Your Friendly Neighborhood Brady's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Bloody Disgusting Reviews: 70
7.3Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Bloodhound: Crowbar Medicine #2

Nov 15, 2013

Creators Dan Jolley and Leonard Kirk are to be commended for rekindling this concept for the world outside of the Distinguished Competition where it was an admittedly odd fit. This character somehow feels less shackled down in this storyline than in its previous incarnation. Ironic, since Cleveneger has literally hopped into a universe without any known super humans. Heres hoping that will allow the creators to go wild with their imaginations.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bounce #1

May 24, 2013

Getting high to get an adrenaline high from being a superhero is an interesting take on the genre. Also, waking up in a superhero city is a great tease for next issue. Im in for another hit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bounce #2

Jun 28, 2013

I think another theme may be addictions. Different kinds keep popping up all over this issue: drugs, both recreational and prescribed, drinks, power, adrenaline, escapism, and even high heels. Everyone is addicted to something, right? Be it trash TV, comics, shopping, we all have our vices. The Bounce #2 shows us how good and bad those habitual addictions can be with great creativity. I hope the next issue expands our perceptions of this reality further.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Brain Boy #3

Nov 22, 2013

The creativity seems to know now bounds in this series. Psychic-proof-suited femme fatales? A handler / mother figure who gets to be experimented on in super bizarre ways? Who do you trust? What happened to Brain Boys parents? Its all in there. Plus, theres green slime. What more could you ask for? Brain Boy jumped right into the action and hasnt stopped since the first issue. Catch up if you can on this title and you wont regret it. It will make your brain happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Midnight #0

Jun 21, 2013

The hook of this top secret mission and how it is still relevant in the present intrigues me. I wonder how long the cynical government Agent Jones and the fan boy-pilot Rick Marshall will underestimate our hero. This is a great primer for a series I hope continues to explore the present and the past of Super Genius Captain Midnight and his Secret Squadron.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Midnight #2

Aug 30, 2013

One of the best parts of this series is the super scientist himself, Captain Midnight. His power is his brain. Hes an inventor who can throw a solid punch. Hes a futurist from WW2 who has just come into the future he was predicting. I enjoyed his inventiveness in cannibalising the jet he stole into something completely new. I hope he gets to play with more toys down the line. Hes only been back in the world 72 hours and is full tilt into action. I look forward to seeing him come to realize where his place is in the 21st century. Plus, there are bears.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Chin Music #1

May 9, 2013

One issue, and I am completely hooked. I really am uncertain as to who or what it will ultimately be about. As long as these all-star creators continue to take sharp story turns and pumps out more gorgeously black and red soaked art, Ill be back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Chin Music #2

Aug 21, 2013

I feel like a lot has happened already in two issues thanks to these storytellers. Harris and Niles are cooking with gas in this story. Thats a good thing in case you werent sure. Each issue builds so much on top of the previous one. I can only imagine what this tower of insane creativity will look like when its all said and done. I have no doubt it will be a towering monument to unfettered imagination.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Clone #1

Nov 21, 2012

“Clone #1″ shows great premise and delivers a clear hook for a series where the main character can literally be anything. I'm excited to see the potential explored and all the questions about cloning and how it can absolutely destroy your point of view in life. If HBO ever got into realistic ‘science fiction' in the same vein as Looper, this would be a good choice for a television series. This “Clone” is unique and worth picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Clone #3

Jan 11, 2013

Being shown piles of dead bodies is traumatic enough. Now imagine how you would feel if the choice you had to make was to add to that pile until you were the last one. Oh, and the corpse pile all looked like you. Yeah, good luck, Luke. I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Clone #5

Mar 29, 2013

It all feels like the second last episode of a good season of TV. Things are set up for a strong finale. I've been impressed by Schulner and Ryp's super-crazy "family" book. Now it's all about the ending. It can make or break a story. No pressure, clones. But make it a good one, please.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dinosaurs Attack! #1

Jul 18, 2013

I'm curious to see how or if the art teams are going to balance the story. I'm much more interested in seeing the dinosaurs destroy the world than anything else offered in this first issue. Here's hoping they smash stuff really well next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Django / Zorro #1

Nov 12, 2014

Anytime you see Zorro in action, you can't help but see how influential a hero he is throughout pop culture. Comics fans should definitely recognize where one of THE most popular heroes (that rhymes with"Ratman) and see how brilliant this classic hero's mythos really is. I imagine it'll be quite the tale to see as a newer hero like Django learns from this legend. I truly believe you will enjoy this story if you like any of the creators or characters in these pages. To me, it feels like we've only just started and it looks like it'll be a really stylish story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dream Thief #1

May 16, 2013

Our hero wakes up in mysterious places and use skills he never had before. John also awakens both times wearing a stolen mask from the museum. Its a nice premise combined with the cryptic narration for this miniseries. Combine all that with the seemingly random places Dream Thief finds himself and I have no idea where he will show up next. I would like to see more and I look forward to next months installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dream Thief #2

Jun 20, 2013

Dark and dirty revenge appears to be the way of The Dream Thief. I like how all these seemingly random events appear to be connected. The hooks at the end of each issue are great and remind me of the classic TV show Quantum Leap in that everything from the previous adventure has been resolved and oh boy the next tale looks even better than the last one. This is series is a fun and bloody version Ill be tuning into next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dream Thief #4

Aug 21, 2013

With new comics being optioned for TV and movie deals with just a few issues being released, I would not be surprised if Dream Thief wont be coming to a screen near you in the future. The pacing and visuals by Nitz and Smallwood have already painted the perfect picture ready for adaptation if they so desire. The pacing of each issue has been singular and yet connects to the previous chapters. The panelling is a breath of unbridled genius. Even the lies told in the story keep the reader captivated. I tend to like miniseries because I know there will be a beginning, middle and end to the story. With that said, I want this story to continue for a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dream Thief: Escape #4

Oct 3, 2014

Knife fights, sons out for revenge and shoots outs with possessed killers. That pretty much sums up "

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dredd: Underbelly #1

Apr 11, 2014

If you like Judge Dredd in all his incarnations, then I think youll enjoy this book. If you liked the 2012 film Dredd, you will really like this. It has all you need. Judge and move on, just like Judge Dredd always does.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Five Weapons #4

May 31, 2013

So far, Tyler has managed to learn secrets, keep secrets of his own (great subplot), make friends, and outwit each club. His final opponent is in the gun club. I'm eager to see how he gets out of the way of bullets and what happens next. This miniseries is definitely worth tracking down the back issues if you're late for Five Weapons class.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
G.I. Joe (2014) #1

Sep 24, 2014

This entire issue is way too drawn out and dull for me. It takes far too long for anything to happen. I miss all the crazy-looking vehicles, the evil Cobra and their crazy plans for world domination. I think theres another series out there with Joes andTransformersthat is more of what I think of when I hearG.I. Joe.If you want to see your childhood heroes old and neutered, alaThe Expendablesfilms, this is the series for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Ghost (2013) #1

Dec 20, 2013

Elisa goes searching for answers about her past and stumbles upon an unexpected encounter and opportunity. What she ends up finding should lead to something more intriguing down the line. I found this premier issue a little ho-hum for a first chapter. Ill try getting haunted by “Ghost” at least one more time before passing a final judgement. With the pedigree of creators on this book, Ive got high expectations for something more substantial coming soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Great Pacific #4

Feb 7, 2013

I know Ive said it before but I am becoming more and more convinced that this would make for a really entertaining television series. The pacing is solid, plot twists come fast and furiously, and the the muted color scheme keeps the visuals constantly engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Great Pacific #5

Mar 8, 2013

I was sad to see the introduction and demise of Mungo all in one issue. You can never have enough Mungos in my opinion. The last page made me laugh and have that shock-and-awe moment at the same time. I have no idea how a boy with an island of garbage and one magic trick up his sleeve can out manoeuver what is staring him in the face. That makes me excited to see what Harris and Morazzo will do next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Great Pacific #6

Apr 4, 2013

This issue wraps up what started while leaving some plot crumbs for the next arc down the road. And like a season finale, readers are left with mixed emotions. I felt there could have been more resolutions than dangling story lines. I'm intrigued to see where the garbage island of New Texas will drift to next in “Great Pacific”.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ivar, Timewalker #1

Jan 21, 2015

This creative teams enthusiasm radiates from each panel and word balloon. The hooks are aplenty to be found throughout this first chapter. I was looking forward to the next issue by page five. The last page (no spoilers here) absolutely sealed the deal for me to

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Juice Squeezers #1

Jan 3, 2014

Lapham keeps it fresh and ingenuous while we are introduced to the team and its dynamics. Lapham's art style has always been matchless. Whenever and whatever he's drawing, you know when it's him doing it. It's cartoonish enough in its simplicity to absorb but detailed and disgusting at the right times to keep the UGH-factor intact.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Juice Squeezers #2

Feb 7, 2014

The awkwardness of new kids at school, boys liking girls for the first time and the mystery of gigantic insects are all very enticing plot points David Lapham excels at exploring here. This series just screams out fun and adventure. Its not too graphic that I would hide it from young readers which are a grand achievement in itself. I look forward to seeing who will win the bugs or the tweens as well as those of us enjoying The Juice Squeezers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Juice Squeezers #4

Apr 4, 2014

David Lapham has made a kid-friendly book which seems to be rare nowadays. Im seriously going to consider using this book to teach English to some of my students in my day job. Its eye-catching enough to keep them interested. The story isnt too overwrought so its easy to follow. And, like every good storyteller, theres enough left to explore in the next story. I sincerely hope Juice Squeezers pops back in the not-too-distant future. I think this book can be a great gateway into this wonderful world we all know and love called comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Little Nemo: Return to Slumberland #2

Oct 29, 2014

Little Nemo: Return to Slumberland #2reads like part of a fairy tale. It looks great; it reads like a childhood story and keep

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mars Attacks The Transformers #1

Jan 25, 2013

Are there any lesson learned here? Dont trust Martians. Megatron is dangerous at any size. Cosmos IS useful. Autobots will always fight Decepticons. A well done-in-one issue indeed. Autobots, Roll out!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
One-Hit Wonder #1

Feb 28, 2014

Sapolsky and Olivetti have crafted something very distinctive in this first segment of the five-issue story. Absurd ideas like a former child celebrity-turned hit man offer lots of areas to explore. I hope they keep it clever and dont go for the cheap laughs or sight gags that seem the easy way to go for a story like this. Lets hope they keep shooting for the stars as “One-Hit Wonder” continues to dazzle us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Punisher (2014) #1

Feb 7, 2014

Ill admit Ive tuned out of what Castle has been up to in the last few years in the Marvel Universe. It all looked and felt the same as what had been done before, with the exception of the Marvel MAX stories. The Punisher is right where he should be at this point: going after drug pushers and blowing them all to hell. Leave the spandex out of this series and I think fans will flock to see how much of Los Angeles he can clean up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Serenity: Leaves On The Wind #1

Jan 30, 2014

This team has things running so smoothly that words arent needed to see the progressions that some of our favorite characters have taken. I was feeling all the great ups and downs that I did when I watched the episodes way back when. This family Mal has made means everything to him, even if he wont or cant say so. When kin need helping, theres nothing in this verse thats going to stop him. And that is what makes this creation from the Whedons, in my humble opinion, one of their best. Danger be damned! Heart is what makes that ship fly even when it shouldnt. These creators have captured it here. Lets see where they take it next, shall we?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Shaolin Cowboy #4

Jan 10, 2014

Our Cowboy is really hands-on in this chapter, popping heads, faces, and everything else off of these walking corpses. You really see the path our hero makes through all the bodies. Darrow is the preeminent artist when it comes to details and you get every single one of them in this series. Why are they all naked? Did this zombie outbreak start at a nudist colony? Food for thought for another day. This series makes me try to read into the actions more closely than anything actually said. Actions are the words for Shaolin Cowboy. Thats the impression that I get.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sinergy #1

Nov 19, 2014

It's nice to see Oeming do something a little lighter in tone than his magnificent and recently concluded The Victoriesepic saga. This series feels light but dark enough in tone to be successfully horrific. Demon slaying can always be gloriously disgusting. Paring that with a forced partnership of daughter and father and I've no doubt this will a great series to follow for as long as there be demons to destroy. This is a great start so get in on the ground floor to Sinergy #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sinergy #2

Dec 10, 2014

Fighting monsters isn't fun or glamorous in the world of Sinergy. It can be downright terrifying. I like all the places being set out here and where this could lead to in the future. I really like how lucky I am to be seeing this new world from Oeming grow and develop month by month. I hope you can read and appreciate how this series look simple and yet feels much deeper than it appears. It can be taken in as a light and fluffy monster bashing story. Or, as I see it, you can read it as a rare look at how legacies and heroism can really affect you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Six Gun Gorilla #1

Jun 14, 2013

I'm already hooked on this story and The Six-Gun Gorilla was barely in it! I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sovereign #1

Mar 20, 2014

Like the start to Brian K. Vaughans “Saga”, this new world birthed in “Sovereign” #1 gives the impression of being vast. It feels like there is a good deal to explore, experience, and exploit. Sword-wielding masked monks, dead monsters at sea and hunting parties make for a great start to a fresh feeling fantasy epic waiting to grow with each coming issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Storm Dogs #2

Dec 6, 2012

Who is Doll? Who was Doll? Why are indigenous aliens being tortured? More questions I look forward to finding answers to.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Storm Dogs #4

Mar 20, 2013

The book is looking rougher and tougher by the issue. The story itself is pretty tough to swallow and follow. I'm hoping that this issue is the weak link in the chain holding “Storm Dogs” together. Nonetheless, that last panel hook will keep me interested to see how all this all makes sense.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Storm Dogs #5

May 2, 2013

The secret history of the planet itself is being explored. Ancient traditions are being mashed together with futuristic technology. At the same time, the murder mystery continues to expand. Also at the same time, the use of technology as a tool to live a different life is explored. Honestly, there are a lot of different plot lines and story points going on throughout this chapter. Its almost hard to keep track of it all. Hopefully, there is a line connecting them by the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Storm Dogs #6

Jul 12, 2013

Like I said, if this is the end of Storm Dogs, it's a big slam on the brakes and a swerve of the wheel. As far as I can tell, Image is calling this thing “season one”, which leads me to believe that they are following the British TV model. It would be nice if they clarified this one, but it seems like the creators will get a little more road to reach the end of their tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ten Grand #3

Jul 5, 2013

The next chapter should really be a doozy. I'll make you a deal, good readers: Catch up on "Ten Grand" if you're new to this horrifyingly beautiful mystery. If you don't like it, I'll pity you and buy you another book. Honest. Just sign this deal"and you'll get what you deserve. Mwahahaha" Seriously, pick up "Ten Grand", it's that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Black Beetle #2

Feb 21, 2013

Clues are found and now our hero has to do something we have not seen him do yet " unmask and go undercover in the daylight! So far, this series has been predominantly noir, and as such occurs at night. I look forward to seeing how Francavilla will show the well-lit days in the next chapter. Once again, the book ends with a great lead into the next issue. It has been a while since I have looked forward to the next issue of a series to come out as I do with "Black Beetle: No Way Out". Get on board this thrilling ride now if you haven't already.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Colonized #1

Apr 11, 2013

The aliens are pretty comical. The fact that these ‘advanced' visitors freak out and run away from zombies they made (as the Monty Python rules state) keeps me intrigued to see what these green clowns will do next. Drew Moss' art is crisp in making all the players have unique looks. I only wish the aliens could look more distinct as, not to sound racist, but they all look the same to me. This issue feels like a soft open but I'm keen to see how all these ingredients mix together next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Colonized #2

May 3, 2013

I'm really rooting for this series to get going, honestly. I'm a little baffled as to why it's taken two issues to get moving. Maybe that's the point as traditional zombie aren't fast moving. Hopefully all the setup is behind us now and “Colonized” #3 will kick up the action a few notches.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Colonized #3

Jun 7, 2013

While the story hits the necessary beats, there is not much new. There is literally a speeding train with someone strapped to it as it is set to explode. The aliens are pretty much absent this issue which is unfortunate as they add colors and story dynamics that would enhance this chapter. I hope they save the day somehow and have a major plot twist to make this trip to Carbon Falls worthwhile overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Colonized #4

Jul 19, 2013

Overall, this series offers a solid concept, but sadly it lacks in execution. Maybe I had higher expectations from the idea of “Colonized”. Maybe my ideas were just way different than the creators. It's a good try and so I hope these creators can progress upward from what they've learned from making this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Delinquents #2

Sep 17, 2014

Fellow readers, we are truly in a golden age of comic book storytelling. I used to compare the wide range of comics out nowadays to how many great TV shows are out there. Im happy to declare that comics continue to surpass that other medium with examples like The Delinquents #2. Its so utterly unlike anything else Ive ever read or seen that it stands all on its own. This creative is proudly showing off what semi-noble folks would do with powers and a treasure map and a pregnant male goat can do or blunder into.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Delinquents #3

Oct 22, 2014

I concede again that I'm new to the Valiant universe. Having said that, I definitely want to learn more about it. To me,The Delinquents #3 is a great introduction to two pillar series Archer & Armstrong and Quantum and Woody. I want to know more and plan to (hopefully for Christmas). Read on now and enjoy the ride like these characters and creators do: shamelessly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Goon #44

Nov 29, 2013

I know Powell has done some unique issues in the past to get readers interests piqued from time to time. There was a recent issue I recall spoofing all things super-hero and gimmicky that comes to mind. Im glad to have re-discovered “The Goon” once again with this Spanish/monster issue. His brutal irreverence and pure fun reminds readers why comics are fun and unlimited in potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Life After #3

Sep 17, 2014

Its only been three issues so far ofThe Life Afterand I know theres so much more to see. Fialkov and Gabo seem to be on track to give us just enough to intrigue readers for what is happening and what is come. All of this plus monthly doses of Hemingway for good measure! I know Fialkov has dabbled in mainstream work for bothMarvelandDC.Im curious how hes done working for such big publishers. I will definitely start hunting his other stuff down now that I know what hes capable of unrestricted.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The New Ghostbusters #2

Mar 15, 2013

My only wish is that these chapters were longer. I went through these first two issues so quickly that I felt it was half of a regular episode. Perhaps that's my preference nowadays as I've become more accustomed to trade paperbacks. If the creators can find a better balance between the talking and the action, I'll feel more satisfied. Until then, I'll keep my fingers crossed…but not the streams. You never cross the streams!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The New Ghostbusters #4

May 23, 2013

The back-up story is fun as always. It shows some of the ghosts and demons from the animated series from the 1980s-90s and their plotting while contained. Its a nice device for sub-plots to boil while not taking away from the current storyline. Erik Burnham can write and draw a nice little slice of a story here. Overall, I still feel these creators would better serve Ghostbusters if they animated this comic. Reading a cartoon isnt as satisfying as watching one so Im a little underwhelmed by this series. Unless they change up the look entirely, Ill just be reminded that this was a good show but a marginal comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Other Dead #1

Sep 26, 2013

Theres a random throw in of government officials getting involved. I wont spoil which level of government but Ive no doubt that will be explored further down the road. Im hoping it ends in hilariously horrific results. This feels like a grindhouse-type movie in comic form. Im just not sure if this is the type which Id stay tuned or change the channel.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Rocketeer: Hollywood Horror #3

Apr 12, 2013

As with most readers, I have expectations of a book staring a human rocket. It was severely lacking here. I've been enjoying this miniseries up until now. I have confidence that the finale will make up for this misstep. I'll keep the faith and hope The Rocketeer soars into excellence next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Strain: The Fall #7

Jan 17, 2014

I need to toss a coin as to how to proceed reading this series in the future: do I find all the previous issues or do I just wait until next months chapter? Either way, I dont think I can lose. My tastes in horror are growing by one more title that has me in its thrall. “The Strain: The Fall” is a great horror comic that is worth picking up no matter what issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Victories (2013) #1

May 2, 2013

During the battle, we are shown how D.D. Mau thinks, where she comes from and how she sees herself. Its a fascinating origin and power set for a character Ive read in some time. An adrenaline / fame junkie upped to the super-human level is a refreshing take on why someone would become a superhero. The transitions from one area to another of the city, histories between teammates, and motivations are executed masterfully. All this screamed a mature-series cable TV approach if and when this soon-to-be-hit series starts getting interest from Hollywood. You read it here first, folks. The Victories #1 shows us how no one is perfect, even our revered heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Victories (2013) #2

Jun 6, 2013

What has happened to this world and the way normal people and heroes cope is captivating storytelling. The highest compliment I can pay to any form of storytelling is this: I have no idea whats going to happen next and I cant wait to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Victories (2013) #5

Sep 6, 2013

Thankfully, this is not a talking-heads-only issue. The action comes in at a frenetic pace when the team is pursued. Drone cams are not drone cams. Arms of badass looking robot heroes are not just arms. Homeland security and… other champions are now the villains of the story. How is that for a twist? Robocalypse needs his own one-shot. Oeming again captures my attention all over again even with a few panels of this outrageously imaginative hero. This ending of the first arc reminds me of the end of The Empire Strikes Back in all the good ways. The bad guys win decisively and the heroes are left to lick their wounds. Great storytelling all around.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Victories (2013) #6

Nov 8, 2013

There are plenty more wholly original moments in this book (I wont spoil the ones involving cats), consciousness, darker and darker power brokers, and plans upon plans. Creator Michael Avon Oeming must have a whole lot mapped out for this world hes created. The scope seems to get bigger and bigger with each passing chapter. Im reminded of the big idea scope from the classic run of Grant Morrisons JLA. Each chapter of "The Victories" seems to assemble another section of this mansion full of ideas. Once fully realized, Im sure it will be a sight for all to see and become enveloped by.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Victories (2013) #7

Dec 5, 2013

This team book continues to flaunt how to have stories and characters do things that matter. There are consequences that propel the story into somewhere new and unpredictable. And they didnt need several mini-series and tie-in books to get the job done. Others should take note of that achievement. Team book fans should continue with "The Victories" as they get it done convincingly month in and month out.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Transformers Prime: Rage of the Dinobots #1

Nov 29, 2012

Questions are raised about their identities and if these alien dinosaur forms define them now. Are they more animal than machine now? This is deeper than I thought The Transformers could ever get. I personally don't think it's necessary for this story. All I want to see is Dinobots transform and destroy! Bring on Devastator! I hope this series is more fun than serious in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X #1

May 9, 2013

So who is X? Swierczynski and Nguyen keep that answer cloaked in shadows for now. Nguyens art keeps an angular look which makes each person passing by the camera lens readers keeps it fresh for readers. He seems human, able to get hurt and needs bandaging after going on a bad guy killing spree. For a main character, hes barely in this first issue. I think he says a total of two words in the whole story. Other than the cape, this guy actually would scare me if I saw him walking down the street. Both cops and crooks want this guy dead but will they succeed? Im intrigued enough to see how much help hell get next time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X #2

Jun 14, 2013

“X” seems more like Jason Voorhees than an antihero vengeance seeker. He keeps getting shot, stabbed, and blown up but keeps coming back. Artist Eric Nguyen excels at depicting the horrifying ways X eliminates his targets. Is this a new genre mash-up: slasher / horror / crime / superhero? If so, it's only going to get bloodier from here. “X” means red and lots of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X #4

Aug 16, 2013

Is there a horror channel out there that could adapt this? I dont know as I only get two English channels here in South Korea. This issue screamed zombie-gore, but no undead were anywhere to be found. Its fascinating to see uninfected people can be as gruesome as flesh-eating monsters. Theres more mysteries to be explored in Arcadia and how X plans to exact justice. Now that I think of it, this story IS already on TV in a PG-friendly version: the CWs Arrow. Only this crusader is rated a hard R. Duane Swierczyski and Eric Nguyen are keeping me distressingly compelled to see where theyre going next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X #5

Sep 13, 2013

I do enjoy these types of issues between arcs. It lets readers and creators take a breath, and showcase another aspect of the character. Dwayne Swierczynski continues to paint a mosaic of ultra-violence with different brush strokes in each issue. This time, its more straight forward guns and bad guys instead of a horror gore show. I think the strength of this series will be measured by the creative teams ability to demonstrate their versatility. I hope they a have an assortment of distinctive tales to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X #7

Nov 15, 2013

The problem X has is that if he doesnt kill his enemies, they really come back to haunt him. If he kills all of his adversaries, who will come back to seek revenge? Vigilantes with this M.O. always have this difficulty. Its with a morbid curiosity Ill keep turning the pages to see exactly how many bodies pile up before X fulfills his mission.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X #10

Feb 14, 2014

I'm always curious to see what the end game of these kind of characters is. What if X achieves his goal of a corruption-free Arcadia? Will he take off the mask and retire? I doubt it. Will he be the last crazy violent damaged individual standing? Possibly. But what will he be standing over? A pile of bodies and a city in ruins? That seems to be the trajectory that he's heading towards. I'll keep my eye on him to see how he moves his agenda forward and you should too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Files Conspiracy: Ghostbusters #1

Jan 24, 2014

Once again, Im pleasantly surprised to discover something new and fun in comics shops this week. "The X-Files / Ghostbusters: Conspiracy" #1 has definitely got me interested to see how this road trip across the IDW world plays out. Its exactly the kind of event book I think (and hope) people enjoy more and more. Its got familiar characters mixing it up, the artwork is pretty spot on, and the thread linking them all together is simple yet effective. I imagine this being an enjoyable tale which everyone can hop onto and follow wherever this conspiracy takes us readers.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More