is also great timing as only a couple of weeks back a crossover collection was announced between My Little Pony and Dungeons & Dragons. In which a figure set of five G1 ponies based on a Wizard, Druid, Barbarian, Rogue and Bard was unveiled. So keep an eye out for that online, as there is no release date announced as of writing this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #81

Jul 22, 2020

This issue is a lovely one shot and is great for those that are interested in learning some of the Wonderbolt history that was never mentioned in the show or through the adventures of the Mane Six.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #82

Aug 10, 2020

The story inside this issue is still rather entertaining and like I mentioned before, it would be best targeted for those young kids that are now getting more responsibilities for taking care of their own pets. I just wish there was a little bit more action, with perhaps some clues as to a prisoner escaping from the Gates of Tartarus, whilst Cerberus was running about. Now seeing as this issue has been out for quite some time and depending on how great your local comic book stores back issue section is, you may have to resort to buying this issue online. Luckily enough you can purchase both the print and digital copy straight from IDW Publishing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic Annual #2017

May 10, 2017

Certainly one of the most action packed stories we have had in awhile, and all conveniently housed in one Annual. A backstory I have been wondering about for quite some time, when I noticed the same Guardians of Harmony Toyline appear in stores.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Legends of Magic #1

Jun 7, 2017

Although this will only be a short miniseries, Legends of Magic has already set itself up to be a memorable chapter in Equestrian history. I will have more reviews of this miniseries coming up over the next few weeks. So, make sure to pick up your copies today and let me know in the comments below what you thought of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
My Little Pony: Legends of Magic #3

Aug 17, 2017

Overall, this has been quite a lovely story, with Mistmane bringing with her a very calming personality. Her age has also brought wisdom, that she passes onto our second main character. This is a charming tale and features a character I would love to see appear again in the franchise, perhaps with a more in depth look into how her legend began. I recommend this issue, and it is available to buy now from IDW Publishing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Legends of Magic #4

Aug 31, 2017

This is another Legends of Magic issue that fails to disappoint the fans. With only two more left in this short mini-series, I highly anticipate the next installment. Full of action yet again, I do wholeheartedly enjoy this next generation of the My Little Pony franchise. Legends of Magic #4 is available to buy now in all good comic stores, from IDW Publishing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
My Little Pony: Ponyville Mysteries #1

Jun 5, 2018

Well thats it for Issue #1 of Ponyville Mysteries, and I do advise picking this up pronto as it looks to be the start of what seems like an entertaining side series. Out now from IDW Publishing, with more reviews coming in the future from me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
My Little Pony: Spirit of the Forest #1

Jul 30, 2019

This issue is the start to what is going to be an interesting and I hope enjoyable story arc, that is going to be set across three issues. Definitely worth picking up for the younger readers, and just as worth it for those that are older if they are huge fans of the Cutie Mark Crusaders. You can buy this issue of My Little Pony: Spirit Of the Forest #1 in your local comic book store or digitally online through the IDW Publishing website.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Rat God #1

Jun 17, 2015

If you are up for a short series, full of mystery and headaches, with a Native American theme then this is right up your alley. I'm sticking with it just to see how it all pans out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Rat God #2

Jun 18, 2015

A bit of an improvement from Issue 1, but still has given us no more answers as to the most important questions from last issue. With the added question now of the big secret behind Lame Dog.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Rat God #3

Jun 22, 2015

Much more story development in this issue, with the inclusion of the much longed for Rat monster at the end of the issue. Highly looking forward to finding out more about this mythological creature.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Rat God #4

Jun 26, 2015

Here's hoping the final issue will give us some decent answers as to what on Earth is happening in this series. As I still cannot fully comprehend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Rat God #5

Jul 1, 2015

In conclusion, it's an interesting series as we get to see some sort of insight into the Native American culture, which is a first for myself. As well as the very disturbing images used in this series, from the characters to the Rodent Lord himself. It wouldn't however be the top of my list to recommend, but it is worth a try. Even if just for the creepiness factor.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Raven #3

Dec 21, 2016

Raven is a mini series, if you have picked up the first two issues you will have to pick up Issue 3 as well in order to carry on. I am staying invested in this mini series and hoping that the ending does it justice, only then can I give my full critique to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Raven #4

Jan 10, 2017

Raven is a mini series, dedicated to her DC Rebirth. Exploring the unknown time she took a break from the Teen Titans, in order to meet her human family. With only two issues left, keep picking the series up just so we can see how this will end. Youve come too far now just to drop it. Fingers crossed we will get a satisfying ending and one that will give her much needed character development in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Raven #6

Mar 16, 2017

If you have already bought the first five issues, Id advise buying the last, just so you can see how it ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Trek: The Next Generation: Through The Mirror #1

May 17, 2018

Once again, the character designs are precise fits to the actors from the show. It just instantly tricks your brain into hearing the characters voices from the show.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Star Trek: The Next Generation: Through The Mirror #2

May 24, 2018

Issue #2 of the Through The Mirror saga is out now with Issue #3 coming out shortly. It will be interesting to see if alternate Data actually comes face to face with Spock in the next issue. That will be an exciting read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Star Trek: The Next Generation: Through The Mirror #3

Jun 8, 2018

More questions arise in this issue, that are bound to get some explanation in the next. As to why they are looking for Emperor Spock, I do not know. Hopefully this is revealed in future issues! Make sure to pick up Issue #3 in your local comic book shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Trek: The Next Generation: Through The Mirror #4

Jul 12, 2018

We have one issue left in this miniseries. So how do you think this is going to end and have you enjoyed it up to now? Let me know by hitting reply in the comments section below.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Trek: The Next Generation: Through The Mirror #5

Jul 13, 2018

Overall this miniseries has been a good one. It would be very beneficial to have already seen Star Trek: The Next Generation TV show before reading this. You could possibly skip the original Star Trek and just browse the main points about Spock's character. There will certainly be another Star Trek: The Next Generation comic in the near future, one that will follow on from the events of this miniseries. This issue is well worth picking this up from your comic book shop, but there has been no news on if it will be released as a TPB yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Tangled (2018) #1

Apr 5, 2018

I can see this comic doing well with young girls, but I dont believe it will appeal to an older or wider audience. It wasnt as enjoyable as I have hoped, but it is nice to see that the Tangled franchise is being expanded upon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Tangled (2018): Hair & Now #1

May 1, 2019

Although completely aimed at fans who have seen the TV show, I was a tad bit lost at the beginning. After a quick online research I am now more or less caught up to speed on whats been happening since the ending of the film. You can buy this issue digitally online through the IDW Publishing website, or in your local comic book shop now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Tea Dragon Festival OGN

May 20, 2020

The Tea Dragon Festival is once again another charming and enchanting story by Katie ONeill. With a story that focuses on many emotional challenges, relatable topics, a small insight into gender identification, as well as highlighting a community's openness to learn sign language to help include another member of the village as much as possible. This is an all round, feel good book and one I would highly recommend!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Tea Dragon Festival #1

May 20, 2020

The Tea Dragon Festival is once again another charming and enchanting story by Katie ONeill. With a story that focuses on many emotional challenges, relatable topics, a small insight into gender identification, as well as highlighting a community's openness to learn sign language to help include another member of the village as much as possible. This is an all round, feel good book and one I would highly recommend!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Black Mage #1

Apr 17, 2020

This story not only has a floating castle for a school, which is supported by a magical crystal that needs 'recharging' every so often. We also get ghosts, some captured souls, a big wizarding fight and what I find to be, a pretty disappointing ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Little Mermaid #1

Mar 30, 2015

Other wise the artwork is far from Disney, which is a great thing, as you can't really compare the two versions the same way. This comic stands out on its own in regards to that and I love it!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Little Mermaid #2

Apr 14, 2015

The artwork is sexy, vibrant, intriguing and filled with amazing detail. Just look at the front cover, it just invites you to open your wallet. This is carried on throughout the issue, and wow how I love the character designs. Just wait til you see the Prince after he talks with the Sea Witch.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Little Mermaid #3

Apr 22, 2015

Make sure to pick up this issue to see the amazing art work and interesting take on the Hans Christian Anderson classic. As previous issues, the character design for Erica gives off that sexy feel, so this may not be suitable to read on the bus un-noticed. We are now half way through this fairy tail, and I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Little Mermaid #4

May 22, 2015

This issue is well worth the pick up, even if it's only for the front cover. You can't really be too picky not picking up the issue seeing as the series is only 5 issues long. Every issue is important to the story and each provide that bit more info that will hopefully leave us with a decent ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Uncle Scrooge (2015) #1

Jun 4, 2015

The artwork is perfect! It totally captures the images we used to see in our childhoods and the styles are the exact same. I tip my hat to you artists, that is a job very well done indeed. I could give this comic to any person, be it a grandparent or a playschool kid and I am 100% sure they would have no complaints about the artwork. If the artists were trying to take us back to a more simpler time, sitting by the fire with no TV insight, then they have achieved it! I for one, cannot wait to read more and I hope you will pick this up on your next outing to the shops.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Uncle Scrooge (2015) #2

Jun 12, 2015

As well as a piece on the new Donald Duck comic series. Also being published by IDW Publishing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Uncle Scrooge (2015) #3

Jun 30, 2015

This series is once again reminding us of the innocence that was our childhood, long before we got hooked to our daily routine of scrolling through the internet. The best series out there to give to any generation, be it adults, kids, the elderly. All of them are sure to get a few chuckles out of it.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More