Rare Flavours #1
Prev Series

Rare Flavours #1

Writer: V. Ram Artist: Filipe Andrade Publisher: Boom! Studios Release Date: September 20, 2023 Cover Price: $4.99 Critic Reviews: 9 User Reviews: 10
8.5Critic Rating
8.1User Rating

+ Pull List

Discover the tantalizing tale of Rubin Baksh, a demonic Rakshasa with a down-to-earth dream of becoming the next Anthony Bourdain.

To achieve his vision, Rubin enlists Mo, a filmmaker who has seen better days, to document the world-renowned cuisine of India and the people behind such glorious food.

But little does Mo know that there's more to Rubin than meets the eye, and the mortals play a darker role in the show than they were prepared for...   

Entice your palate with the follow up offering from the  Eisner, Harvey, and Ringo Award-nominated team of Ram V (Detective Comics, Blue In Gree more

  • 10
    ComicBook.com - Chase Magnett Sep 20, 2023

    With wondrous depictions of simple recipes, deep-seated emotional experiences, and a sense of wonder at the mundane, it summons an odyssey of memory bound to remind readers of the most profound flavors from their own past. Read Full Review

  • 10
    ComicsOnline - Kevin Gaussoin Sep 20, 2023

    Rare Flavours #1 is devilishly delicious. Ram V and Filipe Andrade cook up a tale worthy of Gaiman or Bourdain. Read Full Review

  • 9.9
    Comic Watch - Anthony Bergamini Sep 20, 2023

    Fans of Ram V and Filipe Andrades The Many Deaths of Laila Starr will feel right at home with Rare Flavours. This fantastic exploration of food and culture really gives this book a unique, and inspiring feel. Read Full Review

  • 8.8
    The Comicbook Dispatch - dragoncache Sep 20, 2023

    Taking inspiration from a Hindu legendand the longest epic poem ever writtenRare Flavours #1 tantalizes with its reverence for artistry as it tackles addiction and the allure of forbidden fruit. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Multiversity Comics - Matthew Blair Sep 22, 2023

    Its a book thats more concerned with vibes rather than plot and transports the reader to a far off exotic land where they are really going to want a massala chai. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    AIPT - David Brooke Sep 19, 2023

    Rare Flavours is a new offering from two creators who, once again, are building a fascinating story together. There's a mysteriousness to the characters and the overall story that's tantalizing, mixing magic realism in an adult way with real weight and dramatic implications. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Bleeding Cool - James Hepplewhite Jan 1, 1970

    Credit: BOOM! StudiosIn short, Rare Flavours #1 Tasting Menu Ashcan achieves its goal of getting me excited for the series, which debuts this month. Rich notes that Boom locked the ashcan behind some pre-order silliness. If you can find it, Rare Flavours #1 Tasting Menu Ashcan is a neat little thing, but if you can't, no pressure. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Capes & Tights - Jared Thomas Sep 17, 2023

    Overall, Rare Flavours is an great comic series worth considering for lovers of cuisine, culture, and adventure. Its unique storyline, vivid characters, and thought-provoking themes make it stand out, and its abstract artwork adds an extra layer of creativity that readers are sure to appreciate. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comic Book Revolution - Kevin Lainez Sep 18, 2023

    Rare Flavours #1 is a unique comic book experience through the world of food culture. The dynamic between the two leads shines as much as the food presentation. It all comes together for a comic book experience that leaves you wondering what is next. Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    Stand Up Comic Reader Oct 18, 2023

    I assume that because it's already on its 3rd printing that this book is selling like hotcakes in the Depression, and it should. This is a beautifully drawn and magically written tale from the duo behind the equally astounding 'Many Deaths of Laila Starr' which was a truly breathtaking series from a couple of years ago. I feel like it's our duty as Comic Book Connoisseurs to fervently support great books such as this so the marketplace takes notice and continues to support creators who deliver stories such as this. A book like this transcends genre. Rare indeed. Full take at:
    https://standupcomicreader.blogspot.com/2023/10/rare-flavours-1-review.html

  • 9.5
    Loafy Trophy Sep 27, 2023

    Phenomenal start. Filipe Andrade might be the most underrated artist currently working in comics. He does a masterful job working a variety of colors into nearly every page, which creates something that looks unique while immediately placing the reader into the loud, bright streets of India. The narrative from Ram V also has the potential to be something really special. I loved the Anthony Bourdain influence on the entire book and the way he deftly works Hindu mythology into the mix was inspired. If you liked Laila Starr as much as I did, this is a must read.

  • 8.0
    DDJamesB Sep 24, 2023

    I ended the book and initially thought it wasn't for me. Then I started feeling like this underlying want to know more and see what plays out.

  • 6.0
    derbycomics Sep 21, 2023

    I will admit off the bat, I didn't love Many Deaths of Laila Starr. It's been hard to separate that with setting my expectations for Rare Flavours given the same creative duo. On one hand, the inclusion of a culinary angle was interesting, but on the other hand the premise sounded like a very close symmetry to Laila Starr.

    I was a tad disappointed to see that it was basically just a mash up of those two concepts. I felt like this could basically be happening in the same universe as Laila Starr. Such a strange concept to have an evil god want to be a world-renowned culinary expert, but I guess it's good to have dreams? Ram V's writing isn't always for me. It can come across as too cute by half and that's what I got here. The enti more

  • 9.0
    Jawsh Jan 16, 2024

  • 9.0
    Silver Rocket Oct 8, 2023

  • 9.0
    retcon_D Sep 27, 2023

  • 8.5
    Phil B. Oct 19, 2023

  • 8.0
    Swanktub Sep 23, 2023

  • 4.5
    ComicWorm Sep 22, 2023

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More